Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Kensington Fly Mask with Ears

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12291

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A fly mask that lasts! Textilene® is a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable enough to withstand outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensures protection and long lasting color. The fabric provides years of reliable relief against the sun, wind and dirt. Plus, the Textilene® fabric is fully recyclable.

Favorite Features

  • Constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene® fabric
  • Double eye darts for maximum room around the eyes
  • Mesh ears to keep bugs out
  • Heavy duty double locking VELCRO® Brand Closure and elastic neck strap will ensure a correct fit and will keep the mask on and in place
  • Fleece around the nose and neck will keep your horse comfortable
  • Provides 73% UV protection

Sizing It Up

Small (Large Pony/Yearling)
Medium (Arab/Cob)
Large (Horse)
X-Large (Warmblood/Small Draft)

Kensington Fleece Fly Masks run slightly large, so if you think your horse may be between sizes, please size down.

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Fly Mask with Ears is rated 4.2424 out of 5 by 99.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product, a little on the big side. This fly mask, is very well made and super cute in the pink plaid :) I bought a size XL because that is what a rep for SmartPak said to buy for my 17hh warmblood. It was too big, so i had to exchange for a L. Overall good product, and super cute!
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kensington Fly Mask with Ears Worth the extra money for this fly mask. Quality is excellent. Best one I have purchased.
    Date published: 2010-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Fly Mask I have a half draft who is hard to fit. This fly mask covers his face well with plenty of room for his eyes and ears. There is no rubbing off of hair because of bad fit and it stays in place. Thank you.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly mask Love this mask. I have had trouble finding one that my horse will actually keep on, but this one has stayed put! He has access to his paddock 24/7, so it's important to have a mask that will be comfortable for him to wear and will protect him from the bugs.
    Date published: 2010-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable.. but very short I bought the oversized and felt it barely covered my horse's eyes. I am returning for the longer version. We shall see how that fits.
    Date published: 2010-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great flymask Durable, has not rubbed my sensitive mare, stays put. I think the ears are a little on the big side, makes my mare look more like a mule than a TB :)
    Date published: 2010-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Purchase! I really enjoy the four fly masks I recieved from you all. They look really good on my horses and I think my horses are comfortable in them. I love the colors, but i especially like the ones with the ears that are breathable. I got two of them that have different ears than the other and the ones that are breathable seem to make my horses alot more comfortable. I also really like that the velcro is very strong so my horses cant take them off eachother! Although one of my horses is an escape artist and manages to get himslef out of this fly mask as well without help from the other horses. I might as well duct tape it to his head! Just kidding! My other three horses keep theirs on just fine. Overall, I am very satisfied about this product, the price, look, fit, and quality. They are the best fly masks I have EVER bought. THANKS!
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Only Choice After trying a number of other fly masks on the market, Kensingtons are the only choice for me. The double latch is a must for my guys, since they will pull them off each others faces otherwise. I've been able to use them more than one season in a row, which is very budget friendly. Absolutely LOVE the red color on my bay!
    Date published: 2010-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable Fly Mask I have two large warmbloods and the large size mask fits them very well. The mask is durable and a good value for the price.
    Date published: 2010-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exelent I love this product! Its durrable, yet looks good on my horse. The black looks great on bay horses!
    Date published: 2010-01-00
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sizes run large I felt like the product was very well made. Order large based on description, but it was too big. I have 2 quarter horses. Had to send back and exchange for medium. At this time I am waiting for the medium to come in. Hope it fits.
    Date published: 2009-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good product This product is really good. It works, and the only flaw I would say is the ears are very big. Overall, I would recommend this product to someone.
    Date published: 2009-09-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Uncomfortable When we purchased the fly mask we were happy that it was so strong as it was for our 3 year old colt that destroys masks/fly sheets. However when we put it on we noticed it was really stiff and our colt tried everything to rub it off (so he didn't like it either).
    Date published: 2009-09-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Oversized & Bad Rub At first, I really liked this fly mask, until when I got my horse, it was probably 1 or 2 sizes too big. It has a nice snug fit, until I started noticing it REALLY rubbing on my horses mane and under his chin and a little on his cheeks. There is a horse next to mine, who pulls on this fly mask all day, the horse tore the screening around the eyes (poorly made). Though, I do like the soft fleece for the ears. It rubs WAY too much though. Very stiff fly mask too.
    Date published: 2009-08-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Draft Fly Mask Ever This product was stiff and uncomfortable. The ear pieces were too wide apart to fit my 18-hand 2000-pound Percheron Mare. She refused to wear it. My Clydesdale mare was kind enough to try it and then tried to immediately rub it off on the first tree she saw. The Crusader mask I bought was great, this was unuseable.
    Date published: 2009-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from First fly mask This was my first fly mask purchase (just bought my first horse) and it's held up well so far. The fleece is great as is the ear lining and my horse doesn't seem to mind having it on at all. My only complaint is that it's a little too big for my QH mare who seems to between sizes with bridles as well. A few stitches later and we were back in business and still loving the product.
    Date published: 0028-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This is a great fly mask with excellent durability and cleans well. Highly recommended. Very attractive design too.
    Date published: 2009-07-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the money While the Kensington fly mask is attractive in the photos, the real product is not what I expected at all. The fit was good, but the material is very stiff and plasticy. My horse wore it 2 days, and the seams were frayed, he had ripped holes in the ears beyond repair and his eyes were puffy and irritated. I expect to get some wear and tear on any fly mask, and I've gotten pretty good at fixing little things, but this fly mask didn't last to the end of the week - was definitely not worth the money. Would not recommend it.
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Flymask I was looking for a flymask that my horse would not destroy in a few days. The ears on this mask are made out of tougher material than the other masks which means holes are harder to make. Overall, this is a great mask for the money, I won't be going back to the other brands.
    Date published: 2009-06-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from lasted one day I have a horse who rubs his ears. I thought that this sounded like the "toughest" material on the market.Imagine my horror and disappointment when he had totally rubbed off one of the ears after just one day in the pasture!!!!!!!!!!I just don't know where to turn...any ideas
    Date published: 2009-06-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad fit These masks are very stiff. They gave my horses really bad rubs under the chin and near the forelock. The horses are worried about having them put on their heads even though they are always good about having face masks put on. I think it is because the material is so heavy and thick. I am going to return the masks, unfortunately.
    Date published: 2009-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart and Durable I am buying another Kensington fly mask for my big OTTB simply because it would seem that I sent his larger size off with my smaller horse - darn it - and he needs that bigger size These last f-o-r-e-v-e-r and resist all the gelding games in the pasture. The one I have now is going on 4 years and looks like new. Hoses off beautifully. Casey actually pushes his head into it during fly season.
    Date published: 2009-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly-mask yet! Great colors (I got the black plaid), super-durable material, fantastic price! Do size up, though, according to the instructions in the description. My horse goes in a horse-size bridle but I bought the oversize in this - I was glad I did because any smaller would NOT have fit him at all. Only other thing that's noteworthy is that on mine, the ears are plain black mesh instead of the same as the face like the picture shows, but I don't mind because the material on the ears on the one I got is much softer!
    Date published: 2009-05-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable, Stylish Fly Mask I've bought plenty of fly masks over the last few years. The Kensington masks seem to last the longest. Not only are they durable, they are pretty stylish with the understated plaids. I love that they have the fleece to prevent rubs, and the double hook-and-loop fastener provides great security when the boys decide to play "tag" with the fly masks! The only reason I didn't give it an overall rating of 5 ribbons is that I would prefer that the ears were made of a lighter mesh rather than the polypropylene material--however, I do like that they are lined with the lighter fabric so it's more comfortable on sensitive ears.
    Date published: 2009-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fly Mask Since fly season has not yet arrived I have not had the opportunity to use. However, I did try this on my horse and think it will do a great job during summer months.
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great protection from gnats! My mare needed some kind of ear protection from the bugs, that had to protect a wound as well. The Kensington Fly Mask with Ears is great! The ears are stiff, lined with soft fleece and a bit oversized, so it keeps the material from rubbing. My only wish is that Kensington made a large pony size with ears. I got the small and she can roll and rub the mask off.
    Date published: 2008-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ever Of all the fly masks I have used this one fits the best. The soft trim also helps prevent rubbing.
    Date published: 2007-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these I LOVE these fly masks. I've had mine for 3 years now and only ordered a new one because I wanted the "Smart" colors! I've never lost one in the pasture. They hold up great!
    Date published: 2006-04-28
    • 2016-02-05T15:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_93
    • loc_en_US, sid_2291, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.