Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot

Mountain Horse
- Item #18001
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot has a tall, sleek look and elegant features. Upper boot is made from strong Duralon™ with heat insulating Thermolite® lining to keep your legs warm.  Durable elastic material inserts along calf area for improved individual fit and allows room for some extra winter layers!  In addition to being warm, this boot is both breathable and waterproof thanks to the HYDRO-Tx membrane.  Technical and stylish, this riding boot will keep your feet dry and warm in or out of the saddle! 

Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Heat insulating 200g Thermolite® lining
  • Super strong and durable YKK® zipper to enhance the life of your boots
  • Sleeker shaped foot for a closer fit
  • Breathable, waterproof HYDRO-Tx membrane prevents water from entering into the footpart up to the zipper
  • Stirrup Control System™ with enhanced grip will help you maintain correct stirrup position as well as increase traction on snow and ice while on the ground.
Key Specifications
  • Material: Duralon, Extensia
  • Insulation: Thermolite
  • Style: Dress

Specifications

Material Duralon, Extensia
Insulation Thermolite
Type of Zipper YKK
Style Dress
Footbed Waterproof HYDRO-Tx
Waterproof Yes
Special Features Stirrup Control Systemto help maintain correct stirrup position
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The exceptional durability and iconic style of the ...
    Description:
    "The exceptional durability and iconic style of the classic Galway Boot, with fashionable and functional new features. Genuine fleece at the top and in the footbed are extremely durable and exceptionally comfortable. Gore's top-of-the-line Potelana synthetic fleece lines the leg, ...
    "With many features of a riding boot and ...
    Description:
    "With many features of a riding boot and a twist of elegance, the Dubarry Clare boot feels equally at home around town and at the barn. Crafted from DryFast-DrySoft™ crushed and smooth performance leathers and fully lined with GORE-TEX®, these ...
    "Dubarry's iconic signature boot is now available in ...
    Description:
    "Dubarry's iconic signature boot is now available in a slim fit! The Dubarry Galway Boot is the original waterproof, breathable boot from Dubarry, perfect all purpose outdoor footwear for any weather. Raved about in Europe for years due to the ...
    "The Eskadron FlexiSoft Front Boots are Eskadron's best ...
    Description:
    "The Eskadron FlexiSoft Front Boots are Eskadron's best selling boot for a reason! This anatomically shaped jumping boot offers fantastic fit and ultimate protection. Flexible shell combined with the soft area below the horse's knee provides added comfort and ease ...
    "The most advanced horse boot with carbon fiber ...
    Description:
    "The most advanced horse boot with carbon fiber and gel technology makes these the best fitting and performing open front boot for jumpers. The anatomic design gives more freedom of movement to knee and fetlock, while providing maximum comfort and ...
    "The Eskadron Protection Boots are the original jumping ...
    Description:
    "The Eskadron Protection Boots are the original jumping boot by Eskadron! Made of TPE with a VELCRO® fastening. Neoprene lined. Special recess in the upper area for better wearing comfort. Value Pack includes both front and hind boots."
    "These elegant, classic boots are designed for riders ...
    Description:
    "These elegant, classic boots are designed for riders of all levels. The Baroque Dress Boots are made with super soft premium leather for outstanding comfort while offering the elegance and traditional styling of a custom made boot. Imported. Dress Boots ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 88.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot! Perfect fit and comfy! True to size. Easy to break in
    Date published: 2017-01-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from returned Nice boots but they were too tall for my legs. I had to return them.
    Date published: 2017-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super warm! Super warm and great riding boots! Wonderful value
    Date published: 2017-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot but not waterproof These boots are good looking and a great value. I feel that they fit true to size. I have 16.5 inch calves (bigger with winter breeches) and these boots in Wide were just fine in the calf. My only complaint is that, in deep snow, the zippers fill up with snow and leak water into your heels. I used to have Active Winter Riders and do not recall this ever being an issue with those boots. It wouldn't be an issue if my horses lived in an actual barn, but they are out to pasture, so this is a problem when I go to catch them for a ride.
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit and Toasty Warm I purchased these about a month ago and so glad that I did. Easy to get on and zip up. As a Dressage Instructor I typically ride several horses a day, plus teach so I wanted a boot that would provide good feel, comfort and durability during our wet and cold Pacific Northwest Winters. I believe I've found it.
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good quality and well insulated Nice looking boot that would definitely keep my feet warm. Sadly I had to return them because I couldn't get them zipped all the way up without a struggle.
    Date published: 2017-01-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from WAY too small Bought a size ten, my usual, and couldn't even get my foot inside the boot. Very stiff, not sure how they would have ended up breaking in. Returned them for refund.
    Date published: 2016-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm! I love these boots! They are warm and waterproof. The fit is perfect even with layers of warm clothes. The zipper is a good quality.
    Date published: 2016-12-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too tall Too tall for 5'3", and very stiff material will not break in. Too bad!
    Date published: 2016-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems like they'd be warm In search of new winter riding boots, as my very favorite Mountain Horse Rimrock tall boots don't appear to be made any more, and I have used them up completely! I was hoping these would be the boots, but alas, I will be returning them. They seem like good boots, and they seem like they will be warm. However, they didn't fit me properly. Usually I am a size 7 1/2, but based on reviews on other sites I chose to go down a size rather than up. My heel has a little room to slip around, yet my toes are very very cramped, especially with warm thick socks. While a size up may or may not fix the toe problem, I don't feel confident it will be worth trying it as my heel is already slipping. Also they are quite stiff and I am not confident I'll be able to ride effectively in them--maybe they would have broken in, but I won't be able to find out.
    Date published: 2016-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this 2 weeks ago in the size 8 regular width and have been able to ride in them a few times. They do start out stiff, and at my height of 5'3" the height was slightly tall. Out of the box, they are lovely. Much better looking then the picture. I wore them around the hour for a day before riding in them and the ankle is getting more and more comfortable. So they do need break in time. They did relax a little so the height fits great now. My biggest complaint is the foot area has TONS of room. That made them feel clunky to me. I fixed it by buyinh some thermal insoles from walmart, not my feet are definitely cozy, cushioned, and my boots fit better and i get a better feel. As long as they continue to break in around the ankle, I would give them 5 stars. Well made, easy to clean, warm, beautiful, they are a good buy!
    Date published: 2016-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit and Warm True to size, nice and warm! Not too bulky. I am 5'3" and did not have issues with them fitting my leg length or calves. I cannot comment on the quality yet, but they have keep my feet dry through the recent blizzard and slush. I like them so much that I may have to get a regular pair to ride in the summer!
    Date published: 2016-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked them, but... They were too tall for me. I'm 5'3" and they cut into the back of my leg/knee when bending. The boot was nice, but very stiff and I could tell it wasn't going to break in. I returned these and got the Ariat H2O Extreme tall boots which were on sale. I had the Ariat Brossard tall boots from several years ago and they are very warm and wore exceptionally well. I never regret an Ariat purchase. For the price, I wanted to like these, but they did not work for me.
    Date published: 2016-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot but wide is WIDE I purchased these boots and received quickly, however, the wide was much too wide but the foot size measured perfectly, and therefore had to return. Service from Smartpak was exceptional and return processed quickly. Unfortunately there was not another available in my size therefore returned for credit. I would have been very happy with these boots had they fit correctly.
    Date published: 2016-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm and easy clean! Bought these last winter and have held up well. Good grip in the stirrups and on the ground. They were comfortable right out of the box. They flex well in the ankle. They are tough outside the arena through brush and thorns, nothing snagged the material. Easy clean up, just hose off and wipe dry. The tread does hold a bit of sand but not bad. I only need thin socks in these down into 10-20degrees Fahrenheit when riding. If I'm on the ground then 2 thin layers of socks are good. They fit true to size as well.
    Date published: 2016-01-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hard to zip! I really want to like these, but they are super hard to zip.....maybe they will get better they do stretch just not sure how much. And these are not made for short people. They need have different shaft heights for all the sizes. Just because a person is a 9 doesn't mean they have an 18 inch calf! These go so far up it hits the bottom of my knee cap and I'm 5'6
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and nice looking! Bought these just a couple of weeks ago and wore them for the first time this week. The standard is a bit snug in the ankle and calf, especially if you wear layers. I'm hoping the shaft stretches out a bit overtime as the note inside said. They are good and warm though.
    Date published: 2015-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmer than they look! Bought these a little over a week ago. It has been single digit temps outside and the boots are still very warm. Bought the wide calf because that is the only thing they had left at the time. My daughter's calves(age 13) are much smaller and she has about an inch and a half room to spare, but she says they are still comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! It had been years since I bought a good pair of winter riding boots and I knew that everyone seems to love this brand so I was happy to give them a try. I took the plunge during a post-holiday sale and couldn't be happier.I ride at night in the Northeast and I feel like I could ride in any temperature in these boots. The sheepskin footbed liner is extra cozy. The fit is more like a dressage dress boot than a field boot so I understand some of the reviewers saying that they are stiff--because they are--but I love that in a boot. The footbed is also a little wide so you may want to swap out to a wider stirrup for the winter if you feel there's a risk of your foot getting hung up during a cold weather spooky moment. I think they're a very attractive boot too and I haven't had any issues with water seeping in.Overall I couldn't be happier, I should have bought them weeks earlier!
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too Tall! I absolutely LOVED these boots. So much that I almost kept them, but they were too tall for me. I am 5'4" and they came up behind my knee. I needed them for fox hunting and there was no way they would work. If you are short, don't bother ordering these. If you are tall, they are perfect for you!
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from HOT FEET on -1 days! I loved these boots. I have a hard time getting my foot in boots with a high instep and I was able to get in. They are incredibly warm - and not clunky at all. Wondered how they would be jumping and they were perfect. I kick myself for not buying a pair before now!
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Boot This is a nice winter riding boot. I have yet to have cold feet and calves while wearing this. Also easy to clean so that's nice also. Overall a very good boot especially for the price.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hardy boots! I bought these boots over a year ago and have worn them year round! They were amazing! They went through mud, sand, ice, muck, everything! I wore them while I did dressage riding and polo!!! I did not go easy on these boots and they have lasted a year and then finally the zipper broke-but it's fixable so I can keep wearing them! Would recommend these to anyone!
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very warm, but rubs back of ankle these are super warm! I always wore them with thick winter socks and they work great. One day I had to wear thin socks and found that the lower zipper area on the inside of the boot rubbed my heal quite a bit. So, wear with thick socksanother nice feature is that it feels like it has a steel toe.
    Date published: 2014-11-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm and not bulky I was tired of cold feet in the winter so I got these. It has t got cold enough yet to wear them to the barn but I have worn them around the house and they're comfy and warm just a little heavy. They're also not very bulky which is hard to find
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from no more cold feet Cold feet have made winter riding somewhat miserable for me- until these boots. I wear them with a pair of smartwool skiing socks and can honestly say that my feet do not get cold, even when trail riding for a couple of hours. They are also great for chores and they keep water out. They are a little stiff and clunky, but warmth more than makes up for it. These boots have changed my life- I no longer dread winter (or at least not as much)!
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm I bought this last month after moving from Florida to New Hampshire. Super cold! It was quite a shock. There were a few things to make riding in it tolerable and these boots were one of them. (The others in case you're interested are Carrhart suits, fleece lined breeches, a helmet cover with ear coverage and my heavy duty Rambo blanket) Anyhow, the boots are very warm despite their thin appearance. My toes stayed warm and the dirt, mud and snow came off cleanly. They are very snug in the calf area and a little stiff at first (that was why only 4 stars) but they did fit and overall I am very satisfied with them.
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unbelievably warm I'm on my second pair of Ice Rider boots. The first pair lasted me probably four years before finally getting a crack in the toe area. I researched other brands of winter boots before deciding, again, that the Ice Riders were probably the best value. The new ones seem harder to zip (or maybe my memory has just faded), but I'm hopeful that they'll loosen up. They are warm, warm, warm and decent to ride in. The foot does seem large and somewhat clunky, but I've never had a problem with them sliding in and out of the stirrup appropriately.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm! I suffered all winter with cold feet and finally broke down and bought these. Theyer certainly not fine leather or fancy but they're warm and that's all I was interested in!
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots! Do like these boots. I really believe they have improved my leg position while riding. They are also nice and warm for our very cold winter in the Midwest this year.I would recommend them, however they did require a break in period on my part. At first they were very tall and uncomfortable behind my leg. But, I am short. What others have said about the zippers is very true. They are very difficult to zip up! Especially when one is wearing breeches and long underwear. Three others at my bar have these also and agree they are good winter boots, but the zippers definitely need to be changed.
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_10
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_86
    • loc_en_US, sid_8001, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders