Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

MDC Ultimate Stirrups

MDC Corporation
- Item #13786

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The MDC Intelligent Stirrups® are a revolutionary new stirrup design that positions your stirrups where you want them. You select any of three preset stirrup positions: traditional, 45 degrees or 90 degrees. The preset angle of the MDC Ultimate Stirrups improves leg, calf and foot position, relieves pressure on hips, knees and ankles, and reduces leg burns. The MDC Intelligent Stirrups® are easily retrievable, making your performance more precise and much safer.

MDC Intelligent Stirrups® have earned top praise, including Horse Journal Magazine Product of the Year and endorsements by many top riders including the entire US Dressage Team, Amy Tryon and Margie Engle. WEG Show Jumping Silver Medalist Beezie Madden says "They're simply amazing!" and Debbie McDonald says "I would recommend these stirrups to anyone at any level of riding."

Rubber protected hinged bottom. Black or Stainless Steel. The MDC Ultimate Stirrups® are true sized- the rubber sleeves have been taken into account and create a true opening of 4 ¼", 4 ½", 4 ¾" and 5".

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    MDC Ultimate Stirrups is rated 4.7377 out of 5 by 61.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THEY ARE WORTH EVERY PENNY! I ride dressage so I put them on the 90 degree angle they suggested. These stirrups were wonderful even after several hours of riding my knees,ankles or hips did NOT hurt! They are worth the cost.
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome stirrups! These stirrups are AMAZING! I have knee, back and neck pain from previous injuries, and riding only further stimulated the pain. I tried these stirrups, and for the first time, I got off and I had NO pain :) I've read reviews that these stirrups compromise your equitation, and they don't provide a solid base when jumping, but I have yet to experience either of those problems. Plus, the adjustable tops made it easier to get my stirrups after no stirrup work. These stirrups are so comfortable and overall just a great investment!
    Date published: 2012-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC STIRRUPS I LOVE THESE STIRRUPS, THEY PUT YOUR FOOT IN THE CORRECT POSITION AND IMPROVE YOUR RIDING
    Date published: 2012-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What took me so long? I just bought a second pair for my second saddle. These are wonderful. They are supposed to be easy to pick up if dropped, but they hang so nicely and my foot is so secure that I don't ever drop them. Also, I have a trick knee and this alleviates pain that I get if I ride too much.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped my ankle pain!! As a Podiatrist, it was very frustrating to have ankle pain after riding in "traditional" stirrups from trying to force one (inflexible ankle) heel down constantly. These stirrups are so comfortable and flexible that I easily and painlessly now can keep both heels down with no ankle issue!!! The 45 degree rotation takes the strain off of my "tight left ankle" and provides balance to both legs. Also, they are quite heavy and help to keep the foot and therefore lower leg down because they do not bounce around like the lighter weight, more traditional ones do. Love, love, love these!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Stirrups! I have only been riding in these stirrups for a week, and I can already tell a huge difference in how my leg is positioned, and how I feel after I ride. Having a bad back I really needed some stirrups with support, and these were it!
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC Ultimate stirrups These are great stirrups, adjustment ability make a big difference with ankle, knee and hip comfort. Pricey but glad I made this purchase.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Give 'em a chance They take a few rides to get used to, but if you're looking for adjustability and flex through the leg, then you'll likely enjoy these irons. Be prepared to shorten your leathers a hole, as they are longer than many traditional fillis irons. Good fit and solid feel.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE my MDC's I'm always amazed when I hear someone wasn't totally impressed by a pair of these. I cannot ride without them. I had started having knee and sometimes hip pain after riding and it was getting to be a real problem. I don't know why the stirrups can change that, but that they do. Fabulous invention. And they make it SOOOOO easy to regain a lost stirrup! Simply lift your toe, and the stirrup puts itself right back on the boot. No fishing around. Yes, they are pricey. But super durable, and they do what they are supposed to do. BUY THEM!
    Date published: 2011-06-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Converted to Herm Sprenger MDC Ultimate Stirrups were too long and heavy. Weighted my saddle down and stirrups were difficult to pick up. Side-by-side comparison to Herm Sprenger made me a believer in Bow Balance. Now I just need to sell my MDC's. :-)
    Date published: 2010-11-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too much flex I purchased the MDC smart stirrup for my dressage saddle. The smart stirrup does not have the flexible base that the ultimate stirrup has. I loved them and decided to purchase the utimate stirrup for jumping, thinking the flex base would be helpful. BUT, I can't stand my stirrups flexing around like that. It's kind of like standing on a wobbly fence or something. So, I am going to trade to the smart stirrup instead so that I have that support. I am much more secure in the lower leg with the traditional iron. I do however love the swivel top of this stirrup as I usually get really bad leather burns on my legs.So, to sum it up, if you don't have knee problems, I would recommend the MDC smart stirrup over the ultimate stirrup for jumping and cross country anyway.Marian in Pheonix
    Date published: 2010-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment I've made! I have had terrible pain in my knees for years in and out of the saddle. In the past 6 months it has gotten nearly intolerable- and I had to take time off riding.I decided to try the MDC Ultimates as a last resort to help my knees in the saddle.WOW. Huge difference. I thought I had tried everything on the market as far as flexible stirrups goes and I hated all other flexible stirrups. I didn't feel secure/stable in any of them, and I disliked the light weight ones. MDC Ultimates are absolutely brilliant, I cannot ride without them. They have relieved my knees of most of the pain, to the point where I can ride for miles again without any issue. They are a great weight, easy to catch, easy to adjust, and they really made a tremendous difference in my pain.I also feel much more secure in them, and feel like my leg is in a much better position.Without a doubt I will be buying another set for my other saddle. Best money I've spent in years.
    Date published: 2010-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC Ultimate Stirrups These MDC Ultimate Stirrups really do help position yourself in the stirrups. They also with ankle and knee pain. You don't really notice them till you stop riding. I would recommend them.
    Date published: 2010-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety First After a horse riding accident several years ago with a horse falling with me, I decided these stirrups are a must. Ive ridden with them now for several years and just bought an additional pair for another saddle for a new young horse. They are spendy, but my life is worth $200.00! Not only are they safe, they are very comfortable.
    Date published: 2010-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can ride again! After a 20 year hiatus and two knee surgeries, I started riding in borrowed tack. But I thought I'd have to give it up again because of knee pain. However, after buying the MDC Ultimate Stirrups I was instantly pain free - no soreness whatsoever in the saddle or upon dismounting. The price isn't an issue considering the options are not riding at all, or buying an expensive stirrup. They're worth every penny.
    Date published: 2009-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The be-all and end-all of stirupps! If it wasn't for these stirrups, I wouldn't be able to ride at all. It had gotten to the point where I couldn't sit on my horse for more than 5 minutes without being in dire pain in my knees and ankles, and my feet going numb. When I would dismount, I would hit the ground, I couldn't use my legs, and I would have to sit there on the ground for several minutes before I could get up and limp back to the barn. I saw these stirrups and were scared they were an expensive gimick, but after reading several favorable reviews, I decided to try them....or quit riding. I'm here to tell you, they worked miracles!!! A week after I got them, I went on a 4 hour trail ride...something I would never have tried before these....and when it was over, I couldn't even tell I had been riding at all! These will always be on my saddle!!!!
    Date published: 2009-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Live Without Them These are the ultimate in comfort and ergonomics. They fall into my list of "must haves" or "can't live without" for riding. The ability to twist the top helps relieve knee strain. The flexing also helps absorb some of the shock. I have chronic low back pain as well as chronic pain in my left ankle due to a bad riding accident that left me with permanent screws and a plate in. These stirrups have allowed me to ride almost pain free. Thank you MDC!!!!
    Date published: 2009-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I REALLY LOVE THESE! I rode in my trainer's saddle for a few days and she had these stirrups on and I found them so much easier to use. They went straight across my foot and stayed in place, no more twisting and fussing! Even though they are VERY pricey (the thing I don't like about them), I will probably invest in a pair for my new saddle! These are amazing and really let you focus more on your riding than fussing around with your stirrups. They also take a lot of strain off of your body. I highly recommend these for anybody, no matter what type of riding they do!
    Date published: 2007-11-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from highly overrated I bought the MDC Ultimate Stirrups after reading all the great reviews. I have discovered that this stirrup is taller than others, and when you use the 90 degree position, a part of the top sticks out and will poke you in the ankle/leg. I also did not experience the "knee relief" that others report (possibly due to my distraction at being poked in the ankle). If I had known about the 30 day return policy, these would have gone back. In my opinion, another expensive gimmick. My trainer wasn't crazy about them either.
    Date published: 2007-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort and safety combined! I purchased these MDC Ultimate stirrups for both my husband and me. We both trail ride, sometimes for several hours, and these take the strain off our knees. The stirrups are always in the right place, so we don't worry about losing them. We tried offset eye stirrups and jointed ones, and these are the best. Yes, they're pricey, but definitely worth the money!
    Date published: 2007-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ahhhh! That's what your knees and hips will say when you first ride in these! I am very impressed with how well these stirrups release the stress in my leg - from my hip to my ankle. It is much easier to keep my leg in the correct position. I use these in the 90 degree position on my jumping saddle and in the 45 degree position on my dressage saddle.
    Date published: 2006-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price! I recently purchased these stirrups and absolutely love them. I turn them the full 90 degrees and what a difference I notice in my riding. My leg is way more comfortable and the flexing sides make it so my knees and ankles never get tired. You don't know how much you need these stirrups until you ride in them!
    Date published: 2006-05-22
    • 2016-02-13T14:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_57
    • loc_en_US, sid_3786, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.