Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

M. Toulouse Premia Close Contact

M. Toulouse
- Item #15350
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The M. Toulouse Premia is hand crafted of natural vegetable tanned, pigmented, aniline finished leather which will accept oil. All leather is tanned by French tanning methods. Classically designed by Marcel Toulouse, Master Saddler in France, to meet all the demands of the horse and rider. Ultra soft comfortable anatomically shaped seat to provide better support for the rider and center the weight properly. Hand laminated beechwood, steel reinforced tree with stainless steel stirrup bar. Chocolate.

Favorite Features

  • Soft, air cushioned kneepads for comfort and grip.
  • Adjusta-block movable knee block system.
  • Effective knee roll. 
  • Featuring Comfort Fit Foam Panel®. 

 

 

Customers Also Shopped For
The Pro Buffalo Dressage Saddle is crafted by ...
Description:
The Pro Buffalo Dressage Saddle is crafted by renowned leather goods maker, Henri de Rivel, give you world-class European designs in the finest imported leather-all at a reasonable price. HDR riding saddles and leather goods are not built on a ...
The Pessoa Legacy XP3 XCH has beautiful European ...
Description:
The Pessoa Legacy XP3 XCH has beautiful European styled stitching and made with extra supple long-wearing pre-oiled Antique Grained English leather. XCH Changeable Gullet System allows the rider to modify the width of the tree with just a screwdriver. The ...
The A/O's ultra comfortable 10" seat and classic ...
Description:
The A/O's ultra comfortable 10" seat and classic balance has made it Pessoa's number one jumping saddle worldwide. Made of ultra supple and long wearing English leather. Features BayFlex contoured multi-density polyurethane panels. BayFlex is an extremely versatile material that ...
The HDR Advantage Close Contact Saddle is crafted ...
Description:
The HDR Advantage Close Contact Saddle is crafted by renowned leather goods maker, Henri de Rivel, giving you world-class European designs in the finest imported leather-all at a reasonable price! Henri de Rivel saddles and leather goods are not built ...
With flap options to fit any rider, the ...
Description:
With flap options to fit any rider, the versatile Gen-X saddle offers a great ride for horse and rider with its grippy calfskin covered leather flaps and seat. Favorite Features Euro-styled with added stitching details. Bayflexcontoured multi-density polyurethane panels. XCH ...
Designed by Rodrigo and ridden by him in ...
Description:
Designed by Rodrigo and ridden by him in international competition. The Gen-X performs equally well on the flat as over jumps. Features BayFlex contoured multi-density polyurethane panels. BayFlex is an extremely versatile material that can adjust itself to different pressures ...
The HDR Pro A/O Saddle combines classic looks ...
Description:
The HDR Pro A/O Saddle combines classic looks with modern technology. With distinctive show ring looks, the HDR Pro A/O continues to be a popular choice amongst professionals and Amateur Owner riders, A slightly wider 10" seat provides optimum support, ...
out of 5
91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

M. Toulouse Premia Close Contact is rated 4.521739130434782 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saddle Wow!  I love this saddle.  The leather is wonderful!  Has a little bit of stickiness to it which I loved!  Fit my horse well and was very comfortable.  
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super Soft, No Break in... I really like this saddle! There was little to no break in time, it is unbelievably soft and supple, the twist it just right and doesn't seem to be made for a man like most are and looks good in the show ring. The price is wonderful too. The only drawback I can mention about this saddle is the leather is SO soft that if scuffs VERY easily! It soaks up product like crazy when cleaning but one day later... you have scuffs all over it again. I have had this saddle for a few years now and ride at minimum 2 horses in it daily. It has stood up over time but the billets are are stretching out and I just pray it continues for the long haul. Unlike the older Crosby's and Miller lines, I have heard that Toulouse saddles, because they are so soft and there is no brake in required, don't have much longevity. I hate to say that but it is starting to look that way. Very attractive and functional saddle for the price though!
Date published: 2013-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fit perfectly, great value, quick break in! I did a trial in this saddle on a recommendation from my trainer because I needed an affordable saddle which would fit both my large, dippy backed, high withered, young, growing TB and me (tall, long legs). The moment I put it on his back I knew it fit. I'd test ridden a few other saddles, the Kent & Masters, the Thorowgood hybrid (from Trumble Mtn)- and both just looked wrong, bridged on his back and in general were terrible fits. I understand the M. Toulouse saddles are "knock offs" of higher end saddles and if that's true then great for me! At this time I can't afford an Antares or Pessoa. The assistant trainer at my barn was drooling over it when I brought my saddle to the barn. The leather is very nice and soft, almost immediate break in; yes the billets are stiff but for the price it's no big deal. I've heard some negative comments about the M. Toulouse and I don't understand why, I'm not expecting it be an Antares but for the price it's exactly what I'd expect, even better. Obviously it has to fit your house, and the Premia did for me! I can not comment on durability as I've only had it about 3 weeks now. I only wish it came in black!Thank you SmartPak for your wonderful test ride program!!!
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Saddle I've Ridden In Let me start by saying I've been taking lessons and riding in several different brands, mostly Pessoas. I was looking for a saddle to use at home and on various horses I exercise, and to use on the hunter I'm hoping to get soon.This saddle is amazing quality. It has just the right amount of stick - you don't at all feel trapped in it, but it's not slick like many other saddles tend to get. It does lose a little stickiness after you use it, but not a considerable amount. I've been cleaning it with Leather CPR conditioner (the tag recommended treating it with a conditioner after each use) which hasn't changed the color and has helped soften it a little. It felt broken in when I rode in it the first time, but once it's broken in I'm sure I'll be better able to feel the thigh blocks. It puts my leg in an excellent position (something most saddles cannot do, even the Pessoas) and I feel very balanced in it. The seat is also well padded and soft, excellent for long trail rides!I'm planning on moving up to rated shows this year, and am completely confident that this saddle will give me an excellent edge in the arena.The leather is gorgeous to look at - it looks nicer than a few Devoucouxs I've seen and it hasn't sustained any wear marks yet (about six uses). This is a beautiful chocolate-brown saddle that I would highly recommend.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Happy Possibly the most beautiful saddle Ive ever seen (besides my friends Antares) Ive had the opportunity to ride in Prestiege, Devocoux, Pessoa, Bates and Barnsby saddles but this one is my favorite out of all of them. The seat and knee rolls are beautifully padded and its a beautiful rich chocolate color with a few natural blotch spots and the seat is a shade or two lighter than the flaps. I honestly have never been more happy with a purchase ever. The quality of this saddle is amazing and the stickiness is enough to feel secure while not feeling like I'm trapped in my seat. I cant wait to see how it ages!
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Quality for Price This saddle sits the rider in a correct position, which is your first concern in choosing a saddle. The knee and thigh rolls can be moved, so you can do with or without as needed. It gives a close contact ride. The saddle fit our hard-to-fit Thoroughbred wonderfully and we could tell a big difference in his stride, relaxation, and rhythm within the first few rides (while still on trial). Ridden by a long-thigh equitation rider, I wish it came in a long flap option as going up a size wasn't something we could do. It's a super saddle for the price. The quality of the leather is very surprising in this price range - instantly broken in feel without compromising quality. We are leather snobs and this met our requirements. We highly recommend this if you are staying below the $2000 range!
Date published: 2012-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, quality saddle I did a test ride of this saddle, knowing the seat size would be a little small and I would probably need long flaps. It is a very nice looking, good quality saddle...however, it did not fit my horse. I was hoping that it would, but there were too many things that just made it look off. The only other thing I noticed is that it looks like it has a slight reddish tint to the leather rather than being a rich chocolate, but that can vary for all leather. If it works for you and your horse, I would recommend it!
Date published: 2012-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this saddle I have ridden in many saddles and currently own one of these as well as an Ovation. I ride in my Ovation whenever I hop on something a little crazy or ride in jeans. This saddle is by far the best I have ever ridden in, I love how soft the leather is while being sturdy. My leather turned out a beautiful chocolate color! My horse seems to be much more comfortable while I ride in this as opposed to other saddles!!
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wrote a review below, but I thought I would review it again because I have had it a bit longer, and I wanted to comment on how well it has held up. I have had it for about seven months now, and this saddle still looks almost new minus stirrup leather rubs. My horse has a bad allergic reaction on his back, and this saddle is really comfortable for him. I also love how soft this saddle is. It looks amazing in the show ring, and it holds up through every day use. I have used this saddle seven days a week, and it still looks great!I love how the billets are the correct length too! This saddle also lasts through many rides in the rain! :) I have rode in some 3k and 4k saddles, and this one is honestly my favorite!
Date published: 2012-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love this saddle! I never knew how much a difference a saddle could so drasticially improve confidence/ position. When I sat in this saddle in a horse show booth I fell in love with this saddle so of course I went online and started reading reviews- and dispite some lukewarm reviews I ordered it.The first time I rode in it I felt like I was riding on a cloud- the seat is so soft and cushie. This saddle put my leg in the perfect place it it doesn't move if my horse gets squirmy under me.If you are questioning if this saddle is a good fit/price do it! This is the BEST decision that I ever made in my riding career.
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I actually couldn't buy this test ride saddle as my new horse is "uneven" in his hips and because this saddle is foam lined it could not be adjusted to him. However, I love the saddle's comfort and know a few fellow boarders who love their M. Toulouse's.
Date published: 2011-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not impressed I just tried the Wide tree test ride saddle and while it was pretty and comfortable, the panels were sewn on unevenly. This could damage a horse's back. My horse generally takes a M/W tree, but this Wide seemed narrower than other brands so it fit reasonably well. The panels are said to be foam with wool, however, they were very hard and didn't feel a bit like any wool flocked saddle I've ever felt.Overall, I was hopeful that this saddle would work for my horse, but the lack of quality workmanship combined with the soft, fragile covered leather flaps, will keep me from trying another Toulouse saddle.
Date published: 2011-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Saddle EVER!! All I have to say about this saddle is WOW. It is honestly the most comfortable saddle I have ever sat in. I have rode in Tad Coffins and Antares saddles, but this is by-far the most comfortable one ever. The leather is soft and supple right out of the box. I ecieved my saddle from a tack shop. I have a wide warmblood draft cross gelding, and he is hard to fit, but the wide version of this saddle fit him perfectly! It looks very classy in the show ring, but durable enough for every day use. I use mine every day, and ,minus a few rub marks from leathers, looks new! It is grippy and puts your leg in the right place! It is a must buy for any hunter/jumper!!
Date published: 2011-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two Years in and still LOVELY! I bought this saddle new on Ebay two years ago and wanted to weigh in on how it looks/feels/performs when broke in, as I'm asked a lot by people how the Toulouse saddle holds up. Well, the answer is, BEAUTIFULLY. It's better looking now than it was when I bought it. The leather color has darkened and it's a deep rich brown. It's just as soft as it was when I got it, the leather is in perfect condition, it honestly is holding up REALLY well. This saddle goes fox hunting, to the jumper ring, and runs XC and works great every time. The leather is really grippy which I appreciate as I enjoy a secure feeling in the tack.I have had only one negative with this saddle, which is the gold buttons with the manufacturer logo on them (that sit on either side of the pommel) had plastic covers over them which have fallen off. Their purpose is purely cosmetic, and this isn't a big deal to me but I thought I would share, as they BOTH came off after maybe a year or so.The saddle is used six days a week, by myself and my trainer, who rides in a Devoucoux, and she ALSO loves it. One of the students at the barn rode The Mare one day and proceeded to sell her saddle (not sure what brand it was) and buy a Toulouse, she was that impressed with it.Overall, I love this saddle, so much so that I bought the Aachen dressage saddle a few months ago, as well as the Toulouse anatomical girth that matches the Premia perfectly. I would absolutely recommend the Toulouse items to anyone.
Date published: 2011-06-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I purchased this saddle in February of 2011. The saddle is very comfortable and places you in a nice position on the flat and for jumping. I really liked the nice forward flap with the adjustable knee and thigh block. The one big problem I had with the saddle was it always slides to the left. I tried a non-slip and a breastplate and the saddle still slide. I had a saddle fitter come out to look at the saddle. She informed me the panels on the saddle were manufactured incorrectly and were not placed on straight. Smartpak was generous enough to reimburse the cost to ship the saddle back to the manufacture to correct the problem. Now I am without a saddle for over two weeks. I have never had this problem with any other saddle before.
Date published: 2011-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful & Affordable Love the color and feel of the leather. this saddle is the most comfortable close contact saddle i have ever ridden in. i dont use the adjustable knee rolls much but the saddle comes with them placed in a nice spot. easy fit for the horse and rider!not worth spending $3000+ on a brand name, this saddle is just as nice!
Date published: 2011-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely just love this saddle. The leather is very soft and easy to break in. With the adjustable knee and thigh blocks you can easily adjust to your riding style. What a difference this saddle has made in my riding ability and confidence. Great buy!
Date published: 2010-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saddle This is a awesome saddle! The leather is soft and supple. I am used to riding in my dressage saddle, but this is the most secure jump saddle I have ever ridden in.
Date published: 2009-08-24
  • 2016-10-01T12:10CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_5350, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders