Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Mattes Replacement Shims for Correction Pads

EA Mattes
- Item #11917

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Replacement shims for the Mattes Correction Pads. Package of 4 includes 2 front shims and 2 rear shims. Will fit medium or large Mattes correction pads. Made in Poland

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mattes Replacement Shims for Correction Pads is rated 4.3684 out of 5 by 19.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap shims Shims are thin and not big enough for the half pad I bought them for. I could have made these on my own at the fabric shop.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Alternative This product was recommended by my saddle fitter. I needed some shims up front but not the bulk of the fleece. I love it -- it's also great for a horse that sweats a lot -- now I can clean it more often without worrying so much about wrecking the fleece as I have in the past. Only thing I would change (so I couldn't give it a 5* rating) is it seems a bit more "narrow" in the back than the fleece pads so even though I have a 'Large' it *just* fits under my saddle. If it was a bit wider behind I would be happier. NOT a deal breaker though! Great product.
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from thin shims Really disappointed in these - I plan on returning them since I haven't used them. I couldn't believe how thin they were - I could have just used tissue paper.
    Date published: 2012-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good value, great option It's wonderful to have these shims to go with my Thin Line 1/2 pad. My horse had been laid off for 3 months so had changed shape a bit in his back. My saddle fitter recommended getting the Mattes felt pads rather than the Thin Line pads. They are very useful. Even through the felt shim looks thin, it really changes the saddle fit in a significant way. I have been lending them around the barn, and everyone comments on the ease with which you can adjust saddle fit with them. My friend had to use the rear shims in the front pockets of her Thin Line saddle pad, since the front shims were too big, but the rear shims worked fine in the front too.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and does the job... These are so easy to fit into the Mattes pad, and even if you don't have a Mattes pad, you can velcro or tape them onto your current pad like the saddle fitter suggested to my friend. :) Great value for a quick fix!
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from versatile shims I purchased these as extras not realizing how many shims I would get with the correction pad. I'm glad to have a few more!
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Does its job well, good material that holds up over time, easy enough to cut for custom fit. If you use the Mattes correction pad these are of course the shims to use.
    Date published: 2011-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad Love this pad. I have 2 others that are not correction pads and this pad continues to impress. It really has helped with some uneven muscle development and prevents soreness.
    Date published: 2011-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting alternative to foam or gel The Mattes Replacement Shims are a great choice for Mattes or other correction pads with pockets. They are thin but firm, felt-type shims that can help you easily adjust your pad or increase shock absorption without adding bulk.
    Date published: 2010-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are great! The first day I used these I could feel a huge difference in my horse's movement. She wasn't so strung out and bumpy to ride. She had become more round and supple.
    Date published: 2006-07-25
    • 2016-02-11T15:36CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_15
    • loc_en_US, sid_1917, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.