Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

IRH Air 10 Helmet

International Riding Helmets
- Item #19507
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The IRH Air 10 riding helmet has a mesh center vent that allows for maximum air ventilation. Microsuede.

10F1163.04a/USA/SEI Certified/EN-1384/CE Mark Europe

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    IRH Air 10 Helmet is rated 4.6316 out of 5 by 38.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from IRH vs. CO I bought this helmet finding that it looked almost identical to the Charles owen AYR8. I took a gamble on the size being the same and for me it fits me just like my AYR8 helmet. I love that this is much more affordable and if you like the AYR8 you will like this too. I am hoping to get another one for christmas.
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mushroom head! I am in love with how this helmet fit my round head, but it unfortunately looks absolutely ridiculous on me! Sadly returning it due to the extreme mushroom-head look, even though it's incredibly comfortable!
    Date published: 2014-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GPA --> IRH customer I just received this helmet in the mail. Ive been wearing an IRH helmet for a while, but its so uncomfortable and the air flow is really crummy. I had heard the IRHs fit in a very similar style, so I decided to try one on at my local tack shop. I wear a 7 1/4 in the GPA, but discovered the 7 1/8 was a much better fit in the IRH, so if youre looking to switch, keep that in mind - these helmets run a little bit smaller. SmartPak had a better price deal than my local tack shop, so I went ahead and ordered. At first I was a little concerned about the profile of this helmet - it is a bit bulky and somewhat mushroomy at first, but the longer I wore it the more it grew on me, and now I actually prefer the look of this helmet to the look of my classic GPA. All in all, Im happy with the fit, comfort, and style of this helmet. Plus, if youre in an accident within the first three years of ownership, IRH will replace the helmet for you! Great helmet for the price.
    Date published: 2014-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the harness on this helmet! Can't wait to start riding in it!
    Date published: 2014-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for the price! This is the second IRH helmet I've purchased, and this one fits even better than the first! The first one I purchased fit a little lower on my head, touching the top of my ears slightly. This new one is a very nice looking helmet as well. I plan to use it for shows, so I purchased another less expensive IRH helmet for schooling. Haven't received that one yet, as it is back-ordered.
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cosmetically displeasing I ended up sending this back since it was just so huge looking on my head. I wear a 7 1/4 and the fit seemed ok, although a bit snug, but the shape of the helmet just made my head look huge. It's not a sleek design but rather round and bulky looking. It was a good price, just not worth it to me. I sent it back for a Charles Owen instead which was about the same price (junior helmet). Since all I need is a basic helmet for schooling and small shows, I hope that one will be more than sufficient.
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased I am very glad I decided on this helmet! It has the low profile look comparable to that of much more expensive helmets out there, and is much more affordable. The ventilation is pretty good, though no more than another vented helmet.I was also very happy to find this helmet runs true to size, and was able to fit it right on the first try with the measurements I had.Overall, this is a very good helmet. Looks great without having to shovel out hundreds of dollars. Received compliments around the barn! I haven't had it too long yet, so I can't say much about durability. One thing is that it had a faint scrape on the front logo, but oh well.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from IRH vs. GPA T-Pro i switched from a GPA T-Pro to this helmet the IRH Air 10: absolutely a lovely helmet! plan on staying with the IRH brand for now on. this helmet is perfect for the show ring or schooling!
    Date published: 2014-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from shallow fit Got this helmet for my daughter whose head is not huge. She does have a lot of hair and so we've had to experiment with different helmets and sizes. She really liked the way this helmet looked but it was too shallow! It does seem like a nice helmet though. It just doesn't sit that deep and with her hair up in it, it just wouldn't really protect her head : (
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive and Affordable I have been riding in a CO helmet for several years, and always suffer during the summer months. I decided to buy the IRH Air 10 based on its price and appearance. I can't speak for longevity, but I have ridden in it twice and am very pleased. (I also want to give a shoutout to SmartPak - free returns are great when sizing for a new helmet, and their staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Thanks, guys!)
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jr8's little brother! I, like many others I'm sure, love the jr8. I ordered it from smartpak, and was super disappointed when I tried it on, it was a size bigger than my last helmet, and it still barely went on my head! So it went back...( definitely order from smartpak, FREE RETURNS!)I then began my search for a helmet that would fit my head, and have the pretty looks of the Charles Owens. I then found the air 10. When it came, I was so pleased! First of all, smartpak got it to me two days early! Coming out of the box, it looks just like the ayr8, the 300 dollar CO, and its only $170! And it fits sooo much better than the jr8. My head goes up into the helmet, and it fits snugly and comfortably. If you have the same problem with the Charles Owen fit, definitely try this helmet
    Date published: 2013-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT helmet! Only one downside. I LOVE this helmet! It is extremely comfortable and durable. I've had it for 3 years now and it shows no signs of wear and tear except for the visor. The visor did snap, but I could expect that of any helmet without a reinforced visor. Also, it can get pretty hot because of the minimal holes and breathing areas. I would reccommend it to anyone!
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've only had this helmet for a week, so I cannot really comment on its durability so far. However, it fits well and I love the vents - they're discreet but really effective at keeping my head cool, even when I ride multiple horses a day.
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from not for me this is nice looking out of the box, especially for the price. The 7/14 fit my round head fine with room to put hair up. I just didn't like how it looked -- way too bobble-head. Sent it back, so I can't comment on durability.
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally worth it! This helmet was the first helmet I have ever bought over 100$ even for my show helmets! After a lot of research I decided to get this one... and I'm so glad I did! It is attractive, low profile, and the water wicking material is the best (I live on the very humid golf coast of Florida) I will sweat pounds and its doesn't even feel a little damp!!! Definitely worth every penny. Don't spend an extra 300$ on the Charles Owen when you can get a quality IRH for half the price!
    Date published: 2013-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Helmet My daughter has worn the IRH helmets for several years. They are excellent quality and actually fit her head better then a Charles Owen helmet. I think they look great as well. Bravo for an excellent helmet at a great price.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Helmet This helmet is wonderful. I have more of an oval shaped head rather than a round head, and this helmet doesn't pinch my forehead like other helmets.
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! We recently purchased this helmet and are extremely pleased with its great appearance! It is also very light and cool for our southern climate. Great fit even with a ponytail! Overall very pleased with the purchase!
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! So comfortable and an excellent price.
    Date published: 2012-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very very cool i live in wellington Florida full year round and in the summer you all have probably heard how hot it can get. I have a tendency to get headaches from my helmets towards the end of my riding session do to the amount of heat that is trapped in my helmet. It has been 2 years and i have not had a headache from this helmet yet. definitely meant for worm weather.
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mixed Feelings.... It was time to replace my Troxel, and I was looking for something to school in that wouldn't look like a huge bowling ball on my small head. I decided on the IRH Air 10 for its look and the center vent. First off, it looks great - people keep asking me if it is a Charles Owen. Unfortunately I'm having problems with the fit. It sits too far down on my forehead to where it is on my eyebrows. I put in the extra padding that comes with it, and it helps a lot but now it is a little tight. My main concern is that it doesn't seem to be very "cool", so I'm not sure it will be in our hot Louisiana summer. I probably would have returned it, but I've been on the fence for so long and been wearing it that I decided to just keep it. Plus it really is a good looking helmet :)
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This helmet is wonderful! It is so comfortable and the price is just right. It has a very classic look and I can't wait to use it this show season!
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet and a great value I received this helmet in the mail yesterday and promptly took it out to the barn to give it a test ride. The fit is so much better than my Charles Owen, in fact I think I want to purchase a second IRH to use for showing as this one I had intended to use for schooling. The vents do a great job, my head felt so much cooler after my ride. I only gave 4 stars for durability as I haven't had it long enough to really tell, but so far I am very happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it The helmet fits well and is very comfortable. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2011-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Like A Glove This helmet is perfect. It fits like a glove. The helmet is very comfy. A great price for a great helmet!!! If you need a new helmet... This is yours :)
    Date published: 2011-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet at a great price I needed to replace my old salad-bowl style IRH helmet before a big AA show. I didn't want to spend $400 on a helmet (I'm hard on my tack), but I needed something that offered maximum ventilation as I overheat easily. After doing a lot of research online, I chose the Air 10. I've been using it for 3 weeks now and I could not be happier with this helmet! It is lightweight, fits well, and keeps my head cooler than any helmet I've ever owned. It looked fantastic in my show pictures too. Would highly recommend this helmet!
    Date published: 2011-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy I'm one of the many other people who just don't seem to fit into Charles Owen helmets. After being disappointed by not being able to fit into a GR8 on sale for $149, I chose this helmet. I was actually considering buying this for awhile, but was hesitant since I couldn't find it in any stores and didn't want to buy it before trying it on but, I'm glad I did! The air vents do work really well, and I did notice my head staying a lot cooler than my last helmet. Plus, it looks really expensive (like the AYR8) and is comfortable.
    Date published: 2011-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Helmet It is by far the lightest and most comfortable helmet I've ever worn at a great price point. Much lighter than the Charles Owen and fits round heads better as well.
    Date published: 2011-03-15
    • 2015-05-27T09:06CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_36
    • loc_en_US, sid_9507, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.