Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

JP Korsteel Oval Mouth Eggbutt

Korsteel
- Item #16148

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication between horse and rider. The exclusive curved design provides comfort and enhances performance.

Thick, kind, double-jointed Oval Mouth Eggbutt with curved bars eliminates "nutcracker" tongue pinching and encourages the horse's chewing motion. 13mm mouthpiece.

4 3/4", 5" or 5.5".

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
    Description:
    Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making them soft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless ...
    Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels ...
    Description:
    Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. Rein loops add leverage to the simple loose ring. 13mm thick. Imported.
    A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits ...
    Description:
    A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits are covered with a soft, flexible, yet extremely durable, apple-scented plastic which encourages acceptance and softness. The Happy Mouth Plain Mullen Loose Ring has an inner core of twisted wire for more ...
    Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels ...
    Description:
    Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. 13mm mouthpiece. Imported.
    Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels ...
    Description:
    Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. 20 mm mouth. Imported.
    The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the ...
    Description:
    The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting in soft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in ...
    Why We Love This The Stubben Loose Ring ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Stubben Loose Ring Snaffle- Copper Mouth is a double broken loose ring that is suitable for all disciplines and all levels.  It is equally functional for beginners and experienced riders.  The Sweet Copper metal offers ...
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    JP Korsteel Oval Mouth Eggbutt is rated 4.8333 out of 5 by 42.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for I was looking for a gentle bit for my Arabian mare to ride in both Dressage and endurance. I had a D-ring with a similar mouthpiece but my reins kept getting caught around the corners. This egg-butt elimiates that but I still get the nice mouth piece. My horse has accepted it just fine!
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bit ever Really simple and mild for my 5 year old :) Love this bit
    Date published: 2013-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit Solid bit, mare seems to like it. I'd borrowed a different lozenge bit that was a 5.5" and was a little too big, and a different 5" bit that was a little too small. Since I couldn't find this bit anywhere in the US in a 5.25" (for under $100), I first ordered the 5.5". It was very big. The 5", though, fits perfectly. So, I guess I would say that, although inches can't change, this bit fits a little bigger than it's actual measurements--at least as compared to the others I tried from different companies.
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Bit I bought my horse in January of 2013 and just started riding her in a bit again this September (2013). In the meantime I was doing Parelli in a Parelli rope halter. My horse accepted this bit right off the bat. I used Happy Mouth bits on her before and she always fidgeted with them. She does not fidget with this bit. It fits true to size and is well made. The price is great too.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely comfortable!!! So pleased with the low profile. Very easy to adjust the fit. And doesn't look like a melon on your head;)
    Date published: 2013-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bit! Me and my trainer both use this bit! We can use it on the more difficult horses or the sweet, old schooling ponies! Super nice and great quality! Also very soft and simple, so it can be used all around!
    Date published: 2013-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a bad bit I liked this bit quite a lot, but my horse definitely prefers a flat french link to this bit. Great quality as expected from Korsteel! A bit squeaky because horses love to chew this bit, but that doesn't bother me.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got this bit for training the retired racehorse I just adopted because I wanted something mild, flexible and slightly different from what she would have raced in. So far it seems to agree with her very well and I am very happy with my purchase. My only complaint would be that it squeaks a lot, but I've never used anything buy single jointed snaffles before so maybe the squeakiness is normal for this kind of bit?
    Date published: 2013-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super bit! Bought this for my bracing, open-mouth TB, and I noticed a difference the first time that I used it. He stayed on the bit more, and with less fuss. Great purchase!
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! I was looking for a bit with a solid cheek but an oval lozenge. I considered getting the Sprenger Dynamic RS Eggbutt but decided to try the JP Oval Mouth Eggbutt first. Wow, I'm so happy I tried the cheap one first! My green 4 and a half year old gelding is now really working into the bit instead of being fussy. Beautiful bit, he loves it and so do I!
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite bit After years of use, the bit looks great!! I have 3 of my horses going in this bit. They have very nice soft, responsive mouths.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 pc eggbutt works well I have an very mouthy horse , he is always a busy guy chewing on a rope if left around or what ever.I tried this bit as I like the way he goes overall in a 3 pc bit but had not used the egg butt 3 pc on him till now, and if anything his mouth is a BIT more quiet . I do not ever use this bit, or any bit for that matter, two days in a row , after an extensdive European study it was shown horses are all getting a bit of wear and tear , very small , in the place a bit sites in the mouth, by changing bits daily you give them a chance to heal no mater how good your hands are, so this is what I do . 3 bridles for each horse and change in a schedule , this bit works well with the upper level dresage this horse is asked to do.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit - Now I Have Two I have 2 younger horses that are just being trained--both very good. I liked the idea of the 3rd piece in the middle so their tongues do not get pinched--wouldn't want my tongue to get pinched! I also saw a similar bit for $80+ This was the second Korsteel bit I pudrchased (setting up a bridle for each horse - Halfie and Arab - nuff said :) so it feels like I got 2 for the price of 1.
    Date published: 2012-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best bit purchase I have tied 5 other bits all price ranges, & my horse responds & accepts this bit. Flexing has improved.
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for fussy horse This bit is fantastic for my fussy girl! We have tried (many) bits, none of which were to her liking. This bit fixed the head flinging and rooting issues we were having, and she is quite happy with it!I will say, it tends to run a little small. She normally take a 5 1/4, but needed a 5 1/2 for this one.
    Date published: 2012-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only bit for fussy horse!!! Have had issues getting my mare to accept contact at the walk in everything we have tried. Put this in and she stopped fussing and relaxed! She seems to love this bit! The fact that they offer a 4 3/4 is great for TB types too!
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Choice I needed a bit to go with my new Harwich Bridle. The TB I lease usually goes in a loose ring snaffle. After reading the reviews I decided to try switching to this. This horse tends to bob his head sometimes at the canter. Since I've been using this bit, it hardly ever happens anymore. It seems to be good quality, however it is a little squeaky.
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my go-to bit I have not found a horse that does not do well in this bit.
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for an excellent price! I bought this bit as the first non-rubber bit for my Thoroughbred. He is a terrible bit chewer, and I was tired of replacing the rubber bits every couple of months. This bit worked wonderfully, and has stood up to his vigorous chewing for over 2 years!My horse has a very sensitive mouth, and hates the nutcracker action of regular snaffles. He was very relaxed in this bit, and willing to take up contact steadily. The eggbutt adds the right amount of stability on the sides of his mouth for him to feel comfortable.Love it!
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit Nice bit, seems to be well made and I like the lozenge in the middle instead of a flat plate. I only wish it were available in a range of mouthpiece thicknesses. I bought this for use on my youngster when I really start training him; the eggbutt is good for that as he starts to learn the aids, but a thicker mouthpiece would be more gentle.
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product My quarterhorse gelding Rory really responded nicely to this bit. Nice looking and good quality!
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality I have purchased other bits from this brand in the past and had great luck with them, this was no exception. Sits nicely in his mouth, no pinching, seems to be better than the loose ring I had for him. Overall very happy with this bit.
    Date published: 2011-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this on my new horse......who was kind of heavy on the slow-twist full cheek snaffle that they used with him.......and he instantly softened and quieted his mouth with this new bit for me. This is a great bit. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse approves! Very pleased with this bit. I had been riding my four year old TWH filly in a hollow mouth single joint snaffle with loose ring cheek pieces. She was going okay in it, but was giving some resistance when working on collection, or backing up. I tried the JP Oval Mouth at the suggestion of my dressage instructor, and my filly took to it on the first ride. No more head tossing, no more sticking her tongue over the bit. She readily accepts contact and is very soft mouthed with it. The bit seems to be high quality and the price is very, very fair.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Korsteel Bit Korsteel bits are always a great buy. Made well and fits the horses mouth prefect.
    Date published: 2011-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Current solution for older OTTB I've had a real contact issue with my OTTB for some time, and in now asking for more connection it has become more obvious. I was using a nice (but big money) loose-ring double-jointed snaffle, but thought that the stability of an eggbutt might stack things more in my favor, and it did. I also tried an eggbutt french link, and an eggbut jointed, neither of which helped. Came back to this (plus reasonable price) and will stay with it.
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit Nice quality bit and my horse accepts it nicely. If your horse likes to chew on the bit, it might squeak a little.
    Date published: 2011-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit! Very nice looking, gentle bit. It works very well and I love the fact that it isn't harsh at all.
    Date published: 2010-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good value this bit is a good value, and nicely made- we have several of these on our horses
    Date published: 2010-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only Bit for My Horses! With the issues I was having with my horse including head shaking and bit evasion, I was pretty sure that a large part of it was the bit. I tried multiple bits with little success until my instructor suggested this one. The result was like night and day. The head shaking stopped and the bit evasion, although it was still there (I am sure that in part she was expecting some type of discomfort), was improved and now we are actually able to work on it with much improvement.It turns out she is a sensitive mare that has a thick tongue with a low palate (per my instructor). The other bit styles I tried were loose ring single joint, kk ultra loose ring french link (she HATED this one), a loose ring french link snaffle, and a loose ring mullen mouth snaffle (she did OK in this one, but my instructor said that I needs something with a little more precision). For whatever reason, this bit did not pinch or poke her mouth. I even bought this for my other horse that I was having some bit related issues with. She loves this bit too.
    Date published: 2010-07-28
    • 2016-02-07T14:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_37
    • loc_en_US, sid_6148, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.