Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Mountain Horse Rimrock Highrider Boot

Mountain Horse
- Item #20552
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Mountain Horse Rimrock Highrider Boot is a new twist on an old classic! The boot is designed to keep your feet warm and dry while offering the best possible fit. 

THE LEG

  • Multi-adjustable hook and loop closure at back for the perfect, individualized fit
  • Shaft is made of soft, flexible nylon with water-repellent treatment to keep you dry
  • Reflective material inserts on back of boot for night visibility
  • Faux fur lining keeps you warm
THE FOOT
  • Removable faux fur insole is soft and comfortable
  • Solid waterproof foot part to keep you extra dry
THE SOLE SYSTEM
  • Dirt repellent tread zones on bottom of sole enhance your grip in the stirrup
  • Heel part is fitted with shock-absorbing IPS™ system to reduce shock impact while walking

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mountain Horse Rimrock Highrider Boot is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 18.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wore out in less than a month! These boots began to tear at the ankle (where there is a velcro strap) within the first few weeks of owning them. I ended up sending them back because they were wrecked within a month. I am sticking to leather from now on!
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed At the end oh my 8 hour teaching day my feet hurt and were frozen! because boots fall (slouch and scrunch) they do not protect the whole calf from the weather. they do ride ok
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super Warm but not totally waterproof These are the warmest boots I have found, by far. I love them and they are extremely comfortable. However, the seams on the foot do leak, so they are not totally waterproof in the foot. When I walk through snow, the snow then melts down through the seams and I end up with wet feet. They are the best boot I have found and are a great value for the price. I love not having a zipper to break!
    Date published: 2013-03-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never buy this boot again! The only positive thing I can say about this boot is that it is warm and comfortable in cold DRY weather. I have been wearing them trail riding all winter and had not encountered rain, which is amazing since I live in the Pacific Northwest. There is virtually no support, kind of like wearing slippers, but I think inserts would probably help. The back closure wasn't tight enough for me, but until it rained, that didn't matter either. I rode in the rain 10 days ago with a long coat that covered the top half of the boot. My feet got soaked! My socks squished. The inside of the boots are still soaking wet, and I've had them in the house since that ride. Needless to say, I'll probably never wear them again. Advertising them as waterproof is a farce. Buyer beware. I'm feeling totally ripped off.
    Date published: 2013-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super warm boots! These boots are the warmest winter boots I have found. I was worried that they would feel bulky, but they are extremely comfortable and have kept me warm, even in below zero temperatures. I highly recommend them for very cold winter riding!
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boots Supreme in Extreme These boots are the best for winter warmth! They have been tested a lot in the latest New England snow and have not failed! Not through snow or big, deep puddles. My feet have remained dry and snug and I am sooo happy to have these boots. They're not stealth boots - they're downright noisy putting the boots on and taking them off due to the mass of Velcro, but its worth the dryness and custom fit that the boot provides. They're a tad big but thats great for extra socks, if you want them. They're not gorgeous - I feel my first-grade finest when I have them on and am clunking around, but that makes them fun in a different way. I was concerned that the black inside plush lining was going to be a hair magnet (I have yellow labs and a grey horse - which is apparent on most of my black clothes), but not so! I only put a 4 for durability because I have only had them for a few months and so they're not really tried and true for the long haul just yet. I have no reason to think they wont last though - I have had Mountain Horse boots before and wear and wear and wear them (to the barn, on dog hikes, on canoe trips, at the camp, on the sidewalk ) and they last a good long while. I haven't ridden in them and don't plan to because I have other winter boots (please, I have to leave the first grader look behind during dressage lessons!) and these are more chore boots for me. I also used to wear my other Mountain Horse boots in the summer - these are going to be toooo warm for that habit, but I'm sure you don't intend to wear yours in the summer anyway. They are winter perfect! And so reasonably priced. Mountain Horse greatness!
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from They very work, but read below about fit I have a large and low calf that has always posed a fitting issue (ski boots were the worst and riding boots are next :( I tried the lovely MH Stellas but they did not fit my calf.I can wear this boot because of the velcro in the back which barely but does close. So they don't look great but the are closed and warm.Two potential issues to be aware of:There is little support/cushion from the footbed (like an Ariat) which can be remedied by an insert.Somewhat related, when riding, you don't have that really nice solid feel of a great footbed, it feels mushy.However, all said, with my problem calf, I am just happy to be really warm!
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inexpensive alternative These boots are warm in leg and foot and keeps me dry. I'm wearing them in temperatures from -10 to 35 comfortably. At the lower end you need to layer socks. The boot is very tall - which is great for me, fits well, looks okay though bulky. The long strip of velcro at the back works but can be cumbersome to get fit tightly on your leg. The ankle collapses without rubbing so position in stirrup is good. Nice soles. Again, a bit bulky for my taste...but nothing about cold winters is terribly stylish. My only concern is how long the Velcro will last. Very good boot for the money if you have no illusions about needing leather for the winter.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase This is my second pair of Mountain Horse winter riding boots. I chose this style as I need a wide-calf boot and the velcro closure allows you to customize the calf-width of the boot. These boots are also taller than my old Mountain Horse boots, so they don't catch on the bottom of my Dressage saddle flap. I usually wear an 8.5 boot, but these don't come in 1/2 sizes, so I ordered the 9. The boots are a bit big, but that doesn't really pose an issue. The boots keep my legs very toasty, but unfortunately, they don't keep my feet as warm as my old pair/style did. Overall though, I feel these boots were a good purchase.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally, an affordable winter tall boot! I have trouble finding boots that fit (size 5, short legs). These were affordable, and they look pretty nice too! I haven't worn them a whole lot yet, but they seem to be ready for what winter may bring. The velcro adjustable calf is really nice so I can get it tight enough around my tiny legs. I'd recommend these to anyone looking for a good, warm tall boot, but not wanting to break the bank.
    Date published: 2012-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good economy winter book This boots just arrived so I've only tried them on in the house. Appear to be comfortable walking and fit well (true to size). Good looking but a bit bulky. The velcro flaps are easy to use but don't know how well they'll hold under riding conditions. The construction is very good but again the materials are not leather so I'm not sure what will happen if you scrape your leg on a tree or fence. Time will tell.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So warm! Love these! I've started wearing them even though its not that cold out just because they're so comfy! The velcro doesn't close perfectly because I have wide calves, but it still is secure and the boots look great.
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    • 2015-08-26T13:37CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_17
    • loc_en_US, sid_10552, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.