Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Mio Turnout Blanket

Horseware Ireland
- Item #19742

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Now you can have a great quality Horseware Turnout at an amazing price! The Mio Turnout is made from a medium strength 600D polyester outer that is both fully waterproof and breathable.  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Classic cut
  • Horseware's patented Front Leg Arches allow the blanket to fold like an envelope around your horses' belly to protect the underside and allow increased freedom of movement
  • Waterproof 600 denier polyester outer with polyester lining
  • Double front closures
  • Standard cross surcingles

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

Lite (no fill) or Medium (200 g fill)

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    This is the blanket that inspired it all! ...
    Description:
    This is the blanket that inspired it all! The Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout was created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland for the most fashionable and functional turnout around. Rhino's exclusive Barrier Technology means that even ...
    Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses ...
    Description:
    Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses and with an assortment of thoughtful features, the Rockin' SP Classic Waterproof Blanket is an unbeatable value for a waterproof, yet breathable turnout. Favorite Features Unique cut with broader shoulders and shorter ...
    The classic Rambo style, with great updated features! ...
    Description:
    The classic Rambo style, with great updated features! The Rambo Original Turnout with Leg Arches features a 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market. Inner lining is anti-static and anti-bacterial with ...
    Big D quality and features in this top ...
    Description:
    Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Favorite Features Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor ...
    Quality, fit and more features than you can ...
    Description:
    Quality, fit and more features than you can imagine, the Big D Sterling Turnout Blanket is sure to be your go-to blanket when the tempurature drops! Favorite Features Waterproof Tailored shoulder gussets are engineered to fit the natural curve of ...
    Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
    Description:
    Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Blanket offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic ...
    Description:
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, nylon lined shoulders, fleece at withers, two surcingels. 640 Denier. 440 fiberfill. Navy blue with hunter green trim and white piping. Turnout: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, ...
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mio Turnout Blanket is rated 4.3613 out of 5 by 119.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snug as a bug! This blanket fits like a glove on my big guy. It come up above his withers and is the perfect length and width. I have zero complaints! In October it only gets to 56 degrees at night but my horse is body clipped, and the blanket breaths so well! I used this blanket even when its 23 degrees and my horse is still warm and happy! This blanket is a must have.
    Date published: 2013-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from HorseWare quality with a reasonable price This sheet is nicer than I expected for the price. It fits my Hanoverian mare well. Although there is a single tail strap (aka 'manure collector'), this sheet already has dees sewn in to accept leg straps, so I just popped a set on and cut the tail strap. The sheet is waterproof, breathable, and even has the leg arches of the higher grade HorseWare products. Enthusiastically recommended. Hard to tell about durability, as it is a 600D sheet, but my horses are not tough on their clothes.
    Date published: 2013-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal! This blanket is inexpensive and still looks well made.
    Date published: 2013-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great lite weight blanket The blanket is very good looking and fits perfect to size. I have not yet used it and cannot really comment on it's durability.I originally ordered a size too big and returned it. Smart Pak returned the correct size immediately. I love ordering from Smart Pak.
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from looking forward to using this sheet! I haven't tries it out yet but it looks really nice and I am hoping it works as good as it looks! Love the price!
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! Not only did this blanket fit my pony very well, it kept him dry and warm in all sorts of nasty weather AND survived the only winter with all of his rough housing friends in the field! I thought for certain I'd be buying him a second blanket before the season was out and was so pleasantly surprised that this one (a) stayed in one piece and (b) kept him dry all season. An excellent value for the price.
    Date published: 2013-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet! This is the only sheet I can put on my horses that won't rub their shoulders! In the winter I use it as a blanket liner! No need for shoulder guards!
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit & Quality, Amazing Price My horse loves this blanket! I got it in red & black, and though it is runs a little small (The size that usually fits her is a little short), the overall fit is great. Though it does not come with leg straps, you do not need them because the chest closure is tight. Very warm, and extremely waterproof- I've brought Midori in from sleet, and she is completely dry, though slightly sticky.
    Date published: 2013-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice turnout Used Weatherbeeta for years, now a amigo/rambo convert! love this blanket!
    Date published: 2013-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turnout sheet Fit is generous, good quality, would recommend it as a rain sheet/light turnout
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turnout sheet This is a great sheet for the money, fits well, runs true to size, an economical Rhino-like sheet.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good blanket but... I am impressed with quality of this blanket however it fits a bit weird and has a tendency to slip and twist on my horse. She's a wide draft cross.I haven't used it much yet so I don't want to comment on it's durability, but she's young and she's been tough on blankets in the past and so far I've had no problems with this one.I also want to say that I had ordered a size too small and had to exchange it for a bigger one and the exchange of the blanket was completely painless and easy which was nice. I hate having to jump through hoops when trying to exchange something.
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fit The blanket fit well and is warm. It was inexpensive for the quality. I didn't like the tail strap because when the horse defecates it gets on the strap. Its not removable for an easy hosing and drip dry. I wish it had a clip for removal and cleaning. I prefer leg straps.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket I recently switched back to the Amigo Mio after trying the Weatherbeeta Landa Freestyle turnout (problems with the front snaps on the Weatherbeeta) and will stick with the Mio's from now on. It is durable, true to size, and stays on well without shifting. I did remove the tail strap and switch to leg straps as I don't care for the mess involved with using a tail strap. Fortunately the sheet comes equipped with rings to accommodate leg straps. The weight of the sheet is also perfect for the very wet but often mild fall and winter days we experience in the Pacific Northwest. This is an excellent product that I would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from new favorite light turnout Not sure yet about durability since it is just about a month on, but the fit is perfect and no water gets through-we have had some very heavy rain too. It stays straight on him unlike his other sheet which always slides to one side or the other.
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very NIce Blanket This was a very nice blanket for the price. It is easy to put on with the "t-buckle" front closures and fit really well. I bought it for light weight field use but it is so pretty that I kept it in the barn instead. It appears comfortable for her and has quite a bit of loft in it but not a heavy feel. Blankets with a lot of weight to them tend to rub bald spots on the horse. I appreciate the high teck fabrics that add warmth without weight. I will probably buy another one.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A really nice blanket I bought this for my thoroughbred who is always out in the pasture rain or snow. I bought it in december, and so far it has held up quite well. It seems to keep him warm and dry and fits him nicely. Often times when I buy him blankets, they are too wide and slide off because he is built narrow, but have not had this problem. Overall I really liked it and I think my horse did too!
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amigo Mio Turnout Great product, true to size fit. The only difference I would make in the Amigo turnouts is give them a removeable tail strap. The turnout fits my horse well, has proven to be durable.As always, Smartpak's customer service, pricing and delivery/return policy is second to none!
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good Buy This turnout blanket seems to be well made and does fit quite well, although I would say the sizing runs a little small. I have 2 small concerns with this blanket: the sides are a bit short for a turnout blanket and it tends to shift from side to side and get crooked. I have only had it for a short time so I can't comment on its durability, but so far it seems fine. My horse is out all of the time, so she's had it on a fair bit since I purchased it.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Fits! I gone through several brands looking for a good turnout sheet for my retired jumper. While hes only 16hh he's typically quarter horse thick through the shoulder and body but he has shorter legs. Finding a sheet that didn't rub his shoulders was a nightmare. Big D sheets were a no go and Weatherbeeta, while great for our ancient morgan, were not going to work at all.I have horseware products for my larger thoroughbred and they've always seemed large on him. So I was hesitant to them on my quarter. But I figured at this point it couldn't hurt to try and ordered this sheet.And it fits! I couldn't believe my eyes :) It does look a bit like hes wearing he big brother's clothes but hes finally comfy during this rainy season. Not that he really cares much about the "pampering" as I do in his retirement..Horseware is definitely my first choice for my big guys from now on!
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I guess you get what you pay for... Definitely not happy with this blanket. It runs small, but even with correct fit length wise, it's still very short from withers to bottom of blanket. I HATE the non-removable tail strap! What a horrible design!Overall, just wish I had saved what I spent on this blanket to pick up a mid weight Rambo. Now I'll just be out the Rambo money plus this blankets cost. So much for saving money!
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect The Mio lite turnout sheet is perfect for its intended use. It has the perfect fit, quality and value. I have never used the more expensive turnout sheets but I can not imagine being more satisfied with my purchase.
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very much worth it! I would definitely recommend this to my friends. In fact, I already have! I purchased this for one of my horses and now I'm going to get 2 more. I wish they had more color choices but that doesn't really have anything to do with the product. It keeps my horse warm, it is roomy but snug at the same time. IT IS TOUGH! My appendix loves to race around, take a few tumbles, aggravate other horses so that they rough-house each other. He is also a slender 15.1 horse so the fact that it fits him pretty well throughout his chest, shoulder, withers and hip is pretty amazing.I use it on my horse from 40 degree weather to 60 degree weather.
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blanket really nice blanket for a really nice price. sizing fits true to size.
    Date published: 2012-12-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the greatest... This blanket runs a bit small, and just barely covers my horse's sides. The quality seems average. You are getting what you should expect with the lower price.I HATE the tail cord!! You cannot remove it, only adjust the length. It gets dirty quickly and is just gross!!Overall not a horrible blanket, but I certainly wouldn't purchase it again or recommend it to anyone that I know.
    Date published: 2012-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket! I got this blanket last year when I needed a mid weight for my horse for the time before I clipped him but after it was too cold for just a sheet. It came and was amazing! Fit him really nicely, no rubs, and stays in place perfectly. We quickly bought another for my husband's horse and are just as happy with it. For the weight (220g) it is really warm and lovely.At least four other horses at our barn now have this blanket as a result of seeing its quality for price. To my knowledge, even though the horses are a range of breeds, from Arabs to Stock horses to Thoroughbreds, none have rubs and all are super warm.Only minor complaint is that it is 600D, but our guys aren't super rough on blankets (one minor repair at the end of the year) and the mares' all still look pristine!I would definitely recommend this blanket and will buy more in the future.
    Date published: 2012-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great blanket for the price I own a 3 year old who isn't great to her blankets, neither are her paddock mates but this blanket holds up pretty well! It slips to the side a bit but other than that, it is a great blanket!
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing blanket for the price! This blanket is such a good purchase for the price! Fits like the more expensive "Horseware" products, well made - much better than other blankets that you can purchase in this price range! Easy to clean also! So far, I have 3 horses in this blanket, 2 of which have had for 2 seasons - great blanket! I wish the sheet was a little heavier, but still a great value.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits like custom made I love the way all Amigo blankets/sheets fit both my mustang mare, and my "Swedish Warmblood" who is actually a morgan/trakehner/Hannovarian (I know, WHY would anyone do that???) Anyway, they both have fairly thick necks at the base, and Amigo is the only style which fits them both with no extra tucks around the neck required by me.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! I bought this as a mid-season replacement for my gelding last year. He is very rough on blankets and this one held up great and still looks good for this year. He is pretty broad shouldered and my trainer recommended trying a Horseware blanket and the fit is really good on him. I switched my heavyweight to an Amigo too. Love the brand! Also, even though there aren't as many straps as other blanket brands, the blankets do really stay in place really well, especially if fitted correctly.
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    • 2016-02-12T14:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_106
    • loc_en_US, sid_9742, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.