Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Micklem Competition Bridle

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18335
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Bridle with an Ergonomic Design

The Micklem Competition Bridle by Horseware Ireland is designed to fit the horse's skull and prevent uncomfortable pressure points. This unique shape makes this bridle the most comfortable and effective ever designed. Available in both black and dark havana (brown). Approved for FEI competition.

Favorite Features

  • Ergonomic design to fit the shape of the horse's skull
  • 5/8" Eco-friendly with rubber reins
  • Stainless steel buckles
  • Padding on noseband, browband, and cheek pieces

Sizing It Up

Pony, Cob, Horse, Large Horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Micklem Competition Bridle is rated 4.4564 out of 5 by 195.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fussy Horse No-More! My horse is a chronic head tosser. Keeping contact was impossible with how he would fuss with his face. He was not the same in his Western bridle, so I assumed it was the bridle that was causing his issues. After several attempts with cheap handmedowns I tried this and I am not looking back. My horse right from the start lowered his head and got right to work. He's been consistently happy and ready for work from day one in this and for less than $200 you can't get any better. This bridle is a lifesaver! One thing that did bother me is that some of the leather started to crack just a few days into ownership. Some leder-balsam fixed that but still. Other than that, pleasant like surprised it works with my Myler bit that has hooks.
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well I bought this bridle for my new horse on a recommendation from a barn mate. My horse was tossing his head with his regular bridle and seemed uncomfortable. With the first use he was much more comfortable. As a mainly Western horse now doing Dressage he was uncomfortable with the consistent contact. The Micklem did the trick. He moves freely forward, his head tossing has mostly disappeared and his willingness to have contact greatly increased. Like other comments the leather is not the best and it was zip tied to the cardboard header which crunched the leather further. The size is also very strange on the straps but we have made it work.All in all I love this product from a function standpoint.
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow.... what they say is TRUE! I waited before I reviewed this bridle. I wanted to give it time to really see if it made a difference. I'm sold. It made ALL the difference for my very sensitive horse who would not accept and stay on the contact. Now he's steady in the contact and MUCH more happy. THANK YOU MIKLEM!! I'll be buying a black one next year. I read reviews about the leather being stiff and not the best quality. I'm pleased with it considering the price. The instructions to fit it were simple and easy to understand. Overall, this is an excellent value and terrific solution for my sensitive horse.
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality We bought this for our Friesian who has a very sensitive mouth but can still get a little heavy in the front. We are using a really gentle snaffle and she is moving really nicely in this bridle and it's easier to keep her off her forehand.
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great Design - Poor Leather Quality for Price Measurements of my horse revealed that he could wear either a Horse size or a Cobb size. I had borrowed a horse size to try. I ordered both and ended up with the Cobb size and am really glad I did because the difference in the quality of the leather between the Cobb and Horse size was dramatic. The Cobb size has acceptable leather for the price and for that product I would rate 5-stars. However, the leather on the Horse size bridle was of the quality of bridles in the $50 range. The bridle I borrowed had poorer quality leather than the bridle I bought. Seems like the quality control is missing or the manufacture is changing over time.As far as the design goes - I love it, my horse loves it, and it looks good on him :-)
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more head tossing My OTTB has never settled on any bit I've tried, always chewing and tossing his head, hollowing and overall being distracted while we ride, which makes training quite a challenge. Thought I'd try the Micklem after doing research and reading other reviews that seemed to echo my situation. Also like the fact that it's fitted ergonomically, which can only be a good thing. Have I found the Holy Grail? No, this did not take my green anxious boy and turn him into a horse who goes on the bit and into frame the moment I take up the reins. But I didn't expect that. I was hoping for something that would lessen the distraction, that would allow me to establish contact with my boy and start to show him how much better he can ride...this bridle did just that. It has allowed me to communicate more clearly with him so that we can work on the things he needs help with most. The leather is very nice quality and well padded where it needs to be. I use different reins than the rubber ones that came with it, but that is just preference. He does seem to accept the bit more easily now as well, although that could just be Mom's wishful thinking. All that matters is that it's a clear improvement over what we were using before.
    Date published: 2015-05-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I borrowed a Micklem from a friend who had purchased one 2 years ago. It was a standard horse size so that's what I ordered. My Thoroughbred gelding has a refined head. I agree with one of the reviews that the straps for the cheek and jaw should be longer, they aren't very adjustable. And the quality of the leather does not reflect the price. (The leather of the borrowed bridle was much nicer). I like the concept of the design although it hasn't made a difference to my horse.
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Bridle! I bought this bridle over a month ago and it has truly been a game changer! My boy responded so well to it I wanted to wait to review it to make sure it wasn't just a one time thing. He is so much more comfortable and much more responsive.
    Date published: 2015-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Micklem Bridle This was a little intimidating at first to put together but a friend helped me get it setup and adjusted. Looks great and between this and a new bit we are making some progress!!
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle, very nice leather I am so glad that I purchased this bridle. My horse responded very well the first ride with a soft foamy mouth. I was not able to get that with him with his previous bridle. Easy to fit and adjust. My trainer is now trying it on one of her horses and have already told a good friend to purchase one. I will be ordering another one for one of my other horses. As a side note I ordered the largest size and I found the reins to be short for my big gelding.
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just a product review. Haven't used it yet Just put the bridle together and am super excited to see how my horse will perform in it. When putting it together, one of the bit straps was already cracking when I bent it to put it together, but only one, the other one didn't do it. The one that is cracking seems a bit stiffer than the other side. I'm willing to let this pass as I'm sure I can find replacement pieces if necessary in the future. I think it is good enough quality that it will last in this condition for quite awhile but it's going to keep me from giving it an excellent rating thus far.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good I just purchased this bridle and have only ridden in it a half a dozen times. I wasn't having any problems with my mare but the overall design and concept of the bridle seemed like a good idea. I do feel that she is going with her poll a little higher, which is good.The bridle fits well, other than the cheek piece is a little snug and I will likely need to punch another hole in it for a looser fit. The reins that come with it are a ghastly thick rubber and I immediately swapped them out for a leather pair.So far I am pleased with my purchase.
    Date published: 2015-01-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from dissapointed with quality I've had this bridle for about 6 months, I absolutely love it. It makes such a big difference with my horse. However I noticed about a month ago that where the straps attach to the bridle, it is starting to crack. I clean all my tack after every ride and condition once a week, so I'm quite upset with how much I've paid for it to not hold up. I would be willing to pay more if they could guarantee a better quality leather. I would recommend the bridle because it is amazing, however I think if the quality is going to continue to be so poor the price should drop.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wish the leather was nicer I LOVE the design of this - which is what you are paying for. Unfortunately the leather is stiff, thick and strains when you bend it. The rollers on the buckles are nice, but they squeak. The stitching is very red and is very distinct when you see it. I sent it back before trying it on my horse - I'd pay more for a more luxe version with nicer leather and finishing.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle! TheMicklem bridle I bought is great. My daughter's horse loves it!
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! I've been using this bridle for 3 weeks and have had excellent results. I have a not so forward moving horse and this bridle had given him " a go button". I couldn't be more happy with this purchase!
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from NIce leather I like this bridle for my horse. I am very naturally oriented and am always looking for the most natural comfortable solution to anything I do with my horse. That can mean being different, spending more, and working harder to get the fit just right. This bridle is not for everyone as takes a bit to get it set up right for the horse. When I first put it on it also seemed the straps were too short but over time and with use that has not been true. One complaint I have is even though I bought the oversize for my 17 h horse, the reins are oddly short.
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit My sensitive warmblood isn't fussing as much. His figure 8 was always needing to be adjustmented so this bridle is almost a custom fit. I really like the way it fits and looks. A little confusing initially and a bit expensive but worth it.
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have two young Holsteiner geldings that I bred and have purchased this bridle for both of them. I was amazed at the difference in the way my oldest goes in this bridle. He went from a very green unsteady 4 year old to a horse that has become the most balanced and soft young horse you can imagine. That being said, I just purchased my second one for his unstarted 3 year old brother. Would not ride in any other snaffle bridle again after the results I have seen.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle well, if I could figure out how to put it together, but I haven't tried REAL hard yet. I think it should be put together...
    Date published: 2014-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfy It took several tries to get the bridle to fit right. Once it was right, my horse loved it. He gets very cranky and let's me know when he is at all uncomfortable. I can tell he really likes this bridle a lot.I highly suggest you ask a trainer to help you get the bridle on right.
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy overall I love the look of this bridle, and I really love the leather, and how (generally) easy the straps are to get into the buckles and therefore to readjust. One of the leather straps (holding the bit) however was unreasonably stiff. Everything is great about it with the exception that one of the straps is getting a little defect with a sort of small cut or slit... I considered the possibility that my horse got it in her mouth and bit down on it, but that doesn't seem likely or possible with where it is. I debated returning it (I am a perfectionist I guess) but now I'm over it. I didn't want to be without it while I waited for a replacement! My horse is new to me so it is hard to say whether she is going better with it than with another bridle.... My other bridle is so very different from this that it wouldn't be a fair comparison. She appears to like it though - has no problem with getting it on, working in it, relaxing in it, and taking it off.
    Date published: 2014-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle! Bought this for a young horse who was really fussy with his mouth and had his head in the clouds. He hated a flash noseband and I hate to force his head down with a martingale. After reading the other reviews I decided to try this bridle. I am so glad I did! He's lowered his head and relaxes more with each ride. The bit attachment is making it easy to try different bits to solve the last piece of the puzzle. The leather is a little stiff but softening up with conditioning.
    Date published: 2014-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I'd found this sooner! Give it a few rides. I didn't notice a difference for the first few rides, but after the 4th or 5th ride, definite improvement in my very sensitive Andalusian/Dutch gelding's willingness to move into and maintain contact especially during any collection.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this bridle a month ago for my Fjord. It is well made and my mare really likes it. She seems much softer and accepting of the bit with the Micklem. The leather is soft and it was easy to fit. I highly recommend this bridle.
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! My trainer had me buy this for my new horse, and I am now in love! It is so great for my young horse because it does not put a lot of pressure on his face. I originally ordered the havana and I just got my second one(in black)! The quality is amazing and the 2 different colors look amazing in all three phases of eventing!
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mare likes it After reading the reviews I was worried about leather quality and fit. In my case the bridle is a success. My 9 YO 15.2 HH Lusitano mare with a small or delicate head the Cob/small horse size fit per the sizing chart. It seemed small at first, but after getting the sides properly adjusted and getter her to stop chewing the bit, both the flash and chin straps fit easily on the 3rd hole. She also seems to connect better and is much calmer than her previous dressage bridle. The leather seemed of good quality and softer than either of her other bridles. I’ve heard that horses either love them or hate them; mine is definitely more on the love side. My only complaint is that the keeps seem overly tight.
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great headstall Bought this for my daughter for dressage. We love the new style. Easier and quicker to put on. Heavier leather does not stretch. Soft and pliable.
    Date published: 2014-10-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Micklem competition bridle Like the. Bridle but did not like the reins, so got some leather one. The bridle is good my horse does well with it.
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bridle for sensitive horses! I have a very sensitive horse when collecting him. Since buying this bridle and getting the pressure of a normal dressage bridle off those sensitive nerves on him he is so much softer in the mouth. It also keeps the bit in a better position which he likes better.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    • 2015-08-30T14:29CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_186
    • loc_en_US, sid_8335, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.