Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link

Korsteel
- Item #15125

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is a bit with a classic, traditional look and updated link. Made from Copper, the link encourages horses to salivate and play with the bit. This bit is great for horses who need incentive taking contact from a normal snaffle.

Favorite Features

  • Copper link encourages horses to accept the bit

Sizing It Up

4 3/4"
5"
5 1/2"
12mm thick

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is rated 4.7903 out of 5 by 62.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great starter bit I bought this bit for a horse that had been ridden in mainly western curb bits. He seems to really like the bit and salivates nicely in it. It's a great bit.
    Date published: 2015-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this bit as a lunging bit as my mare goes in a ported bit normally. She loved this bit so much that I can school her in it as well and save the other bit for shows.
    Date published: 2015-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse LOVES this bit! My 20 year old Arab gelding has been going in a Dee ring snaffle for as long as I know. I decided to try something different, but not too different. This is essentially what he's used to but with the addition of a copper French link. I had no problems the first time I put it in his mouth and now he practically swallows it when I bridle him. He really likes the copper. Happy horse and happy rider.
    Date published: 2015-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect bit for the price I have a 17 hands OTTB with a sensitive mouth & i've searched & searched for a thinner bit with copper and even willing to spend $170 for a good bit until I saw this JP Korsteel Hunter Dee. At first I thought the oval copper seemed big but when I put in on my horse it worked perfectly well and he loves it. The rings are a bit wider but since I have a big horse its OK because what I was looking for is a thinner bit because some bit may have smaller ring but the metal are so thick and bulky. My horse and I are so happy with this bit and I definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Least expensive double-jointed D available from SP Needed a D bit to fit in at a hunter show. Since I don't do too many, I wanted the cheapest I could find provided it has a lozenge. It feels slightly large, but otherwise no complaints. Does what I need it to! Everything seems smooth and well-made.
    Date published: 2014-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for a young rider! My daughter's pony is a very well schooled connemara gelding. This bit is very forgiving on the pony's mouth with a rider who is just learning to steer and may accidentally pull too hard. There has definitely been better communication between pony and rider since switching to this bit! Love that the copper link encourages him to salivate. I will definitely be purchasing more like this!!
    Date published: 2014-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Bit This is a very nice bit. I unfortunately decided to return it because it seemed a bit heavy and clunky with the oval link, and I needed it for a pony with a small, refined mouth. I think it would be great for a larger mouthed horse, though!
    Date published: 2014-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bit, good price This is a quality bit at a great price, working well for us
    Date published: 2014-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good mouthpiece I love the mouthpiece but the D rings are way to big, especially for my cob size mare's head (wears a yearling halter). The D-Rings are big, and give a little too much bounce in the rein. This curved, slim mouth piece fits in the mouth well, and its nice to find a double link copper mouth. I have lent this out to other people as so many (hot and slow) horses like this mouth. I had better results with the same brand in a loose ring (much smaller rings) version.
    Date published: 2014-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Basic Bit Needed a D bit for a hunter show I entered. Seems to be of good quality for a good price tag. No rough spots and good solid weight.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My sensitive TB LOVES it! My young OTTB in training for eventing loves this bit. Very accepting and calm.
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality bit As nice as more expensive bits and well made. Love this bit!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from bit squeaks; horse fussed somewhat when I introduced it
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bit!!! So I got a new horse, and Before I bought him a bit i used my trainers which is this one, then I bought another French link dee, and he hated it, so I started riding in my trainers bit, and he loves it, it's the only bit he'll use
    Date published: 2013-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it! This is a great bit to try if you want to avoid the nutcracker action of a regular snaffle. it looks good, is good quality, and my horse likes it. It gives me more control than my loose ring oval mouth JP copper mouth snaffle.
    Date published: 2013-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit I purchased this bit for my QH. It made a world of difference. When I first got him, he was resistent to taking the bit. Now he gives me minimal difficulty. He also enjoys playing with it and promotes good salivation. I would recommend this bit. When I first pulled it out of the bag I thought the D ring looked very large, however, when put on it looked okay. Overall, I think my horse and I both love it.
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from JP Bit I am a big fan of JP korsteel bits (Have 3 of them lol) and I decided to buy this bit for my QH mare who hates every bit I've tried on her besides a short shanked curb with a copper dog bone mouth piece, but I wanted to use a milder bit so I looked to this one and it has been the best so far, think the copper makes a big difference in her acceptance of a bit, and I like that it is formed to lay over the tongue better. I would definitely recommend this bit
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bit! When I first got this in the mail, I worried the D rings would be too large and overwhelm my mare's small mouth. (They measure 3.5" in height if anyone's wondering, I absolutely could not find a measurement online at all)However, after a few rides I realized that it's perfect! The larger D rings are in style (at least where I live) and they actually aren't too large at all. My mare loves the copper pieces and I've noticed more salivation already!Very nice, mild bit!
    Date published: 2013-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit My OTTB goes great in this bit. She really likes the copper center with the double joints!
    Date published: 2013-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit My horse likes this bit. He accepts it easily. I didn't need anything harsh, and this friendly bit does the trick.
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! I purchased this bit for my 3 year old TB. He was fussy about a full cheek and not reponsive enough with a thick eggbutt so I decided to give this a try after much research. The dee rings are a perfect size and he listens very well with this in his mouth. I noticed increased salivation after having it in for 20 minutes. He does sometimes pay with the oval more than I care for but he is only 3. I feel like he is happier with this in his mouth and it looks great.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit! My horse normally is very fussy with his mouth, always chewing the bit, or opening his mouth. He is a green WB. I've tried loose rings, happy mouths, ect, and didn't get a great response. This bit had my horse so soft, and relaxed. He was responsive and got on the bit. LOVE this bit.
    Date published: 2013-03-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from An Okay Bit I like the copper in this bit but am not overly impressed with the response I get from my horse when using to train. I will keep this bit and use it for more leisurely rides. Though, for the price I think it is overall a nice bit.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the trick! Just the bit we were looking for! Works great and a great price!
    Date published: 2012-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits the bill I'm sure people have their reasons for buying the other brands that cost $80 or even $150 but I think for most horses this version is just fine. I've used korsteel in the past and have no complaints. I had mine engraved too since it's the bit style of choice at my barn and everything seems to grow legs around there.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price, great quality I have a 15.1 TB mare that i ordered the 4 3/4 bit for. She took to it right away and does very well it in. My only complaint is the size of the "D." She's pretty petite and they look a bit large on her.
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok bit Bought this bit in the hopes of finding something as palatable as the Happy Mouth but more durable. The price point was great and I think it's a good bit for the value, but I just don't love this bit for my horse. The copper french link is more of a coating so Teddy didn't mouth it as much as he had his Happy Mouth. I also found the D rings to look really big on his somewhat petite Quarter Horse nose. I have passed this bit along to my trainer who has put it on a OTTB who had been in a plain french link and he is really liking it. I upgraded to the KK Ultra D ring instead.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bit for Baby I bought this bit for my three-year-old who just came home after his first 90 days under saddle. He was in a eggbutt French link and I wanted a nice stable bit with that mouthpiece along with the copper. I use a loose-ring version of this bit on my mare and she's pretty happy with it. So far it's worked well for him and these are well-made and designed bits for a good price.
    Date published: 2012-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bit I got this as a change from a full-cheek snaffle for my quarter horse, and he LOVES this bit. He is very soft and round in it, with great forward movement. A lovely, gentle bit.
    Date published: 2012-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse likes it I bought this bit for my brand new 5 year old OTTB and as far as I can tell, he seems to like it. I wanted to get the Herm S KK ultra but it was out of my price range and I am so glad I got this one. My horse is becoming very soft and responsive and being off the track, has a tendency to want to balance on the bit, so he is getting a lot better thanks in part to this soft bit. I would totally recommend it.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    • 2016-02-12T15:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_5125, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.