Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Kensington Breakaway Halter with Lead

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12322

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional!

Favorite Features

  • Triple stitch, 1” nylon webbing with padded nose band
  • Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat
  • Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8” poly lead adds a touch of fashion to your everyday halter 
  • Exclusive USA made 2002 TEXTILENE ® Mesh is specially formulated to withstand fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear
  • Brass plated snaps and hardware to insure maximum strength.

Sizing It Up

Small (Pony/Yearling)
Medium (Arab/Cob)
Large (Standard Horse)
XLarge (Warmblood/Small Draft)

Please note- sizes tend to run small. If your horse is a large cob, then you should consider ordering a large size halter. If your horse is a large horse, then you should consider order an XLarge size halter.

Halter Size...Crown Piece (ring to middle hole)...Cheek Piece...Nose Band...Throat Latch
Small...12 ½ "...5"...8"...10"
Medium...16 ½"...6 ½"...9"...13"
Large...18"...7"...11"...14"
XLarge...20 ½"...7"...11"...14"

Importe.

Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Breakaway Halter with Lead is rated 4.4966 out of 5 by 149.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the look but not the price For the quality of the halter, i think the price is a little high. I love the design, but for the price i think it could be a little more durable and tough. Ive had mine for two years and it shows alot of wear, especially under the noseband . I love to stay with the "kensington theme", but the halter wore down quickly with use, where as the fly mask, boots, and sheet are tough as nails. For the higher price id like them to be a little more durable than the 25$ halters at tractor supply.
    Date published: 2011-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Buy! I bought this halter for my Arabian gelding in the light blue and I absolutely love it! He is black and the overlays are light blue/white/black plaid which looks great on him. Halter seems to be great quality, brass is nice and shiny and has not turned at all, although the brass on the lead line has started to a bit, after only a month, but it was free with the halter, so I'm okay with that. Some people were saying to order up a size but I disagree- my gelding usually wears a cob and the medium size was perfect for him and ran true to size. I also ordered the extra breakaway piece but don't see any problems in the construction, it should hold up fine as long as your horse is a frequent puller backer or head tosser. Definitely recommend!!!
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from kensington breakaway halter w/lead This halter is exactly what I was looking for, stylist and safe at an affordable price.
    Date published: 2011-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definately a good buy I bought two of these halters after reading the other reviews, I'm glad that I did. They look beautiful and are made well. My mare did rear and pull away from the trailer and one of them broke (as it should have) I am not upset about it. I will be buying these for all of my horses soon, but I would definately invest in the replacement strap...never know what might happen :)
    Date published: 2011-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Disappointing 2nd time around... originally i ordered the Smart Blue O/S halter for my Oldenburg mare---fit beautifully, I was incredibly impressed with the good quality stitching and durability of the halter. Just recently i went to the Smartpak store and picked up the green color---looks great, but when i got home i saw that the lead rope was a disaster. one of the nylon strings (for lack of a better word) was defected (lumpy). I was very disappointed...i expected better quality.i love this combo set, my only complaint is that the leather tab seems to be a little bit thin/flimsy---especially when you have a 1200lb warmblood on the other end of the rope who thinks eating grass is more fun than going places with a human.
    Date published: 2011-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter! I'm very impressed with the quality of this halter! Although I purchased my new horse (& this halter) less than a month ago, it appears very durable. The padding on the nose is very nice, and even though it's white, it has stayed pretty clean. The blue plaid looks really sharp on my black Paint gelding. I was also impressed with the quality of the lead rope, it's longer & nicer than I expected.
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty! Bought the mint/sage - very pretty on my Chestnut. A little wide in the nose, but otherwise fits great.
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Halter! If something ever happens to this halter, I want another one just like it. It looks perfect; it's well made; it's comfortable for my horse...there's nothing I would change. I read in the other reviews it ran small, so I bought a larger size. I don't think I really should have done that, as this one is a little big on my mare. I would say it runs true to size. Also bought the extra breakaway piece, but thankfully haven't had to use it. Highly recommend this halter.
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it in blue, ADORABLE in pink! I've had this halter in SmartBlue Plaid for my chestnut mare for about a year now. It was finally time to get a new halter for my white pony mare, and as the blue one has worn so well, I opted to buy again. As the pony is my little sister's, what choice did I really have but to buy the SmartPink?!? She looks absolutely adorable in it. She's a very large pony, so I opted for the horse size. It fits her, but I might have gone with a size smaller. We've gotten multiple compliments on it, and I love the matching lead line- no one else has one nearly as awesome!
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, attractive halter I bought this for my golden chestnut Trakehner mare last summer, and the SmartBlue plaid looks absolutely amazing on her! The padding on the noseband is easy to clean- just a damp rag works wonders- and has yet to split or crack. I would agree with the reviews that say that this halter runs small- my girl wears a cob in everything else, but I originally got a medium and had to send it back for a large. (Thanks or being so great about the exchange, by the way! :D) It has withstood halter tag games, spooks, winter ice, spring mud, etc... and is only a bit faded. Definitely worth the money!
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great color and fit! I bought this halter for the SmartBlue plaid color. I love the quality, and the halter fits extremely well. I did have some trouble with the leather safety piece for the first few months. It seems it's more durable after it has been worn in a bit. My pony never lost this halter, which is surprising as he has managed to destroy or lose every other one he has had. The halter is so nice, someone at my barn stole it when she moved her horses too! I promptly ordered a replacement and am extremely satisfied.
    Date published: 2011-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fashion statement! Great halter with matching lead rope. Very satisfied with the product.
    Date published: 2011-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great on my grey TB It fits perfectly, quality is great, and the red looks wonderful on my big grey TB gelding!
    Date published: 2011-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter Ever I love this halter! It looks so good on my QH Gelding. I like that it's leather padded and it also comes with a matching lead rope. I have most of the SmartBlue tack avaliable and it all looks so cute together! This is a great halter and well worth the money spent.
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice I got the green and was worried I wouldn't like the color. Much nicer in person. I already have the halters and leads for four other horses so I already know it is well made and very safe. I have QH's and these halters are good fit for their head shape.
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter I ever owned. My daughter has had this halter for over a year and a half. It still looks brand new! I have gone through four or five. I like for my halters to look new and washing them doesn't always help. It looks great and it match all our other Blue Kensington accessories! We have the stall guards, helmet case, boot case, etc!!
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest Halter The Kensington Breakaway halter with lead has everything and more in a great safety halter, triple stitching, nylon webbing and a padded nose band - not only is it well made it is a sharp looking halter. I have it in SmartPak blue plaid, on my white horse it looks wonderful, awesome. Best of all it comes with a matching lead which is an added bonus. They are both beautiful. A great product.
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs small Runs small! I had to buy a "Full" or large for my small QH who normally wears a cob size everything.
    Date published: 2011-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS HALTER! I think this is a GREAT halter/lead rope! It's strong, high quality, and a great design! I also love the breakaway strap feature, I feel like my horse is safer that way just in case. I reccomend you buy it!
    Date published: 2010-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Halter Just bought this beautiful halter for my dauthters new horse. Its beautiful and the breakaway feature works perfectly! Our horse pulled away from the trailer tie and was able to break away unharmed....We are thankful for that!
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Pony Chic! I love all of Kensington's SmartPink products. They're my mare's "almost Burberry" stuff as a friend calls them, and they are certainly of the same quality. This halter does run small, as my horse normally wears cob-sized bridles and halters, but she's a large in this, so it's best to order a size up. But even after nearly a year of use it still looks brand new. The leather is supple enough that it will break easily but not so supple that it's super thin and will break TOO easily. Just a wonderful halter. I'm getting the SmartBlue for a friend's horse, she and I like this halter so much!
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Cute Halter! I love this Halter! It is safe and seems to be extremely durable so far.
    Date published: 2010-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kensington Breakaway Halter Love the style and soft padded nose band. The breakaway servded its purpose the first week. My mare spooked and it broke quick and clean without any further damage to my mare or surrounding area. The leather breakaway is easy to replace. All-in-all a great halter.
    Date published: 2010-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Halter! I bought this for my 16.3hh TB Mare and it fits perfect! Looks beautiful against her dark bay color! I love how Smartpak sells multiple things in this color...I am currently adding to my collection so everything matches. The breakaway feature is great, although the straps break a little too easy in my opinion, rather be safe than sorry!
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super deal! L-O-V-E this halter. VERY attractive (ordered the SmartBlue plaid). My thin-skinned TB gets rubs even with the best fitting halters, and the padding on this one has alleviated the problem. It's also very durable, after a month it still looks brand new. The lead rope is also great quality and matches perfectly.I wasn't thrilled with the leather breakaway tab that came with it, it was a little flimsy. However, the replacement tabs are much nicer. As mentioned in the product description, it does appear to run a little small - but it wasn't a problem.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it I was having a hard time finding a fun looking yet safe halter for my horse. Then i came across this one the Blue plaid matches his winter blanket and looks great with his light dapple bay coat. Finaly a cute and safe halter for my best boy!
    Date published: 2010-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute Halter I love this halter! It is cute, classy and safe for my 18 hand Jumper. I know that my horse will remain safe during her daily activities and, be fashionable in the stable.
    Date published: 2010-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Great halter! And the description of the size was right! My 16.2hh mare has a hard to fit head- too small for a typical 'large horse' sized halter, but a bit too big for a regular sized horse halter. The LARGE in this one fit perfectly and looks beautiful on her <333 The only thing Id suggest would be to purchase a replacement breakaway piece right off the bat. The leather on this one is very thin... If I could change one thing it would be that I would like the original leather to be a little thicker.
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute halter, awkward fit I purchased this halter to use with a grazing muzzle. I was looking for one that didn't have an adjustable noseband, because the ring around the noseband on my old halter was rubbing my horse raw when he had the grazing muzzle on. Thankfully, this halter seems to have solved that problem and he can now wear the muzzle without a problem.My horse tends to be in between cob and horse. I picked horse size, and it was probably the right choice, but the noseband is too big. It's not an issue since he only wears it with the muzzle, but I probably wouldn't recommend this halter for turnout if you have an Arab or Morgan or any horse with a shapley head.This was definitely more than I was hoping to spend for a halter, but it was the only breakaway without an adjustable noseband that I could find. If it lasts, it will be worth the purchase price. It doesn't hurt that the plaid pattern looks cute on my horse.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful This halter is very beautiful. I wish that the Kinsington products did not cost so much but maybe that is why they are better looking and functional. Lead rope was of nice quality but nothing special
    Date published: 2010-07-03
    • 2016-02-13T14:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_136
    • loc_en_US, sid_2322, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.