Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Mio Turnout Blanket

Horseware Ireland
- Item #19742

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Now you can have a great quality Horseware Turnout at an amazing price! The Mio Turnout is made from a medium strength 600D polyester outer that is both fully waterproof and breathable.  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Classic cut
  • Horseware's patented Front Leg Arches allow the blanket to fold like an envelope around your horses' belly to protect the underside and allow increased freedom of movement
  • Waterproof 600 denier polyester outer with polyester lining
  • Double front closures
  • Standard cross surcingles

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

Lite (no fill) or Medium (200 g fill)

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    This is the blanket that inspired it all! ...
    Description:
    This is the blanket that inspired it all! The Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout was created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland for the most fashionable and functional turnout around. Rhino's exclusive Barrier Technology means that even ...
    Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses ...
    Description:
    Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses and with an assortment of thoughtful features, the Rockin' SP Classic Waterproof Blanket is an unbeatable value for a waterproof, yet breathable turnout. Favorite Features Unique cut with broader shoulders and shorter ...
    The classic Rambo style, with great updated features! ...
    Description:
    The classic Rambo style, with great updated features! The Rambo Original Turnout with Leg Arches features a 1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market. Inner lining is anti-static and anti-bacterial with ...
    Big D quality and features in this top ...
    Description:
    Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Favorite Features Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor ...
    Quality, fit and more features than you can ...
    Description:
    Quality, fit and more features than you can imagine, the Big D Sterling Turnout Blanket is sure to be your go-to blanket when the tempurature drops! Favorite Features Waterproof Tailored shoulder gussets are engineered to fit the natural curve of ...
    Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
    Description:
    Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Blanket offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic ...
    Description:
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, nylon lined shoulders, fleece at withers, two surcingels. 640 Denier. 440 fiberfill. Navy blue with hunter green trim and white piping. Turnout: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, ...
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mio Turnout Blanket is rated 4.3613 out of 5 by 119.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mio light weight I bought the light weight blanket to keep my horse clean-ish until the mud freezes over in February. So far he's worn it about a week and I'm pleased when I turn up to the barn and he still has it on and it's in one piece. It's keeping him clean despite the horrendous rain and mud we've seen over the past few weeks. It's snug and fits pretty well, it does seem to hang down lower at then root than the back and it can't be because it's too big, if anything it's a tiny bit too small for my horse; I think it's just then as the blanket is designed. I've found the dry mud easy to brush off both the blanket and the straps.
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the price I bought tthe medium weight and lightweight mio blankets for my horse, he's got quite a short back but large chest and neck. I had to return the medium weight as it was so tight around his neck, aside from that it looked to be an okay blanket. I can't say much about its durability.
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great but size off So my horse is around a 70" for blankets and I usually size down and going up tends to be too big. Since Mio didn't have a 70" I went with 69" Everything did fit perfectly except for the chest area. It was just a tad too tight for my liking and I worried he would either rub or destroy the blanket because of lack of movement he had. I returned it and got a 72". Unfortunately the blanket is too big and I am still on the fence about whether or not I sell it to get a better fitting one. HOWEVER he's had it for about 2-3wks so far and it has been working great at keeping him clean and dry. The lining makes him extra shiny which I love. I just wish I could get a 70" in this as I know it would be perfect. I also love the black and turquoise color and it seems to stay on him well. If anyone is wondering he is a AQHA around 14.2 hands and not super stocky.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for Bought this. And returned it. It's a cheap blanket.
    Date published: 2015-12-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cute but ripped second time on my horse. Love the colors, and I love the fit. But the second time my horse wore this sheet, it was ripped from the tail guard up about 8" up his back. My horse has NEVER ripped a blanket before, and is out with easy turn out pasture mates. Really disappointed in this blanket. Will be ordering Weatherbeta from now on.
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value This is the third Mio turnout I have purchased. The 200 gram is a nice weight - my horses have heavy winter coats and I only blanket when it is very wet and in single digits. So I like a medium weight blanket. I like the way the Mio is cut - it stays pretty straight even after they have rolled in the snow!
    Date published: 2015-12-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome so far! I bought this about a month ago and it's great! It does its job and so far has held up perfect! The reason I'm only giving it a 4 is because I've read other reviews about it ripping and since I've only had it for a month there's always the possibility that that will happen soon.
    Date published: 2015-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome! Wish it had leg sursingles but it doesnt slide or move so. Its a great buy
    Date published: 2015-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sheet. I bought two of these sheets, and they fit both a Quarter Horse and a Haflinger well. No shifting, no rubbing. Excellent value.
    Date published: 2015-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect turnout sheet! I have had this for over a year now and love it! By far the best, and cheapest turnout sheet ever, would 100% recommend to any one looking for an affordable amazing quality turnout sheet! Also has never soaked through and I like ve in a very wet climate!
    Date published: 2015-11-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not very durable..... I bought this same sheet last year for one of my horses and it held up great, but I bought another one about a month ago for my retired thoroughbred and the sheet aquired a small rip on the front after the first wear. Here in SC we have been having a lot of rain recently and this sheet was just not holding up and leaked pretty badly. I was really dissapointed because I was excited to use this as a light turnout and rainsheet, but I had to return it and I'm getting a weatherbeeta. Smartpak was very accommodating by emailing me a shipping label and crediting my account. I wouldn't really recommend this sheet but using it as a show sheet or something of that nature would be great.
    Date published: 2015-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Sheet! This is the second time I've bought this sheet. It fits my Thoroughbred so well. Great product!
    Date published: 2015-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! I bought this a few weeks ago and it has held up really well in rain, mud, rolling and typical horse activities. I am very happy with it.
    Date published: 2015-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought one for my mare last year and it held up great. So I decided to buy another for my ottb!
    Date published: 2015-10-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bargain price I just bought this sheet and it's very thin and I'm a little skeptical to see how it holds up. I also wish it cut more across the top of the shoulder versus straight down it. I bought this for a growing yearling so I only need it to last one season. I just hope it does.
    Date published: 2015-10-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ripped in 3 days I put this on our pony and after 3 wears it is ripped in middle and the along the front seam. I have contacted customer service to see what they say. Don't order!!!
    Date published: 2015-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lived up to all expectations Sized accurately, VERY waterproof, but breathable so horse doesn't get overheated. Wore for a week straight due to VERY imclement weather and I couldn't be happier with it.
    Date published: 2015-10-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst purchase ever
    Date published: 2015-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mio Turnout Blanket I bought a new Mio as my last one after 5 years finally was worn out. My horse wears his MIO everyday and night from Oct/Nov - March. Great quality for a great price! Sizes are accurate as well.
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features I just bought this blanket & haven't really had a chance to use it since it got really cold & I bought it for warmer weather, but it fits great,
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not waterproof This blanket has held up well, but is not waterproof. After a light sprinkle of rain, the blanket is already soaked and so is my horse.
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome sheet We bought this sheet last year for our new horse. Just bought another one for another new horse. Best ever!
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from this substitute blanket was recommended because the one I wanted was not available but I have no reservations and am glad I purchased it. There were a couple of drawbacks but over all it is a tremendous blanket for the price.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Delicate Only buy this blanket if is for a geriatric horse that lives alone. I bought two of these for my two geldings and they lasted less than three days. The fabric shreds like tissue paper. It is just fine if there is nothing for the horses to catch it on and if their pasture mates do not touch their sheets.
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from All you need in a horse blanket! It's a great fit,true to size. Good quality, holds up to our high-energy horse.
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit I bought this sheet for my TB and my Appaloosa. On both body types this sheet fits great!
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice looking good quality blanket Love all the Horseware Ireland products! looks great on my mare. She is a young very playful mare, so far this blanket has held up good.
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely durable- great blanket! I bought this blanket almost a month ago and my horse loves to roll around and fight other horses- and he goes out in this blanket almost every night; it hasn't ripped or been torn yet. I'm really happy with the durability of this product, as well as the material it's made out of- it's super easy to keep clean.
    Date published: 2014-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Absolutely LOVE This Blanket!!!! This blanket cannot be beat! It's a fantastic price, and it holds up so well. I have one for my 26 year old Paso Fino and one for my 3 year old Paint. They look good, fit well, and they are very nice for the price! I love the Mio brand and will continue to buy this!
    Date published: 2014-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great rain sheet! I bought this a month ago for my skinny almost 28 yr old TB. It's a great rain sheet and seems very durable. The leg cutouts are great. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    • 2016-02-06T14:36CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_106
    • loc_en_US, sid_9742, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.