Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck

Weatherbeeta Blankets
- Item #15929
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Mesh panels provide cool summer protection against the sun and all types of insects.

Favorite Features

  • 270 g polyester fabric
  • Twin chest straps
  • Hidden front surcingle
  • Adjustable and removable leg straps
  • Gusseted shoulders provide freedom of movement
  • Generous tail flap for full coverage
  • Removable neck provides versatility
  • UV protection where fabric is solid across the back (approximately 90% UV protection)

Lightweight polyester ripstop outer.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

Customers Also Shopped For
Developed to keep your horse healthy and sane ...
Developed to keep your horse healthy and sane all summer long without the use of harsh chemicals, natural Zephyr's Garden Pure & Simple Plus refill concentrate is a blend of essential oils, herbs, and apple cider vinegar for topical application. ...
A natural way to condition coats and repel ...
A natural way to condition coats and repel bugs! When you want to avoid harsh chemical pesticides, Wahna Win Super Fly Spray is a safe, natural choice for fly and insect control. The unique blend of oils includes catnip, argan, ...
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly ...
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!Favorite Features Designed for comfort withSoft durable materials and fully lined seams Three hole cap for ears and forelock provides stability ...
The UltraShield Sport Fly Spray provides sweat resistant ...
The UltraShield Sport Fly Spray provides sweat resistant bugProtection forHeavy workouts in the hottest, most humid weather! This water-based formula kills and repels multiple species of flies and mosquitoes and stays active for up to 14 days. Favorite Features Protects ...
UltraShield Green Natural Fly Repellent Gel uses Geraniol ...
UltraShield Green Natural Fly Repellent Gel uses Geraniol and six fly-fighting natural oils toProtect ears, face and other areas such as the underline from biting flies. This eco-safe gel also provides a barrier thatProtects cuts and abrasions from insect irritations. ...
The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Fly Mask with Ears ...
The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Fly Mask with Ears is engineered for durability and comfort, unlike no other! Unique patent pending Flex Spline Technology creates a canopy away from the horse's eyes, while unique contoured fit prevents insects from penetrating the ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck is rated 3.9311926605504586 out of 5 by 218.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Koolcoat with detach a neck The sheet keeps my bay horses coats from burning & they seem to stay cool even when they stand in the sun. The sheet washes, doesn't shrink & is easy to repair when there are years.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality and fit great fly sheet for a great price! fits my huge horse really well and it has stayed very clean. the neck is a nice plus and helps keep my horse clean and cool at shows/ in the pasture where he likes to try and get as dirty as possible.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall Great Blanket Overall this is a good blanket! My horse does not get hot and sweaty underneath his blanket. He is a chestnut so he gets very hot in the sun and this helps him stay nice and cool. I bring him inside and his body temperature is normal! Its almost crazy how well these blankets work. I was very skeptical about this kind of thing and sheets that say they keep your horse cool, but these ACTUALLY work!! I definitely will keep buying this sheet for my horses. The only pitfall to this sheet, and like some have said is that there is only one belly strap and mine has already fallen off. Other than that this is a great sheet.
Date published: 2016-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great It is working well so far. My trainer recommended, several riders at our facility use this product.
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Destroyed first time on horse The blanket ripped the first time my horse wore it.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Multi Use and inexpensive I bought this kool coat to keep my black horse cool in the sun, we have 300 days of sun a year here. Summer is the hot time, it noticeably keeps his covered coat much cooler to the touch, it also prevents bleaching (he's a chocolate black) and keeps the fly's off him without spray.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! So far, great fly sheet! Even the non-mesh part breathes. Great fit and great protection from the bugs!
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great sheet, neck is too big! I bought this because of the neck attatchments, but thank goodness it was detachable because it was wayyy too long for my TB's neck. The actual sheet is great, however. It doesn't make him sweat at all and protects him from the sun bleaching his far coat. Although he does roll a lot and there is already a hole after a couple weeks.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really like this sheet I really like this sheet. I had a friend purchase it and she loves it. So far it has lasted well with my big quarter horse who can tear anything up. The only thing I would change is the fact that it only has the one sursingle. I would like it to have two under the belly. Every time he rolls it always hanging off onside too much. Fits accurate to size.
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Represented well Nice quality and product is definitely well put together. The only thing I wish I had known prior to purchase is that it runs big. I would have gone down one size and it would fit perfect. I ordered his blanket size and it is just a little bit big. It does work though and I like it. A little thick for arizona heat but will work awesome for keeping them show ready in the fall and winter. Good thing I do have a bigger horse that it fits perfect.
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well I use this to protect my horse from flys and his black coat from the sun. Works well.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, Well Made Blanket/Rug I purchase the Cook Coat a few weeks ago. I am coming from "rugging" in Australia to "blanketing" in Texas. The climate is constantly changing in Houston, and it is difficult to decide "to rug or not to rug". The Kook Coat - is great in the paddock, keeps the insects out - but it can get warm in the afternoons and in the stable during the day and my thoroughbred feels hot....not sweat, just hot to the touch. All in all - it's great quality and does what it's supposed to do - just get's and little too warm if the weather is humid.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customization WIN! I bought this "coat" as a summer show sheet for my gelding. It's very cool, keeps him clean, and keeps the bugs off of his Royal Highness. I got the sheet customized with his show name and it's just incredible. It's seriously a show-stopper. I know some folks don't love this guy as a turnout option, but I absolutely adore it as a trailer and/or show sheet. The hood has done nicely to keep his braids in intact overnight and we only had to redo a few. I highly, highly recommend for shows! Please note that this does run pretty big. My gelding is a solid 78" but I got a 75" for him.I do want to make one more comment. Prior to this purchase, about five years ago I bought this same blanket for my old gelding as a turnout. It lasted three seasons for group turnout. I was pretty happy with that. Just saying, for those who are considering this as a turnout. (The stains are gnarly though!!)
Date published: 2016-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good idea but has problems I like the way the blanket fits when it first goes on but it tends to slide to the side and stay there. At least it's not pulling so badly that my horse seems to be uncomfortable. Maybe it would right itself better if the fabric was slicker. The bellyband detaching on both sides is kind of a pain, it tends to fall off when I shake the sheet after I remove it from the horse for grooming. It's a good enough product that I will use it until my horse destroys it but I will probably try a different fly sheet next time.
Date published: 2015-10-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HORSE TORE UP IN A COUPLE WEEKS Not for active horses maybe good for a show weekend Horse ripped in a couple weeks.
Date published: 2015-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great sheet for the price! I have used this all season even in 100 degree heat. (We have dry heat in Idaho) Chilli is not too hard on blankets I could see a naughty horse ripping it. If I buy one each year it is not that expensive, but I think it will last him one more season. I followed others advice on sizing and ordered accordingly.
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cuts my horse! The sheet it's is too heavy and pulls sideways. This digs the leg straps into my horse and cut her on both sides!
Date published: 2015-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Summer Sheet Nice sheet for price. Helps prevent summer fading on dark horses. Drop could be longer for large horses. Would prefer crossing belly straps over single surcingle to stay in place for turnout.
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice materials- reflects the sun:) My horse looks great in his "Cool Coat"-The neck attachment doesn't rub his mane and it fits great-
Date published: 2015-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not ideal for NC summer heat I purchased this sheet to help alieveate some of the bugs from my horse. The sheet fit well (runs large, order size smaller). The quality was very good and the sides were very breathable....but, the top line of the sheet (where the uv protection panel is) is not breathable. Within an hour, my horse was soaked with sweat all along the top of his back under this panel. The material is too thick to breath. His sides, under the mesh, were fine. I returned for fear of my horse roasting in the heat.
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing price, but look be smart when sizing. Bought this for my 16.3hh bay thoroughbred who has a very athletic build and large shoulder and wither. He is typically true to his size, a 72", but I would have ordered a size larger if I knew how it was going to fit. The blanket itself fits nice when I put it on, but tends to slip down his shoulder and proves to rub a great deal at his chest and wither. My thoroughbred has a long neck, so a larger size still would have been preferable as the neck piece ran a bit short on him. The blanket was heavier than I expected it to be, and my thoroughbred does sweat a bit under it, but it's nothing too worrisome.Overall, this blanket does it's job and keeps my boy's coat looking dark and beautiful whilst keeping him bug free. Be smart on the sizing and you should find this blanket to be worth while. You can't beat the price! all the clasps work as they should, easy to clean, and hasn't had a tear yet!
Date published: 2015-06-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Crazy long neck The 84 fit the body of both my horses nicely but was at least a foot too long in the neck even on my TB with an extra long neck. I didn't know that it had fabric along the top and was concerned that would have made it even hotter than most fly sheets so am not sure if I would have kept it even if the neck fit.
Date published: 2015-06-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good protection, not very durable I bought this fly sheet after my horse ripped his other sheet. Definitely glad I listened to the other reviews and bought a size smaller. He ripped the neck part off the first day but it still works if he is in a stall. The rest of the sheet had a couple holes after two weeks of wear but still provides protection from the flies. It is. We light weight and my horse doesn't sweat in it any more than without a sheet. Happy with the purchase but wish the neck piece was better attached.
Date published: 2015-06-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Way too heavy for summer. This is a great spring/fall fly sheet but is not meant for the summer heat! It should be noted that this will make any horse sweat like crazy.
Date published: 2015-06-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the idea - don't like the fit I really like the idea of this sheet - with the solid top and mesh sides. Great sun protection with good air flow. However, the fit is not good. It tends to slide back and off to one side and ends up very tight in the shoulders. And it's not because it is too small. When I first put it on the fit is perfect - it just doesn't stay that way.
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great summer sheet I have purchased this sheet in the past and am very satisfied. It protects my dark bay horse from the hot sun and getting sun burnt, keeps him clean and washes up to look like new.
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not "Kool• at all I bought this fly sheet based on represention that it would keep the horse cool. I put it on him and he sweated quite a lot. There are a lot lighter, airier fly sheets out there than this one.
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit for a challenging body type When I buy any sort of cover (sheet, blanket, cooler) my biggest challenge is fit: I have a large horse (17h) who isn't necessarily long (he wears an 81 - this was true to size, for the record) but he has a large shoulder. Most designs sit right on his shoulder and rub. I have to look for cuts that come forward. Kool Coat's shoulder comes up high enough that rubbing shouldn't be a problem. Furthermore, the length is sufficient (fits true to size, maybe has a little excess but not enough for me to consider it "large").The neck piece might be challenging for some horses. It is long enough, I think, to cover the entire neck (even in a grazing position) of a horse with a short or average length but if you have a long necked horse there's going to be some gaps. Furthermore, I can't get the closures short enough to really fit the way it should. My horse has a slender neck and this part of the blanket is big on him. It will not keep me from using the blanket (or attachment) however.Other notes: Top of the blanket is reflective, sides are mostly mesh. Is relatively light weight and should function well in Chicago's heat/humidity (mid to high 90's with days of 85%+ humidity). Shoulder gusset makes for another element of a quality fit. Material isn't super flimsy, so we'll see how it holds up to turn-out with mouthy buddies.
Date published: 2015-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from GOod and Bad I bought this about a month ago, and loved it at first. Super light weight and breathable. Fit my horse pretty well, other people seemed to complain about the sizing but I think it is true to the size.... The only thing is, after 2 weeks my horse had ripped every single buckle off of the neck piece. Not just broke the buckles, but completely ripped them off of the fabric so I could no longer use the neck piece. Not sure if my guy is just super hard on his blankets/sheets, or if this is just a poorly made product.
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible design--surcingle is totally wrong- I loved the preivous Kool Coat--had 2 of them, super great--so when I saw this version with the air flow I was psyched- my guy gets really hot and i wanted somethign keeping him cool. However, WHY on earth did they design this with a one belly surcingle that has hooks on BOTH SIDES?!! If one side was stitched it would be better but because it's not as soon as my guy rolls the surcingle comes off and the fly sheet get's all topsy turvey it literally can't stay on. I bought two of them at once too so now I have to return them. Sorry Kool Coat --you really messed up with this surcingle design
Date published: 2015-06-12
  • 2016-10-24T12:51CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_209
  • loc_en_US, sid_5929, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders