Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Micklem Competition Bridle

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18335
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Bridle with an Ergonomic Design

The Micklem Competition Bridle by Horseware Ireland is designed to fit the horse's skull and prevent uncomfortable pressure points. This unique shape makes this bridle the most comfortable and effective ever designed. Available in both black and dark havana (brown). Approved for FEI competition.

Imported

Favorite Features
  • Ergonomic design to fit the shape of the horse's skull
  • 5/8" Eco-friendly with rubber reins
  • Stainless steel buckles
  • Padding on noseband, browband, and cheek pieces

Sizing

Available in sizes Pony, Cob, Horse, Large Horse
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Imperial Bridle is, hands down, the best ...
    Description:
    "The Imperial Bridle is, hands down, the best selling bridle from Arc de Triomphe. The Imperial Bridle is an example of incomparable craftsmanship. Made from genuine full grain European cow hide, the Imperial Bridle is raised and padded bridle and, ...
    "The Dr. Cook's Bitless Bridle Beta Reins offer ...
    Description:
    "The Dr. Cook's Bitless Bridle Beta Reins offer the same great material used on the Bitless Beta bridles! This leather-like synthetic is composed of a nylon core with a vinyl coating making it impervious to dirt and sweat and will ...
    "This fancy raised figure 8 bridle is a ...
    Description:
    "This fancy raised figure 8 bridle is a favorite in the jumper ring. Edgewood bridles are hand crafted in the USA and are renowned for their fine attention to detail, including, hand finished edges, roller buckles on cavesons, and lovely ...
    "Fancy stitching on padded browband and caveson. Edgewood ...
    Description:
    "Fancy stitching on padded browband and caveson. Edgewood bridles are hand crafted in the USA and are renowned for their fine attention to detail. Sold without reins."
    "The Harwich Flash Bridle by SmartPak offers outstanding ...
    Description:
    "The Harwich Flash Bridle by SmartPak offers outstanding quality and features traditional designs with sophisticated and subtle treatments. Harwich bridles are crafted from durable vegetable-tanned leather and feature a padded noseband, browband, and monocrown. The superb craftsmanship is reflected in ...
    "The Kavalkade Ecoline Weymouth Dressage Bridle is an ...
    Description:
    "The Kavalkade Ecoline Weymouth Dressage Bridle is an excellent bridle at an affordable price! Perfect for schooling or the show ring, this bridle is classically styled with a softly padded leather noseband for an excellent value. Pair with the Kavalkade ...
    "The Kavalkade Mia Dressage Bridle is made from ...
    Description:
    "The Kavalkade Mia Dressage Bridle is made from high quality leather with an attractive noseband that narrows along the sides. Featuring a crank noseband with a flash, this bridle has soft padding on the noseband and its anatomically shaped head ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Micklem Competition Bridle is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 291.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! I bought this bridle about 6 months ago to help my wind sucker who wears a cribbing strap deal with poll pressure exerted in the bridle. Instantaneous improvement with acceptance in the bridle. It is a winner!
    Date published: 2017-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautifully balanced bridle I was intrigued with the idea of a more ergonomic bridle. I have a young 4 year old that is just being started and I wanted to give him the easiest way to start. Especially knowing that he is still dealing with teeth that are changing and wolf teeth that may or may not come in at some point. This bridle has been amazing. I paired it with a very simple double jointed happy mouth and he is super happy and taking a light contact. This bridle did take a little bit of reading to understand how to properly fit and adjust the bit and the noseband but it was explained in the booklet that came with the bridle. And a special bonus that it comes with my favorite reins on the planet. Super supple yet sticky rubber reins that are easy to grip yet flexible enough for you to be light in your contact. My only complaint is that it is a fairly plain bridle however the browband is easily changeable so I was able to dress this bridle up a little bit for show.
    Date published: 2017-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pony approves My pony seems to be softer in my hand and a bit more willing to move forward. He is a large pony, similar to a Welsh Cob Section D. I ordered the horse size for my boy and it was a good fit. A Cob size would have been too small . So far he seems to like it. The leather seems nice and is soft and easy to adjust . The noseband is not too wide and I think he likes the "minimalist" feel of this bridle. I always thought it was a gimmick , but, not after the difference I felt in him after the first ride. For my pony , it has been a positive tack improvement.
    Date published: 2017-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from As advertised! Used this bridle for the first time today and I am very pleased. I bought this because I needed a new bridle and was tired of the nosebands on my other bridles losing shape over time. This bridle has many great reviews and I have found them to be very accurate. The leather is a bit stiff but of good quality. I ride dresssage so will not use the rubber reins that came with it. The only oddity is the chin strap seems a bit small, I have a 15.2 QH mix, not a big guy at all but that strap is a bit too short.As. for. the ride, def noticed more reaching for the bridle today and less resistance. I will see if this keeps up but first ride was good.Overall very pleased with the purchase!
    Date published: 2017-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle! Really love the Micklem design for some horses. Not that prettiest bridle, but the function definitely out weighs the lack of stylish features. For a few horses I ride this is a night and day difference from a conventional snaffle bridle. Every trainer should have one in their tack room :)
    Date published: 2017-02-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I just bought this bridle and I am very pleased for the most part tho I did notice that some off the leather were the holes are started to crack! I am very disappointed about that but nothing Some oil can't fix. Overall pretty nice quality but I don't think it was worth 200, my thoroughbred didn't change when I rode him in it but he definitely didn't dislike it. Everyone I have talked to has loved this bridle I would definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2017-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Voodoo magic bridle I'm generally opposed to training devises such as draw reins, etc., but at the request of my trainer who uses it on her own horse, I agreed to try hers for a day. It had a Happy Mouth double jointed boucher. I figured I'd be getting run away with or have my arms pulled out of their sockets & was fully prepared. But WOW! My hot jumper loped around like a hunter! Soft, submissive, responsive, no head tossing, seeking contact....not things typical of this mare! I thought it was a fluke but used it again the next day. Same thing! Still skeptical, I used my regular bridle with regular double jointed snaffle on day 3. She went back to the same strong, somewhat resistant, head tossing hot jumper...... So....... I bought my own with the exact same bit as used on my trainer's bridle. We haven't looked back since then. Not sure how it works & don't really care. It's worked miracles with my horse! As far as leather quality, it's not the luxurious leather of expensive bridles, but is certainly decent. Leather balsam has softened it up nicely.
    Date published: 2017-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my Micklem Competition Bridle! My horse has a bony protrusion on her jaw that was getting rubbed by the noseband on her previous bridle. The Micklem Bridle is designed to eliminate the regular nose band and now I do not have to worry that her bridle is making her uncomfortable. The bridle has a stream-lined look that I really appreciate because my horse has a smaller face. I recommend this bridle to everyone.
    Date published: 2017-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supple leather The leather is supple and I really like the rubber reins, having never used anything but leather previously. For a horse that is overall sensitive to using a flash the bridle may be too strong. I cannot use for the horse intended but it works well with the other. I may even be able to switch to a bit even milder than the one currently in use.
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features! I bought this bridle to relieve head shaking. My horse Is more comfortable in it than a typical dressage bridle with a flash nose band. He isn't totally asymptomatic, but, it has helped.
    Date published: 2017-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Significant Difference! I got this bridle for my horse for Christmas and have seen a big change in my horse. The bit stays in place with the optional clips and the leather is soft. The contact is more steady and even with this bridle. The reins for the horse size were a little short for long and low work but I didn't mind. My horse was more accepting of the bridle and didn't try opening his mouth anymore. He also was more willing to keep his head down and stretch more. I'm very glad I purchased this bridle.
    Date published: 2017-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality This is a very different kind of bridle than I have used before. It feels like it's looser when it goes on because it doesn't have the nose band, however it isn't loose at all. My horse likes it and I like that he does.
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved by horse and rider I love this bridle because it takes the pressure off the mouth and distributes it to the pole thus a lighter hand. My horse loves it for the same reasons.
    Date published: 2016-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought this bridle a few months ago after hearing great results on other horses with "connection" issues. My horse was already being ridden in a nice quality padded bridle. He responded positively from the first ride and has continued to change dramatically. I'm usually a skeptic, but I'm quite impressed. Nice quality as well!
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Best gift ever" Selected this bridle as a gift to my wife for her BD... (no, last year I did not get her a vacuum). We found the leather and leather work to be of top quality. She had no issues gaining the fit she sought on her mare and is very pleased with the way her horse is responding to the innovative design... as always, doing business with SmartPak was hassle free and cost competitive.
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mickelm bridle Our horse has been so happy since we started using this bridle. he is much quieter when riding.
    Date published: 2016-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality I was very hesatint to spend this much money on a bridle I wasn't sure was gonna work on my ottb, but I am so glad I did!! My ottb rides so well in it and the leather quality is pretty good.
    Date published: 2016-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bridle I am happy with the quality of this bridle. The leather is sturdy and well tanned, and the stitching is even and nicely finished.
    Date published: 2016-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Looking and Effective Bridle -- This was purchased for my 14.3 Quarter Horse mare on the advice of my trainer. The cob size fit perfectly. As with some other reviews, I found the leather a bit stiff; but it did soften with Lederbalsam. My mare showed salivation on her first ride - a never before occurrence. Beyond that it has not created any miracles in her ride but she shows no problem with it. I like the drop noseband feature and the overall ease of use and fit. (Not crazy about the rubber reins but they are adequate -- and changeable!) Overall I am pleased with this bridle.
    Date published: 2016-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle! This bridle made a huge difference with the Icelandic mare I ride (dressage). Way more acceptance of the bit and less head shaking. The only reason I gave this 4 stars is the leather. It seems durable enough and it's not stiff but it's really thick and has a weird rubbery texture that makes it look kind of synthetic. Overall though I really like it!
    Date published: 2016-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Design, but Cheap Leather Fits great and my horse loves it. I like the grippy reins as well. Only problem is the cheap leather. I clean and oil this bridle every week with high quality oil...it never seems to soften. Would have paid more for decent leather.
    Date published: 2016-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! I had never seen this bridle before and never had a flash on my gelding, so I wasn't sure how he would like this. He is a high-headed Arabian that loves to look at everything. He loved this bridle from the first ride - he is calm, his head is down and he is so relaxed in it. I have been using it for six weeks and won't switch back to anything else now. I used my own reins as I prefer leather reins, but the bridle leather is soft and lovely.
    Date published: 2016-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle! I bought this a few weeks ago and already see a great difference in my mare. She more relaxed in the bridle and has stopped leaning left. The quality of the leather is nice. With the ability to return it as needed, why not give it a try?!
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT!! I bought this bridle about a month ago, I have never regretted it! I you are thinking about getting a drop noseband for your horse i would try this first instead. The leather is pretty nice, it holds up pretty good. I love how much padding it has!!The keepers for the bridle on the sides are sewed in which i personally really like! I LOVE the reins i would say that they are comparable to the Nunn Finer Soft Grip Reins, great for all phases of eventing!!
    Date published: 2016-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bridle Bought this for my gal to fit her Arabian gelding that I had just purchased for her. She had a hard time finding a bridle that would fit him, and she really liked this one. It fit and worked very well for him. I would highly recommend it
    Date published: 2016-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the purchase price I've used Micklems in the past on horses with fussy mouths, and ordered one from my new 9yo TB. He was constantly head tossing and rooting, and hated to take contact. Our first ride in it was a 180 degree turn around: quiet, steady contact, no rooting, and not one head toss. The bit is stable and quiet. He seems more comfortable and much more confidant. I've had 8 or so rides in it and I feel like I have a different horse.Is this a miracle bridle for all horses? No. But, it worked for us, and is certainly worth a try! I personally think they produce fantastic results.
    Date published: 2016-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Micklem bridle I've had this bridle for a few months. My mare, and I love it! I was a little unsure because of the reviews, but so happy I made the leap. The leather is nice. It broke in quickly. Fit is good. The rubber reins are awesome! Especially when caught in a passing rain shower on the trails here in the PNW. My mare carries herself better, and is much lighter in the bridle. Whatever it takes to make my mare happy.....this Micklem bridle is gold in my mind.
    Date published: 2016-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Micklem Bridle I bought it just to try it and I wanted a multipurpose bridle that took the pressure off my horses sensitive areas. My horse loves this bridle. I also have used it without the bit. I wish the bitless converters, ie the ones they sell in England came with the bridle. The parts that convert it to true bitless. There is an extra strap that goes under the chin for a bit more pressure or one that goes over the poll and crosses under the throat latch for maximum pressure. However, without those pieces it still works as a bitless bridle just fine.
    Date published: 2016-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I had been looking for a bridle that was one piece behind the ears on the poll. I have a sensitive horse and this bridle has all the pressure points figured out and if bought in the correct size works very well in missing those and giving more comfort to your horse. The reins that came with it where also very good as well and in fact I like them better than any of the others I have on different bridles.
    Date published: 2016-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-08-04
    • y_2017, m_5, d_24, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_280
    • loc_en_US, sid_8335, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders