Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link

Korsteel
- Item #15125
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is a bit with a classic, traditional look and updated link. Made from Copper, the link encourages horses to salivate and play with the bit. This bit is great for horses who need incentive taking contact from a normal snaffle.

Favorite Features

  • Copper link encourages horses to accept the bit

Sizing It Up

4 3/4"
5"
5 1/2"
12mm thick

You Might Like
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is rated 4.7547 out of 5 by 53.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Basic Bit Needed a D bit for a hunter show I entered. Seems to be of good quality for a good price tag. No rough spots and good solid weight.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My sensitive TB LOVES it! My young OTTB in training for eventing loves this bit. Very accepting and calm.
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality bit As nice as more expensive bits and well made. Love this bit!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from bit squeaks; horse fussed somewhat when I introduced it
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bit!!! So I got a new horse, and Before I bought him a bit i used my trainers which is this one, then I bought another French link dee, and he hated it, so I started riding in my trainers bit, and he loves it, it's the only bit he'll use
    Date published: 2013-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it! This is a great bit to try if you want to avoid the nutcracker action of a regular snaffle. it looks good, is good quality, and my horse likes it. It gives me more control than my loose ring oval mouth JP copper mouth snaffle.
    Date published: 2013-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit I purchased this bit for my QH. It made a world of difference. When I first got him, he was resistent to taking the bit. Now he gives me minimal difficulty. He also enjoys playing with it and promotes good salivation. I would recommend this bit. When I first pulled it out of the bag I thought the D ring looked very large, however, when put on it looked okay. Overall, I think my horse and I both love it.
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from JP Bit I am a big fan of JP korsteel bits (Have 3 of them lol) and I decided to buy this bit for my QH mare who hates every bit I've tried on her besides a short shanked curb with a copper dog bone mouth piece, but I wanted to use a milder bit so I looked to this one and it has been the best so far, think the copper makes a big difference in her acceptance of a bit, and I like that it is formed to lay over the tongue better. I would definitely recommend this bit
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bit! When I first got this in the mail, I worried the D rings would be too large and overwhelm my mare's small mouth. (They measure 3.5" in height if anyone's wondering, I absolutely could not find a measurement online at all)However, after a few rides I realized that it's perfect! The larger D rings are in style (at least where I live) and they actually aren't too large at all. My mare loves the copper pieces and I've noticed more salivation already!Very nice, mild bit!
    Date published: 2013-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit My OTTB goes great in this bit. She really likes the copper center with the double joints!
    Date published: 2013-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit My horse likes this bit. He accepts it easily. I didn't need anything harsh, and this friendly bit does the trick.
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! I purchased this bit for my 3 year old TB. He was fussy about a full cheek and not reponsive enough with a thick eggbutt so I decided to give this a try after much research. The dee rings are a perfect size and he listens very well with this in his mouth. I noticed increased salivation after having it in for 20 minutes. He does sometimes pay with the oval more than I care for but he is only 3. I feel like he is happier with this in his mouth and it looks great.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit! My horse normally is very fussy with his mouth, always chewing the bit, or opening his mouth. He is a green WB. I've tried loose rings, happy mouths, ect, and didn't get a great response. This bit had my horse so soft, and relaxed. He was responsive and got on the bit. LOVE this bit.
    Date published: 2013-03-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from An Okay Bit I like the copper in this bit but am not overly impressed with the response I get from my horse when using to train. I will keep this bit and use it for more leisurely rides. Though, for the price I think it is overall a nice bit.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the trick! Just the bit we were looking for! Works great and a great price!
    Date published: 2012-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits the bill I'm sure people have their reasons for buying the other brands that cost $80 or even $150 but I think for most horses this version is just fine. I've used korsteel in the past and have no complaints. I had mine engraved too since it's the bit style of choice at my barn and everything seems to grow legs around there.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price, great quality I have a 15.1 TB mare that i ordered the 4 3/4 bit for. She took to it right away and does very well it in. My only complaint is the size of the "D." She's pretty petite and they look a bit large on her.
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok bit Bought this bit in the hopes of finding something as palatable as the Happy Mouth but more durable. The price point was great and I think it's a good bit for the value, but I just don't love this bit for my horse. The copper french link is more of a coating so Teddy didn't mouth it as much as he had his Happy Mouth. I also found the D rings to look really big on his somewhat petite Quarter Horse nose. I have passed this bit along to my trainer who has put it on a OTTB who had been in a plain french link and he is really liking it. I upgraded to the KK Ultra D ring instead.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bit for Baby I bought this bit for my three-year-old who just came home after his first 90 days under saddle. He was in a eggbutt French link and I wanted a nice stable bit with that mouthpiece along with the copper. I use a loose-ring version of this bit on my mare and she's pretty happy with it. So far it's worked well for him and these are well-made and designed bits for a good price.
    Date published: 2012-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bit I got this as a change from a full-cheek snaffle for my quarter horse, and he LOVES this bit. He is very soft and round in it, with great forward movement. A lovely, gentle bit.
    Date published: 2012-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse likes it I bought this bit for my brand new 5 year old OTTB and as far as I can tell, he seems to like it. I wanted to get the Herm S KK ultra but it was out of my price range and I am so glad I got this one. My horse is becoming very soft and responsive and being off the track, has a tendency to want to balance on the bit, so he is getting a lot better thanks in part to this soft bit. I would totally recommend it.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lovely bit my horse appreciated the copper link in the middle and he remained as light as he does in the french link gag. The bit is reasonably priced and is also quite lovely.
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit, Good Value This is a good bit, especially for the price. I bought the 4 3/4" and the copper link seems a little large, but it isn't a huge problem. I don't know if it isn't proportionally sized, or if I was just expecting something a tad smaller. Seems well-made and high quality.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bit Ever! This bit is well made, and my horse loves it. The copper oval link is my go-to bit for almost every horse I know!
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around bit! Use this for flatting, jumping everything for an ideal all around bit. Less severe bith multiple breaks and horses love it!
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit I love this bit and so do the horses. They are very soft when it's in their mouth! The mouth piece is curved too.
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value My horse, who has worn a regular snaffle all of his life took to this bit immediately and I feel that he's happy with the center piece.
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy so far I bought this for my very green 6 year old Anglo-Arab. He is a big boy who is a bit mouthy. He seems pretty happy with it so far and chomps on the bit less. I am a fan of double jointed bits for the most part anyway so it was nice to see this as an option. The 5 1/2 inch size fits him pretty well too.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart purchase Love this bit. It was cost effect and does the job. Our horse responds just like we expected her to. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-08-20
    • 2015-05-23T09:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_49
    • loc_en_US, sid_5125, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.