Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Kensington Protective Sheet

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12294
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Kensington Protective Sheet provides maximum protection from biting insects, cuts, and rubs.  This sheet provides protection for up to 78% of UV rays.

Made in the U.S.A.

Favorite Features

  • 1000 x 2000 denier 
  • Withstands fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear, even in the most severe weather condition
  • Lined shoulders keep the sensitive horse's shoulders free from rubs
  • Includes elastic leg straps
  • One adjustable belly surcingle and two leg straps  
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "This is the blanket that inspired it all! ...
    Description:
    "This is the blanket that inspired it all! The Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout was created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland for the most fashionable and functional turnout around. Rhino’s exclusive Barrier Technology means that even ...
    "The Back on Track Exercise Sheet is excellent ...
    Description:
    "The Back on Track Exercise Sheet is excellent for use during warm-up sessions, riding tours as well as following exercise / competition sessions. The Exercise Sheet is breathable and tolerates a degree of water or dampness. Material: (2 options) Fabric ...
    "It is the ultimate armor to protect your ...
    Description:
    "It is the ultimate armor to protect your horse from the pests of summer! Lightweight mesh sheet with oversized tail flap and removable neck rug provides a layer of physical protection from poll to tail to keep bugs off your ...
    "The Blue Ribbon Fly Sheet is a home ...
    Description:
    "The Blue Ribbon Fly Sheet is a home staple that now has horse show appeal! This super durable 17 x 11 Denier textilene mesh fabric provides 80% UV protection to prevent coat bleaching and will actually keep your horse cooler ...
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new to the Bravo range, and features Horseware's high cut neck design and V-front closure for a snug fit. 1200D polyester outer with polyester lining and front leg arch. Imported. Also Available: Matching ...
    "Horseware style and fit at an economical price! ...
    Description:
    "Horseware style and fit at an economical price! This is a fantastic blanket for the money, backed by the Horseware brand that you can trust. Imported Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of ...
    "The Baker Turnout Blanket will never go out ...
    Description:
    "The Baker Turnout Blanket will never go out of style! This tough turnout is made from 1200 Denier Rip-Stop Polyester that can withstand a great deal of abuse. This stylish yet practical turnout also features a waterproof/breathable membrane which is ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Protective Sheet is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 224.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from My horse's blanket size is 72 and I read that these run a bit small so I got her a 74 inch. It was still about 2 to 3 inches too small. This blanket is also not very breathable. My horse sweats in it a lot so I have to take it off regularly to let her cool off.
    Date published: 2015-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs big & very stiff at first
    Date published: 2015-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great! Fits small.
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful fly sheet! This is a great sheet, very well made, sizing is 100% true. Fits extremely well. Material is heavy enough to not rip, shred or otherwise be wrecked!. Very breathable so horses stay cool while wearing it. An excellent value if you're looking for a quality fly sheet.
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sheet ever! I bought this sheet 2 years ago and my horse was trying to tear it apart but it stayed to gather very well is very durable!
    Date published: 2015-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love color!!! I have 3 of these want more . Durable fit well and awesome colors
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy fabric, great color choices, runs small I love how sturdy this sheet is- the fabric is thick and won't easily tear. I also love the color choices- the black plaid looks great on my buckskin pony!There are just a couple odd things to mention- first, this sheet runs small. I sized up one size (he measures a 69" and fits most 69" blankets perfectly, but I ordered a 70" in this sheet) and it's just a tad on the small side for him! It is a little roomy in the shoulder/chest, even though my pony has large shoulders, but the overall length from shoulder to hind-quarters is on the short side. The last 3-4" of his butt is not covered by the sheet. It works, though, so I'm keeping it. Hopefully it won't rub him in the shoulders.The other odd thing is that it comes with only one surcingle strap under the belly. Most other sheets come with two, so that you can cris-cross them. It does have the two back straps that go between the back legs, though, and so far the sheet has stayed in place on my pony even though be is pretty active in turnout.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy Duty This fly sheet is great so far. Its only been 2weeks that hes had it on but it fits very well and is true to size and is very well made which i need becaouse my hors is in an enclosure with lots of trees to get snagged on and rocky ground that he rolls on. I am impressed with the durability of this product.
    Date published: 2015-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased I have purchased multiple fly sheets like this. I prefer them to the slinky variety: they hold their shape, stay in place, and are attractive. I prefer the original Kensington fly sheets over the SmartPak Kensington fly sheets as the originals have more options (neck cover, etc.), have a softer wither protector, and have a stronger back design. I only wish they had clasp closures at the chest instead of buckles. They run true to size.
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Pak Pink fly sheet and fly mask I have been using the SmartPak Pink flysheets and flymasks since the first year that they became available,I think. So, that should be about 14 years. Do they wear out? Of course, but I usually get about 5 to 6 years out of them. That is awesome! They are well worth the investment!
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit The material the sheet is made from seems sturdy and breathable. The sage color is attractive and the blanket fits my horse well. He is hard on blankets and although we have only had it the past 2 weeks, it is doing well and he is not picking at it.
    Date published: 2015-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from How to stop static electricity Someone asked a question about static electricity. If you spray Miracle Groom on the underside of your sheets and blankets it will prevent static electricity.
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT: LASTED ME ABOUT 6 YEARS I have used the same two Kensington Protective Sheets (fly sheets) for my two donkeys for the last 6 years. Only at the end of this past summer did the hardware (clips, buckles, and rings) wear out beyond further use. My donkeys are so hard on EVERYTHING--blankets, tack, buckets, fencing, etc.--and the Kensington Protective Sheets have withstood an extraordinary amount of abuse for longer than I ever dreamed they could.Hands down, this product is the best. I have always found, with fly sheets, that you get what you pay for. The Kensington Protective Sheet is definitely worth the price.The only problem is that I now need to replace the fly sheets and I cannot find the Kensington Protective Sheet in small enough sizes... (I need 58-60 inches for my donkeys.)
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Love the Textilene but NOT the static electricitiy Awesome fly blanket and durability for more humid climates! Have a terribly touchy unhappy horse due to the static electricity from the DRY weather we have in AZ -- HOW TO STOP???
    Date published: 2014-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the colours of this sheet I overall loved this product but I did not like how low the front "belly strap" hung. My horse loves to kick high under his chest and it could have easily got stuck. There was no way to adjust it any tighter. Other then that this product felt sturdy and was very lightweight.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Prefer quality of traditional colors. The "Smart"colors of this sheet are nice but the quality is slightly inferior to the traditional colors in red and tan/black plaid. The Smart Pak colors have fleece at the wither instead of the nicer quality slightly padded covered wither pad in the traditional colors and the fit of the Smart Pak version was a bit different and didn't fit my horse as well. Also, the traditional colors have a nice piece of binding along the back that the Smart Pak version doesn't have this. My horses tend to lay down in their stalls and the Smart Blue color showed manure stains immediately. I'm very happy with Smart Pak's exchange program- I returned the Smart Blue and exchanged it for the black/tan which looks very sharp and hides dirt/ manure stains much better than the blue. These are very nice quality and sharp looking fly sheets I have the red and tan/black. My boys look very handsome in these, definately a step above the typical fly sheet.
    Date published: 2014-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fashion for no flys Extremely stylish and effective . Stays bright and looking new.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Sheet I have had a heck of time finding a fly sheet that was durable, fit well, was not "too heavy" for high temperatures etc. The Kensington Protective Sheet is the closest to meeting all those needs that I have found. Hopefully the design won't change so that I can purchase these in years to com.
    Date published: 2014-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Fly Sheet I have had this sheet for about a month now and it has held up great.
    Date published: 2014-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! I have used this fly sheet all summer with only some minor damage (snags) to the neck piece. He has destroyed several other fly sheets within weeks of wearing. I would definitely recommend this for someone who has a horse that will wear this out in the pasture.
    Date published: 2014-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't be damaged, YAY!!! After my blanket repair guy upped his prices I reviewed how much I use him. Way Too Much! I could have bought many horse outfits for the prices I was paying for repairs. And all my fly sheets looked like Frankenstein should be wearing them with all the repair stitches everywhere. So I consciously quit being the prudent New Englander whose motto is "Wear it 'till you wear it out."After I tossed old fly sheets, I scrutinized and I pawed through the SmartPak catalog until I found the best buy for my buck. The Kensington Fly Sheet and Fly Mask grabbed me. So I ordered two with matching masks. They are everything AND MORE that SmartPak claims them to be. I can't say enough about their durability. I have 2 gelding brothers T/Oed together 365 days a year and they play and play ruthlessly. There is lots of tug-a-war going on with sheets and rugs and forget the halter damage they make! Re the Kensington fly sheets: No damage so far! This is THE fly sheet to see your horse through horsey games and rumpus.Plus, Kensington has thought of so many details that are fantastic. For instance, there is elastic in the middle of the nylon leg straps so you get both the durability and the stretch factors. The colors are very attractive too. I have a chestnut in the sage green and a bay in the baby blue. Gorgeous!Both boys seem to love their sheets and masks. They really looked very proud the first morning I turned them out in them. It was eye opening to see them parade around the field in their new outfits. I knew then that this purchase was right.Oh! And the flies don't bother at all, they really work very well.
    Date published: 2014-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sturdy fly sheet Great sheet - fit was good. I ordered a size larger. Seems to be durable. Easy to adjust and put on.
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet My horse has been wearing this sheet for a few weeks. The sheet fits him well and does not rub his shoulders. The sheet also makes his coat shine. The sheet consists of durable construction.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excekkent quality Other fly sheets that I have bought over the years have been torn up within 30 days (my horses are rough). The Kensington sheets I bought 3 years ago are still going strong. Had to buy one for a new horse
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet Very durable and fashionable. Keeps flies and bugs at bay while keeping horses comfortable!
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Fits my warmblood 16.3 mare.perfectly. I really like the color which is unique to Smartpak. I am going to buy the neck piece next
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sizes run small Great material and color but it does run small. I ordered a size 72 for my mare and it stopped at her hind end. All of her blankets and sheets are a 72 and fit just fine. Great fly sheet otherwise!
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better than what I expected After doing my research, I finally decided on the 82" Kensington Smart Purple for my 16.2 hand TB. I had read about how flimsy many other fly sheets were, but I needed something durable. The Kensington Protective Sheet is a fantastic investment! The sheet molded to my horse's shape, so the fit is perfect, and the material is indestructible. My "pony" is comfy and quite stylish... What more could I ask for?
    Date published: 2014-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy! This fly sheet runs small compared to WB. My 15.3H QH normally wears a 72 but I had to purchase an 80. Which is nbd, but it would have been nice to know that they aren't equivalent in size to WB. I had to return 2x..Otherwise, I'm very pleased! It's a beautiful sheet and very durable to withstand playful pasture mates.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Returning Bought this sheet years ago and only used it a couple times because it is so stiff and hot in comparison to the Beval fly sheets. They have a bit of stretch, belly bands, and neck covers included and they're a lighter color. This sheet would be more suitable for a horse that destroys fly sheets easily but even then it's still hot and you have to buy a neck cover to avoid bleaching. Not one of my favorite products but thanks to the happiness guarantee I can buy with confidence.
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    • y_2017, m_3, d_27, h_2
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_204
    • loc_en_US, sid_2294, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders