Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Micklem Competition Bridle

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18335
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Bridle with an Ergonomic Design

The Micklem Competition Bridle by Horseware Ireland is designed to fit the horse's skull and prevent uncomfortable pressure points. This unique shape makes this bridle the most comfortable and effective ever designed. Available in both black and dark havana (brown). Approved for FEI competition.

Imported

Favorite Features
  • Ergonomic design to fit the shape of the horse's skull
  • 5/8" Eco-friendly with rubber reins
  • Stainless steel buckles
  • Padding on noseband, browband, and cheek pieces

Sizing

Available in sizes Pony, Cob, Horse, Large Horse
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Fancy stitching on padded browband and caveson. Edgewood ...
    Description:
    "Fancy stitching on padded browband and caveson. Edgewood bridles are hand crafted in the USA and are renowned for their fine attention to detail. Sold without reins."
    "The Dr. Cook's Bitless Bridle Beta Reins offer ...
    Description:
    "The Dr. Cook's Bitless Bridle Beta Reins offer the same great material used on the Bitless Beta bridles! This leather-like synthetic is composed of a nylon core with a vinyl coating making it impervious to dirt and sweat and will ...
    "The Kavalkade Mia Dressage Bridle is made from ...
    Description:
    "The Kavalkade Mia Dressage Bridle is made from high quality leather with an attractive noseband that narrows along the sides. Featuring a crank noseband with a flash, this bridle has soft padding on the noseband and its anatomically shaped head ...
    "Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with ...
    Description:
    "Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak. Unprecedented quality at this price. A perfect schooling bridle ...
    "This fancy raised figure 8 bridle is a ...
    Description:
    "This fancy raised figure 8 bridle is a favorite in the jumper ring. Edgewood bridles are hand crafted in the USA and are renowned for their fine attention to detail, including, hand finished edges, roller buckles on cavesons, and lovely ...
    "The Kavalkade Ecoline Weymouth Dressage Bridle is an ...
    Description:
    "The Kavalkade Ecoline Weymouth Dressage Bridle is an excellent bridle at an affordable price! Perfect for schooling or the show ring, this bridle is classically styled with a softly padded leather noseband for an excellent value. Pair with the Kavalkade ...
    "A perfect schooling bridle crafted to stand up ...
    Description:
    "A perfect schooling bridle crafted to stand up to the rigors of daily use! Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. With traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Micklem Competition Bridle is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 282.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features! I bought this bridle to relieve head shaking. My horse Is more comfortable in it than a typical dressage bridle with a flash nose band. He isn't totally asymptomatic, but, it has helped.
    Date published: 2017-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Significant Difference! I got this bridle for my horse for Christmas and have seen a big change in my horse. The bit stays in place with the optional clips and the leather is soft. The contact is more steady and even with this bridle. The reins for the horse size were a little short for long and low work but I didn't mind. My horse was more accepting of the bridle and didn't try opening his mouth anymore. He also was more willing to keep his head down and stretch more. I'm very glad I purchased this bridle.
    Date published: 2017-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality This is a very different kind of bridle than I have used before. It feels like it's looser when it goes on because it doesn't have the nose band, however it isn't loose at all. My horse likes it and I like that he does.
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved by horse and rider I love this bridle because it takes the pressure off the mouth and distributes it to the pole thus a lighter hand. My horse loves it for the same reasons.
    Date published: 2016-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought this bridle a few months ago after hearing great results on other horses with "connection" issues. My horse was already being ridden in a nice quality padded bridle. He responded positively from the first ride and has continued to change dramatically. I'm usually a skeptic, but I'm quite impressed. Nice quality as well!
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Best gift ever" Selected this bridle as a gift to my wife for her BD... (no, last year I did not get her a vacuum). We found the leather and leather work to be of top quality. She had no issues gaining the fit she sought on her mare and is very pleased with the way her horse is responding to the innovative design... as always, doing business with SmartPak was hassle free and cost competitive.
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mickelm bridle Our horse has been so happy since we started using this bridle. he is much quieter when riding.
    Date published: 2016-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality I was very hesatint to spend this much money on a bridle I wasn't sure was gonna work on my ottb, but I am so glad I did!! My ottb rides so well in it and the leather quality is pretty good.
    Date published: 2016-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bridle I am happy with the quality of this bridle. The leather is sturdy and well tanned, and the stitching is even and nicely finished.
    Date published: 2016-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Looking and Effective Bridle -- This was purchased for my 14.3 Quarter Horse mare on the advice of my trainer. The cob size fit perfectly. As with some other reviews, I found the leather a bit stiff; but it did soften with Lederbalsam. My mare showed salivation on her first ride - a never before occurrence. Beyond that it has not created any miracles in her ride but she shows no problem with it. I like the drop noseband feature and the overall ease of use and fit. (Not crazy about the rubber reins but they are adequate -- and changeable!) Overall I am pleased with this bridle.
    Date published: 2016-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle! This bridle made a huge difference with the Icelandic mare I ride (dressage). Way more acceptance of the bit and less head shaking. The only reason I gave this 4 stars is the leather. It seems durable enough and it's not stiff but it's really thick and has a weird rubbery texture that makes it look kind of synthetic. Overall though I really like it!
    Date published: 2016-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Design, but Cheap Leather Fits great and my horse loves it. I like the grippy reins as well. Only problem is the cheap leather. I clean and oil this bridle every week with high quality oil...it never seems to soften. Would have paid more for decent leather.
    Date published: 2016-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! I had never seen this bridle before and never had a flash on my gelding, so I wasn't sure how he would like this. He is a high-headed Arabian that loves to look at everything. He loved this bridle from the first ride - he is calm, his head is down and he is so relaxed in it. I have been using it for six weeks and won't switch back to anything else now. I used my own reins as I prefer leather reins, but the bridle leather is soft and lovely.
    Date published: 2016-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle! I bought this a few weeks ago and already see a great difference in my mare. She more relaxed in the bridle and has stopped leaning left. The quality of the leather is nice. With the ability to return it as needed, why not give it a try?!
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT!! I bought this bridle about a month ago, I have never regretted it! I you are thinking about getting a drop noseband for your horse i would try this first instead. The leather is pretty nice, it holds up pretty good. I love how much padding it has!!The keepers for the bridle on the sides are sewed in which i personally really like! I LOVE the reins i would say that they are comparable to the Nunn Finer Soft Grip Reins, great for all phases of eventing!!
    Date published: 2016-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bridle Bought this for my gal to fit her Arabian gelding that I had just purchased for her. She had a hard time finding a bridle that would fit him, and she really liked this one. It fit and worked very well for him. I would highly recommend it
    Date published: 2016-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the purchase price I've used Micklems in the past on horses with fussy mouths, and ordered one from my new 9yo TB. He was constantly head tossing and rooting, and hated to take contact. Our first ride in it was a 180 degree turn around: quiet, steady contact, no rooting, and not one head toss. The bit is stable and quiet. He seems more comfortable and much more confidant. I've had 8 or so rides in it and I feel like I have a different horse.Is this a miracle bridle for all horses? No. But, it worked for us, and is certainly worth a try! I personally think they produce fantastic results.
    Date published: 2016-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Micklem bridle I've had this bridle for a few months. My mare, and I love it! I was a little unsure because of the reviews, but so happy I made the leap. The leather is nice. It broke in quickly. Fit is good. The rubber reins are awesome! Especially when caught in a passing rain shower on the trails here in the PNW. My mare carries herself better, and is much lighter in the bridle. Whatever it takes to make my mare happy.....this Micklem bridle is gold in my mind.
    Date published: 2016-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Micklem Bridle I bought it just to try it and I wanted a multipurpose bridle that took the pressure off my horses sensitive areas. My horse loves this bridle. I also have used it without the bit. I wish the bitless converters, ie the ones they sell in England came with the bridle. The parts that convert it to true bitless. There is an extra strap that goes under the chin for a bit more pressure or one that goes over the poll and crosses under the throat latch for maximum pressure. However, without those pieces it still works as a bitless bridle just fine.
    Date published: 2016-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I had been looking for a bridle that was one piece behind the ears on the poll. I have a sensitive horse and this bridle has all the pressure points figured out and if bought in the correct size works very well in missing those and giving more comfort to your horse. The reins that came with it where also very good as well and in fact I like them better than any of the others I have on different bridles.
    Date published: 2016-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth trying I have been using this bridle for about 2 months now. My horse of 4 years has always been an evader of the bit. I must say, while this isn't magic, it does keep my horse on the bit longer. I recommend this bridle to those who struggle with keeping their horse on the bit.
    Date published: 2016-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Bridle While it's not a miracle worker, my mare no longer has a head-shaking problem and is much more relaxed. She still rubs her face, but maybe that's just a bad habit? The leather is good quality. It's a bit dry, but nothing a coat or two of lederbalsam didn't fix. It was flexible and accepted the lederbalsam well. I am happy with my purchase of this bridle.
    Date published: 2016-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from well designed I bought this bridle for my morgan who has some nerve damage on his head. He seems to accept the bridle just fine. I purchased the cob sized bridle which is well sized for his typical morgan head. I agree with other reviews on leather quality, although adequate, I expect slightly higher quality leather at this price point.
    Date published: 2016-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely made and easy to fit to horse. I have ridden in this about 5 times now and I am slowly seeing changes in my horses acceptance of contact. She is now starting to look for the bit as apposed to trying to be evasive for most of the time She seems happier overall and more relaxed.
    Date published: 2016-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super bridle I have tried a number of nose bands and headstalls on my horse. He just never seemed comfortable. This bridle molded to his head right away with some adjustments. He seems much more comfortable and willing to go to the bit and work over his back. The other reviewers felt the quality of the leather was not good, but mine was soft and pliable right away. I have cleaned and balmed it a couple of times and it just gets better.
    Date published: 2016-06-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this bridle a few weeks ago. I had switched bridles on my horse several times trying to find one that would fit him comfortably. I was at a clinic and a friend of mine was using the micklem bridle on her horse. She said it made a huge difference in her horse right from the first time she used it. She advised me her horse would ha ng on the right rein and after changing bible she no long had the issue. My horse was hanging on the right rein so I thought I would give it a try. It was not immediate but with in a few rides my horse was better and more accepting of the right rein. I eventually changed the bit I was using to a loose ring French link as well. So after several rides and finding the correct adjustments on the bridle I feel like my horse is definitely more comfortable.The quality of the bridle is good. The leather is not as soft and is somewhat stiff at first however after conditioning several times it has become softer. I don't know where the leather comes from but the bridle is made in India. I usually do not buy tack made in India as I have found the quality is usually substandard. This bridle appears to be made very well and I would recommend it to my friends.
    Date published: 2016-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not for me but awesome bridle I have been wanting to try this bridle for a while so with the free shipping both ways I finally did . It is a lovely bridle but my finicky mare hated it immediately . What's nice about smart pak is I was able to mail it back with the prepaid slip provided in the mailing . It doesn't get better than that !
    Date published: 2016-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My horse is much less fussy in this bridle than in a regular bridle!
    Date published: 2016-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I bought this a few weeks ago. My dressage trainer said that she had yet to see a horse that didn't go nicer in the Micklem. I'm pleased to say that it is true with my mare. The first time she had it on, she did dance around and act like an idiot until she finally said, "oh, you want me to do this." She has been lovely ever since. As soon as I can I'm going to buy a brown one as well as the black that I purchased.
    Date published: 2016-05-09
    • y_2017, m_2, d_26, h_23
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_271
    • loc_en_US, sid_8335, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders