Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

JP Korsteel Oval Mouth Eggbutt

Korsteel
- Item #16148
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication between horse and rider. The exclusive curved design provides comfort and enhances performance.

Thick, kind, double-jointed Oval Mouth Eggbutt with curved bars eliminates "nutcracker" tongue pinching and encourages the horse's chewing motion. 13mm mouthpiece.

4 3/4", 5" or 5.5".

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
    Description:
    Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making them soft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless ...
    Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels ...
    Description:
    Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. Rein loops add leverage to the simple loose ring. 13mm thick. Imported.
    The unique Apple-Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to accept ...
    Description:
    The unique Apple-Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to accept the bit. Space age polymer provides a gentler bit for a happier horse. Exacting care goes into each bit: All the bit cheeks and rings are made of a top grade stainless ...
    Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels ...
    Description:
    Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. 20 mm mouth. Imported.
    Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
    Description:
    Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making them soft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increase your horse's acceptance. Favorite Features Double jointed mouthpiece provides independent action on each side of ...
    The Stubben Loose Ring Snaffle- Copper Mouth is ...
    Description:
    The Stubben Loose Ring Snaffle- Copper Mouth is a double broken loose ring that is suitable for all disciplines and all levels. It is equally functional for beginners and experienced riders. The Sweet Copper metal offers the advantage of combining ...
    Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to ...
    Description:
    Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to provide maximum comfort and top performance. The curved mouthpiece eliminates interference and stops bit from hitting the roof of the mouth, allowing room for the tongue. The shape also reduces the severe ...
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    JP Korsteel Oval Mouth Eggbutt is rated 4.7872 out of 5 by 47.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Long lasting Great standard bit a basic everyone should have on hand. High quality sturdy and long lasting. I would recommend.
    Date published: 2015-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bit, true to size. 5" is sized correctly, nice quality bit, smooth joins.
    Date published: 2015-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! Bought this because it worked in the past for one of my OTTB's. I liked how he responded so I got one of my own. It is a nice size that allows some extra brakes without being violent or harsh. Wonderful bit and my boy loves it.
    Date published: 2015-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product, arrived on time and the fit is good, I like the quality of the steel
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice alternative to plain eggbutt snaffle Our trainer had recommended this bit for our Arabian mare, who has a mouth like a warmblood. We borrowed one and liked that she doesn't get as strong with my daughter, who is still learning suppleness and bending in her dressage work. I like that it is still soft like an eggbutt and applies even pressure to the horse's tongue. The bit itself is a nice quality. We just ordered our own.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for I was looking for a gentle bit for my Arabian mare to ride in both Dressage and endurance. I had a D-ring with a similar mouthpiece but my reins kept getting caught around the corners. This egg-butt elimiates that but I still get the nice mouth piece. My horse has accepted it just fine!
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bit ever Really simple and mild for my 5 year old :) Love this bit
    Date published: 2013-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit Solid bit, mare seems to like it. I'd borrowed a different lozenge bit that was a 5.5" and was a little too big, and a different 5" bit that was a little too small. Since I couldn't find this bit anywhere in the US in a 5.25" (for under $100), I first ordered the 5.5". It was very big. The 5", though, fits perfectly. So, I guess I would say that, although inches can't change, this bit fits a little bigger than it's actual measurements--at least as compared to the others I tried from different companies.
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Bit I bought my horse in January of 2013 and just started riding her in a bit again this September (2013). In the meantime I was doing Parelli in a Parelli rope halter. My horse accepted this bit right off the bat. I used Happy Mouth bits on her before and she always fidgeted with them. She does not fidget with this bit. It fits true to size and is well made. The price is great too.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely comfortable!!! So pleased with the low profile. Very easy to adjust the fit. And doesn't look like a melon on your head;)
    Date published: 2013-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bit! Me and my trainer both use this bit! We can use it on the more difficult horses or the sweet, old schooling ponies! Super nice and great quality! Also very soft and simple, so it can be used all around!
    Date published: 2013-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a bad bit I liked this bit quite a lot, but my horse definitely prefers a flat french link to this bit. Great quality as expected from Korsteel! A bit squeaky because horses love to chew this bit, but that doesn't bother me.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got this bit for training the retired racehorse I just adopted because I wanted something mild, flexible and slightly different from what she would have raced in. So far it seems to agree with her very well and I am very happy with my purchase. My only complaint would be that it squeaks a lot, but I've never used anything buy single jointed snaffles before so maybe the squeakiness is normal for this kind of bit?
    Date published: 2013-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super bit! Bought this for my bracing, open-mouth TB, and I noticed a difference the first time that I used it. He stayed on the bit more, and with less fuss. Great purchase!
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! I was looking for a bit with a solid cheek but an oval lozenge. I considered getting the Sprenger Dynamic RS Eggbutt but decided to try the JP Oval Mouth Eggbutt first. Wow, I'm so happy I tried the cheap one first! My green 4 and a half year old gelding is now really working into the bit instead of being fussy. Beautiful bit, he loves it and so do I!
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite bit After years of use, the bit looks great!! I have 3 of my horses going in this bit. They have very nice soft, responsive mouths.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 pc eggbutt works well I have an very mouthy horse , he is always a busy guy chewing on a rope if left around or what ever.I tried this bit as I like the way he goes overall in a 3 pc bit but had not used the egg butt 3 pc on him till now, and if anything his mouth is a BIT more quiet . I do not ever use this bit, or any bit for that matter, two days in a row , after an extensdive European study it was shown horses are all getting a bit of wear and tear , very small , in the place a bit sites in the mouth, by changing bits daily you give them a chance to heal no mater how good your hands are, so this is what I do . 3 bridles for each horse and change in a schedule , this bit works well with the upper level dresage this horse is asked to do.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit - Now I Have Two I have 2 younger horses that are just being trained--both very good. I liked the idea of the 3rd piece in the middle so their tongues do not get pinched--wouldn't want my tongue to get pinched! I also saw a similar bit for $80+ This was the second Korsteel bit I pudrchased (setting up a bridle for each horse - Halfie and Arab - nuff said :) so it feels like I got 2 for the price of 1.
    Date published: 2012-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best bit purchase I have tied 5 other bits all price ranges, & my horse responds & accepts this bit. Flexing has improved.
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for fussy horse This bit is fantastic for my fussy girl! We have tried (many) bits, none of which were to her liking. This bit fixed the head flinging and rooting issues we were having, and she is quite happy with it!I will say, it tends to run a little small. She normally take a 5 1/4, but needed a 5 1/2 for this one.
    Date published: 2012-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only bit for fussy horse!!! Have had issues getting my mare to accept contact at the walk in everything we have tried. Put this in and she stopped fussing and relaxed! She seems to love this bit! The fact that they offer a 4 3/4 is great for TB types too!
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Choice I needed a bit to go with my new Harwich Bridle. The TB I lease usually goes in a loose ring snaffle. After reading the reviews I decided to try switching to this. This horse tends to bob his head sometimes at the canter. Since I've been using this bit, it hardly ever happens anymore. It seems to be good quality, however it is a little squeaky.
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my go-to bit I have not found a horse that does not do well in this bit.
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for an excellent price! I bought this bit as the first non-rubber bit for my Thoroughbred. He is a terrible bit chewer, and I was tired of replacing the rubber bits every couple of months. This bit worked wonderfully, and has stood up to his vigorous chewing for over 2 years!My horse has a very sensitive mouth, and hates the nutcracker action of regular snaffles. He was very relaxed in this bit, and willing to take up contact steadily. The eggbutt adds the right amount of stability on the sides of his mouth for him to feel comfortable.Love it!
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit Nice bit, seems to be well made and I like the lozenge in the middle instead of a flat plate. I only wish it were available in a range of mouthpiece thicknesses. I bought this for use on my youngster when I really start training him; the eggbutt is good for that as he starts to learn the aids, but a thicker mouthpiece would be more gentle.
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product My quarterhorse gelding Rory really responded nicely to this bit. Nice looking and good quality!
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality I have purchased other bits from this brand in the past and had great luck with them, this was no exception. Sits nicely in his mouth, no pinching, seems to be better than the loose ring I had for him. Overall very happy with this bit.
    Date published: 2011-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this on my new horse......who was kind of heavy on the slow-twist full cheek snaffle that they used with him.......and he instantly softened and quieted his mouth with this new bit for me. This is a great bit. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse approves! Very pleased with this bit. I had been riding my four year old TWH filly in a hollow mouth single joint snaffle with loose ring cheek pieces. She was going okay in it, but was giving some resistance when working on collection, or backing up. I tried the JP Oval Mouth at the suggestion of my dressage instructor, and my filly took to it on the first ride. No more head tossing, no more sticking her tongue over the bit. She readily accepts contact and is very soft mouthed with it. The bit seems to be high quality and the price is very, very fair.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Korsteel Bit Korsteel bits are always a great buy. Made well and fits the horses mouth prefect.
    Date published: 2011-10-18
    • 2016-05-03T15:34CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_42
    • loc_en_US, sid_6148, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders