PLEASE NOTE: You may experience errors on our site when using Internet Explorer 10 or lower. Please consider updating your browser, or download Google Chrome.
Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

JP Korsteel Oval Mouth Eggbutt

Korsteel
- Item #16148
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication between horse and rider. The exclusive curved design provides comfort and enhances performance.

Imported

Favorite Features

  • Thick, kind, double-jointed Oval Mouth Eggbutt with curved bars eliminates "nutcracker" tongue pinching
  • Encourages the horse's chewing motion.

 

Sizing

Available in 4 3/4", 5" or 5.5" 13 mm

What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The unique Apple Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to ...
    Description:
    "The unique Apple Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to accept the bit. Space age polymer provides a gentler bit for a happier horse."
    "The unique Apple-Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to accept ...
    Description:
    "The unique Apple-Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to accept the bit. Space age polymer provides a gentler bit for a happier horse. Exacting care goes into each bit: All the bit cheeks and rings are made of a top grade stainless ...
    "Why We Love This The ergonomically formed mouthpiece ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting in soft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners ...
    "Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to ...
    Description:
    "Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to provide maximum comfort and top performance. The curved mouthpiece eliminates interference and stops bit from hitting the roof of the mouth, allowing room for the tongue. The shape also reduces the severe ...
    "Stainless steel. The French Link reduces the nutcracker ...
    Description:
    "Stainless steel. The French Link reduces the nutcracker effect of single-jointed bits, and encourage relaxation. The Korsteel 2 Ring French Elevator applies pressure to the lips, tongue, and bars of the mouth. Imported"
    "Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels ...
    Description:
    "Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. Full cheek with Dr Bristol mouthpiece, slow twist with Copper mouth. Imported."
    "Neue Schule takes on a ""new school"" approach ...
    Description:
    "Neue Schule takes on a ""new school"" approach towards bit technology. With the help of computer design, Neue Schule has the freedom to be more innovative with creation of mouthpieces and cheeks to promote overall comfort for the horse. Neue ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    JP Korsteel Oval Mouth Eggbutt is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it! I've always ridden my young appendix mare in a regular jointed egg butt snaffle but she recently began avoiding contact on the bit while doing collection work so I thought I'd switch it up a bit. The first time I rode her in this she was like a differnt horse. Moving into the contact beautifully and willingly! She and I are both happier now!
    Date published: 2017-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse likes this bit I have several of these JP Korsteel bits and am very pleased with their quality. Best of all. my horse likes them, too! The bits are slightly curved for comfort, and the lozenge is more comfortable than a regular snaffle.
    Date published: 2017-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for the price! I purchased this bit for my three year old Arabian. Because of his low palate I could nolonger use a regular snaffle. Since I have been riding him in this bit he was been working much better. Happy horse, happy rider!!
    Date published: 2016-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! Fantastic useful bit! I will definitely be using this to start green horses in as well as older more experienced ones.
    Date published: 2016-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely balanced, horse loves it! My two younger horses love this bit! Did have a regular snaffle but both weren't in love with them. Ended up buying two of these. At this price, why not?
    Date published: 2016-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for the price I bought this but several weeks ago as the jointed snaffle I was using was causing bracing in my mare. It was suggested I try a smaller but and go with a french link. This bit has made a huge difference for my girl. She is now supple, uses her back, and generally enjoys working again. Also love how my reins don't get caught like with the D ring. Overall great product seems like will hold up.
    Date published: 2016-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit for my horse I was sent the wrong bit, so asked my trainer and he said for me to try it since it was a soft bit. Glad I did, she loved it, and works well with it.
    Date published: 2016-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it I bought this to replace a regular snaffle after he tried a French link. He likes this one really well. I've had Korsteel before and they are a great bit for a great price.
    Date published: 2016-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, but too big I recently purchased this and it is very nice quality, but it is a lot bigger then I expected. It's the right size for my horse's mouth, width wise, but the lozenge was bigger then I expected and the Eggbutt rings are just too big for my horse's little face. Luckily Smartpak has an awesome return policy and I sent it back for a refund. The only reason I didn't give this an "excellent" rating is I because I didn't actually use it, but it seems like a really good bit.
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much larger in person. The size of the bit was much too large for my horse's small mouth. I have to return it. : (
    Date published: 2016-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My busy mouthed horse quieted with this bit. I am not a big believer in changing bits. I generally use Korsteel French links and fix my hands for the horse. I bought this about a year ago. My horse was always busy with his mouth. The first time I switched to this bit he was a lot quieter. I am a convert. This will be the first bit I use from now on.
    Date published: 2016-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit but too heavy I bought this bit for my little mare and it was a heavier bit than anything she's ever had so I returned the bit without ever using it. The bit is well made, and if it had been a few ounces lighter I would have kept it.
    Date published: 2016-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great, comfortable. The 5 1/2 " bit fit my Belgian WB perfectly. She seems right as ease with its contoured design. One small negative is that is squeaks a bit when tacking up. Quality steel cleans up to a polish (I dip it in her water and wipe with a towel after each ride). Looks great and excellent price.
    Date published: 2016-02-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Long lasting Great standard bit a basic everyone should have on hand. High quality sturdy and long lasting. I would recommend.
    Date published: 2015-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bit, true to size. 5" is sized correctly, nice quality bit, smooth joins.
    Date published: 2015-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! Bought this because it worked in the past for one of my OTTB's. I liked how he responded so I got one of my own. It is a nice size that allows some extra brakes without being violent or harsh. Wonderful bit and my boy loves it.
    Date published: 2015-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product, arrived on time and the fit is good, I like the quality of the steel
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice alternative to plain eggbutt snaffle Our trainer had recommended this bit for our Arabian mare, who has a mouth like a warmblood. We borrowed one and liked that she doesn't get as strong with my daughter, who is still learning suppleness and bending in her dressage work. I like that it is still soft like an eggbutt and applies even pressure to the horse's tongue. The bit itself is a nice quality. We just ordered our own.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for I was looking for a gentle bit for my Arabian mare to ride in both Dressage and endurance. I had a D-ring with a similar mouthpiece but my reins kept getting caught around the corners. This egg-butt elimiates that but I still get the nice mouth piece. My horse has accepted it just fine!
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bit ever Really simple and mild for my 5 year old :) Love this bit
    Date published: 2013-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit Solid bit, mare seems to like it. I'd borrowed a different lozenge bit that was a 5.5" and was a little too big, and a different 5" bit that was a little too small. Since I couldn't find this bit anywhere in the US in a 5.25" (for under $100), I first ordered the 5.5". It was very big. The 5", though, fits perfectly. So, I guess I would say that, although inches can't change, this bit fits a little bigger than it's actual measurements--at least as compared to the others I tried from different companies.
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Bit I bought my horse in January of 2013 and just started riding her in a bit again this September (2013). In the meantime I was doing Parelli in a Parelli rope halter. My horse accepted this bit right off the bat. I used Happy Mouth bits on her before and she always fidgeted with them. She does not fidget with this bit. It fits true to size and is well made. The price is great too.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely comfortable!!! So pleased with the low profile. Very easy to adjust the fit. And doesn't look like a melon on your head;)
    Date published: 2013-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bit! Me and my trainer both use this bit! We can use it on the more difficult horses or the sweet, old schooling ponies! Super nice and great quality! Also very soft and simple, so it can be used all around!
    Date published: 2013-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a bad bit I liked this bit quite a lot, but my horse definitely prefers a flat french link to this bit. Great quality as expected from Korsteel! A bit squeaky because horses love to chew this bit, but that doesn't bother me.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got this bit for training the retired racehorse I just adopted because I wanted something mild, flexible and slightly different from what she would have raced in. So far it seems to agree with her very well and I am very happy with my purchase. My only complaint would be that it squeaks a lot, but I've never used anything buy single jointed snaffles before so maybe the squeakiness is normal for this kind of bit?
    Date published: 2013-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super bit! Bought this for my bracing, open-mouth TB, and I noticed a difference the first time that I used it. He stayed on the bit more, and with less fuss. Great purchase!
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! I was looking for a bit with a solid cheek but an oval lozenge. I considered getting the Sprenger Dynamic RS Eggbutt but decided to try the JP Oval Mouth Eggbutt first. Wow, I'm so happy I tried the cheap one first! My green 4 and a half year old gelding is now really working into the bit instead of being fussy. Beautiful bit, he loves it and so do I!
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite bit After years of use, the bit looks great!! I have 3 of my horses going in this bit. They have very nice soft, responsive mouths.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 pc eggbutt works well I have an very mouthy horse , he is always a busy guy chewing on a rope if left around or what ever.I tried this bit as I like the way he goes overall in a 3 pc bit but had not used the egg butt 3 pc on him till now, and if anything his mouth is a BIT more quiet . I do not ever use this bit, or any bit for that matter, two days in a row , after an extensdive European study it was shown horses are all getting a bit of wear and tear , very small , in the place a bit sites in the mouth, by changing bits daily you give them a chance to heal no mater how good your hands are, so this is what I do . 3 bridles for each horse and change in a schedule , this bit works well with the upper level dresage this horse is asked to do.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    • y_2018, m_2, d_21, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_6148, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders