Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck

Weatherbeeta Blankets
- Item #15929
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Mesh panels provide cool summer protection against the sun and all types of insects.

Imported.

Favorite Features

  • 270 g polyester fabric
  • Twin chest straps
  • Hidden front surcingle
  • Adjustable and removable leg straps
  • Gusseted shoulders provide freedom of movement
  • Generous tail flap for full coverage
  • Removable neck provides versatility
  • UV protection where fabric is solid across the back (approximately 90% UV protection)
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and ...
    Description:
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and economical feed-through fly prevention that prevents house and stable fly development. Cyromazine, the active ingredient of Solitude IGR, safely passes through the horse's system and is excreted in the manure, regulating house ...
    "The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most ...
    Description:
    "The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most effective horse fly trap on the market today for catching tabanids (also known as greenheads, deer flies, yellow flies, and B-52 bombers). By placing this unique, study trap in a hot, sunny ...
    "Deo Lotion is easy to use and environmentally ...
    Description:
    "Deo Lotion is easy to use and environmentally safe. Deo Lotion is made with 100% natural ingredients. Deo Lotion Fly Repellent prevents any contact- no more flies, horseflies or gnats spoiling your ride! Deo Lotion is offered in concentrate, gel ...
    "The Pyranha 1-10HP 55 Gallon Concentrate are insecticide ...
    Description:
    "The Pyranha 1-10HP 55 Gallon Concentrate are insecticide refills for the Pyranha Spray Master System . Developed over 30 years ago using the highest quality pyrethroids, HP is a premium formulation that has set the bar for effective automatic flying ...
    "New SuperMask® II Fly Mask is built to ...
    Description:
    "New SuperMask® II Fly Mask is built to fit, last and stay on! The SuperMask® II keeps flies, dust, dirt and debris away from your horse's eyes. It protects your horse's eyes and face from harmful UV Rays and aids ...
    "The UltraShield Red Fly Spray provides broad spectrum ...
    Description:
    "The UltraShield Red Fly Spray provides broad spectrum protection from a wide range of flies and mosquitoes. A breakthrough combination of five active ingredients helps ward off even the most resistant insects, while giving the horse's coat a healthy, oil-free ...
    "OutSmart™ Fly Spray is new and improved! OutSmart ...
    Description:
    "OutSmart™ Fly Spray is new and improved! OutSmart is a next generation insect repellent effective against house flies, stable flies, mosquitoes, and ticks. Engineered to be smarter, it’s powered by Nature's Technology®, a patent-pending, innovative combination of plant-based ingredients. Active ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 218.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible design--surcingle is totally wrong- I loved the preivous Kool Coat--had 2 of them, super great--so when I saw this version with the air flow I was psyched- my guy gets really hot and i wanted somethign keeping him cool. However, WHY on earth did they design this with a one belly surcingle that has hooks on BOTH SIDES?!! If one side was stitched it would be better but because it's not as soon as my guy rolls the surcingle comes off and the fly sheet get's all topsy turvey it literally can't stay on. I bought two of them at once too so now I have to return them. Sorry Kool Coat --you really messed up with this surcingle design
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works just like it should - a great investment! I read the reviews and ordered a smaller size than my mare takes, but it was still several inches too long. It was easy to return and I got the smallest available size (69"), a few inches smaller than her normal blanket. My mare is a 14.1, 1,000 lb Quarter Horse, and it fits quite well. The leg straps attach weirdly high by the flank (same for the girth strap), but don't seem to bother her. Every time I put it back on her, over her head, the belly strap falls off but that's the only time.When she rolls it will slip to one side, but always corrects itself. Every time I go to the barn (where she lives in a small sand pasture) it is perfectly straight. The neck piece is baggy but again stays in place just fine, and does not rub her mane (important on a reining horse!). I adjust the leg straps so they're not too long and cross them through each other and back to their own side to prevent slipping.She's not hard on blankets and there are no tears or any damage at all in about a week's use. It helps a lot with the bugs and the intense heat of the high desert, and even though it's been 100 degrees the past couple of days she's not sweating under it.So far I love this blanket and would buy for other horses!
    Date published: 2015-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accurate title I've bought this jacket in the past for my horse with sweet itch so I bought one for my new horse. It really helps with the heat in SC and keeping the bugs off.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and stay cool! I am a repeat buyer! I LOVE the Kool Coat! This fly sheet is tough and dependable yet stays cool... I don't know how they do it! Buy it, you wont regret it!
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet! I bought this sheet last year for one of my horses and just bought a second for the other. Love it! Great for flies and for keeping them clean! Excellent price for a great product! Holds up surprisingly well, but if your horse is out with other blanket destroyers, it can rip. Luckily the material is perfect to patch!Everyone at the barn now owns one (or more) of these!Also perfect for keeping the dust off at shows. Can't really say enough good things about this sheet!They do seem to run a bit big, and can sometimes shift to one side or the other while on, but overall, you can't beat it for the price!
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very hot fly sheet I live in Arizona, so if something offers to keep my horses cooler and more comfortable, I am going to try it. I purchased two of these fly sheets last month. I really do not like it. It is very heavy. When I take it off my horses they are always a sweaty mess. It also does not stay in place. It shifts to the side and I have to re adjust it for them several times a day. These sheets are practically brand new and I have stopped using it.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable and great for dark horses! I bought this sheet to help with flys and keeping my black horse from over heating on his pasture without shade. It is durable, and keeps him cool! He loves it. Only thing I wish it had was a fully attached neck instead of a detachable neck.
    Date published: 2015-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and function Superior sun protection- great buy and easy care made this an obvious choice. Very pleased with fit and function
    Date published: 2015-05-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Eh, mostly awesome. Bought for my new OTTB. He gets hot in it sometimes, and he managed to tear it only 2 days after he got it. Not a horrible tear but just annoying. Otherwise it's pretty good.
    Date published: 2015-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Fly Sheet By Far! I bought this sheet for my gelding because he tends to rub his mane off on the fence (trying to reach the grass on the other side) but I also wanted it to be versatile enough to take to a show without the neck piece ruining his mane. I've bought Kool Coat sheets before and they've lasted for years not seasons. I would buy this again for sure.
    Date published: 2015-05-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horses love them Love-wish was tougher in turnout but does the job!
    Date published: 2015-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only well-fitting sheet I could find.. I bought this last summer for my horse. His buddies were biting him literally all over and he was not in show condition. This sheet keeps him from getting bit up by other horses, and flies. He also didn't get too hot it in (which was surprising). All other sheets were rubbing his shoulders badly. This sheet fit very well and stayed in place. I adjusted the belly strap so the sheet didn't slide around. My horse is breeding stock pinto with a relatively long back and long neck. It lasted half of last summer and I will be using it again once the weather gets warmer! Can't beat this sheet for the low price.
    Date published: 2015-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these but having fit issues. I love these...horses stay cool in them, protects coats from sun damage and bites from pasture life, and they are surprisingly durable. I've boought probably ten of them over the last 7 years for different horses. Struggling with fit on my 16.2H Holsteiner right now though...he measures and true 78 and his 78 Rambo is a bit snug so I ordered a 78 knowing that Kool coats seem to run a bit big. Sadly, it rubs his shoulders, is too short in vertical length and too long in horizontal length...
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit! The Kool Coat fly sheet fits horses with high withers great and stays in place. So far it is holding up to the daily wear and tear. My horses hair coat stays clean and shiny even in the dust. White isn't real good for a dirt paddock I wish it came in other colors. I will by another one for sure!
    Date published: 2014-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the Price! I bought this item last summer and am still using it. I originally bought it for my OTTB who measures 74 and ordered the 75 and it seemed to fit him really well. My quarter horse/morgan (who miraculously wears the same size) wears it now and he is a little rougher on it, he somehow managed to tear half of the mesh off, rip a hole by the buckles, and lose the tummy strap somewhere in his pasture. Luckily it wasn't brand new and I was impressed it lasted me two summers!
    Date published: 2014-09-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fits well, tears easily, doesn't stay w/ rolling What I do like about this fly sheet is that it runs true to size (for my horse), and fits really well. I like that the neck is "puffy," so you don't have to worry about it flattening the mane in a weird way. However, I have a problem with it staying in place after rolls. It won't just shift slightly, but practically fall off the side of my horse. The stitching at the belly strap has also come undone, but I was able to finagle it to fit by cutting a small slit in the side and just putting it through there. I will also say that this fly sheet has also torn more than any sheet I've owned before. I'm guessing the mesh sheets are more durable. Not sure if I will re-purchase, repair, or get something different....
    Date published: 2014-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price This is the 2nd one I bought, 2 different horses..love the amount of straps to help keep it in place..generous sized
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great UV protection Keeps my dark bay from fading in the sunlight. Material is somewhat weak however, I have had to purchase several because they do easily rip
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly sheet Overall quality product. I will have to return for a smaller size. Bought a size 78 but need smaller size.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thin - Ripped too easily This blanket lasted two days. The neck attachment looks dangerous too with all the snaps and buckles.
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pleased with the quality, but not with the fit I bought this to keep my mare from fading and to help protect her from bugs. I read the reviews and bought her a 75 (she normally wears a 78). The blanket came fast and looked to be great quality. The 75 was still too large for her. The neck fit great and it appears to be a good quality, just hard to figure out what size to get.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not stay on I bought this fly sheet about 3 weeks ago for my gelding. It is already ripped and it will not stay on correctly! I was told that it had to be adjusted multiple times when it is on him. We eventually decided to leave it off of him for his safety.
    Date published: 2014-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs better surcingle This is a roomy sheet, and seems to keep my horse cool and bug-free. However, the single surcingle which is set very high on the sides does not seem to discourage the sheet from slipping way over to one side or the other. I think it could use 2 crossing surcingles instead.
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing better! Excellent material and smart design. Fits growing cob sized mare just right! Bought upon advise of professional trainer: the only make she uses.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from wish it fit. :( My horse finally destroyed his Rambo he'd had for 3 years. I didn't want to spend that much on another Rambo right away, so I tried this one. My trainer has it for her OTTB and the fabric upper part keeps him nice and clean. I wanted that for my grey who would rather roll or sleep like Seabiscuit than anything else in the world. He wears a 72 in fly sheets since they always run big and this one is no exception. It looked like it fit fine at first. After he'd worn it two days, I noticed rubs on his shoulders and didn't think they'd been there before. The next day I looked again and they were definitely bigger areas. Even though the front buckles were on the last holes, the neck was just a little too big. I thought about putting an extra closure up there, but it would have been too much work and might not have helped. There is a nice nylon lining in this sheet, so I don't know why it's rubbing like that, but it's definitely this sheet. I exchanged it for the Mio, which fits like his old Rambo. It doesn't keep him as clean, so I'm a little disappointed. My horse is dainty, with narrow shoulders and a short neck. Also, the neck piece was too big (they all are) but when i cinched it down all the way, it stayed in place fine. I like that it's detachable (the Mio isn't). Try it; it might fit your guy.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rubs withers I bought this a few weeks ago, and was very hopeful. I have had issues in the past with mesh fly sheets 'grabbing' onto the hair and working themselves backwards so they were tight across the chest and hanging off in the back. I was hoping that as this one had solid fabric on the top, it wouldn't happen. It does seem to be better in that regard, but does catch on the hairs somewhat, leaving some of them sticking up even after grooming. I haven't used it during seriously hot weather, but no problem with sweating on fairly warm days. I thought the size was true to Rambo and Weatherbeeta, and one size larger than Kensington and similar brands. My mare usually wears 80 in Kensington, and 78 in Rambo and Weatherbeeta. I ordered a 75 and a 78, and the 75 was definitely too small-- tight around the chest, and/or showing a bit of the back of her thighs depending on how I adjusted the chest straps. The 78 works pretty well, it does hang slightly off the back of her rump after she moves around a bit, but not enough to look funny. It slips sideways a bit, but not enough to be a problem. I was thinking it was going to be quite workable, when I realized that it was causing a pretty nasty rub on her withers. I'm going to try adding extra padding at the withers and see if that helps, but not sure. :(
    Date published: 2014-06-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from sursingle band I have a time keeping them from twisting the Kool Coat to one side when rolling.
    Date published: 2014-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Price***** Great quality sheet, light, and soft, horses don't seem to mind wearing it even if its hot outside. Can't beat the price, and the added bonus of the neck attachment! Would highly recommend to others and purchasing again!
    Date published: 2014-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall great fly sheet!! This fly sheet definitely helps with the flys. The only thing I wish was different is I wish it had some belly protection. There is only one belly band and it comes off really easily. I bought 4 of these. One was destroyed in just a week or so. Not really sure how it happened, but smartpak was really great as usual and sent me a new one right away!
    Date published: 2014-06-26
    • y_2017, m_1, d_20, h_18
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_209
    • loc_en_US, sid_5929, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders