Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

MDC Super Sport Stirrup

MDC Corporation
- Item #18718

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

These wide-based stirrups are uniquely designed to reduce stress on the body and increase safety. Based on an Italian design, the MDC Super Sport Stirrup brings offers a combination of features not currently available from any one stirrup manufacturer.

Favorite Features

  • Three preset stirrup positions: traditional, 45 degrees or 90 degrees, allowing you to position the stirrup according to your personal preference and resulting in reduced stress on your ankles, knees, hips and back.
  • World-class flexible hinge - a feature rarely found on wide base stirrups
  • Wide base, non-slip aluminum pad provides a secure grip, but are less aggressive than “cheese grater” pads, which can cut boots, breeches, saddle leather and do not easily release in the event of a fall
  • The look and strength of stainless steel, blended with the lightness of polished aluminum, the metal finish maintains an elegant and traditional look in the show ring
A solid base is available on the MDC Sport Classic Stirrup.

Sizing It Up

Non-slip aluminum pad is 2 1/2" from toe to heel. 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    MDC Super Sport Stirrup is rated 4.5263 out of 5 by 19.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent base of support! I have MDC stirrups but have started having more issues with foot and knee pain when riding. I purchased the MDC Super Sport Stirrup in hopes to achieve that. I have been very happy with them and I could tell from the first ride! The wider base of support is great and the flexible joint is a necessity for me! I want them for all my saddles now!
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these irons!! Totally worth the money! These irons have helped my riding tremendously, and I no longer have hip and knee pain.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for knee pain I needed help picking up my sturips and these with the off set top are very helpful! The wide footbed keeps your leg secure and and is comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the extra money! I often find myself fidgeting and fighting with my stirrups to find a comfortable position. This has completely stopped since purchasing the MDC Super Sport stirrups. I absolutely love the wide, supportive base. I also love the stirrups pads, they do not hurt my feet like the cheese grater stirrups but still provide extra grip. The hinge is different than I expected but a concept that works well. While is rotates and swivels, you have to 'click it' into place depending on the angle you want. It is not a free moving swivel. After riding in a friend's saddle who had these stirrups, I purchased my own. I typically would not have spent the extra money on stirrups but these are so comfortable and well made I am sure they will be worth the investment long term.
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A recommendation from a barn buddie Decided to spend the extra money for a quality stirrup and it has made a difference .
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent stirrups! I bought these stirrups to see if they would help with ankle fatigue on fifty mile endurance rides. Although the ride season hasn't started yet, I have been doing a lot of conditioning in them, and they have really helped.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't foxhunt without these! I got myself some plain, inexpensive flexible stirrups. The flex helped, but I was still having pain in my knee where I had my meniscus removed. It was like the supporting muscles in my knee were being fatigued by the slight pressure to turn a regular stirrup outwards and it would be sore for a day or two after a long, hard hunt. I borrowed these and was shocked at the difference having not just the flex, but also the extra wide foot bed and the adjustible tops made to my foot and knee comfort. To top it all off, I lost a stirrup doing a complicated ditch crossing onto a road and was able to slip my foot back in a lot faster. I can't recommend them enough, they are worth every penny. As my friend with restless leg syndrome said, "I spent a lot of money and time on a new saddle and new boots to make my legs not hurt, when changing my stirrups was all I needed to do."
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from ALMOST Perfect... I have had these stirrups for a year and a half now. After ten hours of riding in them at a recent endurance ride, my feet would eventually lose some sensation... feel that a closed-cell foam pad on them might help. Need to addess this before the next endurance ride - hopefully the Cashel foam pads will fit these. Otherwise, they're fab for shorter (3-4 hr) conditioning rides. They've helped with my knee/ankle pain.
    Date published: 2012-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! These stirrups are amazing. Very well made and Comfortable. Love them!
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these stirrups! I absolutely love these stirrups. I have been having ankle pain when riding in my jump saddle, and these stirrups completely solve the problem! My leg remained solid and relaxed, pain free! I tried them on my dressage saddle, also... and I really enjoyed the results. I set them on the 90 degree setting, and that paired with the super grip really allowed my leg to fall naturally around my horse. In normal stirrups, my heel tends to come up when I apply my leg. Not so with the super sports! Looks like I might need 2 pairs!
    Date published: 2012-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why did I wait so long to get these! I have always had pain, tension or stress in my ankles, knees and hips riding. I would brace in my stirrups and it would cause me to lock up. I figured why get these when I just need to stop bracing... boy was I wrong! When I rode in these stirrups it felt like my legs where feathers and I finally found alignment without brace in my body. Best most comfortable ride I have ever had! Worth every penny and so upset I didn't get them sooner and saved my ankles all the trouble they had before.I love the wide pad (thought I wouldn't) and I love, love, love the jointed action in the stirrups. It really saves my ankles and the twisting top helps my knees and toes point straight and free.
    Date published: 2012-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They Work! I've been dealing with the last two toes on my right foot going numb while riding for awhile now. I tried the stirrups, and no more numbness! And to top it off, my hips didn't hurt after my ride! I didn't rate durability since I just got them, but they seem very sturdy.
    Date published: 2011-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb I just had to ride that day I received them in the mail & my knees, ankles felt great! It was a 2.5 hr ride. They look very well constructed, solid, but I only rode with them 3 times & didn't want to give them a 5 star durability unless I had them longer
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best stirrup iron ever tried! I tried these on my friend's horse and loved them.I felt stable and they are really comfortable.Just purchased a pair and I highly recommend!
    Date published: 2010-12-26
    • 2016-02-07T15:03CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_19
    • loc_en_US, sid_8718, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.