Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

MDC Ultimate Stirrups

MDC Corporation
- Item #13786

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The MDC Intelligent Stirrups® are a revolutionary new stirrup design that positions your stirrups where you want them. You select any of three preset stirrup positions: traditional, 45 degrees or 90 degrees. The preset angle of the MDC Ultimate Stirrups improves leg, calf and foot position, relieves pressure on hips, knees and ankles, and reduces leg burns. The MDC Intelligent Stirrups® are easily retrievable, making your performance more precise and much safer.

MDC Intelligent Stirrups® have earned top praise, including Horse Journal Magazine Product of the Year and endorsements by many top riders including the entire US Dressage Team, Amy Tryon and Margie Engle. WEG Show Jumping Silver Medalist Beezie Madden says "They're simply amazing!" and Debbie McDonald says "I would recommend these stirrups to anyone at any level of riding."

Rubber protected hinged bottom. Black or Stainless Steel. The MDC Ultimate Stirrups® are true sized- the rubber sleeves have been taken into account and create a true opening of 4 ¼", 4 ½", 4 ¾" and 5".

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    MDC Ultimate Stirrups is rated 4.7333 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these stirrups! I've recently taken up dressage lessons and these stirrups have been helpful in keeping the right foot position but still being comfortable. I love not having the stirrup leather pressure across my leg. They are easy to adjust to the preferred angle and keep on my foot. These stirrups were expensive, but I think they were worth the investment.
    Date published: 2015-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from They are more comfortable on my hip joint and ankles at my age
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big help for Novice English rider I tried these stirrups when I rode in my trainers saddle. There was such a significant difference in feel that I decided to purchase a pair for myself. I am new to riding English and these stirrups have helped me a lot.
    Date published: 2015-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY safe in a fall! I came off my horse a few weeks ago when he tripped badly at a canter. The stirrups released my foot to let me fall free. This safety feature, on top of the comfort to my knees and hips mean that I will never ride in anything else!
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Stirrups! I've wanted these stirrups for a long time, and finally decided to purchase them! I had tried them a couple of years ago when I was riding in someone else's saddle, and I immediately felt a huge difference and since then I dreamed of owning them. So far these stirrups have been great. They really do help with your leg position, and make you feel so much more stable. Zero leg pains after riding even for longer amounts of time
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG!!!! Riding pain free!!!!! These stirrups are the gateway to pain free riding. I didn't realize how much torque I had in my legs until it stopped. My back feels better, my hips feel better, my toes feel better, and those are the parts that I DIDN'T realize had pain! My knees and ankles . . . . Well, that's what was keeping me from riding! Now I can ride two lessons a day!And here's another surprise: My leg position dramatically improved. I used to have a 'defensive' leg position; slightly too far forward, with weight in the toes instead of the heels; kind of gripping the horse. Now it's totally relaxed, in the correct position under my hip, and the heel has dropped down.If you're having trouble with your legs, position, back, etc.; see if you can borrow and try a pair of these irons for yourself.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Long Rides I enjoy fox hunting. I love being in the hunt field for hours, but being a newer rider in a hilly, fast-paced environment on a pretty frisky horse was resulting in extremely sore Achilles tendons and knees post-hunt. I was between the Herm Sprenger stirrups, the original Royal Riders, and these guys. While I never tried any of the other stirrups I was looking at, I decided I liked the ability to use a 45 or 90 degree angle and the weight (the RR are supposed to be very light).Yesterday, I rode second flight in the hunt field and really feel the wide stirrup base helped with stability (stayed on for three big spooks, two at the canter). Additionally, while I'm sore in my legs today, particularly my calves, my Achilles aren't bothering me and my knees are fine. These stirrups accomplish exactly what I was hoping they would. Big "thank you" to SmartPak's Ellen for the recommendation!
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still deciding I bought the black ones and love the way they look. I would say that the only reason I spent this much money was after reading the reviews and knowing I could return them even after riding in them. I will say that changing the angle is easy and they are comfortable, however if your use to a regular stirrup you will feel like your moving around more than normal. I would say I'm still not 100% sold on them but will probably keep them.
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Joint issues? These are your stirrups Having had multiple knee surgeries I was interested to see if these would make a difference in my day to day comfort level. I initially balked at the price but eventually waiting for a % off sale to given them a try. I was pleasantly shocked, these have made a big difference in that I have significantly less pain in the saddle and am able to ride more of the 'big trot' more comfortably. They really do provide a certain amount of shock absorption that result in less strain on my not so great knees.While pricey, I'm hopeful that taken care of these will last a long time.
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Stirrups I have two knee replacements and 5 screws in each foot and have difficulty getting stirrups back--but the angleon these makes it easy to slide my foot right in. Terrific!
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My feet are comfortable!!! I have a reconstructed ankle and rode in standard stirrups for 30 years with my feet and ankle falling asleep. On a whim I thought I would try these and was amazed! Both legs are more comfortable and I ride with a better position!
    Date published: 2014-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrups I have used these stirrups on my Dressage saddle for several years now and LOVE them. I prefer them to all other stirrups for their ability to swivel and not twist the leathers and then to go flat to be pulled up to keep the saddle neat while not in use. I also love the flexible joints. I just bought another set of these for another saddle that I bought. The other ones are still going strong.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, but expensive These stirrups are very well-made, and very comfortable. I got them as a present so I will certainly enjoy them, but am not sure they are worth the price.
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrup irons! It took some time to adjust to these but once I did I fell in love! Got these coming off a joint injury from my foot being caught in a stirrup when I took a spill jumping. I wanted something more forgiving than my standard fillis irons on my joints and that would release my foot better if I fell. So far these have been fantastic they don't make my joints hurt as bad and they put me in a nice position while jumping not to mention they make it incredibly easy to pick up a lost stirrup! Don't know what I'd do without them! My only complaint is they have become increasingly hard to change the angle, but I most likely just need to oil them and of course the price.
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They DO make a difference! I only had a chance to ride in them once since I got them for Christmas, and I was a bit cautious and didn't expect too much, more like 'would you even realize the difference if you didn't know....?' - but wow, yes, there is a difference the moment you stick your feet in those. My whole ride I couldn't get over it how comfortable these stirrup irons are! I rode in the ones with the spring before, I think for me the fact that they turn is what makes them so comfortable, but if you go ahead and spend all that money on irons spend $ 20.00 more and get them with the springs. To me, this is a purchase (or gift in this case) I won't regret. I am 51, riding dressage and was in the regular stirrup irons my whole life, my one ride in them was a great experience!
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great stirrups! I have a torn ACL and these stirrups allow me to change the position of each stirrup individually. For my strong leg I turn it 45 degrees and for my bad leg, 90 degrees. It's a great product for people with joint issues like me!
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Iron! Very nice quality, exceptional tool for students. Allows foot to stay at proper angle for those who tend to turn toe inward. Love the adjustability, heavy quality . Would have helped me a lot 20 years ago. All my students ride with these. Best Iron I've used in a long time. Great buy, return policy very easy.
    Date published: 2013-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Stirrups! I tried out both the HS Bow Balance and these. I liked how I had two options for foot settings with the MDC's. They are great for dressage. I was having issues with my toes pointing out and these stirrups solved that problem. Great buy and the black looks really sharp!
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These stirrups are worth the money... I bought the MDC stirrups about a year ago. Beforehand my knees and hips would ache after a good ride in my old irons...not anymore! I have to say that the first difference i noticed was a more secure feel in my position. After a years use i can honestly say that i rarely if ever feel any afteraffects from riding...and i am a fifty five year old woman training a five year old TB to jump. Take it from me...if you are planning on riding into and through your middle age you need to get these!
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LIFESAVERS I've had bad knees for the last ten years, and these stirrups are the only thing that keep me able to ride without pain. I rode in a saddle without them for a week and felt a very obvious difference. On most days, the slight give in the stirrups is enough to keep me comfortable, but I do turn them when my knees are a little painful.I've ridden in some other jointed stirrups (Stubben and a couple others) and hated them because they made my leg and ankle feel too unstable, but don't have that problem with these. The MDC stirrups are stiff enough to be stable, but provide just enough give to make a huge difference.I can't and won't ride without these.
    Date published: 2013-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Help keep leg in better position I first used these on a trainer's saddle in Florida. I noticed they kept my leg in a better position and the extra grippy rubber on the side helps keep my boot more secure. No more accidental losing my stirrup! Overall, they provide a more secure feeling and helped improved my leg positioning, resulting in more prompt transitions from both horse...and rider!
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING. Worth the money! I just bought these stirrups. I always have had ankle, knee and foot pain when I ride. My feet also go numb. I tried the composite reflex stirrups and those didn't help either. These MDC stirrups are amazing. Instant relief. They are so comfortable and my heel goes down much easier without the pain. My leg also stays in the correct position much more with these than any other stirrup.Worth the money!
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrups! I bought these stirrups for my first saddle from a tack store and I loved them. It was a no brainer to buy them from SmartPak (cheaper!) when I needed them for my second saddle. The 45 and 90 degree adjustments are very easy (just a twist) and it takes pressure off the ankles.
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only kind I will use. I only use this kind of stirrup. Just got a new saddle for one of my horses and had to have these.Nice weight so easy to retrieve. Easy on your knees and ankles with the adjustment. Just love them!
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for me. I've been using these stirrups on all my saddles for a few years now and won't ever use anything else! Just love them.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't believe i spent so much on stirrups! It had been over 25 years since i had a new pair of irons... but mine were getting pretty rusty and i was having some trouble keeping my boot in. I was surprised to find the selection had certainly changed from 25 years ago. As i read the reviews, I couldn't help but be drawn to these, being 25 years older has brought lots more aches and pains, could these stirrups really help? I was shocked i pulled the trigger and bought them. Yah, they sure do help! I've had only one ride in them, but as the other reviewers mentioned, i had a stronger base, more secure in my position, less pain upon dismount, in fact, i had the best ride I could remember in a while.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MDC Stirrups Great product. Reduces stress on your knees and increases ability to put your leg in the correct position. Thinking about buying another pair for my other horse.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why wait for less discomfort? So, I recently manned up and bought a pair of these expensive stirrups thinking that I could return them because I believed the stirrups couldn't be as good as reviewed. Well, I was wrong. After knee and foot surgeries and multiple broken bones I tend to be rather uncomfortable from my thighs to my toes when in a saddle. After I put these on my AP saddle and adjusted the angle I fell in love. They are easy to pick up. Stay in place across your foot and most importantly relieved me of the source of my pain. If you're thinking about a pair of these, don't think, just suck it up and buy a pair. Your body will thank you.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They are Worth the Money! If you have ankle pain like I do these stirrups can make a world of difference. They have also improved my leg placement. My lower leg stays closer, thanks to the MDC stirrups without a struggle. I will not use anything else now!
    Date published: 2012-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THEY ARE WORTH EVERY PENNY! I ride dressage so I put them on the 90 degree angle they suggested. These stirrups were wonderful even after several hours of riding my knees,ankles or hips did NOT hurt! They are worth the cost.
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    • 2016-02-05T15:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_56
    • loc_en_US, sid_3786, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.