Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

IRH Equi-Lite Helmet

International Riding Helmets
- Item #11752
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Equi-Lite Helmets are the highest quality schooling helmet. Dial Fit System accommodates your ponytail, hugs the back of your head, and reduces the tendency of your helmet to shift forward or backwards when you ride.

Total of 9 venting ports (five front and four back) to allow maximum air circulation keeping you cool and comfortable. The visor is equipped with IRH Snap Fit System which allows the rider to easily remove and replace visor.

Black, White or Purple. Small, Medium and Large. 

ASTM F1163-15/SEI Certified

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet ...
    Description:
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Shimmer Leather Top Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. Favorite Features Front air ...
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the rider's ...
    Description:
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Swarovski Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision. The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside shell provides excellent impact absorption. Swarovski crystals provide a show-ring ...
    Charles Owen Wellington Professional is the latest helmet ...
    Description:
    Charles Owen Wellington Professional is the latest helmet in their extensive range, which continually evolves to provide riders with an ever increasing choice of headgear. Favorite Features The low profile GR8 style silhouette is covered with a microfiber suede material. ...
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Crystal Fabric Top Helmet ...
    Description:
    The Samshield Shadow Mat Crystal Fabric Top Helmet combines the rider's needs, with creative energy, and technical vision that will get you noticed in any show ring! The high quality Polycarbonate outer shell construction combined with variable density polystyrene inside ...
    The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low ...
    Description:
    The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low profile design created for the performance-oriented rider. Favorite Features Woven honeycomb mesh keeps debris out of strategically placed vents while channeling fresh air throughout the helmet interior Dri-Lex adding maximizes moisture diffusion ...
    Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the ...
    Description:
    Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level of protection! Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated to protect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face. Favorite Features Metallic ...
    Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or ...
    Description:
    Add a little sparkle into your everyday life or in the show ring with the Charles Owen JR8 Sparkly Helmet!  Made of a special sparkle material, the black bling and shiny silver center seamlessly complement the black weather resistant microsuede side panels. Styled ...
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    IRH Equi-Lite Helmet is rated 4.5935 out of 5 by 155.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Helmet for young riders. Lightweight and good colors
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this helmet last month. It arrived quickly and fits well. Let's hope I keep my seat and never have to test durability!
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Helmet! Broughtthe Purple for a 7-year-old little girl that loves it!
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy helmet! Great, comfortable helmet. It is light and airy. I was a bit disappointed in the color... I got the pink and it came pink but it is almost more of a beige pink than the bright color in the photos. Not a problem though! The helmet is very comfy and the dial in the back helps with a perfect fit. Great value for the price.
    Date published: 2014-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable Bought this helmet as a beginner rider. The fit was true. Good ability to adjust the straps and snug up the inside head band via a small wheel in the back of the helmet. Have worn it once and hardly knew I had it on.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable and safe Great protection for trail riding in stoney desert in Arizona. Good fit with adjusting dial in rear of helmet.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My second purchase I bought this for my daughter, who needed a new helmet but wouldn't specify any particular model. I had been wearing one when I fell off and hit the back of my head on a packed gravel driveway. It split the back of the helmet but I did not even get a headache. That plus its light weight and coolness in the summer made it the obvious choice for me. My current helmet is not this style, but I did go with this brand and I am happy with it, too.
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fine Helmet I was not aware of a knob on the helmet for tightening and loosening, in the inside in back. I almost sent helmet back. My sister told me about the knob and it makes helmet flexible. Make sure you measure your head as they suggest.
    Date published: 2013-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good helmet This was a good helmet. I had a fall from my 15 h horse and the inside of the helmet came apart. Overall, this was a good helmet.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Helmet! This helmet has served me well for over a year - it is lightweight and comfortable, and the colors are fun too! Unfortunately I just recently had to use it for its purpose when I fall off and hit my head - hard. This is the ONLY helmet I have ever had that did not shatter on impact and still leave me with a head injury! It absolutely did its job and I am fine! I will be purchasing another and would highly recommend it :)
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helmet Review Purchased this helmet for my grandaughter to wear when she was visiting and wanting to ride my horses. She is 11yrs and this helmet fits her and she says it is comfortable. We have not used this helmet long enough to know how it will be in durability but it should work just fine and I am more comfortable with her riding my horses and being more safe with a helmet on.
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Value Great value for the money. Lightweight, comfortable, more oval shape than round which suited me just fine.
    Date published: 2013-04-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable, but Awkward Fit I bought this helmet because it was cheap but had good reviews. I've ridden in it once or twice a week for little under a year, and it has held up great. I've fallen off twice, and hit my head once, but it doesn't have any cracks, only scratches. I assure you its very safe.However, the fit is a bit awkward. It runs large, and I have to have the dial almost all the way tight so that it stays in place. I look like a mushroom :P
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable fit for oval head I am pleased with how comfortable this helmet is.I always wound up with a headache after wearing my troxel helmet for a couple of hours. While still not perfect for an oval head, this one is better thanthe troxel.
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great schooling helmet I've purchased three of these helmets now. I have a school program so there are plenty of little melons needing protection. The helmet always fits, is comfortable and light weight. Not something I can say about many other helmets in this price range. The dial can get a bit sticky and may break but IRH will send you a new dial with a bit of phone/email haggling.
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits well on a tiny girl My 6 year old weighs 35 lbs and it is hard to find things to fit. This helmet adjusts down without being too heavy for her to wear or fall down over her brow.And we love the pink color...not a pepto bismal pink, but a lovely dusty pink that we won't tire of.
    Date published: 2013-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love this helmet! I bought my first IRH Equi-Lite Helmet about 3 years ago. It was my first helmet, and I began wearing it after my friend had a bad horse riding accident and passed away due to head trauma. I loved it then, and when I had a pretty bad accident a few months ago (concussion, bruised rib, collapsed lung), I was ever greatful! This helmet saved my life! I had to get a new one, because the fall broke a piece off, and I absolutely love my new one aswell. I got black this time around, and It doesn't get hot, and I forget I have it on! I've actually gotten off and walked around the barn doing my job with it on. Recommend this to EVERYONE.
    Date published: 2013-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect...for a while... This helmet was amazing!!!! If you put a velvet cover on it, it will work as a show helmet! Perfect for schooling! Didn't make my head look TOO weird. :) Although, I was always burning up in it! And after having it for about a year, I fell off. It wasn't too hard of a fall and it was the first time I had fallen wearing that helmet, and when I took it off, it was cracked! I was dissapointed.
    Date published: 2012-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great children's schooling helmet. Dial allows for correct adjustment. Nice color choice, too!
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice helmet I bought this as an extra helmet to use for guests. It seems to be well-made, is easily adjustable, and has served its purpose with 2 different riders so far. Can't address durability as I haven't had it long, but so far so good!
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for my children I bought two of these helmets for my sons who are just starting to ride. I bought a small for my 7 year old who probably has an average size head for a child his age and I bought a large for my 10 year old who has a large head for his age. I can wear the large and I am a female adult with an average size head (I think). They are well made and a great quality at an excellent price. The adjustable knob at the back is perfect for my children who are still growing. The more open vent-like design makes the helmet cooler and lighter. The visor is a nice touch aesthetically and perhaps blocks some sunlight. I am happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic helmet for the price I have had these helmets for years and I LOVE them for everyday riding. They are light and well ventilated which is perfect for riding in Texas.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wish it fit! I got this helmet as a gift 5 years ago as my first ever riding helmet. I used it for trail rides about once every other month and there were no problems. When I started taking lessons three years ago I had to purchase a different helmet as this one had a crack in it, likely from being stored and moved around in the garage. I now own a CO Ayr8 but I wanted something cheap and light weight that I could school in. Unfortunately, when I received this helmet it was too wide for my head. It looked great for a schooling helmet and felt soo light on my head! I wish it fit! Thank you smartpak for making returns simple and easy, and free! If you're looking for a great light weight helmet for schooling, try this!
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value, but you get what you pay for I bought this helmet is S, M, and L to add to my lesson program. I was thrilled with the price, but after limited use, the visor on the S has already broken. We have taken great care to ensure the helmet has not bee dropped so I am not sure why the break occurred. Fortunately, it is on the side very close to where is attached to the helmet so I think it will be an easy fix. You really can't beat the price, but you get what you pay for when it comes to helmets. The visor is an inexpensive plastic. I will likely continue to purchase these helmets because the value is unbeatable.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional Value Love it! Great for the price and I love the IRH helmet profile overall. I have a lot of curls and the IRH has always been the best helmet for my face. Great value for schooling helmet and good safety features!!
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect All Around! I recently purchased an expensive show helmet, while I was "Eh" on my opinion, I still needed to find a casual helmet to wear on the trails and around the arena. At first, I was a little skeptical of the price. Under $50 dollars for a good helmet seemed a little odd to me, but knowing the quality of Smartpak products, I gave it a try! I was very pleased with the helmet size. I went up one size though, because it seems like helmets tend to run a little small sometimes--This helmet is also dial-fit, so I knew I could still adjust it if it were a little big. It fit PERFECTLY! The dial fit is not 100% necessary to me, but it is wonderful to have if a friend needs to borrow my helmet. I have found that some helmets give somewhat of a mushroom appearance such as my show helmet. This helmet is strong yet it looks small and fitting. It is very padded on the inside making it super comfortable. The bill gives a little shade on your face and the adjustable straps give enough comfortable slack. I haven't noticed any damage whatsoever. It's great for the price--But the price really doesn't matter here, I wouldn't be able to guess it was under $50 dollars either way! To top it off, it has a little extra opening in the back than my other helmet, leaving room for a not-completely-messy-pony tail!
    Date published: 2012-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy this!! I love this helmet! It fits well. I love the color and how you can make it bigger and smaller.
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Basic Helmet A little large looking, but a good basic helmet for a lesson - definitely not a show helmet.
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BETTER THAN EXPECTED Helmet much nicer than pictured & very light weight & sturdy - my daughter is learning to jump horses and I feel very secure in purchasing this helmet . Great service, too - had to exchange for a smaller size and return/exchange was totally painless!HIGHLY recommended - we got the purple one!
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely a Great Helmet Choice This helmet is so wonderfully light! It's easy to forget about it when you're riding. The vents are perfect. Thanks to the crazy weather here, this helmet has already gone from from 12 degrees to 65 this spring. It stays warm when it's cold, and cool when it's hot. I love that the lining is removeable, so it can be washed when it gets sweaty in summer.Overall, it's a great little helmet. Certainly not a Charles Owen of course, but it's a fantastic helmet, one that I'll be wearing for years.
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    • 2016-05-05T14:49CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_131
    • loc_en_US, sid_1752, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders