Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot

Mountain Horse
- Item #18001
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot has a tall, sleek look and elegant features. Upper boot is made from strong Duralon™ with heat insulating Thermolite® lining to keep your legs warm.  Durable elastic material inserts along calf area for improved individual fit and allows room for some extra winter layers!  In addition to being warm, this boot is both breathable and waterproof thanks to the HYDRO-Tx membrane.  Technical and stylish, this riding boot will keep your feet dry and warm in or out of the saddle!  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Heat insulating 200g Thermolite® lining
  • Super strong and durable YKK® zipper to enhance the life of your boots
  • Sleeker shaped foot for a closer fit
  • Breathable, waterproof HYDRO-Tx membrane prevents water from entering into the footpart up to the zipper
  • Stirrup Control System™ with enhanced grip will help you maintain correct stirrup position as well as increase traction on snow and ice while on the ground.

Sizing It Up

6-10

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot is rated 3.7612 out of 5 by 67.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm and not bulky I was tired of cold feet in the winter so I got these. It has t got cold enough yet to wear them to the barn but I have worn them around the house and they're comfy and warm just a little heavy. They're also not very bulky which is hard to find
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from no more cold feet Cold feet have made winter riding somewhat miserable for me- until these boots. I wear them with a pair of smartwool skiing socks and can honestly say that my feet do not get cold, even when trail riding for a couple of hours. They are also great for chores and they keep water out. They are a little stiff and clunky, but warmth more than makes up for it. These boots have changed my life- I no longer dread winter (or at least not as much)!
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm I bought this last month after moving from Florida to New Hampshire. Super cold! It was quite a shock. There were a few things to make riding in it tolerable and these boots were one of them. (The others in case you're interested are Carrhart suits, fleece lined breeches, a helmet cover with ear coverage and my heavy duty Rambo blanket) Anyhow, the boots are very warm despite their thin appearance. My toes stayed warm and the dirt, mud and snow came off cleanly. They are very snug in the calf area and a little stiff at first (that was why only 4 stars) but they did fit and overall I am very satisfied with them.
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unbelievably warm I'm on my second pair of Ice Rider boots. The first pair lasted me probably four years before finally getting a crack in the toe area. I researched other brands of winter boots before deciding, again, that the Ice Riders were probably the best value. The new ones seem harder to zip (or maybe my memory has just faded), but I'm hopeful that they'll loosen up. They are warm, warm, warm and decent to ride in. The foot does seem large and somewhat clunky, but I've never had a problem with them sliding in and out of the stirrup appropriately.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm! I suffered all winter with cold feet and finally broke down and bought these. Theyer certainly not fine leather or fancy but they're warm and that's all I was interested in!
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots! Do like these boots. I really believe they have improved my leg position while riding. They are also nice and warm for our very cold winter in the Midwest this year.I would recommend them, however they did require a break in period on my part. At first they were very tall and uncomfortable behind my leg. But, I am short. What others have said about the zippers is very true. They are very difficult to zip up! Especially when one is wearing breeches and long underwear. Three others at my bar have these also and agree they are good winter boots, but the zippers definitely need to be changed.
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice at First - Useless After 2 Years Purchased these in 2012 to keep my feet warm and dry during cold PA winters - they worked great for the first year. However, they were very tough to break in (lots of blisters and rubs).This winter, both boots have large cracks right at the ball of the foot on the inside of the foot, which lets in all kinds of snow and cold and then KEEPS that snow and cold inside the boot. Not awesome at all. Expected better quality from Mt. Horse and SmartPak.
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm These boots are amazingly warm, the fit is excellent and very comfortable once broken in. I have the original rimfrost riders which I love but they are 13 years old an the sole is falling off. I decided to buy the sleeker versions this time for stirrup purposes and I'm glad I did. These boots are just as warm but have a more refined look. Great boot for the price!
    Date published: 2014-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for Price I bought these about a month ago and it has been in the single digits much of the time, and if we are lucky, up to 20. These boots are not beautiful when compared to nice show boots, but they are warm. And attractive enough -- I walked into a store wearing them (when they were new and clean) and a woman went out of her way to say she thought they were great looking boots. I bought them because my Ariat Bromonts were in the shoe repair to get a zipper replaced and I am glad I did. They are good around the barn and in snow, but a bit clunky. I think they are fairly comfortable right out of the box, and nice and tall (taller than the Bromonts). So all in all, I'm glad I bought them, but they are what they are -- utilitarian.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Warm These boots kept my feet extremely warm. However they are very stiff and require a long break in period. The zipper is very hard to close as well. The leather is very soft.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sent them back I read the reviews on this boot, and thought I would give them a try. I will say, they are very comfortable. I wore them on a day that started out in the 30's, and they were relatively warm. The boot fit in the stirrups well. I did think the hard plastic did not allow for as much of a feel of the horse as I would have liked. The temperature started dropping, and my feet got really cold. I was disappointed, and sent them back.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Difficult zippers I returned these boots because the zippers were very difficult. I have other Mountain Horse boots that I love but these were not the same quality.
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot. I bought these boots to keep my feet warm around the barn. I also have a hard time finding boots to fit my calf. With the elastic panels by the zipper they fit perfect.
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best winter boot I ever had I had a previous pair and they always kept my feet warm with the right socks.  So I love the new ones too.  My only complaint, the zipper is hard and being a senior my hands and fingers don't work as well as they use to.  I'd like to see a leather tab added (like half chaps have on their zippers).  It would give people having strength issues or arthritic issues more leverage to pull the zippers up.  Overall, I got these on sales and their great!
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sent them back. The boots were so stiff and uncomfortable. I had a different version of these boots for years and was disappointed these did not work. Ended up with Ariats.
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot!! I bought these boots to keep warm at the barn during the winter and walking around shows. They do exactly that! These boots aren't advertised as show boots, so they don't look like show boots! They are very warm and durable. Fit me perfectly. I'm a big fan of Mountain horse stuff.. I have the coat and hat also! I have ridden in these boots before and while they're not as close contact as my slim fit tall boots, they weren't distracting me at all. 
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent boots except it was too tall I wear a size 9 shoe and height is 5'4. The boots were too tall and came up past my knees
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! These are wonderful boots. They keep my feet warm and they are sleek and easy to ride in. 
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these! I have had these for two years and they look good enough that I can wear them fox hunting on wet days. They clean up very well with some leather new (yes, on the plastic) which was my only issue I would scrub with a brush and when they dried there was still dirt in the texture. Leather new fixed that. I find them super comfortable and very warm.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT BOOTS WE LIVE ON THE COAST OF MAINE AND RIDE ALL YEAR. THESE BOOTS ARE PERFECT IN THE FALL, WINTER AND SPRING. AND FROM A DISTANCE THEY REALLY LOOK LIKE SHOW BOOTS, WHICH MY DAUGTHERS LOVE. THEY ARE WARM, COZY, COMFY AND ELEGANT.
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from COLD toes!! I ride all day long in the winter outside at 6 to 30F in the mountains of Utah. I have bought many Mountain horse and Dublin boots. This particular boot was the coldest! The sole is SO thin the cold from the concrete and riding. The sole is thin so if you ride English in an indoor arena or just ride for 30 min to 1 hour you may be fine. If you want something to wear all day make sure you buy one of their thick sole styles and not this ice rider boot. Try Rimfrost, Active rider etc.
    Date published: 2013-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Invincible boots Best winter boots ever! warm and last several winters or until I have actually worn the soles out.I think I am on my third pair.Zippers are good. Pretty much watertight. Good support for riding and walking. Comfy.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love and hate them When I got these boots I was worried the inside of the calf would scratch my saddle, however it did not leave any marks on my saddle at all. They were comfortable to ride in. Comfortable to wear around the barn and kept my feet warm except on below zero days. My disappointment in these boots came a few months after I bought them. The outside material came apart from the sole on one boot. It's a 4 inch opening and caused my foot to get soaked and VERY cold. It's quite disappointing because I found these boots very comfortable from the start and I loved that they kept my feet warm and dry. I hope it was just a faulty boot.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit perfectly I absolutely love these boots. They are warm, fit perfectly and were comfortable to ride in the first time I wore them. I rode in a clinic several weeks ago in 23 degree temperatures and my feet were toasty warm!
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Uncomfortable I only wore these for about 30 minutes, they were very stiff and way too uncomfortable. I returned them and bought Ariat Brossard boots which were comfortable right out of the box. I only wish they were as tall as the Mountain Horse Boots which is the only thing I liked about the Ice Riders.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, Waterproof, Functional This is the second time around I have purchased these boots. My mother and I bought the first set 4+ years ago, and I am still wearing mine. I ride in them quite a bit during the winter, and I never have a problem with my feet getting cold, even on 4-5 hour fox hunts. Mostly waterproof, but if you have to swim a creek then they are going to get water in through the zipper. Other than that a very great quality boot for the price! Comfortable and plenty of room for thicker socks, layers, winter breeches, etc.
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Regrettable purchase I purchased these boots a year ago and should have returned them at that time. On the positive side, the boots are warm. However, the zippers are incredibly stiff, even after an application of lithium grease. My achilles is rubbed raw every time I wear them so I must use moleskin to protect that area. My feet hurt in them in the saddle and on the ground. Since I've had them for some time, I've not pursued a return and continue to "make do.". Smart Pak has great products and service and this is the only time I've been disappointed.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy but TALL I just got back from using my Ice Riders for the first time and was pleasantly surprised at how quickly they broke in. I knew to order down one full size as I have the Mountain Horse Firenze tall boots as well. I usually wear a 7-7.5, got a 6 in these, and they fit perfectly. They're very flexible, allow for good contact with the stirrups, and kept my feet more or less warm in flimsy little dress socks. My only gripe is that they're too tall for my 5'4" legs (well, the legs on my 5'4" body, I should say).I really wish SmartPak carried the short version of the Mountain Horse Active Winter Rider. It's the only Mountain Horse winter boot that comes in a short calf, and I'd buy it in a heartbeat! (HINT HINT, SMARTPAK!!!)
    Date published: 2012-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hot Hot Hot I purchased these thinking they might be duplicative to Dubarrys with a liner or just warmer socks in my regular boots, as my feet are rarely cold-cold. A day after they arrived, we had a cold snap and I quickly threw them on for my 30-degree ride. They were AWESOME. The only problem - and this is minor - is that when you get them, they smell like a wetsuit. My car smelled like rubber for the day I kept them in the front seat. They are surprisingly flexible for such thick neoprene and loosened up by the third and fourth uses. Overall, a GREAT value for a tremendously warm boot.
    Date published: 2012-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I purchased them I have only had the opportunity to ride in these boots a couple of times. The best part, my feet stayed warm, the bad part is the boot is a little bulky, but I prefer warmth overall.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    • 2015-05-24T08:26CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_65
    • loc_en_US, sid_8001, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.