Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Likit Refill

Item #11788

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Likit Refills fit in Likit Holder and in top holder of the Boredom Breaker.

Made in Scotland.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky Things are premium refills ...
    Description:
    Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky Things are premium refills that are made special to fit Uncle Jimmy's Big Licky . They are great tasting and packed with vitamins and minerals essential for horse's everyday needs. Made in the USA
    Little Likit Refills fit in Boredom Breaker . ...
    Description:
    Little Likit Refills fit in Boredom Breaker . Made in Scotland
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Likit Refill is rated 4.39 out of 5 by 100.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great treat My guy liked the molasses one so much he ate the entire thing in 24 hours!
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It would be great if he would eat it! I bought the himalayan salt likit for my horse. He wouldn't even touch it! Too bad, it was a great product and price!
    Date published: 2012-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Likit products My horses love the likits! Keeps them busy and happy!
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses Loved It My horses didn't do much licking, altho that's how it started. They ATE the carrot flavored Likit. Since my "kids" are the official raters, I guess they'd give this product 5 stars.
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy! More horse loves these! However he also eats it in about two days! Not the longest lasting treat depending on the horse.
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! These salt licks are wonderful! My horses (minis) rub on salt block holders, and they make a mess of traditional white bricks if on the floor of their stalls. I love that these salt licks can be tied onto their stalls and they last a long time! Bravo!
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Some horses like them, some don't... I bought a Likit for my horse because he's been stall bound more this winter than most, thanks to all of the ice, and has been a little destructive and grumpy because he is bored. I bought a mint Likit, since he LOVES the bite-size mint Likit treats that I get him at the feed store, but he won't even give it the time of day. He will lick it a little bit if I am holding it sideways in front of his face, but as soon as I clip the hanger back up he just ignores it. I am going to try a Sugar-free Uncle Jimmy's Licky Thing (because I like the idea of feeding a s/f treat better than a block of sugar), but in the mean time the Likit will stay hanging up just in case he has a change of heart. I even tried to hang it in my friend's horse's stalls but they were the same way! It seems like they don't hate the taste, but it's nothing that they are too excited about!
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Himalayan Salt, my horse loves it I put the Himalayan salt lick in the Likit Holder and its been great for my horse. It keeps her busy when she is stuck inside during the winter when the pastures are icy
    Date published: 2012-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money! Great purchase! My horse is in a stall from 7am-4pm (or later) most days, so to help eliminate boredom I bought the jolly stall combo boredom breaker. I had the apple electrolyte likit which he loved. MY last purchase however I felt he could use a Mineral lick. He loves the Himalayan likit. And its a big plus that it's good for him too!
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Himalayan Salt is a winner! I get the himalayan salt likit's for my horses and they all love them. It also comes with a rope to hang it from so you don't actually need the likit holder. They last a pretty good amount of time as well. Two thumbs up.
    Date published: 2011-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The pros: I think this is a great value for a treat and how long it should last. I also like that it can provide some mental stimulation as they are hanging in the boredom breaker.The cons: I was somewhat disappointed to see that it is just sugar and flavor. Also, I found it difficult to actually get the small size into the slots. I had to get someone else to help.Still waiting to see how much my fillies like it.
    Date published: 2011-12-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good in small doses My WB loves these, but he can consume these within hours easily. The Himalayan Salt blocks appear the most durable (read that in other review as well) and that's the only block I buy now. I don't use this in his home stall anymore, but take it to shows for his stall there which has worked well and keeps him happy.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horse Won't Touch It I got the apple flavor for my TB, who is not too picky at all. In fact, he ate this very same flavor a few years ago when he was recovering from surgery and stall-bound. I don't know if the ingredients changed or what, but he will.not.touch.it. Also, a barn-mate got another apple one to hang between our horses' areas where they usually stand and socialize. Neither of them will touch it. Waste of money. He loves the grainy ones; I'll stick to an uncle jimmy's pop from now on.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loveit My horse loves these and they are a special treat. I wish he didn't eat them so fast!
    Date published: 2011-04-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from horse loves it My horse likes these so much, he eats it all in just a couple of hours. That's my only complaint, it doesn't last long enough!
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from They must be tasty These snacks must be tasty because my horse finishes them in a couple of hours. I wish they lasted longer. I will admit that I don't hang them from the cieling as I have no means to do so (I wonder if I did if the horse would get frustrated and ignore the treat?). They do smell great and my horse clearly likes them.
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great salt block I can't give my younger horse regular salt blocks that hang on the wall because he eats them too fast. This works much better because it hangs from the ceiling and he can't get ahold of it to chew. I definitely recommend this!
    Date published: 2011-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My horse gobbles these up in 2 days. He loves the molassses ones and so do I, they are made from real molasses and smell great. I do wish the compnay offered a discount if you bought them in case that would make even better. But they are still a great product.
    Date published: 2011-02-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great treat for my stall My horse loves the salt likit. It lasts my horse several weeks. He doesn't seem to like the flavored ones, but he is picky about his treats anyway.
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Likit's are great!!!! These are great. My horses was eating the barn and once we got the likit he stopped. I only wish it came in licorice.
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boredom Buster! I've been buying Likits for years. My first horse loved them and was diabolical in their destruction. A molasses Likit would not even last a minute. He had demolishing them down to an art. He loved the Banana, Molasses, Honey & Chamomile, and the now retired Vanilla Rhubarb.My current horse is not quite as smart and enjoys them as well. His favorite flavors are the Banana, Garlic and Mint. His Likits tend to last 1 to 2 days. I only buy him 1 a month.Couple of tips for first time users:1. Easiest way to remove the troublesome plastic is to use a razor/box blade and slit the plastic from bottom to top in at least four places. Then peel the plastic back and it should pop off the center.2. In my experience every horse I've known is not a fan of the Carrot. Too many people bought that flavor and were disappointed by their horse's reaction. (Otherwise they love them all, including the Garlic)3. Wash the Likit holder after or before refilling it, otherwise there is a nasty build up of horse grime and sticky remnants of the Likit.
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Treat My horse loves these. They last a long time and give him something to do when he's in his stall.
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Treat! My horse loves Likits. There is no getting him away from it! The only downside to these great treats is that it is tough to get the plastic wrapper off of them. It drives my horse CRAZY when I make him wait for the plastic to be off the Likit before he can have it.
    Date published: 2010-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great as a salt block too I tie the refill to my horse's stall wall for him to use as a straight salt block - how long it last varies on his interest in it. He also gets flavored lickits in a holder but they don't last very long!
    Date published: 2010-09-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tasty! but dont buy in bulk!!!! Its not a deal! My horse loves her likits (a little too much!) She usually finishes them in 20 minutes. Yup we timed her! I still buy them for her all the time because I like to spoil her but I wish they lasted longer.The Himalayan salt ones are the best! They take forever to finish and they have the most healthy ingredients.I would NOT buy them in bulk though! I thought I was getting a deal when I bought the 12 pack but its not!! They were shipped all in the same box which made it very heavy (i couldnt even lift the box). And when I opened it all my sport flavored likits were crushed! The salt ones might make it ok since they are harder but any other flavor seems to crumble under the weight of 12 other likits in the same box.
    Date published: 2010-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shaiman Loves the Salt liks I provide care for two aged stallions living at Maple Hill. Both Shaiman and Sweet Lips ( 30+) lenjoy them, especially Shaiman. It really makes me happy to find products they enjoy.
    Date published: 2010-04-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Must Taste Good! My gelding definitely liked this. The only problem was that he devoured the entire refill in a few hours. I was hoping it would keep him entertained longer Still, a tasty product for an occasional treat.
    Date published: 2010-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boredom breaker My horse loves this product. I recently got the Chamomile and he barely let me hang it before he started on it.
    Date published: 2010-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have bought this product for my 2 yr old colt to keep him busy while "teething". He absolutely loves these and although the likit does its job, it doesnt last us more than a couple hours. It would likely be much more durable for an older horse! overall, it is a great treat.
    Date published: 2010-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for boredom My horses really enjoy these products. My mare has the Himalayan Salt one that she loves (won't touch the regular flavors) while my gelding inhales the peppermint flavored Likits (of course, he bites it rather than licking...). Only negative is that with the exception of the Himalayan Salt, they don't last long enough (he finishes one in less than a day thanks to awful winter weather). Also, they aren't the easiest to take out of the package.
    Date published: 2010-03-03
    • 2016-02-13T15:06CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_86
    • loc_en_US, sid_1788, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.