Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

JP Korsteel Copper Oval Mouth Loose Ring

Korsteel
- Item #16145

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Thick, kind, double-jointed Oval Mouth Loose Ring with curved bars eliminates "nutcracker" tongue pinching and encourages the horse's chewing motion.

Favorite Features

  • Copper mouth to increase acceptance of bit
  • Increases salivation

Sizing It Up


4.5", 5" or 5.5".

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    JP Korsteel Copper Oval Mouth Loose Ring is rated 4.8696 out of 5 by 46.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for young horses I use this on OTTBs when reschooling them and it helps to keep their mouths soft
    Date published: 2015-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit! My horse loves his new bit, he is nice and soft in the bridle with this bit.
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great basic bit It seems well constructed and I expect it to last.
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Handy Bit I've got a mare who has a low palette, a sensitive mouth and who had suffered some severe poll trauma before she came to my farm. While she is willing and likes to work, finding the bit that didn't cause her any discomfort has been an ongoing challenge. (And, believe me, I've got a HUGE bit box in the barn so LOTS of things got tested.)This bit has worked surprisingly well. There is nothing to cause any stress or discomfort so the horse's mouth is much more relaxed and she's foaming more readily.The difference is subtle, but enough to make both me and this lovely, sensitive mare happy.BTW: Don't let the low price fool you. This is a nice bit.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bit our trainer suggested a copper loose ring bit and I expected to have to spend much more for quality. This bit is perfect. The quality is excellent. We are very happy!
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repeat customer;) This is the second bit I own, I use it for everything and didn't want to have to keep changing bits between dressage and jumping. My mare loves it. High quality bit.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results I purchased this bit because I was looking for a "kind" bit that my horse would carry without constantly fussing at it. I bought a 5" bit for my last horse and he loved it. My new horse has a smaller mouth and it was a challenge to find a 4 1/2" bit that was this quality without paying a fortune. My horse has been in training now for about 5 weeks and he carries himself very well without fighting the bit at all. I am very pleased with this bit so far.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very soft in my horses mouth I switched from a loose jaw curb bit to this copper oval mouth snaffle because he was stopping and rubbing the sides of his mouth alot. My horse just loved it. He was so much more calmer and comfortable. He mouthed it a little at first but settled right into it. I love this bit for my boy!
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bit I've used so far My mare was in a small shank when I first got her and I immediately wanted to switch her to something softer. This worked excellently for her. Copper keeps her mouth soft and salivating, loose rings help her to be soft. I've tried several bits and this is the one she takes most willingly... actually sometimes she doesn't want to let it go! Switching to a D-ring to help with our lateral work, but I will stick with JP Korsteel. Amazing price for this bit!
    Date published: 2014-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Encourages Relaxation My Saddlebred loves this bit. He's very sensitive and with his previous bit, he tended to have a false collection (overbent at the poll, hollow back) and not relax into the contact. When I tried this bit, I immediately noticed a difference---his tail relaxed, and he was much more willing to accept contact. After 3 weeks of riding with this bit, he's like a totally different horse. Now he reliably relaxes into contact, I can feel his back lifting me up and his hind legs swinging forward.I think this bit is perfect for horses who need some encouragement to relax over their topline and settle into a trusting contact. I don't think it would be a good choice for a horse who tends to get heavy in the contact. If I ride a half-halt wrong (i.e. from the bit only without my seat) even my sensitive horse will blow through the aid. Which I love, cause it just tells me I'm doing my half-halt wrong :)Before I bought the bit, I was concerned that it might be too heavy (previous reviews) or not as good as the more expensive KK counterpart. My horse doesn't think the bit is too heavy at all. And I tried out the KK: I actually like this cheaper bit better!
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALL of my horses love this bit! I own this bit in several different sizes and have not met a horse that won't go in it. I am a professional trainer and have used this bit on greenies to schoolmasters both dressage and h/j horses. It's a great bit whenever you want to use a snaffle. It's not as nice as the HS bits, but for the price, it really cannot be beat!
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bit, but heavy I have a young OTTB with a very sensitive mouth - this is the bit he graduated to from his rubber snaffle. He absolutely LOVES this bit. Went from being somewhat challenging to bridle to taking this bit out of my hand if given the chance. It's gentle enough that it doesn't bother him while riding, and he goes onto this bit willingly - you've never seen so much foaming! :) My only complaint is the same as the other reviewers - this bit is extremely, shockingly heavy. It doesn't seem to bother him any, but I can't imagine how it doesn't!
    Date published: 2013-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good bit Great price for the bit. Having alot of succes with my horse accepting the contact better and more chewing!
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bit at an excellent price! I got the 5.5" for my 16.3hh Percheron Cross and it fit perfectly, so it might be a bit big for a normal or small mouthed horse. She really seems to like the thick mouthpiece and the copper. She chews and slobbers this bit a lot more than her old single-jointed snaffle. She also doesn't grab this bit and pull through it, she seems to seek the contact and relax more with it. Over all, I'm very pleased with the quality and the price! We've only been using it for 2 weeks and it already has some teeth scratches (she just got a dental done the day before this bit came!) so I don't know how durable it will be. But the price can't be beat!
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Less expensive but effective I was using my trainer's Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Loose Ring bit and bought this just to have something of my own, but my horse goes in it just as nicely as the Herm Sprenger, so for $100 less I'm very happy.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Love this bit. Have used it on many different horses, and they all become much more relaxed and supple. All my TBs and Warmbloods have loved it. Definitely my go-to bit. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2012-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I have used this bit on three horses and each has loved it. My new horse has been going western and I'm switching him to English. He sucks this bit into his mouth, and won't let go when the ride is over. Encourages a soft, gentle chewing with plenty of good moisture in his mouth. Will be ordering another so dressage and hunter bridles have one.
    Date published: 2012-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit at a great price My mare loves the bit no issues. Actually bought a more expensive bit before this one and she hated it! Love Smartpack as well ; )
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great inexpensive bit Spent $150 on a herm Sprenger and my mare hated it! Spent $30 on this one and she loved it.I believe it was the thickness of the bit.
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job In the past I have bought Herm Sprenger Aurigan KK bits because my horses responded so well to them. Money being more scarce these days, I decided to try this bit. It seems to make my horses happy and does the job. I have purchased two in different sizes.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Deal Bought this bit for my Arab who had been running with his head up and who was reluctant to take the bit. Since he'd previously been ridden in a D-ring, I wasn't sure how he would go in a loose-ring, so I didn't want to spend a ton of money on a top line bit, but still wanted quality-this bit has been exactly what I was looking for!He loves the copper in this bit, actually reaches down and picks up the bit on his own and will hold it in his mouth when I'm trying to take the bridle off.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good purchase This is a great bit. I highly recommend it. I use it on my high spirited little arab mare. She is soft mouthed and this works well on her control.
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from As described I have only placed this in my horses mouth so far, not actually used it. He has a $120 "German silver" bit he likes just fine, but he immediately started chewing on this one. Also, the copper is noticeably warmer than the stainless rings, I see this as a plus.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect bit for my mare love the combination french snaffle with round center link. I searched for a while until I read the reviews on this bit myself and found it all to be true. Not only can I start my mare with it but I can use it far into her training in dressage and use it for shows as well.
    Date published: 2012-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bit As many other have said, this bit is great. The only thing I would love to see is a 6" my horse, well, he has big box head with a wide mouth. The 5.5" only just fits.Other then that, I can not fault it.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chewing! Wow... For the first time EVER, my horse is relaxed and chewing on his bit. Usually, he just sucks it into the back of his mouth and holds it in his teeth... Yeah, no love for his past bits, but with this one, he is like butter.. I am ordering another for my other horse!
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic value I thought about buying the KK Ultra bit, but found this one to be very similar and much more affordable! My horse goes very well in it. I love the ergonomic shape and sweet copper that encourages salivation.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy horse I've been using this bit on my horse for almost 2 years and he is still going well in it. Much more accepting of this bit than standard snaffle.
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! Love this bit! My 5 year old OTTB likes to lean and the loose ring keeps her from doing such. She is in a full-cheek fulmer bit on trail, but in the dressage ring, she is in this loose ring. No more fighting the contact! She also seems to like the copper.
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Simple Bit My mare really loves this bit. We have progressed in our training so much after switching to this bit. What I love most is the contoured shape. It doesn't hit her in the palate and the copper is inviting and creates a soft mouth. I have spent hundreds of dollars on expensive Herm Sprenger bits and wouldn't you know my horses train better in this much much less expensive one!!
    Date published: 2010-04-30
    • 2016-02-06T14:41CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_42
    • loc_en_US, sid_6145, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.