Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck

Weatherbeeta Blankets
- Item #15929
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Mesh panels provide cool summer protection against the sun and all types of insects.

Favorite Features

  • 270 g polyester fabric
  • Twin chest straps
  • Hidden front surcingle
  • Adjustable and removable leg straps
  • Gusseted shoulders provide freedom of movement
  • Generous tail flap for full coverage
  • Removable neck provides versatility
  • UV protection where fabric is solid across the back (approximately 90% UV protection)

Lightweight polyester ripstop outer.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    A soft, fine weave mesh fly sheet to ...
    Description:
    A soft, fine weave mesh fly sheet to provide coverage and protection for your horse against pesky biting insects. Favorite Features Fine mesh to help block tiny biting flies and insects Detachable neck Detachable belly band Shoulder gussets for unrestricted ...
    The Weatherbeeta Ripshield Plus Detach-a-neck fly sheet offers ...
    Description:
    The Weatherbeeta Ripshield Plus Detach-a-neck fly sheet offers a great solution to the horse who hates flies. Made from a durable polyester ripstop weave, this material helps keep tears contained so your fly sheet lasts longer. The detach-a-neck and belly ...
    An adorable, colorful fly sheet to help protect ...
    Description:
    An adorable, colorful fly sheet to help protect your pony from biting insects. Favorite Features Ripshield fabric provides a durable weave to help resist tears and prevent them from expanding Offers up to 20% UV protection Adjustable and removable belly ...
    Sometimes you want the protection of a neck ...
    Description:
    Sometimes you want the protection of a neck cover with your fly sheet, and sometimes you don't. The Weatherbeeta Airflow Detach-A-Neck Fly Sheet, made of a soft and durable polyester mesh outer shell, allows you to choose the neck style ...
    A durable and versatile fly sheet that is ...
    Description:
    A durable and versatile fly sheet that is accompanied by a free fly mask, the Dura-Mesh Detach-a-Neck Fly Sheet is a favorite for horses and their owners alike. Favorite Features Detach-a-neck offers the option to remove or detach the neck ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck is rated 3.9403 out of 5 by 201.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cuts my horse! The sheet it's is too heavy and pulls sideways. This digs the leg straps into my horse and cut her on both sides!
    Date published: 2015-08-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Summer Sheet Nice sheet for price. Helps prevent summer fading on dark horses. Drop could be longer for large horses. Would prefer crossing belly straps over single surcingle to stay in place for turnout.
    Date published: 2015-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice materials- reflects the sun:) My horse looks great in his "Cool Coat"-The neck attachment doesn't rub his mane and it fits great-
    Date published: 2015-07-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not ideal for NC summer heat I purchased this sheet to help alieveate some of the bugs from my horse. The sheet fit well (runs large, order size smaller). The quality was very good and the sides were very breathable....but, the top line of the sheet (where the uv protection panel is) is not breathable. Within an hour, my horse was soaked with sweat all along the top of his back under this panel. The material is too thick to breath. His sides, under the mesh, were fine. I returned for fear of my horse roasting in the heat.
    Date published: 2015-06-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing price, but look be smart when sizing. Bought this for my 16.3hh bay thoroughbred who has a very athletic build and large shoulder and wither. He is typically true to his size, a 72", but I would have ordered a size larger if I knew how it was going to fit. The blanket itself fits nice when I put it on, but tends to slip down his shoulder and proves to rub a great deal at his chest and wither. My thoroughbred has a long neck, so a larger size still would have been preferable as the neck piece ran a bit short on him. The blanket was heavier than I expected it to be, and my thoroughbred does sweat a bit under it, but it's nothing too worrisome.Overall, this blanket does it's job and keeps my boy's coat looking dark and beautiful whilst keeping him bug free. Be smart on the sizing and you should find this blanket to be worth while. You can't beat the price! all the clasps work as they should, easy to clean, and hasn't had a tear yet!
    Date published: 2015-06-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Crazy long neck The 84 fit the body of both my horses nicely but was at least a foot too long in the neck even on my TB with an extra long neck. I didn't know that it had fabric along the top and was concerned that would have made it even hotter than most fly sheets so am not sure if I would have kept it even if the neck fit.
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good protection, not very durable I bought this fly sheet after my horse ripped his other sheet. Definitely glad I listened to the other reviews and bought a size smaller. He ripped the neck part off the first day but it still works if he is in a stall. The rest of the sheet had a couple holes after two weeks of wear but still provides protection from the flies. It is. We light weight and my horse doesn't sweat in it any more than without a sheet. Happy with the purchase but wish the neck piece was better attached.
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Way too heavy for summer. This is a great spring/fall fly sheet but is not meant for the summer heat! It should be noted that this will make any horse sweat like crazy.
    Date published: 2015-06-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the idea - don't like the fit I really like the idea of this sheet - with the solid top and mesh sides. Great sun protection with good air flow. However, the fit is not good. It tends to slide back and off to one side and ends up very tight in the shoulders. And it's not because it is too small. When I first put it on the fit is perfect - it just doesn't stay that way.
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great summer sheet I have purchased this sheet in the past and am very satisfied. It protects my dark bay horse from the hot sun and getting sun burnt, keeps him clean and washes up to look like new.
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not "Kool• at all I bought this fly sheet based on represention that it would keep the horse cool. I put it on him and he sweated quite a lot. There are a lot lighter, airier fly sheets out there than this one.
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit for a challenging body type When I buy any sort of cover (sheet, blanket, cooler) my biggest challenge is fit: I have a large horse (17h) who isn't necessarily long (he wears an 81 - this was true to size, for the record) but he has a large shoulder. Most designs sit right on his shoulder and rub. I have to look for cuts that come forward. Kool Coat's shoulder comes up high enough that rubbing shouldn't be a problem. Furthermore, the length is sufficient (fits true to size, maybe has a little excess but not enough for me to consider it "large").The neck piece might be challenging for some horses. It is long enough, I think, to cover the entire neck (even in a grazing position) of a horse with a short or average length but if you have a long necked horse there's going to be some gaps. Furthermore, I can't get the closures short enough to really fit the way it should. My horse has a slender neck and this part of the blanket is big on him. It will not keep me from using the blanket (or attachment) however.Other notes: Top of the blanket is reflective, sides are mostly mesh. Is relatively light weight and should function well in Chicago's heat/humidity (mid to high 90's with days of 85%+ humidity). Shoulder gusset makes for another element of a quality fit. Material isn't super flimsy, so we'll see how it holds up to turn-out with mouthy buddies.
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from GOod and Bad I bought this about a month ago, and loved it at first. Super light weight and breathable. Fit my horse pretty well, other people seemed to complain about the sizing but I think it is true to the size.... The only thing is, after 2 weeks my horse had ripped every single buckle off of the neck piece. Not just broke the buckles, but completely ripped them off of the fabric so I could no longer use the neck piece. Not sure if my guy is just super hard on his blankets/sheets, or if this is just a poorly made product.
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible design--surcingle is totally wrong- I loved the preivous Kool Coat--had 2 of them, super great--so when I saw this version with the air flow I was psyched- my guy gets really hot and i wanted somethign keeping him cool. However, WHY on earth did they design this with a one belly surcingle that has hooks on BOTH SIDES?!! If one side was stitched it would be better but because it's not as soon as my guy rolls the surcingle comes off and the fly sheet get's all topsy turvey it literally can't stay on. I bought two of them at once too so now I have to return them. Sorry Kool Coat --you really messed up with this surcingle design
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works just like it should - a great investment! I read the reviews and ordered a smaller size than my mare takes, but it was still several inches too long. It was easy to return and I got the smallest available size (69"), a few inches smaller than her normal blanket. My mare is a 14.1, 1,000 lb Quarter Horse, and it fits quite well. The leg straps attach weirdly high by the flank (same for the girth strap), but don't seem to bother her. Every time I put it back on her, over her head, the belly strap falls off but that's the only time.When she rolls it will slip to one side, but always corrects itself. Every time I go to the barn (where she lives in a small sand pasture) it is perfectly straight. The neck piece is baggy but again stays in place just fine, and does not rub her mane (important on a reining horse!). I adjust the leg straps so they're not too long and cross them through each other and back to their own side to prevent slipping.She's not hard on blankets and there are no tears or any damage at all in about a week's use. It helps a lot with the bugs and the intense heat of the high desert, and even though it's been 100 degrees the past couple of days she's not sweating under it.So far I love this blanket and would buy for other horses!
    Date published: 2015-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accurate title I've bought this jacket in the past for my horse with sweet itch so I bought one for my new horse. It really helps with the heat in SC and keeping the bugs off.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and stay cool! I am a repeat buyer! I LOVE the Kool Coat! This fly sheet is tough and dependable yet stays cool... I don't know how they do it! Buy it, you wont regret it!
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet! I bought this sheet last year for one of my horses and just bought a second for the other. Love it! Great for flies and for keeping them clean! Excellent price for a great product! Holds up surprisingly well, but if your horse is out with other blanket destroyers, it can rip. Luckily the material is perfect to patch!Everyone at the barn now owns one (or more) of these!Also perfect for keeping the dust off at shows. Can't really say enough good things about this sheet!They do seem to run a bit big, and can sometimes shift to one side or the other while on, but overall, you can't beat it for the price!
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very hot fly sheet I live in Arizona, so if something offers to keep my horses cooler and more comfortable, I am going to try it. I purchased two of these fly sheets last month. I really do not like it. It is very heavy. When I take it off my horses they are always a sweaty mess. It also does not stay in place. It shifts to the side and I have to re adjust it for them several times a day. These sheets are practically brand new and I have stopped using it.
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable and great for dark horses! I bought this sheet to help with flys and keeping my black horse from over heating on his pasture without shade. It is durable, and keeps him cool! He loves it. Only thing I wish it had was a fully attached neck instead of a detachable neck.
    Date published: 2015-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and function Superior sun protection- great buy and easy care made this an obvious choice. Very pleased with fit and function
    Date published: 2015-05-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Eh, mostly awesome. Bought for my new OTTB. He gets hot in it sometimes, and he managed to tear it only 2 days after he got it. Not a horrible tear but just annoying. Otherwise it's pretty good.
    Date published: 2015-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Fly Sheet By Far! I bought this sheet for my gelding because he tends to rub his mane off on the fence (trying to reach the grass on the other side) but I also wanted it to be versatile enough to take to a show without the neck piece ruining his mane. I've bought Kool Coat sheets before and they've lasted for years not seasons. I would buy this again for sure.
    Date published: 2015-05-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horses love them Love-wish was tougher in turnout but does the job!
    Date published: 2015-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only well-fitting sheet I could find.. I bought this last summer for my horse. His buddies were biting him literally all over and he was not in show condition. This sheet keeps him from getting bit up by other horses, and flies. He also didn't get too hot it in (which was surprising). All other sheets were rubbing his shoulders badly. This sheet fit very well and stayed in place. I adjusted the belly strap so the sheet didn't slide around. My horse is breeding stock pinto with a relatively long back and long neck. It lasted half of last summer and I will be using it again once the weather gets warmer! Can't beat this sheet for the low price.
    Date published: 2015-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these but having fit issues. I love these...horses stay cool in them, protects coats from sun damage and bites from pasture life, and they are surprisingly durable. I've boought probably ten of them over the last 7 years for different horses. Struggling with fit on my 16.2H Holsteiner right now though...he measures and true 78 and his 78 Rambo is a bit snug so I ordered a 78 knowing that Kool coats seem to run a bit big. Sadly, it rubs his shoulders, is too short in vertical length and too long in horizontal length...
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit! The Kool Coat fly sheet fits horses with high withers great and stays in place. So far it is holding up to the daily wear and tear. My horses hair coat stays clean and shiny even in the dust. White isn't real good for a dirt paddock I wish it came in other colors. I will by another one for sure!
    Date published: 2014-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the Price! I bought this item last summer and am still using it. I originally bought it for my OTTB who measures 74 and ordered the 75 and it seemed to fit him really well. My quarter horse/morgan (who miraculously wears the same size) wears it now and he is a little rougher on it, he somehow managed to tear half of the mesh off, rip a hole by the buckles, and lose the tummy strap somewhere in his pasture. Luckily it wasn't brand new and I was impressed it lasted me two summers!
    Date published: 2014-09-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fits well, tears easily, doesn't stay w/ rolling What I do like about this fly sheet is that it runs true to size (for my horse), and fits really well. I like that the neck is "puffy," so you don't have to worry about it flattening the mane in a weird way. However, I have a problem with it staying in place after rolls. It won't just shift slightly, but practically fall off the side of my horse. The stitching at the belly strap has also come undone, but I was able to finagle it to fit by cutting a small slit in the side and just putting it through there. I will also say that this fly sheet has also torn more than any sheet I've owned before. I'm guessing the mesh sheets are more durable. Not sure if I will re-purchase, repair, or get something different....
    Date published: 2014-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price This is the 2nd one I bought, 2 different horses..love the amount of straps to help keep it in place..generous sized
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    • 2016-04-29T17:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_193
    • loc_en_US, sid_5929, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders