Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Micklem Competition Bridle

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18335
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Bridle with an Ergonomic Design

The Micklem Competition Bridle by Horseware Ireland is designed to fit the horse's skull and prevent uncomfortable pressure points. This unique shape makes this bridle the most comfortable and effective ever designed. Available in both black and dark havana (brown). Approved for FEI competition.

Favorite Features

  • Ergonomic design to fit the shape of the horse's skull
  • 5/8" Eco-friendly with rubber reins
  • Stainless steel buckles
  • Padding on noseband, browband, and cheek pieces

Imported

Sizing It Up

Pony, Cob, Horse, Large Horse

Customers Also Shopped For
Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Eventer Bridle is ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Eventer Bridle is crafted withdurable, imported vegetable-tanned leather making it ideal for every day schooling or top rated shows!Features an innovative padded crown design which allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown, alleviating ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Swarovski Crystal Browband Snaffle Bridle adds ...
Description:
Wellfleet Monocrown Swarovski Crystal Browband Snaffle Bridle adds just that extra bit of sparkle to your ride! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on ...
Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and ...
Description:
Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and classic choice! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area, the redesigned genuine ...
The Rodrigo Figure 8 Bridle is created from ...
Description:
The Rodrigo Figure 8 Bridle is created from Rodrigo Pessoa's competition-proven designs and then meticulously crafted from hand-finished American leather. Rodrigo bridlework is created with attention to detail that distinguishes top horseshow equipment. Plain raised with genuine sheepskin disk. 3/4" ...
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
Description:
Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccablycrafted,innovative bridle.UltraSoft and luxurious calfskin paddingon ...
Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather ...
Description:
Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that's vegetable tanned. With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in ...
The Wellfleet Monocrown Double Raised Snaffle Bridle represents ...
Description:
The Wellfleet Monocrown Double Raised Snaffle Bridle represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Double raised leather detail on the noseband and browband adds some subtle elegance thatcompliments any dressage horse.Designed ...
out of 5
94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Micklem Competition Bridle is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 256.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this bridle a few weeks ago. I had switched bridles on my horse several times trying to find one that would fit him comfortably. I was at a clinic and a friend of mine was using the micklem bridle on her horse. She said it made a huge difference in her horse right from the first time she used it. She advised me her horse would ha ng on the right rein and after changing bible she no long had the issue. My horse was hanging on the right rein so I thought I would give it a try. It was not immediate but with in a few rides my horse was better and more accepting of the right rein. I eventually changed the bit I was using to a loose ring French link as well. So after several rides and finding the correct adjustments on the bridle I feel like my horse is definitely more comfortable.The quality of the bridle is good. The leather is not as soft and is somewhat stiff at first however after conditioning several times it has become softer. I don't know where the leather comes from but the bridle is made in India. I usually do not buy tack made in India as I have found the quality is usually substandard. This bridle appears to be made very well and I would recommend it to my friends.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not for me but awesome bridle I have been wanting to try this bridle for a while so with the free shipping both ways I finally did . It is a lovely bridle but my finicky mare hated it immediately . What's nice about smart pak is I was able to mail it back with the prepaid slip provided in the mailing . It doesn't get better than that !
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My horse is much less fussy in this bridle than in a regular bridle!
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I bought this a few weeks ago. My dressage trainer said that she had yet to see a horse that didn't go nicer in the Micklem. I'm pleased to say that it is true with my mare. The first time she had it on, she did dance around and act like an idiot until she finally said, "oh, you want me to do this." She has been lovely ever since. As soon as I can I'm going to buy a brown one as well as the black that I purchased.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my sensitive TB I love this bridle! I bought the horse size for my very average 16.1 TB who is just starting to be ridden. I loved how easy this was to go from bit less and bitted. Only complaint was the reins were too short!
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Micklem Bridle - a great design! I bought this bridle as many others in my barn were using it and raving about it. My horse has a sensitivity to his mouth and around it so I thought the design might help. It did. The fit is good and the design seems to suit him. My only complaint would be the quality of the leather (for the price point) is a bit disappointing.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy horse My horse absolutely loves this bridle. He is a giraff cross in his own mind and moves much better and more relaxed in the Micklem. Leather is soft and supple!
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Like Riding a Different Horse I did a lot of research prior to purchasing a Micklem. My horse typically evades most bits and bridles. He wears size horse, but the Micklem seems to run a bit larger. Size cob is a perfect fit. He is actually connected to the bit when I ride him in the Micklem. It was like riding a completely different horse. Some people claim the leather quality leaves little to be desired. I put oil on mine while I watched the tutorial on how to fit it to my horse. With one coat of conditioner it was nice and supple!
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Horse LOVES this Bridle My horse has been unhappy with his bit/bridle I changed his bit and it helped but once I put him in this bridle he totally changed!!! I love the fit and look. It is terrific to get on and off and I love the simplicity of it. I will be trying it as a hackamore too.....
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle It's not magic and didn't solve any of my horse's problems but it's a nice bridle at a good price. It comes with reins I like, something that isn't true with most bridles.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! This is the second Miklem bridle l've bought. Still using the first as well. All 3 of my horses go well in the Miklem.Good quality leather, very adjustable! Easy directions for proper fit and use.Would and have recommended this product.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I purchased this bridle for my OTTB because his previous trainer said he is more comfortable in this type of bridle than a regular one. I purchased the competition bridle instead of the regular Micklem, because I will want to eventually use it to show in. It has nice black leather and is very nicely padded. My horse seems very comfortable in it. I am not sure how much I love the rubber on the reins, though.
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look and fit. I originally ordered the horse size and it was too small for my Azteca's head. I returned and got the large horse size. He holds his form much better in this bridle and appears to more comfortable. I'm very happy with this bridle, but they do run a bit small.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfort for my pony only bridle my pony likes!! def less poll pressure
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't be happier I bought this bridle a month ago and I am so glad I did! Everything about this bridle is working for my green, sensitive, lovely mare. She has even started putting her head down to be bridled! Love the brand, love how it fits and it's true to sizing (my mare is 16h and she is fairly on the large side when it comes to sizing and the regular horse size fits perfectly- and I love the reins that come with it too!
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Beautiful bridle my ottb loves it and he doesn't like many bridles and no more rubbing after i take it off.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My horse loves it! No more itchy face after rides and much more consistent with weight in the bridle.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this bridle. I could tell a difference in that my horse was more accepting of the contact.
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! I just recenly found that my horse would rather go in a hackamore then have a bit. I have him jumping in a hackamore, and he does really well with his flat work with it also (when we use a regular bridle we have many meltdowns) my only problem is the hackamore is not legal to show dressage in. I have had a few people mention the micklembridle to me. So I tried my trainers before I purchased one. The first ride with it and I had a new horse! We still had some meltdowns but he came back to me much quicker. I was sold! I bought the black cob size for my 15.2 quarter horse, it fits him well and I think the leather is great. I did condition it before our first ride just to keep it supple. Just with the few rides I have used it I feel like we're going in the right direction, it doesn't feel like every ride is a battle now.
Date published: 2016-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from micklem competition bridle My Icelandic horse loves this bridle. The COB size fit him perfectly. He was not fond of the nose band on his previous bridle and was fussy, always tossing his head. From the first time he had it on, there was an immediate change. He did great. I kept the same bit, only use a D ring snaffle, and he was terrific. Love, love, love, it.
Date published: 2016-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Immediately Improved my horse's way of going I bought this bridle because my mare was constantly scratching her face when her bridle was on. I purchased this from Smartpak because there was a free return policy. I thought...why not? I am so happy that I tried it. My mare immediately became more willing to move forward into the bridle. Although she still scratches her face sometimes after a ride, she does this much less than she used to.I was a bit concerned when I read reviews prior to purchase that the leather would not be high quality. I was very pleasantly surprised with the quality of leather.
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE my Micklem! I got this bridle for Christmas and I will NEVER ride in a different bridle! I need the black one for dressage now! My 22 y/o QH mare has always been high headed and refused to move into the bridle. With this bridle she is much more willing to round for me. Extremely padded and easy to clean, great quality leather.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the fit It fits my OTTB great. She has very fine nasal structure but wide forehead and it fits great.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great concept, but cheap leather I paid for fast shipping on this bridle and then paced the floor until it arrived, because I was so excited to try it out on my horse. Ben is REALLY difficult to keep happy, and he's constantly fussing about his bridle, no matter how well-padded it is. I have had his teeth checked, replaced the bridle twice, had his saddle adjusted and reflocked, and nothing has made him more comfortable in the bridle.Ben was moderately happier in this bridle, which is actually a pretty big improvement for "Sir Sensitive". Unfortunately, though, the leather cracked every time I tried to buckle it. After about 30 minutes of fussing with it, I had it fit to him well enough to go for a test ride, but all of the holes I used now have tiny little cracks around them. I could live with that if this were a bridle I'd had for years, but I can't live with it on a brand new bridle that I just paid $200 for. I'm going to go ahead and return it.Incidentally, the rubber reins that come with the bridle are nice but a bit too short.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My mare loves this bridle! My pony mare loves this bridle. I bought a cob size and it fits both my large pony and my 15.3 quarter horse. My pony is much softer and more consistent in the contact. This will be her bridle now. Very happy with the results. The leather is not the highest quality but it's workable.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple to use, gentle on the horsed I was new to the Micklem concept. As I learnt more about it, I liked what it was trying to achieve. Tried the bridle and loved it. My horse responded well - easy transition from a crank snaffle and no more narcolepsy as soon as the bridle is on!Love the colour. Leather quality is good. Unfortunately the strap keeper on the bit strap fell apart before first use but all other leather has held.
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lifesaver! We have an older OTTB who had a problem keeping his tongue in his mouth during his dressage tests and I was pulling my hair out trying to figure out how to fix this. Manny is a lovely mover and the tongue was causing problems. Since the purchase of this bridle, it seems to have cured Manny's tongue from making an appearance!
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! I bought this hoping to help with softening my ponies jaw and poll. Every day I see improvement with the use of this bridle. And he rarely reaches down to rub his face like he did in our traditional bridle.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE PERFECT BRIDLE I couldn't be happier that I purchased this bridle! LOVE IT!
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy transition from a crank snaffle with flash Bought the full but had to exchange for the large horse size (my horse is 17hh and typically takes a full/ standard). Recommend reading the micklem size guidelines online- they are accurate.Easy set up- followed micklem guidance on YouTube - and smooth transition from a crank snaffle. Horse seemed happy and accepting.I have only ridden in it a few times but I like the concept and hope that it works for a happier, healthier horse!One complaint is that the leather loop that holds the bit strap together broke before use.
Date published: 2016-02-03
  • 2016-07-28T10:33CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_246
  • loc_en_US, sid_8335, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders