Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

M. Toulouse Stirrup Leathers

M. Toulouse
- Item #14427

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Stirrup Leathers to match the Toulouse saddles, and designed by Marcel Toulouse, Master French Saddler. Tripled and sewn, these leathers are made of fine calfskin. Buckle end is riveted in a metal sleeve to reduce bulk under your leg for a closer contact in the saddle.

Each pair of Stirrup Leathers is tanned by French tanning methods.

Favorite Features

  • Triple Sewn
  • Fine Calf Skin
  • Soft and Durable
Sizing It Up

Black 54" or 60", Chocolate or Cognac, 48" or 54" long. 1" wide.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Passier Nylon Lined Stirrup Leathers are made ...
    Description:
    The Passier Nylon Lined Stirrup Leathers are made of butter soft leather with a nylon insert. The leathers are narrow and smooth and will not stretch over time. Favorite Features 20 holes are at half hole increments to enable more ...
    Why We Love This: Stainless steel Fillis Stirrup ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This: Stainless steel Fillis Stirrup Irons are ideal for all types of riding. Stirrups pads included. Sizing it Up: 4 1/4, 4 1/2 & 4 3/4. Imported.
    Passier Stirrup Leathers are hand-sewn from the best ...
    Description:
    Passier Stirrup Leathers are hand-sewn from the best leather. Passier Stirrup Leathers retain their length, the holes are firm, and they have curved stainless steel buckles which adapt to the saddle perfectly. Black. Lengths: 130 cm (51"), 140 cm (55"), ...
    The Ovation Child's English Leather Stirrup Leathers are ...
    Description:
    The Ovation Child's English Leather Stirrup Leathers are made from top quality English Leather. Favorite Features Competition design White contrast stitching Leathers are 3/4" wide Sizing It Up Choose from Australian Nut in the 36", 42", 48" length or Black ...
    Supreme quality and durability, synonymous with the exceptional ...
    Description:
    Supreme quality and durability, synonymous with the exceptional comfort they offer to the rider and the horse. These characteristics are proven each day by the great riders who have always chosen the precision and technology offered by Prestige products. The ...
    The MDC Hunter Classic Stirrup provides high traction ...
    Description:
    The MDC Hunter Classic Stirrup provides high traction and greater support for the traditional or performance minded rider. The MDC Hunter Classic features an ultra-low profile tread and is practically invisible in the show ring, allowing all the benefits of ...
    The Black Powder Coated Stirrup Irons are designed ...
    Description:
    The Black Powder Coated Stirrup Irons are designed to help you look your very best at breed shows and in equitation classes. These stainless steel stirrups are coated with a black powder finish to blend in against tall boots in ...
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    M. Toulouse Stirrup Leathers is rated 4.4783 out of 5 by 69.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They Last! I love these leathers. My previous pair lasted several years, before wearing out. They help me maintain a quiet leg. They don't slide around. They're perfect!
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for I can't tell how these will last becaseu I just bought them las month, but they are really nice. The leather is supple, the black looks good with my balck saddle, the buckle is flat, the holes are spaced closely enough together to make small adjustments in length. The lined ones that I was replacing were very difficult to adjust, really hard to do in the saddle--not the case with these.They adjust very easily. Highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good at all I bought this reading a lot about it and doing my research on all of the stirrup leathers out there. Got it, rode in it, in one hour it had a tear. Great leather quality, just not for stirrup leathers. Can't believe I wasted money on these...definitely not worth it
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super soft and supple Extremely nice quality for the price! They are holding up really well.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Leathers Bought these after my last leathers failed to last even a year. They came out of the package so buttery soft! I love that they aren't super thin and feel like they will actually hold up. Very reasonably priced.
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, Quality Leathers I purchased these in black to match my black used Stubben saddle. They are thicker than most leathers, but that's what I love about them. Very durable, and yet they are buttery soft leather. Easy to clean and maintain. I've had them for over a year and they still look amazing. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leathers for the price I bought these about a month ago after my trainer recommended them and have ridden in them about 6-8 times now. They are nice, I thought a wider leather might bother my leg, but these are just fine. I am happy with the quality and the softness of the leather right out of the box. The darker leather is what I ordered and it matches well with my Devocoux saddle. I am 5'3" and purchased the shorter leathers and they length is perfect for my leg and there is still tail left to go in the keeper, but not too much. I would recommend these leathers.
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I've had these for about 2 years and they're already coming un-stitched and look very worn. The leather feels "weak" in some places and I'm concerned they might break when I'm riding. Definitely not worth the price tag... On the plus side, they matched my Circuit saddle perfectly. They're a bit bulky tho.
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice leather I bought these leathers to go on a vintage saddle I have started using again.Wanted new leathers to feel safe with.These are a nice color, soft, and strong .I would have given them 5 stars BUT they were almost to short. I am only 5'2 and they barely reached the keepers .Since I am the only one to use these saddle I am going to use them and enjoy my old saddle.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice These leathers are extremely soft. The chocolate brown color matched my Vega saddle pretty well after oiling. They are a little thick so I was worried that they would bother me when I rode, but I never even noticed them! I think they're a good buy.
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Beautiful Stirrup leathers.I feel i made an excellent choice.nice soft leather and great quaility
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome stirrup leathers! great leathers   stirrup never hanging off saddle   they sit tight.
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from definitely worth it I bought these because my old cheap pair were giving me horrible sores on my legs, these helped the first time I used them. They were soft before I even conditioned them And the color even sort of matches my bates saddle. Excellent leathers!
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Stirrup Leathers I bought these stirrup leathers to match my Premia, and I really like them. The color is nice, and the leather is really soft and supple. They are very good quality. Stretching has been minimal, and they are true to size. They are pretty thick, so getting them on my saddle was a battle. Once they were on, I really liked them. The only thing is that if you want to shorten or lengthen your stirrups, you're going to need some help! Besides that, they've been the best leathers I've had.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Leathers, but a couple issues. These are rather thick leathers, I did not have a problem getting them on my stirrup bars, but I do think for some this will be an issue (I own a Beval). They are large enough they could cause a bump under the rider's leg in some saddles, but they seem to work well with my saddle. The metal does hang out underneath my saddle skirt...however you can't see this when I'm in the saddle. I think they are a good value for the money and the color looks great with my saddle, but these will not be a good buy for everyone.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice leathers, nice price I got these to replace the Wintec ones that were showing severe cracking at the buckle. These are thick, (a trainer who wanted to adjust my stirrup length made a drama out of pulling them through), but once they are on, I leave them.The leather is soft, and I like the thickness, it helps stabilize my leg. I don't know about durability, I've only had them a month.Overall, these are much nicer than the Wintecs and I would recommend these.
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Thick I had to return these leathers. I had purchased two pair of this brand a number of years ago and I was very pleased with them and one pair was wearing out. So I ordered a replacement pair. But these new leathers are not constructed the same. They are quite a bit thicker and I could see that they will be difficult to adjust from horseback. So I returned them for a pair from Kieffer. We will see how that goes.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice - but didn't work These are nice, soft stirrup leathers, however I had to return them as I needed longer ones and I couldn't get them to easily fit through my irons - too thick on the rolled edges.
    Date published: 2013-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great leathers! I really like these leathers. They are good looking and very soft.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought these leathers to go with my new (to me) calfskin saddle. These are the thickest leathers I have ever seen! They're about 1/8" thick at least, if not 1/4". They slid onto the stirrup bars fine, but just looked so bulky compared to my old $40 leathers.I'm 5'8 and I had to put the 54" on the 2nd-to-last hole for them to be long enough for me on my close contact saddle.I will say, the leather is butter soft and feels like it would have been awesome quality, but I just didn't like them enough to spend $90 on them-sent them back to try the Prestige leathers instead.
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great leathers! These leathers are extremely nice. They are soft and look great.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent quality I was very impressed with this leathers when I purchased them because they are very buttery-soft and easily pliable. I treated them with Leather CPR to ensure that they would soften up and lay flat before I used them. I got them to go with my M Toulouse Premia because it has doubled leather that I didn't want to risk scratching. These haven't left a mark yet, and I don't think they will. I would recommend them for anyone looking to avoid stirrup leather rubs on their saddle, and to extend the cosmetic appearance of a new saddle.The only possible thing I don't like is that they are thick. This makes it a little difficult to get them on a saddle (mine was new, so it was even harder - the bar was tight against the leather behind it), but it can be done fairly quickly if you alternate pulling the top and bottom of the leather over. They are also a little difficult to adjust; I was able to while mounted, but it took a minute, so it's easier to adjust from the ground. However, I think they may become easier to adjust after they've been conditioned more and broken in a bit. They do lay flat, and I don't feel bulk under my leg. They seem like very sturdy leathers that are unlikely to stretch or break.Note: Don't use glycerine soap on them - they will darken permanently. I would recommend using Leather CPR as it doesn't change the color and easily takes out scuffs and dirt.
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I originally ordered a pair of these; however, ended up replacing them with the Prestige leathers after unexpectedly discovering them when I was desperate for a pair and had to buy some THAT day at the local tack shop. These are nice, but oh man the Prestige are stirrup leather heaven. I never thought a stirrup leather could make such a difference! I do like the buckle of these, I have a calfskin saddle and had no issues with scratching or rubbing like others mentioned. For the price, I think these are a good buy. If you don't want to spend way more than you need to get these and don't let yourself look at the Prestige leathers next time you're at the tack store :)
    Date published: 2012-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from M Toulouse leathers I am so far happy with these leathers. They were soft and fairly supple out of the box and loosened up with oiling. I ordered the cognac color, which was somewhat light to begin with, but it darkened a few shades with oil and now matches my medium brown Zaldi Star almost perfectly. They are a bit thick, but I also think they will hold up longer and stretch less that way. I am 5'6" and the 54" size is the perfect length without having a long end out of the keeper.
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Match I put these on my Bates C. (brown) saddle. This color was like a custom match. With the metal piece, you can not feel in under your leg at all. I really love these!
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Color match is off I just recently purchased the M. Toulouse Annice CC and both my saddle fitter, instructor and Smartpak CS rep all recommended that I get these leathers. I did not listen at first, but glad I did in the long run. My only real complaint is that I have two sets and one is too light and the other is just a tad dark.
    Date published: 2012-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic leathers are a great price I had been looking at other more pricey leathers and decided to save a few bucks and try these out. This arrived in great time and came out of the box soft as butter and ready to use. so far they are holding up well.
    Date published: 2012-07-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from M. Toulouse Stirrup Leathers I bought these leathers for my Antares calf skin saddle because they were reasonably priced and had good reviews. The first time I rode in them they seemed incredibly bulky and felt weird on my legs. Every time I rode in them they become more uncomfortable. They are so thick when sliding my stirrups up for storage or switching stirrup length the leather like peels away I have never had leathers this thick and I will try to return them and ended up just buying a set of Prestige leathers....Not worth the few dollars you save...I would suggest paying a little more and getting different leathers
    Date published: 2012-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Very well-made product my only complaint is that the leather itself is very thick, therefore harder to pull through and adjust length.
    Date published: 2012-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Leathers!! Bought these leathers to replace my Bevels on my Tad Coffin..The Color matched PERFECT!! Ready to be ridden in right out of the box! True to size,and no stretching so far what so ever!
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    • 2016-02-11T15:35CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_66
    • loc_en_US, sid_4427, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.