Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Kensington Protective Sheet

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12294
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Kensington Protective Sheet provides maximum protection from biting insects, cuts, and rubs.  This sheet provides protection for up to 78% of UV rays.

Favorite Features

  • 1000 x 2000 denier 
  • Withstands fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear, even in the most severe weather condition
  • Lined shoulders keep the sensitive horse's shoulders free from rubs
  • Includes elastic leg straps
  • Two adjustable belly surcingles

Made in the U.S.A.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Soft but tough technical polyester mesh allows for ...
    Description:
    Soft but tough technical polyester mesh allows for maximum air flow to keep your horse cool in the summer, whileProtecting your horse from flies and sun bleaching. Favorite Features Provides 70%+ UVProtection Adjustable belly wrap Freestyle Tail Flap offer full ...
    A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a ...
    Description:
    A fly mask that lasts! Textilene is a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable enough to withstand outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensuresProtection and long lasting ...
    Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly ...
    Description:
    Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly sheets! The Amigo BugBuster providesNo-Fly ZoneProtection from flies, mosquitoes, ticks and fleas. Unlike many conventional insect repellents, which can have a strong odor and other unfavorable characteristics,No-Fly Zone insectProtection is odorless, dry ...
    This sheet does a great job ofProtecting your ...
    Description:
    This sheet does a great job ofProtecting your horse from flies and dirt. Ideal for warm weather, your horse will stay cool and clean in the barn without sweating.Favorite Features 11 oz. medium weight nylon mesh Closed front Adjustable nylon ...
    TheBlue Ribbon Fly Sheet isahome staple that now ...
    Description:
    TheBlue Ribbon Fly Sheet isahome staple that now has horse show appeal! This super durable 17 x 11 Denier textilene mesh fabric provides 80% UVProtection to prevent coat bleaching and will actually keep your horse cooler in the hot sun. ...
    It is theultimate armor toProtect your horse from ...
    Description:
    It is theultimate armor toProtect your horse from the pests of summer! Lightweight mesh sheet with oversized tail flap and removable neck rug provides a layer of physicalProtection from poll to tail to keep bugs off your horse.Favorite Features Fabric ...
    Anadorable, colorful flysheet to helpProtect your pony from ...
    Description:
    Anadorable, colorful flysheet to helpProtect your pony from biting insects. Favorite Features Ripshield fabric provides a durable weave to help resist tears and prevent them from expanding Offers up to 20% UVprotection Adjustable and removable belly wrap Full tail flap ...
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Protective Sheet is rated 4.6329 out of 5 by 207.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! I have used this fly sheet all summer with only some minor damage (snags) to the neck piece. He has destroyed several other fly sheets within weeks of wearing. I would definitely recommend this for someone who has a horse that will wear this out in the pasture.
    Date published: 2014-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't be damaged, YAY!!! After my blanket repair guy upped his prices I reviewed how much I use him. Way Too Much! I could have bought many horse outfits for the prices I was paying for repairs. And all my fly sheets looked like Frankenstein should be wearing them with all the repair stitches everywhere. So I consciously quit being the prudent New Englander whose motto is "Wear it 'till you wear it out."After I tossed old fly sheets, I scrutinized and I pawed through the SmartPak catalog until I found the best buy for my buck. The Kensington Fly Sheet and Fly Mask grabbed me. So I ordered two with matching masks. They are everything AND MORE that SmartPak claims them to be. I can't say enough about their durability. I have 2 gelding brothers T/Oed together 365 days a year and they play and play ruthlessly. There is lots of tug-a-war going on with sheets and rugs and forget the halter damage they make! Re the Kensington fly sheets: No damage so far! This is THE fly sheet to see your horse through horsey games and rumpus.Plus, Kensington has thought of so many details that are fantastic. For instance, there is elastic in the middle of the nylon leg straps so you get both the durability and the stretch factors. The colors are very attractive too. I have a chestnut in the sage green and a bay in the baby blue. Gorgeous!Both boys seem to love their sheets and masks. They really looked very proud the first morning I turned them out in them. It was eye opening to see them parade around the field in their new outfits. I knew then that this purchase was right.Oh! And the flies don't bother at all, they really work very well.
    Date published: 2014-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sturdy fly sheet Great sheet - fit was good. I ordered a size larger. Seems to be durable. Easy to adjust and put on.
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet My horse has been wearing this sheet for a few weeks. The sheet fits him well and does not rub his shoulders. The sheet also makes his coat shine. The sheet consists of durable construction.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excekkent quality Other fly sheets that I have bought over the years have been torn up within 30 days (my horses are rough). The Kensington sheets I bought 3 years ago are still going strong. Had to buy one for a new horse
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet Very durable and fashionable. Keeps flies and bugs at bay while keeping horses comfortable!
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Fits my warmblood 16.3 mare.perfectly. I really like the color which is unique to Smartpak. I am going to buy the neck piece next
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sizes run small Great material and color but it does run small. I ordered a size 72 for my mare and it stopped at her hind end. All of her blankets and sheets are a 72 and fit just fine. Great fly sheet otherwise!
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better than what I expected After doing my research, I finally decided on the 82" Kensington Smart Purple for my 16.2 hand TB. I had read about how flimsy many other fly sheets were, but I needed something durable. The Kensington Protective Sheet is a fantastic investment! The sheet molded to my horse's shape, so the fit is perfect, and the material is indestructible. My "pony" is comfy and quite stylish... What more could I ask for?
    Date published: 2014-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy! This fly sheet runs small compared to WB. My 15.3H QH normally wears a 72 but I had to purchase an 80. Which is nbd, but it would have been nice to know that they aren't equivalent in size to WB. I had to return 2x..Otherwise, I'm very pleased! It's a beautiful sheet and very durable to withstand playful pasture mates.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Returning Bought this sheet years ago and only used it a couple times because it is so stiff and hot in comparison to the Beval fly sheets. They have a bit of stretch, belly bands, and neck covers included and they're a lighter color. This sheet would be more suitable for a horse that destroys fly sheets easily but even then it's still hot and you have to buy a neck cover to avoid bleaching. Not one of my favorite products but thanks to the happiness guarantee I can buy with confidence.
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the one I bought this to replace the WB fly sheets I tried, which ran very large and fit oddly. This sheet is much better, fits well, no rubs, and looks great. I did try the neck cover, but ended up returning it. No problem with it, just decided my horses didn't really need it.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT FLY SHEET! I have used this now for about a year and it has held up great! Very durable, it has no holes or any tears! My horse doesn't mind it at all....I have a big quarter horse and so I had to buy the biggest size and it fit him great!
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was lucky enough to catch this fly sheet on sale. The fit is really nice, my horse is normally an 81 (I think I had to get an 82 in this) and it's not big on him at all. It is a nice thick sheet so I feel that it would be durable. I have not tried to turn out in it yet because I am not sure if his pasture mates are blanket taggers or not. Otherwise I am very pleased with the quality of this blanket and plan on purchasing the matching fly mask.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love how durable, but lightweight and breathable these sheet are. I also love the assortment of colors! I have seen other "cuts" for Kensington sheets on other websites, and I wish Smartpak had them because this one is really big on my horse's shoulders. The only reason I gave it a 4stars instead of 5 is that in order to get the correct length for narrow TB, I had to get one that hangs really low on her shoulders and it rubs. Runs larger= runs wide. I will purchase another one of these sheets when hers gets torn up, but I will have to get one with a more "European" cut. I also would like one with a tail flap.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I own this sheet and one from Schneider's. I like this one because it weighs less and come in a variety of colors. However, I wish it had a tail flap and adjustable shoulder straps. This sheet is cut a bit too wide for my narrow Thoroughbred and hangs a bit lower on her shoulders than I would like. The length is good, but the surcingle still hangs several inches below her belly, even on the tightest adjustment.
    Date published: 2013-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! My horse has been wearing this fly sheet in turnout for about 6 weeks now. Cheaper ($40) fly sheets have not lasted nearly as long. Mesh fabric is durable and rugged; buckles and straps are of good quality. Nylon lined shoulders keep my mare's soft summer coat from rubbing off. Sizing seems just right. The sheet is contoured for a good fit and she seems comfortable wearing it all the time. Can't comment on UV protection because my mare's black coat was already beginning to lighten in the sun when I purchased this product. It hasn't faded any more, that's all I can say. So far, I am pleased with this fly sheet. It seems that you get what you pay for in fly sheets.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet These are really nice fly sheets, fit horses well. Only issue is if you have trees and horse rubs on trees it does cause some shredding and /or holes in fly sheet.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My "go to" fly sheet During our summer months, my horses are out in their field 8 hours per day wearing this sheet. My recent purchase is to replace one that is starting to wear out after 3 seasons on a rambunctious horse. This sheet stays in place, dries fast if we get a quick rain shower, does not rub and keeps their coats just beautiful.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money! I love these fly sheets! My two boys are hard on their clothes but the Kensington sheet is surviving, and doing so in a stylish way.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredibly durable I am extremely impressed with this fly sheets durability. My boy has been wearing this for just under a month and it doesn't even have a snag on it. The last fly sheet I had was the soft fabric type and it didn't last very long. It was torn to pieces within 2 months. The purple is pretty attractive but I'm very disappointed that it doesn't have a matching neck cover. The biggest downside is the cut. It is definitely styled for a stock type horse. It doesn't fit my TB well. It gives him rubs high on the shoulders, but the durability makes up for it.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fly sheets I am having continuous problems with my horses breaking the hardware on the Kensington products. I think that I'm going back to the BigD ones which have lasted for years. The fit is really good on these though for my Thoroughbred/App and Rocky Mountains. I also like the color choices so I can recognize which sheet belongs on each horse.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best fly sheet I absolutely love this fly sheet! I've been using it for almost two years on my OTTB gelding. He is on pasture board, and plays with the other horses often. There are no tears in this sheet! After year 1, I do have a couple areas where you can tell another horse has pulled on it and the "threads" are slightly separated....but it is absolutely bomb-proof. Still wearable, and you'd have to strain to see any damage.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you like Baker fly sheets, you'll like this I'm a big fan of Baker fly sheets because they fit my Saddlebreds well, wear like iron and do not have those annoying tail flaps. I tried this one because, hello, it's purple and it has dees for attaching a neck cover, which is my biggest complaint about Baker. The Kensington fits very similarly to the Baker, but the hardware is even a little nicer. My 15.1 ASB measured a 78 to center tail, but wears a 74 in Baker, so I split the difference and ordered a 76. The 76 fits him nicely, but the 78 would have been fine too as the 76 is a tad short. He's been wearing it for several weeks now with no rubs and very little wear. I'd buy it again.
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from if you must have a fly sheet this is it We have never had much luck with fly sheets, most of them never survive the week in our very active turnout. Our new mare is so bothered by flies, we had to try something. We are now at three weeks, she wears it every day, and it looks like it will go the distance. The sheet is heavier than most, but the quality is excellent and our mare is so much happier.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow. Just wow. I needed a fly sheet for my horse since all the horses in pasture were beating him up, and he was practically bald. (Which isn't good for shows)He is also the type of horse who loses fly masks in a day. The fly sheet still looks brand new, and I am very happy with it.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet I have a 1600lb draft horse that is difficult to fit because he is smaller than most drafts, yet broader than "large horse" breeds. He also is out on pasture 24/7. I have used this brand for years and even with him wearing it 24/7 during spring/summer the most wear marks it has are near the flanks. It rarely gets rips and if it does they don't "run". Protects against biting bugs in the humid summers. The shoulders never get rub marks and the sheet's UV protection keeps him from bleaching out. The mesh texture allows air through it. When it gets dirty I put it in the washer and it comes out great. Highly recommended for durability and horse's comfort. Definitely worth the price.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I absolutely love this fly sheet! I bought the Smart blue on sale for my black gelding, and he looks so wonderful! It does not rub him at all, and is not too thick but durable. It has a large opening for the neck so he doesn't get pinched when he grazes. I could not be more happy with it. Smartpak resolved my problem with my old sheet and accepted it back because it fit my gelding very poorly- I could not ask for a better company or sheet!
    Date published: 2013-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy duty & worth the money This is the third Kensington sheet I've purchased. I still have the original two that are in great shape, I just needed something a little smaller for another horse. They fit the Morgan's great, do a good job with sun protection and are heavy duty! I would'n't waste my time on any other cheaper brand as my horses are tough on their clothes. Love these sheets.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet! Bought this sheet after my horse ruined his first one in eight days... was recommended this and it is great! Super durable, my horse has worn it for about three weeks now and there isn't a scratch on it! I would recommend this sheet highly if your horse is pastured with horses that like to destroy clothes, like mine is! I rated it a 4* value because I would have rather paid a little extra and have the belly guard included, rather than having to purchase the belly guard separately. I also wish it had a piece to cover the dock of the tail like some sheets do. Other than those small complaints, I love this sheet a lot!
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    • 2016-05-26T15:31CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_188
    • loc_en_US, sid_2294, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders