Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Korsteel Twisted Copper Mouth Dr. Bristol Full Cheek Snaffle

Korsteel
- Item #18080
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. Full cheek with Dr Bristol mouthpiece, slow twist with Copper mouth.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Korsteel Twisted Copper Mouth Dr. Bristol Full Cheek Snaffle is rated 4.8824 out of 5 by 17.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dr. Bristol bit My horse normally goes well in a plain loose ring snaffle but he has a habit of pulling on me and running through my hands. It only takes a moment of "discussion" to get him back, but the regular snaffle isn't strong enough (in my hands) to get his attention. My trainer, of course, can nip it in the bud right away, but that's why I pay her. She's the professional. I just needed a little something stronger to get his attention but that was still soft when he is good. This bit is perfect for that. I used it about 5 times and went back to the regular snaffle and my horse is being good. It's a great bit to have on hand for shows and for those times where he needs a review of how to be a gentleman. I definitely recommend this bit as part of your toolbox.
    Date published: 2013-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good outdoor bit I bought this bit as an outdoor alternative to my gigantic TB who has both turning issues and started pulling outside, especially at the canter. I wasn't sure if this would be too much bit (his indoor bit is a copper mouth loose ring with an oval piece), but it ended up being perfect for his needs. He likes the taste of the copper, and the slow twist and Dr. Bristol only come into play if he isn't listening to the aids at all. However, because it has both the slow twist and the Dr. Bristol, I would recommend this only if the rider has pretty quiet hands. Also, make sure you use the bit keepers.
    Date published: 2013-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Hunter Possibility I bought this bit on the recommendation of my trainer. I school my horse in a 3 ring, because he is a bit downhill and needs the leverage. This bit felt exactly like the 3 ring on the flat when properly used with bit keepers! Haven't jumped in it yet, but I'm sure it'll work great for us. I had been so worried about making a bit choice for the shows because he needs leverage. Now I have a bit that will be accepted in the hunter ring!
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great non pinching bit for the price I had to get a bit for my horse for his hunter show. He tends to lean on the bit, so my trainer suggested this. I was initially worried if this bit pinches, but it looks like it doesn't. The beautiful shine went away rather quickly but not a poor quality item. I did not think that my horse would react copper mouth piece, but he is indeed liking it.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purhase This is a great bit to have in your collection! I was having trouble finding just the right bit for my guy. He is a jumper, with a light mouth and a low palate. I had trouble finding the happy medium between a bit that he avoided contact at all or he would get low and heavy. This one did the trick and he is very happy in it. I jump him in this snaffle and flat him in a loose ring French link. The bit is well crafted, true to sizing, and excellently priced. However, I could see it being too harsh or ill-fitting if not properly adjusted with bit keepers.
    Date published: 2013-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Has it All! I'm new to the wonderful & expensive world of horses, but SmartPak has made it less daunting. Because this is all new, I've spent countless hours surfing the web to find the best prices for all the things my daughter needed. In the end, SmartPak wins hands down. If your barn is not enrolled in the Barn Saver Shipping program...DO IT!!! The SmartPaks are so easy, their products are of the same quality that you will find at whatever site you are currently using, if not better. The prices are very competetive to begin with, made even better with the savings from your Barn Saver Shipping program. You can't beat the prices! Now that you know you will get the best quality at the best price...let me tell you the best part. I don't know what is in the water in Plymouth, MA, but the customer service is the best you will find anywhere. I have spent the last 2 years assuming it was a fluke that I just happened to get the happy person when I called, not so. I have spoken to probably every rep there & I can honestly say they are fantastic. You will NEVER be disappointed.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit I use this bit to replace my rubber mullen pelham with my draft-cross. He doesn't hang on the bit as he did with the pelham, and he minds it well enough for trail rides. The Dr. Bristol sits great in his mouth with the aid of the bit keepers. This is a great bit.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit for horse that pulls & falls on forehand It is truly a slow twist, not harsh as long as you use keepers... the action of the bristol on the tongue in my opinion can only be trusted if it sits correctly in their mouth, securely in place with keepers. It is great for my event horse when he gets a little headstrong on XC and he doesn't even think about falling on his forehand with this one compared to many other broken snaffles. My horse took to this bit immediately, which surprised me given how picky this horse it to find the right bit. Fits true to size, copper mouth is a bonus.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit This is a great bit. The horses love the copper, it is gentle as a Dr. Bristol but gives enough control with the twist and full cheek.
    Date published: 2010-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely bits I've been riding my horse in this style for a few years now. The Korsteel is great quality, and I find the copper mouth holds up better than other brands. Gentle enough for my spazzy TB, but keeps the brakes handy for those moments when he thinks he's back on the racetrack.
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit Been riding in this bit for two months now and my horse loves it. He accepts it well and collects really well with it. It’s gentle but still gives me enough stopping power with my robust thoroughbred. Great quality too.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase Only used once but seems to work just fine with my horse.
    Date published: 2010-02-08
    • 2015-08-30T15:26CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
    • loc_en_US, sid_8080, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.