Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot

Mountain Horse
- Item #18002
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The newest of the Mountain Horse winter boots, The Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot is fashionably chic as well as functional!  This winter riding boot has been meticulously designed for a comfortable fit and superior traction on ice, snow, and in the stirrup.

Favorite Features

  • Durable, quilted PU upper boasts membrane technology making this boot 100% waterproof up to the start of the zipper
  • Ergonomically designed removable EVA insole with soft Nylex lining
  • Heat insulating (and stylish) faux fur will keep feet and toes warm
  • Built in steel shank for increased stability while walking or riding
  • Specially slim and contoured designed outsole made especially for riding
  • Super strong and durable YKK zipper to extend the life of your boots
  • Unique side elastic for an individual fit
  • Reflective inserts along the back of boot for night riding
  • Fax leather foot-part has been tested to withstand one million flexes in 14 degree F weather
  • Dirt repellent tred zones on bottom of sole enhance your grip in the stirrup
  • Heel part is fitted with shock absorbing IPS System

Sizing It Up

6-10

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mountain Horse Stella Polaris Tall Boot is rated 4.3167 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Boot I bought these boots last year for a super-frigid winter, riding in sub-zero temps nearly every day, and they were awesome! I ride 4-6 days a week, and these are still in great shape half-way through the second winter. I usually wear them with a pair of Smartwool snowboarder socks, and my feet are toasty warm - if the outside temperature is 20 or higher, my feet get a bit sweaty, but never cold. Also, the shank has an elastic insert, so if I wear fleece breeches, or fleece breeches with long underwear underneath, they still zip up easily and fit well through the calf.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! I love these boots. It's so hard to find good boots that fit wide calves. My feet stay dry and are toasty warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far I Love them! I bought these boots a few weeks ago so I could ride and school without my toes freezing. So far so good.I do find them a little stiff and tall, so I am hoping they will break in and be more comfortable. They are competing with my muck boots which I swear by but are not good for lessons.
    Date published: 2014-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! Love, love love these boots! Can wear out or to the barn. Comfy, warm and classy. Will recommend to all my horsie and non horsie friends . Fit great
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do you have big calves? Read this! <3 I was soooo excited to see that FINALLY an off-the-shelf tall boot would be large enough for my giantess calves. Seriously, they're over 18 inches, and I'm not hideously overweight. (Riding English is humiliating on so many levels... most brands 'wide calf' is a svelte 17. Hey Ariat, I'm talking to you!) But I digress. These came, I opened them up - and beautiful! They look every inch well-designed and fantastic quality for what they are (winter boots) and the price (not that much). Then I try them on... and I can't zip them. They say "up to 18 1/8" and my calves with breeches measure about that, maybe 18 1/4. They gap an entire 1" at the back. I am devastated. Freshly humiliated. So angry at Mountain Horse that they LIED about the upper limit. But I was in a huge hurry and put them aside to write a bad review later. Today, I had time to actually work with them... and it finally sunk in that that huge panel on the outside calf is elastic. Really strong elastic. So I pulled the outside around and...violá!! They zipped up!! Being a tall girl, they are perfectly fitted like fancy stiff dressage boots (I mostly ride dressage) so I am so very excited that they will work beautifully. Hooray!!! Just wanted to write all this so if you have wide calves and think they aren't going to fit like you thought - pull hard on that outside part and they will come right around. :-)
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very warm boots Purchased early November for riding on those cold Wisconsin days, boots keep my feet very warm, but bite into, and have actually cut open the back of my knees, as they are too tall for me.
    Date published: 2014-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and warm Very comfortable boots and very easy to break in. Wonderful to wear around the barn while keeping your feet warm and dry yet comfortable to wear in the saddle with good riding support. Love them.
    Date published: 2014-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish there was a summer version! Just bought these so I can't give a longevity review but will say that these gorgeous boots are hitting high notes for me. Crazy warm! I live in the Pacific Northwest...the snowy, frozen version of that region...and have full confidence that these boots will keep the tootsies warm on long mountain endurance trainin rides. And then will look fashionably adorable w my skinnies when I run into town for errands. :) as always, SmartPak's service is flawless.
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the style of these boots! I can't wait for the snow to wear them! They are very warm and cute. Plus I can wear a thick sock if needed.
    Date published: 2014-09-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice boots, but run very tall I bought these boots in a size 10, I'm 5'9. Can barely bend my legs in these bots they are so tall. I'm very disappointed, because otherwise I love these boots and the quality looks very good.
    Date published: 2014-08-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from They Leak! Had these boots since last winter. I liked them okay and better than a lot of others I've tried. However, this year I began to notice my feet would be soaking wet and beyond freezing after taking them off after even a short time. Needless to say, they are leaking terribly!. They are now un-useable, as they never dry out, and will just Very disappointed in the quality, as I've only worn them during the coldest winter months.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great riding boots Fitted me perfectly and shipping very fast. 1-2 days earlier than stated.
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really warm ! I bought these boots a couple weeks ago because my feet would get numb when I rode . now my feet stay warm and I don't have to worry about my feet feeling cold . if you don't get the right size tho they might still get a little cold . I got a size to big so my feet get cold sometimes but not bad but other people at my barn say there so warm they don't even wear socks . I guess it's just how cold your feet get !
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and comfortable So, from reading the other reviews, it's clear that this boot works better for some than others. I wear a 6.5 shoe, am 5'7", with fairly slim calves. I ordered a 6. The height and circumference of the calf is PERFECT (and exactly as listed in the sizing chart, so do check that out before ordering). The foot is generous -- I have lots of room in there to add thicker socks.I found these boots comfortable right out of the box, warm (I have perpetually cold feet so am picky about this) both tromping through the snow and riding, and easy to put on and take off. They are much stiffer than, say, the Ariat Bromonts -- the feeling when you ride is like a proper dressage dress boot, and walking in them is a bit clunky at first.I can see how they would rub your ankle but in my case it has been fine -- if your calves match the listed measurements, order a size down for your foot and see if they work for you.
    Date published: 2013-12-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT WARM boot leg too tall I was very excited to get these boots. When they arrived, I could barely get them zipped up, never could get the snap at the top of the zipper to close and stay snapped. The boot leg is extremely tall, and calf is tight on me. I had on 2 pair of heavy winter socks and my feet still got very cold. I have a 14/12 '' calf so I felt they should ft. Over all I was disappointed in these boots for the money. This boot is cute and the details on the outside are nice, but too much money .They are not comfortable to ride in either on top of everything else. I sent them back .
    Date published: 2013-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great so far! So far I love these! Ive only worn them a couple weeks but they are comfy and holding up well with 2-3 days of riding..not even a crease in the toes! I was looking for a winter boot that could do it all..this fits the bill..they are warm, waterproof, good sole for mud ( or snow) ..AND a boot you can ride in ..unlike some that are really just for occasional riding. The foot bed is a bit bulky but I find it to grip in the stirrups really well. Another thing I like ..because these are synthetic they don't leave black marks on my white blankets like my leather boots do ( my friesian is very round :) and of course they are cute..lots of complements. I normally wear a 7.5 or 8 boot and the 7 in these were a perfect fit..I do think they run a little large. So.. if they hold up as expected.. its all good!
    Date published: 2013-12-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not like A few years ago I purchased and returned several pairs of Mountain Horse winter riding boots and so I don't know why it was surprise to me that these boots fit so poorly. They were too large for me in every dimension and I was not impressed by the look -- which is rather clumsy -- or quality of them. My solution was to return these and order a new pair of Ariat insulated boots, which I have not yet received but am hoping to be happy with. My last pair of winter riding boots were Ariats and they kept me very warm, fit well, and lasted quite a while. I wear Ariats in warmer weather as well. Their fit is more suited to my feet :-).
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Priced too high for what you get These boots were recommended to me, after I received them and went on a ride I was VERY disappointed in these boots. The temp for the day was 38 degrees and these boots did not keep my feet warm at all. I had 2 pairs of thick socks on as well. They are very tall as well. If you are 5'7 or taller these boots would most likely fit you very well. I am 5'5, and I can barely ride in them. I couldn't get the snaps to close at the back. I have 14 1/2 " calves and I could barely get them zipped up. I think them might work ok in a milder climate, but for me at least they didn't keep my feet warm at all. I have summer boots that I wear 2 pairs of socks with that kept my feet warmer than these did. I will be returning these for sure.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy! I got these as a gift last winter, and as I intended to use them then, I had horse issues and couldn't ride in them aside from once! They need a while to break in, but once you do you NEVER want to take them off. I used to wear them to school, to break them in. They're bulky looking down by the foot, but very elegant in the calf. You HAVE to make sure you clean them, or else the material will not be as waterproof as it should be. Wear thick socks though, there is an odd harder plastic at the bottom of the zipper that makes the zipper a lot stronger, but it is a lot stronger on your ankles too! That zipper is strong, it is harsh to get up and stays right in place, it looks slightly pathetic, but it is a wicked good zipper. This year I've been wearing them much more often, including riding! They're so comfortable, aside from the ankle gouging. I walk all over the farm, do stalls, and go out and about with them. Riding was strange at first, it makes a loud squeaking sound when you first start riding in them, eventually it tones down to the level of a normal saddle vs. boot squeak. They keep your legs very stationary, and look perfect with a pair of warm winter breeches! I would definitely recommend these boots, you'll get compliments on their style, and you'll compliment yourself on your toasty feet!
    Date published: 2013-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THESE BOOTS! I was very excited to try my boots on when they came in.... not only did they fit EXACTLY like the measurements said they would, but they were so comfy I didn't want to take them off.  I'm very short but wear a 10 wide. I was worried they would be too tall, and they did start out a little bit on the tall side, BUT after about 10 minutes of wear I could tell they would break in to fit me perfectly.  I've had Mountain Horse winter boots before and I was OK with them... these are AMAZING!  Best winter boot I have ever had in my entire life.  I can wear them forever and feel like I'm working in a pair of comfy slippers! #ImaVeryHappyCustomer
    Date published: 2013-11-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good boot, tight calf I have had other mountain horse boots for years and they finally wore a hole in them so I ordered these to replace them. The calf is too small on me, I had to return them for a wide calf. I didn't think I had large calfs, but my mom's ariat winter boots won't zip on me either. The fur on the inside seems a very nice quality. They come with inflatable boot trees. The zipper seems sturdier than my other mountain horse boots. I have had zippers fail in the past... I haven't ridden in them yet.
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from COGDI The daughter not only loves these for riding but also for shoveling snow or other chores. Wish it came in my (calf) size!
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Awkward Fit I am SO disapointed in these!!!! I am probably the biggest promoter of Mountain Horse. I have returned every tall boot I've ever ordered only to always go back to Mountain Horse Tall Boots! I love love love my show and training tall boots but these I HATE. I tried them in a 8.5 and the calf was so tight because they put the stretch material on the side instead of in the back (where it needs to be). I couldn't zip it up. Then I ordered a 9 thinking it would fit. Once I realized I could grab the side and pull at the same time, I got it to zip up. Now the other issue... these are so bulky I can't even move around in the flat. I feel like I'm riding with blocks below my waist. I gave them a full three weeks to make sure I felt this way and I still do. The foot is super bulky and the calf is much too snug. It is just wrong and un-proportioned. I'm never even going to use them again and I feel like I could have spent the money on regular tall boots. I LOVE LOVE LOVE mountain horse! But these are horribly designed!If you are a rider who rides in the mountains in the deep snow they will probably work for you - but as a rider in training they do didly squat for me. I'm going back to my old old old MH boots and just wearing wool socks with them.
    Date published: 2013-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toasty toes! This is the first winter riding boot I've purchased... and I don't know why I waited so long. These were comfortable from the moment I put them on. The break at the ankle softened while I was walking around the house. They are warm... and for a winter boot, stylish. I don't know how durable they will be, so I left that blank. And, they do run large.
    Date published: 2013-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Winter Boot These boots are sized large. I would buy one size smaller than your normal boot size.They are comfortable and warm. For leisurely riding they are a must in the winter. To train in, not so hot. They are a bit bulky. I find it hard to use dressage methods because of the bulkiness. Perhaps an advanced rider might be more successful. They are good looking and are a nice quality. A tad pricey.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter boot I hesitated after reading the reviews about the height of these boots but I really wanted something I could wear over my jeans when it got really cold. I am 5'4" and when I first put them on they were really high and hurt as I drove in my car to the barn. However, after one ride they broke in nicely and settled right down below my knee. They are super comfortable and warm and I wear them all day working and riding. Sometimes the zipper can be tough to get up but for durability it has to be.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are WONDERFUL! Plus sized riders, GET THESE! I got to ride in these for the first time last week because our winter has been mild so far. Well, winter is now here and I pulled these out to wear and they are FABULOUS! I adore them!! I am plus sized and the elastic in the calf is PERFECT. The fur is so cozy and the foot bed very comfy. Because they are not leather, the ankle is a little stiff, but I can live with that. Like others say, they do run tall. I am 5'6" and I wish they were perhaps an inch shorter. It is bearable, but it takes a little getting used to. While riding, you feel the "over tallness" of them less, so that's a good thing. Also, I usually ride in suede half chaps and am not used to smooth boots, which are slippery and make me feel less secure. These boots are grippier than my half chaps and I LOVE them for this! Oh man give me a leather tall boot with a calf grip like this and I'd wear them forever!! I think they are priced fairly. They are not cheap, but I think the price is perfectly fine for this boot. I can't wait to wear these again!
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm Boots, Great Fit The zipper irritated my heels on the first day out. But after that, I wore thicker socks, and these boots have been fantastic. The shaft height is great (I'm 5'9"), they keep my legs and feet warm, and I've received several compliments on how they look.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! I have never been a fan of tall boots, but my workboots (which I regularly wear riding) needed to be replaced. I decided to buy these boots for warmth and waterproof qualities, as I also do work in the barn.The biggest con I found was that the zippers were a BEAST to zip up. But once I had them on, they were so comfortable, I forgot I was wearing tall boots! I have worn them every day for a week, and have found that they zip up fine now; I believe the elasticity has more give now, and I can zipper with no problem. I also like how the soft material around the ankle makes keeping my heel down in the stirrup ultra easy! And it doesn't hurt that they are stylin' too!I do not find the boots too tall at all, and I am only 5'3" tall. Can't go wrong buying at SmartPak with their 100% satisfaction guarantee. :-)
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny I'd been eyeing these boots for a long time before purchasing them and I love them! It's so nice to have warm feet while I ride.
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    • 2015-05-24T08:26CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_58
    • loc_en_US, sid_8002, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.