Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Protective Sheet

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12294
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Kensington Protective Sheet provides maximum protection from biting insects, cuts, and rubs.  This sheet provides protection for up to 78% of UV rays.

Favorite Features

  • 1000 x 2000 denier 
  • Withstands fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear, even in the most severe weather condition
  • Lined shoulders keep the sensitive horse's shoulders free from rubs
  • Includes elastic leg straps
  • 2 adjustable belly surcingles

Made in the U.S.A.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Protective Sheet is rated 4.6339 out of 5 by 183.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow. Just wow. I needed a fly sheet for my horse since all the horses in pasture were beating him up, and he was practically bald. (Which isn't good for shows)He is also the type of horse who loses fly masks in a day. The fly sheet still looks brand new, and I am very happy with it.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet I have a 1600lb draft horse that is difficult to fit because he is smaller than most drafts, yet broader than "large horse" breeds. He also is out on pasture 24/7. I have used this brand for years and even with him wearing it 24/7 during spring/summer the most wear marks it has are near the flanks. It rarely gets rips and if it does they don't "run". Protects against biting bugs in the humid summers. The shoulders never get rub marks and the sheet's UV protection keeps him from bleaching out. The mesh texture allows air through it. When it gets dirty I put it in the washer and it comes out great. Highly recommended for durability and horse's comfort. Definitely worth the price.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I absolutely love this fly sheet! I bought the Smart blue on sale for my black gelding, and he looks so wonderful! It does not rub him at all, and is not too thick but durable. It has a large opening for the neck so he doesn't get pinched when he grazes. I could not be more happy with it. Smartpak resolved my problem with my old sheet and accepted it back because it fit my gelding very poorly- I could not ask for a better company or sheet!
    Date published: 2013-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy duty & worth the money This is the third Kensington sheet I've purchased. I still have the original two that are in great shape, I just needed something a little smaller for another horse. They fit the Morgan's great, do a good job with sun protection and are heavy duty! I would'n't waste my time on any other cheaper brand as my horses are tough on their clothes. Love these sheets.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet! Bought this sheet after my horse ruined his first one in eight days... was recommended this and it is great! Super durable, my horse has worn it for about three weeks now and there isn't a scratch on it! I would recommend this sheet highly if your horse is pastured with horses that like to destroy clothes, like mine is! I rated it a 4* value because I would have rather paid a little extra and have the belly guard included, rather than having to purchase the belly guard separately. I also wish it had a piece to cover the dock of the tail like some sheets do. Other than those small complaints, I love this sheet a lot!
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet for pasture kept horse My mares are kept in their own 3 acre pasture 24/7 so I needed something that was very durable and wouldn't fade in the Texas sun. I bought the SmartPurple Protective Sheet and the matching Fly Mask for my grey mare and it looks amazing on her. The purple color is very deep and rich which makes it stand out in contrast to her grey coat. My bay also looks just as GORGEOUS in this sheet.I wanted to add the following details in hopes that it may help others. My mare is AQHA Hancock Bred and stands right about 15h. I measured her with a sewing tape at her widest points from center of chest, all the way around the biggest part of her barrel, to center of her tail and it came to 78 inches. I ended up ordering a size 76 because her other winter blanket is a 74 so it just seemed that a 78 would be too large. The 76 fits her PERFECTLY!I highly recommend this sheet to anyone and everyone, not only for its durability, but because it feels good to have the best dressed pasture horse in the neighborhood. :-)
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I've been using this for about a month now and I love it. The flies have not yet come out in full force so it is being used more as a sun shield/light weight sheet. The fit is perfect on my warmblood. It has been washed and hung to dry a few times and still looks brand new. I ordered it in Smartpink and my mare looks gorgeous in it!
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Screen porch for your horse! I bought this fly sheet because my daughter's horse is mildly allergic to fly sprays AND is super attractive to all kinds of insects. We picked the SmartPlaid because my daughter loves it, and the prices are reasonable. Our horse is super happy with the fly sheet. We've had a very wet spring here, and the bugs are now out in force. With her mesh sheet and her fly mask, she is her own walking screen porch. She grazes quite happily while her pasture-mates come in and stand in their stalls to escape the bugs. Sadly, the SmartPlaid fly mask is too small for her giant head and rubs her eyes, but the sheet is super cute and does the job.
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful and functional I purchased this sheet to help keep my horse clean during a show, and it did just that. The fact that it is stylish, fits true to size, and a rich shade of purple justs adds icing to the cake. I recommend this fly sheet to anyone who wants to protect their horse and also possible help keep it clean.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Sheet On The Market I just purchased my second Kensington Protective Sheet. The only reason I had to replace the first is that my horse outgrew it! He wore his original sheet for four years and it held up great! It washed well at the end of each season and stood up to his playing with friends and sleeping in the dirt. It never faded and I never had to replace the straps. I love the color selections and the way the blanket fits. When brand new, they are a little stiff but after a few days they "warm" up to a custom fit. I highly recommend this sheet!
    Date published: 2013-04-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice looking, BUT the protective sheet material began to fray at the shoulder within the first week of wearing. Not what I expected from a higher price highly rated on durability sheet. Its very sharp looking, and fits well.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only thing that works This is the only thing that works on my mom's very destructive quarter horse. We have very mild weather in winter and our horses are pastured. This is the only blanket my mom's horse can wear without ruining it in the winter. If he gets just a little bit hot he is destroying/removing his blankets. This offers the right amount of protection for him without him wanting to rid himself of it warms up during the day.It also is great for my 1983 Gelding, he can wear it 24/7. He has very sparse hair and I always worry about his skin getting irritated by bugs and or all the birds that like to sit on his back and use it as a toilet. He loves it, when we brought out a new one he got all excited and happy, reaching for it over the gate. He hates parting with it when it needs laundering.The only reason we had to replace the last one which we had for 6+ years is our idiot pasture mate took it off the fence after I hosed it off to clean it. She stuffed it in this area where critters gnawed holes in it, by the time I found it where she put it.
    Date published: 2013-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for horses in turnout! My 2 year old was constantly carving up his back while playing with his pasture mate and exploring in the woods. This sheet is amazing because it let him grow back hair on all his scabs and prevented any new ones from forming. I had one problem where there was a defect in the stitching and the piping detached from part of the sheet after a month. I immediately called SmartPak and the customer service representative was wonderful helping me sort it all out. I just sent it back to them and I got a brand new sheet in the mail shortly after. I love this line so much that I ordered his blanket this year in the Thinsulate SmartBlue as well. It looks very handsome on black horse
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite fly sheet This fly sheet in smart blue is absolutely eye catching as well as the best ive had to get the Job done. It's approaching winter and with a light weight fleece or cooler under it you can even turn it into a light weight blanket. Definitely would recommend others to purchase this product!
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thrilled with the fly sheet I have a number of horses from Friesians to Thoroughbreds...these sheets fit each of them perfectly. They stretch to fit...I have not had any issues with durability, quality or fit with any of my horses. Would recommend them highly!
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will definitely buy another one! Great fly sheet! We live in an area where it is very hot in the summer. When my horse comes in the stall to eat in the evening she is amazingly cool under this fly sheet. Fits true to size.
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it this is the second smart pak fly sheet i have bought ,i got the purple for my daughters grulla mare and it looks so nice on her, these blankets feel thicker than my other kinsington blankets and seem to fit well,i wish the special colors were a bit cheaper, but i do injoy being the only one at the ranch in purple....
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase I love my new purple fly sheet. This sheet fits my horse great. I ordered a 84 for my big warmblood. He has only been wearing a week or so but the quality is definitely there. The mesh looks incredibly tough while being light and breathable. Most importantly it is keeping the flies off his body! Everyone at the barn loves the purple. SmartPak please make the fly mask with ears in purple so that he can match!!
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the investment! I tried another fly sheet first, which I returned & ended up ordering one of these sheets. I remember looking at this sheet in red in the Smartpak catalog and thinking how sharp it looked ...let me say that it looks very snazzy on when seeing it in person! What's more, I was happy with the fit, the quality of the sheet material and the straps. A nice feature is that you can clip/un-clip the belly strap from either side. I was so impressed, that I purchased two more! Smartpurple is also a very nice color! And the matching fly masks are nice too...
    Date published: 2012-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing flysheet Super durable, stays in place and doesn't get ripped and torn like all others. it isn't as stiff as I thought it might be either. Love it!
    Date published: 2012-08-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't work out I am struggling to find clothing that fits my horse. I had a Kensington sheet that I bought years ago that didn't rub, so I was confident that if I replaced it with the same size I would be good. Not so. This one is the very tough fabric I am looking for and it is well made, but it started to rub Toby's shoulders immediately. In addition, the metal bracket that the girth buckle is attached to sheared off one day a couple weeks into use. It appears to be cheap pot metal. If the horse got his leg through it then I am grateful for the breakaway design. The end result is that I have owned this sheet less than three weeks and have had to stop using it due to poor fit. If it did fit, I'd need a replacement girth strap. Overall, I'm disappointed.
    Date published: 2012-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the price This fly sheet is more expensive than some, but it is well worth the price. They're extremely durable, even resisting tears on the one horse that likes to scratch his back on tree branches! Look at it this way: you can spend $30 on a fly sheet that only lasts 1-2 seasons, or spend a little more on this one that will last much longer. Also, this one seems to keep out dust and dirt better than the lighter weight fly sheets, so the horse stays cleaner, which is nice too!
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Fly Sheet This is a nice, strong, heavy duty fly sheet. I really first bought it because of the cute pink plaid pattern, which looks nice on my daughter's white pony whose name is Pink! The only thing is, I wish it had a flap over the tail. We put a fly sheet on her for sun protection as much as fly protection and I wish it covered/shaded her rear end. (She has pink sensitive skin). Maybe it would protect against the bugs that cause sweet itch too.
    Date published: 2012-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and Attractive Loving this sheet-holding up well to my colts antics and doing a great job as well!
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Functional, Fashionable, and Protective! After summers of relentless flies and mosquitos, I had to buy a fly sheet. I had read many positive reviews of the Kensington Protective Sheet, I thought I would give it a try! It's very easy to put on my horse and he didn't seem to mind it either. The mesh is very soft and durable. It protected my horse not only from the insects but from the hot Florida sun! It also fit perfectly--not too big, not too small! My horse is on the more rambunctious and high energy side, yet, I never had it accidentally come undone or find it randomly laying in the pasture. Excellent fly sheet! It is also very fashionable and matches his mask, boots, and my grooming tote!
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from awesome blanket very durable, fits pretty well. great for turnout.
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Sheet My horses are usually very hard on their sheets....the Kensington sheets are standing up very well. Really like the way they mold to fit
    Date published: 2012-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Quality Purchase I have had this sheet for about two months now and am delighted that I bought it. My horse rolls a lot and is playful with his pasture mates, and despite that, the sheet has held up very well & also cleans up nicely with a good hosing. I also like the snaps & buckles as they work well, snap easily, but are reliable & safely stay fastened. The sheet has protected his coat from being sun-bleached, helped him with the flies, not rubbed his shoulders, and frankly- it looks sharp on him too.
    Date published: 2012-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, basic sheet This sheet has durable, breathable mesh, but the mare tore the girth strap in less than 6 hours just from a short roll in the dirt. It tore along the stitches of the girth strap.This sheet keeps the bugs off and they don't get too hot (in Florida!), but it doesn't protect the belly or back thighs.Decent sheet, but I would splurge for one with a belly wrap and detachable neck if your horse is sensitive.
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! I love this Kensington protective sheet. Fits great, no rubs. Keeps the flys off but my horse stays cool. Still looks new after using it everyday. I wanted to purchase one for a while and when it came out in SmartPurple I had to have it. My friends are jealous!
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    • 2015-05-27T09:47CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_166
    • loc_en_US, sid_2294, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.