Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot

Mountain Horse
- Item #18001
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot has a tall, sleek look and elegant features. Upper boot is made from strong Duralon™ with heat insulating Thermolite® lining to keep your legs warm.  Durable elastic material inserts along calf area for improved individual fit and allows room for some extra winter layers!  In addition to being warm, this boot is both breathable and waterproof thanks to the HYDRO-Tx membrane.  Technical and stylish, this riding boot will keep your feet dry and warm in or out of the saddle!  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Heat insulating 200g Thermolite® lining
  • Super strong and durable YKK® zipper to enhance the life of your boots
  • Sleeker shaped foot for a closer fit
  • Breathable, waterproof HYDRO-Tx membrane prevents water from entering into the footpart up to the zipper
  • Stirrup Control System™ with enhanced grip will help you maintain correct stirrup position as well as increase traction on snow and ice while on the ground.

Sizing It Up

6-10

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot is rated 3.7612 out of 5 by 67.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy but TALL I just got back from using my Ice Riders for the first time and was pleasantly surprised at how quickly they broke in. I knew to order down one full size as I have the Mountain Horse Firenze tall boots as well. I usually wear a 7-7.5, got a 6 in these, and they fit perfectly. They're very flexible, allow for good contact with the stirrups, and kept my feet more or less warm in flimsy little dress socks. My only gripe is that they're too tall for my 5'4" legs (well, the legs on my 5'4" body, I should say).I really wish SmartPak carried the short version of the Mountain Horse Active Winter Rider. It's the only Mountain Horse winter boot that comes in a short calf, and I'd buy it in a heartbeat! (HINT HINT, SMARTPAK!!!)
    Date published: 2012-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hot Hot Hot I purchased these thinking they might be duplicative to Dubarrys with a liner or just warmer socks in my regular boots, as my feet are rarely cold-cold. A day after they arrived, we had a cold snap and I quickly threw them on for my 30-degree ride. They were AWESOME. The only problem - and this is minor - is that when you get them, they smell like a wetsuit. My car smelled like rubber for the day I kept them in the front seat. They are surprisingly flexible for such thick neoprene and loosened up by the third and fourth uses. Overall, a GREAT value for a tremendously warm boot.
    Date published: 2012-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I purchased them I have only had the opportunity to ride in these boots a couple of times. The best part, my feet stayed warm, the bad part is the boot is a little bulky, but I prefer warmth overall.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm I bought winter boots because I was having trouble keeping my toes from getting so cold I would lose feeling in my regular Ariat Heritage Paddock boots. I gave these a try and they really seem to make a difference. I can't attest to their durability since I haven't had them long, but so far I am satisfied.
    Date published: 2012-02-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not buy The fit of this boot is excellent. Size 7 fit with medium weight sock. First time I wore the boots, they developed a crease on the inner and outer sides just above the stitching joining the foot part with the upper part. I have only worn these maybe a dozen times. They are extremely uncomfortable. My feet also get very cold in them at 35 degrees. I had a pair of MH Stella Polaris that were extremely comfortable and warm. I should have bought a second pair.
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these boots! SO happy with these boots! Keep my feet and legs toasty warm, very comfortable, great for walking and riding. Have only had them a month, but they seem very well made and durable. Usually wear a size 6-1/2, but the 6 fits perfectly. I like them so well, I also wear them to and from the barn, and all points in between.
    Date published: 2012-01-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Jury is Still Out I got these boots for Christmas, and I haven't yet decided how much I like them. As for fit, they run true to size in the foot, and for my size, the calf and height are about perfect (I wear a size 7, and my half chaps are a 15/17- the regular calf fits just right). I have had one "break-in blister" so far, but that's expected for new tall boots. I appreciate the use of heavy-duty zippers, so I don't have to worry about them failing on me. They are still a bit stiff, but they haven't fully broken in yet, but so far they are pretty comfortable, the foot bed especially. I wore them to muck stalls on Christmas day, and my feet stayed warm and dry. In fact, I haven't yet ridden in them because they are SO warm they make my legs sweat! So I have to save them for the bitter cold days. I'm skeptical that I will like them to ride in because they're pretty clunky, so I might have to use them only for light hacks and barn chores. You will require a wider stirrup iron with these boots due to the clunky factor, but if you need a boot to keep you warm and dry without breaking the bank, I would recommend giving these boots a try.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great purchase, but the fit could be better I really love these boots. I bought them two years ago and am so glad I did. They are incredibly warm, super comfortable, and have lasted me through two tough winters! The only complaint I have is that the calf is HUGE. I don't think I have small calves, but when i wear these I feel like my legs are sticks! I usually wear thick socks with them, though, so that helps. Other than that, they are totally worth buying and I would definitely recommend them to a friend.
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmmm! Since I live in NY, I finally decided to get myself a pair of winter riding boots so I could feel my feet after I got done riding. These do take a bit to break in but once they do, they are extremely comfy! I find that I wear them everywhere, riding, the store, home, the barn, college. Plus, they're waterproof so I wore them to college to trek through all the snow. The only downside is that because I do a lot of trail riding in the winter, the boots scratched from branches easily. If this pair breaks, I'm definitely buying another pair.
    Date published: 2011-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These Boots I grew up riding competitively and recently returned to riding after 20 years and took up fox hunting and hunter/ jumper showing. I bought these last winter for cold, wet, long days in the saddle and I LOVE THEM. The foot bed was comfortable from the first time I put them on. I like the slim lines and sole that looks like regular boots. My toes and feet stayed warm and tosty no matter how cold or how long we rode. So comfortable in the stirrup, no pain up your leg when you dismount. I'm 5'6", so at first, just like a leather boot, they were a little tall on the ground, but they broke down after three or so rides and were comfortable while mounted from the get go. I have continued using them into the spring, and even with the weather warming (60 to 70 degree days) my calves have been a bit sweaty but my feet remain dry and comfortable. I bought a scrub brush at the grocery store and after a long messy day some dish soap and a scrub and they look nice again. No problem with the zippers riding 2-4 times per week for 5 months. A tiny bit of leaking when I actually waded through water but never from rain or splashing through streams while mounted. I got lots of compliments in the field, and while I finally bit the bullett and bought leather dress boots as I returned to the show ring this spring, I felt fine my first few shows in these. I will continue to wear these for schooling and huning if its cold or wet for the simple fact that I don't have to polish them! No spur rests, so if you wear spurs you have to crank them down to keep them kind of in place, but that's my only issue.
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best boot These boots do not fit well. I have a normal size leg and the calf on these boots are enormous. The inside of the leg is rough and would scratch the leather on my dressage saddle. The mountain horse sport riders are excellent boots, but I was disappointed in these boots.
    Date published: 2011-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic they seem a bit large n the foot area but it does leave room for an extra pair of socks . other than that they are great .
    Date published: 2011-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just in time ! Winter 2010-11 in the Southeast has been very, very cold with much more snow than usual. After the snow, and after the rain, comes the mud......and my Mountain Horse Tall Boots have been a lifesaver ! They go from the house to the car to the barn and back...often with a quick stop at the grocery in between, and I know they always look great. I had concerns about my 17 " calves...(as I had to custom make my tall Hunt boots)...but the Wide fits very comfortably yet looks sleek and trim. At 5"9 I appreciate the tall leg..tho I could imagine it might be a bit difficult for someone with a short lower leg. I had no difficulty fitting into my stirrups tho this was a concern of the manufacturer. A bit stiffer at first than breeches and half chaps, but this is quickly compensated for by the warm toasty toes and dry feet despite the cold, soaked terrain ! I have only had them a month but they appear to be very well made, and I hope we have a long and happy life together !
    Date published: 2011-01-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad Fit I tried these boots, the calf is enormous even though I have normal size legs. The area where the boot rests against the saddle is rough and would likely destroy my saddle leather. I was disappointed with these boots, though the Sport Rider are really nice.
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horrible Boots The design on these boots is horrible! The inside of the calf is made of plastic, which scratches my saddle! Also, the boots are really stiff. It feels like your leg is in a straight jacket. They will keep you warm, but are not functional for riding. I would rather have cold toes than ruin my saddle with these boots.
    Date published: 2011-01-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I own two different style Mountain Horse leather boots so I had high hopes for these winter boots. They were way too tall and the pair I received had a broken zipper (it wouldn't zip up). Thus, I returned them. I hope Mountain Horse comes up with a nicer design and softer material than these boots.
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Alright for Chores, TERRIBLE for Riding I got these for the cold WI winters, and they do keep my feet warm. However, the outer shell is so darned stiff that I can't feel my horse when I ride. It's like riding with a block of wood on my leg from the knee down! I didn't notice it as much last winter when I wasn't doing much training-wise, but now that my horse and I are back to work, I have to change into my leather boots for riding, which means my feet FREEZE. The zippers are also horribly sticky. They're supposed to be water-proof, but mine are on their second winter and melting snow seeps in. I'll be getting rid of these boots as soon as I can replace them with something better.
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok Not the greatest but if i had put in risers they would have been better.
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pichned in the knee I never really used these boots but i am returning. They didnt fit me right, pinched me in the back of the knee and so high that i couldn't walk or sit down. the look nice but definatly not worth the price. Might fit better in taller than 5'4 but i am buying a different brand next time that is for sure.
    Date published: 2010-11-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Only lasted a year ... I purchased these hoping they would keep my feet warm in the winter. They were huge in the foot and half and only lasted one winter before the seams on the sole gave out. I bought a pair of muck boots instead and am back to wearing paddocks when I ride which is a much better solution.
    Date published: 2010-04-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfy, warm, and look good This is my second pair of Ice Riders. I got 2 winters out of the first pair. Those are still wearable, but the boot cracked where the stirrup crosses the ball of my foot so they're no longer waterproof. I got this replacement pair so I could wade through the spring mud to turn out the horses and keep my feet dry! They're good looking and don't change my leg position from where it is with leather boots.
    Date published: 2010-03-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not that warm.... I've had these boots for years-- essentially since they came out. Sure, they're warmer than normal leather boots, but I'm not sure if they're warm enough to be winter boots. The zippers can be sticky. They're also hard to get clean. I've done everything I can think of to clean them and still they are dirty and they seem to retain odor. Usually you can scrub the smell of manure and other "horse funk" out of a boot.... not these. And even after all these years, I still get rubs on my heels.On the plus side, they are very slim and fit in stirrups well. They fit fairly well, except for the rubs in the ankle area.That said, I'm willing to give Mountain Horse boots another try.
    Date published: 2010-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great winter boot They take a bit to break in and behind the ankle can be sore at first but they do keep you warm and they are not too bulky
    Date published: 2010-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good boot for the price They run true in length but are pretty wide - as stated in the description. I have to wear two pairs of socks or one super heavy sock to keep my feet and ankles from sliding around. I wish they had more tac as my leg slides more on the saddle that leather to leather, but once used to them, they seem fine. I like the heavier zippers used on these as one on my MH Fusions died after little more than one winter. I like the velcro tab at the top as well. Possibly not as warm as the fusions but definitely more space for layers of long underwear and winter breeches (fusions too narrow at the ankle for extra layers).
    Date published: 2010-01-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from great in irons slimmer design makes for nice riding but found that due to my shorter calves the ankles collpased a bit and cause a rub on heal. Roomy for thick winter wear. Nice arch support and warm .
    Date published: 2010-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hoping for warmth Mountain horse comes with a guarantee, i appreciate that in a product. I needed bulk free warmth. i can feel my horse through these boots which gives me great comfort. This is my first pair of boots from mountain horse so I'll wait on my yr with these to give a final opinion. as of now, i love them and stand behind mountain horse products!
    Date published: 2009-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value for the money I have another pair of MH boots that I love, so I decided to get these for the winter. Like the others, they are well made and decent looking. My only problem with these boots was that the seam just above the ankle was digging into my skin. So, I had to send them back.
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not like the boot I found these boots to be to stiff and too tall for my leg, I did not ride in them I just tryed them on and returned them.
    Date published: 2009-12-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have "fat" upper calves. The wide boots work pretty well, could have a bit more expansion on the top. They are very attractive and therefore I plan to use these for schooling shows and clinics vice my half chaps or my really expensive dress boots.
    Date published: 2009-11-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Uncomfortable & Size Runs Small A friend of mine had purchased this boot a couple of years ago. She liked them & I asked if I could try them on. She is size 9W, I am size 10W. Her boots were a bit snug on me as one would expect, but comfortable. She said the shoe portion of the boot was soft & comfortable from the time she first put them on. I ordered my normal size 10W. The 10W boots were way too small. I asked my friend (who owns the size 9W) to try them on, she said they were uncomfortably tight & stiff even for her. In comparing her boot, exact same style & item but purchased a couple of years ago, we saw several differences in the shoe portion of boots. Primarily we noticed that the 'shoe' portion of the boot was much stiffer. I thought I should at least try the next size because maybe it would fit & feel better. The same exact boot just 1 size larger. The size was fine, but the boots were so extremly uncomfortable because the shoe part was still VERY stiff. The shoe part has NO give, it was like hard plastic pressing in on the sides of my heels & the front part of my ankle. Also where the shoe part is attached to the boot shaft in the front, that point actually pushed uncomfortably into the front of my ankle every time I took a step.I would never recommend the Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall boot to anyone.
    Date published: 2009-11-09
    • 2015-08-30T15:28CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_65
    • loc_en_US, sid_8001, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.