Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

MDC Ultimate Stirrups

MDC Corporation
- Item #13786
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The MDC Intelligent Stirrups® are a revolutionary new stirrup design that positions your stirrups where you want them. You select any of three preset stirrup positions: traditional, 45 degrees or 90 degrees. The preset angle of the MDC Ultimate Stirrups improves leg, calf and foot position, relieves pressure on hips, knees and ankles, and reduces leg burns. The MDC Intelligent Stirrups® are easily retrievable, making your performance more precise and much safer.

MDC Intelligent Stirrups® have earned top praise, including Horse Journal Magazine Product of the Year and endorsements by many top riders including the entire US Dressage Team, Amy Tryon and Margie Engle. WEG Show Jumping Silver Medalist Beezie Madden says "They're simply amazing!" and Debbie McDonald says "I would recommend these stirrups to anyone at any level of riding."

Rubber protected hinged bottom. Black or Stainless Steel. The MDC Ultimate Stirrups® are true sized- the rubber sleeves have been taken into account and create a true opening of 4 ¼", 4 ½", 4 ¾" and 5".

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    These stirrups offer a 6 Way Ultimate Movement ...
    Description:
    These stirrups offer a 6 Way Ultimate Movement System which allows movement in any direction. Favorite Features Extremely smooth technology offers forward, backward and side to side movement and impact resistance. Comes with rubber stirrup pads and "cheese grater" pads. ...
    SmartPakLined StirrupLeathers are lined with Nylon to prevent ...
    Description:
    SmartPakLined StirrupLeathers are lined with Nylon to prevent stretching. Covered withSoft leather, requires no break in time!The SmartPak Lined Stirrup Leathers measure 7/8" wide.Holes spaced .75" apart.Stainless steel roller buckle. Brown 48" or 54" long. Black 54" or 60" long. ...
    The Compositi Premium Stirrup Irons are a traditional ...
    Description:
    The Compositi Premium Stirrup Irons are a traditional stirrup with a pop of color. These stirrups are made of one of the toughest hi-tech polymers produced by DuPont. Additionally, these stirrups haveintegrated 3D swivel action treads. These treadsare positioned on ...
    The Ovation Child's English Leather Stirrup Leathers are ...
    Description:
    The Ovation Child's English Leather Stirrup Leathers are made from top quality English Leather.Favorite Features Competition design White contrast stitching Leathers are 3/4" wideSizing It Up Choose from Australian Nut in the 36", 42", 48" length or Black in the ...
    Made in Italy. Supreme quality and durability, synonymous ...
    Description:
    Made in Italy. Supreme quality and durability, synonymous with the exceptional comfort they offer to the rider and the horse. These characteristics are proven each day by the great riders who have always chosen the precision and technology offered by ...
    Why We Love ThisThe MDC Hunter Classic Stirrup ...
    Description:
    Why We Love ThisThe MDC Hunter Classic Stirrup provides high traction and greater support for the traditional or performance minded rider. The MDC Hunter Classic features an ultra-low profile treadandis practically invisible in the show ring, allowing all the benefits ...
    Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and ...
    Description:
    Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and designed by Marcel Toulouse, Master French Saddler. Tripled and sewn, these leathers are made of fine calfskin. Buckle end is riveted in a metal sleeve to reduce bulk under your leg for ...
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    MDC Ultimate Stirrups is rated 4.75 out of 5 by 64.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrup I bought these stirrups after trying the Ultimate sport. They are great for my bad knees and hips and I have added the comfort stirrup pads so it is like the ultimate sport but won't ruin your boots. They do run big I wear a 7.5 boot and bought a 4.5 stirrup
    Date published: 2015-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sensational Stirrups! I have been riding in these for nearly 5 years now and I still love them!I have had knee surgery, broken bones in the left foot twice, and had my right heel reconstructed with a plate and screws after a particularly bad fall. Needless to say I need joint relief. I purchased these based off experience with other jointed stirrups and not being completely satisfied with them. The key truly is the angle of adjustment at the top.For dressage, I keep them at 45 deg and when on the trail one is at 45 and the other at 90. Having the flexibility to adjust them depending on my riding style has been a blessing. I'm able to have an intense workout or a long trail ride and still walk afterward. I used to hobble and lean on things for some time after riding in traditional stirrups.If for any reason you think this stirrup may help you with pain, balance, etc, give them a try. They are different from other jointed stirrups.
    Date published: 2015-09-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great idea I bought these stirrups because I have been having foot and knee pain while riding. The stirrups run big so I had to return for smaller size, but I rod better and had no discomfort.
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improves balance I much prefer these stirrups over the Herm Sprenger Bow Balance. They have improved my cantering. Before I was constantly losing or fighting to keep my foot in the stirrup during canter departures on my one gelding. Having the option to position the stirrup in the correct angle has improved my balance on the horse. My only concern is the stirrup position mechanism becoming worn. I have followed the care instructions. I have used them in the arena (flat work) and long trail ride on various terrain.
    Date published: 2015-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these stirrups! I've recently taken up dressage lessons and these stirrups have been helpful in keeping the right foot position but still being comfortable. I love not having the stirrup leather pressure across my leg. They are easy to adjust to the preferred angle and keep on my foot. These stirrups were expensive, but I think they were worth the investment.
    Date published: 2015-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from They are more comfortable on my hip joint and ankles at my age
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big help for Novice English rider I tried these stirrups when I rode in my trainers saddle. There was such a significant difference in feel that I decided to purchase a pair for myself. I am new to riding English and these stirrups have helped me a lot.
    Date published: 2015-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY safe in a fall! I came off my horse a few weeks ago when he tripped badly at a canter. The stirrups released my foot to let me fall free. This safety feature, on top of the comfort to my knees and hips mean that I will never ride in anything else!
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Stirrups! I've wanted these stirrups for a long time, and finally decided to purchase them! I had tried them a couple of years ago when I was riding in someone else's saddle, and I immediately felt a huge difference and since then I dreamed of owning them. So far these stirrups have been great. They really do help with your leg position, and make you feel so much more stable. Zero leg pains after riding even for longer amounts of time
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG!!!! Riding pain free!!!!! These stirrups are the gateway to pain free riding. I didn't realize how much torque I had in my legs until it stopped. My back feels better, my hips feel better, my toes feel better, and those are the parts that I DIDN'T realize had pain! My knees and ankles . . . . Well, that's what was keeping me from riding! Now I can ride two lessons a day!And here's another surprise: My leg position dramatically improved. I used to have a 'defensive' leg position; slightly too far forward, with weight in the toes instead of the heels; kind of gripping the horse. Now it's totally relaxed, in the correct position under my hip, and the heel has dropped down.If you're having trouble with your legs, position, back, etc.; see if you can borrow and try a pair of these irons for yourself.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Long Rides I enjoy fox hunting. I love being in the hunt field for hours, but being a newer rider in a hilly, fast-paced environment on a pretty frisky horse was resulting in extremely sore Achilles tendons and knees post-hunt. I was between the Herm Sprenger stirrups, the original Royal Riders, and these guys. While I never tried any of the other stirrups I was looking at, I decided I liked the ability to use a 45 or 90 degree angle and the weight (the RR are supposed to be very light).Yesterday, I rode second flight in the hunt field and really feel the wide stirrup base helped with stability (stayed on for three big spooks, two at the canter). Additionally, while I'm sore in my legs today, particularly my calves, my Achilles aren't bothering me and my knees are fine. These stirrups accomplish exactly what I was hoping they would. Big "thank you" to SmartPak's Ellen for the recommendation!
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still deciding I bought the black ones and love the way they look. I would say that the only reason I spent this much money was after reading the reviews and knowing I could return them even after riding in them. I will say that changing the angle is easy and they are comfortable, however if your use to a regular stirrup you will feel like your moving around more than normal. I would say I'm still not 100% sold on them but will probably keep them.
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Joint issues? These are your stirrups Having had multiple knee surgeries I was interested to see if these would make a difference in my day to day comfort level. I initially balked at the price but eventually waiting for a % off sale to given them a try. I was pleasantly shocked, these have made a big difference in that I have significantly less pain in the saddle and am able to ride more of the 'big trot' more comfortably. They really do provide a certain amount of shock absorption that result in less strain on my not so great knees.While pricey, I'm hopeful that taken care of these will last a long time.
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Stirrups I have two knee replacements and 5 screws in each foot and have difficulty getting stirrups back--but the angleon these makes it easy to slide my foot right in. Terrific!
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My feet are comfortable!!! I have a reconstructed ankle and rode in standard stirrups for 30 years with my feet and ankle falling asleep. On a whim I thought I would try these and was amazed! Both legs are more comfortable and I ride with a better position!
    Date published: 2014-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrups I have used these stirrups on my Dressage saddle for several years now and LOVE them. I prefer them to all other stirrups for their ability to swivel and not twist the leathers and then to go flat to be pulled up to keep the saddle neat while not in use. I also love the flexible joints. I just bought another set of these for another saddle that I bought. The other ones are still going strong.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, but expensive These stirrups are very well-made, and very comfortable. I got them as a present so I will certainly enjoy them, but am not sure they are worth the price.
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrup irons! It took some time to adjust to these but once I did I fell in love! Got these coming off a joint injury from my foot being caught in a stirrup when I took a spill jumping. I wanted something more forgiving than my standard fillis irons on my joints and that would release my foot better if I fell. So far these have been fantastic they don't make my joints hurt as bad and they put me in a nice position while jumping not to mention they make it incredibly easy to pick up a lost stirrup! Don't know what I'd do without them! My only complaint is they have become increasingly hard to change the angle, but I most likely just need to oil them and of course the price.
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They DO make a difference! I only had a chance to ride in them once since I got them for Christmas, and I was a bit cautious and didn't expect too much, more like 'would you even realize the difference if you didn't know....?' - but wow, yes, there is a difference the moment you stick your feet in those. My whole ride I couldn't get over it how comfortable these stirrup irons are! I rode in the ones with the spring before, I think for me the fact that they turn is what makes them so comfortable, but if you go ahead and spend all that money on irons spend $ 20.00 more and get them with the springs. To me, this is a purchase (or gift in this case) I won't regret. I am 51, riding dressage and was in the regular stirrup irons my whole life, my one ride in them was a great experience!
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great stirrups! I have a torn ACL and these stirrups allow me to change the position of each stirrup individually. For my strong leg I turn it 45 degrees and for my bad leg, 90 degrees. It's a great product for people with joint issues like me!
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Iron! Very nice quality, exceptional tool for students. Allows foot to stay at proper angle for those who tend to turn toe inward. Love the adjustability, heavy quality . Would have helped me a lot 20 years ago. All my students ride with these. Best Iron I've used in a long time. Great buy, return policy very easy.
    Date published: 2013-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Stirrups! I tried out both the HS Bow Balance and these. I liked how I had two options for foot settings with the MDC's. They are great for dressage. I was having issues with my toes pointing out and these stirrups solved that problem. Great buy and the black looks really sharp!
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These stirrups are worth the money... I bought the MDC stirrups about a year ago. Beforehand my knees and hips would ache after a good ride in my old irons...not anymore! I have to say that the first difference i noticed was a more secure feel in my position. After a years use i can honestly say that i rarely if ever feel any afteraffects from riding...and i am a fifty five year old woman training a five year old TB to jump. Take it from me...if you are planning on riding into and through your middle age you need to get these!
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LIFESAVERS I've had bad knees for the last ten years, and these stirrups are the only thing that keep me able to ride without pain. I rode in a saddle without them for a week and felt a very obvious difference. On most days, the slight give in the stirrups is enough to keep me comfortable, but I do turn them when my knees are a little painful.I've ridden in some other jointed stirrups (Stubben and a couple others) and hated them because they made my leg and ankle feel too unstable, but don't have that problem with these. The MDC stirrups are stiff enough to be stable, but provide just enough give to make a huge difference.I can't and won't ride without these.
    Date published: 2013-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Help keep leg in better position I first used these on a trainer's saddle in Florida. I noticed they kept my leg in a better position and the extra grippy rubber on the side helps keep my boot more secure. No more accidental losing my stirrup! Overall, they provide a more secure feeling and helped improved my leg positioning, resulting in more prompt transitions from both horse...and rider!
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING. Worth the money! I just bought these stirrups. I always have had ankle, knee and foot pain when I ride. My feet also go numb. I tried the composite reflex stirrups and those didn't help either. These MDC stirrups are amazing. Instant relief. They are so comfortable and my heel goes down much easier without the pain. My leg also stays in the correct position much more with these than any other stirrup.Worth the money!
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrups! I bought these stirrups for my first saddle from a tack store and I loved them. It was a no brainer to buy them from SmartPak (cheaper!) when I needed them for my second saddle. The 45 and 90 degree adjustments are very easy (just a twist) and it takes pressure off the ankles.
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only kind I will use. I only use this kind of stirrup. Just got a new saddle for one of my horses and had to have these.Nice weight so easy to retrieve. Easy on your knees and ankles with the adjustment. Just love them!
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for me. I've been using these stirrups on all my saddles for a few years now and won't ever use anything else! Just love them.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't believe i spent so much on stirrups! It had been over 25 years since i had a new pair of irons... but mine were getting pretty rusty and i was having some trouble keeping my boot in. I was surprised to find the selection had certainly changed from 25 years ago. As i read the reviews, I couldn't help but be drawn to these, being 25 years older has brought lots more aches and pains, could these stirrups really help? I was shocked i pulled the trigger and bought them. Yah, they sure do help! I've had only one ride in them, but as the other reviewers mentioned, i had a stronger base, more secure in my position, less pain upon dismount, in fact, i had the best ride I could remember in a while.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    • 2016-05-25T18:11CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_60
    • loc_en_US, sid_3786, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders