Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Ice Horse Tendon Wraps

MacKinnon Ice Horse
- Item #16475
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

IceHorse™ Tendon Wraps with FirstICE® provide uniform compression and coverage to reduce inflammation and heat of the tendons and ligaments around the cannon bone area after work or injury.

Ice Horse Tendon Wraps are high quality insulated cannon bone leg wraps that stay cold for up to 2 hours. Reusable after a minimum of 3 hours in the freezer. First+Ice inserts feature a patented food grade propylene glycol formula for quality assurance and non-toxic properties.

Includes: 2 wraps, 4 FirstICE® inserts. FirstICE® inserts are reusable packs that are made with a non-gel formula that stays soft and pliable when removed from the freezer. Conforms to the horse's canon bone and tendons. 

Made in the USA.

If you are looking for extra FirstICE® inserts or need replacements for your existing Ice Horse products, we have you covered with the Ice Horse FirstICE® replacement packs.


You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "BeneFab by Sore No-More QuikWraps combine the power ...
    Description:
    "BeneFab by Sore No-More QuikWraps combine the power of ceramic and magnetic therapies to bring you the most innovative therapeutic leg therapy. Small, Neodymium (2400 gauss, unipolar, north facing) magnets are strategically placed over specific acupuncture points to target those ...
    "STAYONS Poultice Leg Wraps combine both bentonite and ...
    Description:
    "STAYONS Poultice Leg Wraps combine both bentonite and kaolin clays plus Epsom salt, uniquely blended in a specific patent pending ratio with a gelling agent that provides a long-lasting, wet poultice. STAYONS Poultice Leg Wraps are compact & easily transport ...
    "The EquiFit T-Sport Wraps help to transfer out ...
    Description:
    "The EquiFit T-Sport Wraps help to transfer out heat and keep your horse's legs cool while at work. Made of composite materials combining open-celled, non-latex foam with high-quality fabrics. This unique combination was developed for certified athletic trainers, PTs and ...
    "Breathable T-Foam provides even pressure throughout the leg, ...
    Description:
    "Breathable T-Foam provides even pressure throughout the leg, making this ideal for horses with swelling, edema and windpuffs The silver-plated liner is engineered to protect from microbial growth, killing 99.99% of microbes and fungi present on the fabric Breathable and ...
    "Magnetic therapy has been used in horses to ...
    Description:
    "Magnetic therapy has been used in horses to improve circulation and reduce inflammation and discomfort. It enhances healing and it thought to help alleviate symptoms of arthritis and rheumatism. These micro-holed neoprene (airtec) wraps are extremely breathable for maximum comfort. ...
    "Use state of the art fabric which contains ...
    Description:
    "Use state of the art fabric which contains polyester thread embedded with a fine ceramic powder to reflect the horse's own body-warmth Material is a cotton/polyester blend infused with Back on Track's revolutionary new ceramic infused fiberUsed for both injury ...
    "The Premier Equine Stable Boot Wraps are a ...
    Description:
    "The Premier Equine Stable Boot Wraps are a fantastic alternative to traditional bandaging and are great for traveling, overnight support, or to help reduce typical post-exercise swelling. Machine wash. Imported."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ice Horse Tendon Wraps is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 71.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally got my own pairs I have worked with theses boots from friends horses and wanted sets for my show horse. Easy to put on. Our barn needs a bigger freezer for all of the Ice Boots in it! Now if I can just convince her to appreciate my efforts and stop trying to stomp them off!
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the price I have an older Grand Prix schoolmaster and I already had 2 of the Ice Horse tendon wraps which I began using after my rides to help keep my horse sound. They have lasted me for years and are still in good shape. I bought 2 more so now I can treat my Max with cold therapy on all four legs after each ride. I expect to be able to use and reuse them for many years to come.
    Date published: 2012-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest ice boots ever After my horse had a tendon injury, I spent several weeks cold hosing and using a cumbersome ice pack the affected area. I was so happy to finally find these boots that are easy to use!
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Useable Safe, flexible design will work well with different sizes of legs. I like the easy change pockets allowing you to keep one pair on and another pair of packets cooling in the fridge for constant therapy. I also like the reuseable feature of the coolant packs.Note: it takes two inserts per boot.
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Get the job done I purchased these for management of my young guys old bowed tendon. They get the job done, but i'm not confident it's the best option for an injury. If the ice packs are frozen, they don't conform to the leg & subsequently you get uneven cooling (literally I can feel cool & warm spots on his leg when we're done icing). So it's best to wait til they unfreeze just a bit. Even then, the cooling isn't that even & you're left with readjusting the straps as it continues to unfreeze. Also, the ice packs themselves are a bit pricey (especially considering they don't last long & you need replacements). For more investment up front, i purchased the Equifit Gel compression boot.........hoping it resolves some of the issues I had w/these. Having said all of that, they really can get the job done if you don't want to put more money out up front. For me, my little guys legs are too important to skimp :)
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from what's up with the ice bags??? Great idea and overall, good design. But gosh, what is the deal with the ice packs? I used it .... twice??? and after reading reviews was kneading it a bit to warm it up enough to mold to my horse's leg and I looked down and there are ice crystals on my legs!!! Leaks already! I had read about the leaks but I was so careful and did nothing to ruin them....laid them carefully flat each time frozen with no sharp edges....and still leaked. Otherwise, good product for less than an hour of cold. Better than hosing.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must for Any Barn These boots get used a lot at my barn, and they are fantastic. They stay cold, conform to the legs, and are very durable to withstand use and abuse by a barn of 25 show horses. My gelding got a deep bone bruise on his knee last year, and instead of cold hosing, I used one of these boots over his knee, and it did the trick (instead of purchasing a separate knee boot). They can have the tendency to slip, so make sure to supervise your horse while using these (I like to use them while my horse is in the cross ties, while he is icing I can groom or pull his mane or supervise him while cleaning tack). Every barn needs to have a pair of these boots at their disposal, they are an easy and effective alternative to cold hosing.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy! These boots are great. They stay cold for so long, it's easy to pack them in a small cooler and bring them with you for a day outing. They will still be cold enough to ice your horse's legs down.They're convenient too. Just pull the packs out of the freezer and slip them in to the boots and put them on, and walk away. No more trying to get your horse to stand in a bucket, or bulky ice bags to lug around.The ice packs don't freeze completely solid, so they easily conform to your horse's legs.These boots help keep my horse sound, and I use them after every jumping session and competition.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice product A lot of people have trouble with these slipping, but I don't think they are putting them on tightly enough. The straps have elastic and are meant to be put on very snug. It's a compression wrap as well as a cooling wrap.As for the ice packs, leave them out at room temp for five minutes before applying them. This way they melt enough to be soft and squishy; then they can be molded into the grooves of the tendon. This is the best way to use them in my opinion.I love these wraps. I use them after every ride, and my horse's legs are ice cold and tight when I remove them.
    Date published: 2011-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I love these wraps. They are easy to use, durable and fit great. We have used the inserts for a number of human mishaps as well. WAY better than ice given how nicely they conform to odd angles. Love them! Will buy a 2nd pair soon.
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for your horse! I got these boots to save time and water on hosing. Espcially in the summer here in AZ where cold water out of a hose isn't as cold as you would like. These boots are great for use after a heavy work with your horse and injuries. The velcro has not worn out yet which is great. They are made very well. My only issue is the ice packs inside. They freeze hard which prevents them from conforming to the legs but it will after a couple min of being on. They break easily and leak as well. I put my own ice packs inside the boots and use them as directed. The Rapid Relief ice packs are GREAT!!!! Try those. I didn't have an issue doing this because of the ease of replacing the ice packs inside. Over all, great boot with ice packs that work for you.
    Date published: 2011-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Item! My mare had a tendon injury 1 year ago. After cold hosing her leg for months and/or using ill-fitting people ice wraps, I decided to try something easier and ordered the Ice Horse Tendon boots. LOVE THEM!!! I have been using them religiously now for over 3 months, after each ride(yea!). They stay cold for a long time and are holding up really well. Would highly recommend purchasing them.
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ice boots I was hesitant to purchase these b/c I had read other reviews on different ice boots that were not very favorable. However, I am thrilled with these boots. They far exceeded my expectations. They are super easy to use and very durable. I have already used them over 10 times and they have lots of useful life left. You can actually feel how tight and cold your horses legs are after using them - which we use after jumping due to a prior injury. For extra use, we use ziploc bags, doubled, filled with ice when the cold packs that come with this become warm.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST HAVE... These ice-wraps are a staple in my exercise regimen! After a work-out, I put these on my horse's legs and leave them on while I hand-graze him. My horse LOVES me! These DO stay cold longer... are super easy to put on and take off... and fit perfectly thanks to the stretchy velcro closures. I have just ordered another set for the back legs, too.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I took my horse to a three day clinic recently and bought these to help make sure he wasn't sore. I put them on after all three rides. First the back, then the front. And he didn't take one bad step the entire clinic.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tendon wraps - I LOVE them!! These ice wraps are the best! I got a full set and use them after a hard jumping session. They stay cold for a long time, even on a hot day. When I take them off, I can feel how evenly the cold has been distributed on the legs.You do have to make sure you put them on really tight because they could slip. I found out the hard way the first time I used them. The wraps slipped in back, my horse got mad and stomped and broke two of the ice packs before I could get the wrap off. This experience taught me to have a couple of extra packs on hand, just in case.If you have a full set, the ice packs will take up a lot of room in the freezer, but I only put them in the night before I'm going to use them.This is by far one of the best purchases I have ever made!
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product Great product ice packs stay cold for little over an hour. But Ice Horse Tendon Wraps do tend to slip down leg. But great product I would defiantly use this product again.
    Date published: 2011-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! These ice wraps are exactly what I needed. I have a nervous horse that is hard to keep in one place for icing. I also hated working with the ice trying to fill the pockets in some wraps. My horse is now able to eat hay in his stall after exercising while he is iced and I'm having great results.
    Date published: 2011-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent therapy for returning horse to soundness After suspensory injuries to three out of four legs my horse has made it through rehab and several months of training and is still sound. Due largely, I believe, to application of these boots on all four legs twenty minutes daily after work. Ice therapy apparently is very therapeutic after exercise.I have found a couple of small areas of netting which hold the ice pack have torn. This occured early after purchase, but no other problems since.I am able to borrow someone's freezer for storage, otherwise I wouldn't be able to use this product. Ihaven't found that a wetting of the area with a sponge is enough, (as recommended) to transfer the cold to the skin. I find only a full shower gets him wet enough on the legs for the cold to mold to his legs. I probably need to experiment more to aviod the full shower.I wish they had a larger size for the hock ice boots, because I would buy them too if a larger size were available.By the way, in the evening I follow up with Back on Track leg wraps for support and to increase circulation. I believe the combo of ice and then later application of warming supportive leg wraps has made a big difference in maintaining soundness after so much trauma.
    Date published: 2011-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ice horse tendon boots very easy to use, ice packs retain cold for a long time, very comfortable fit for the horse.Wish I would have purchased them years ago
    Date published: 2011-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Tendon injury in November and was hosing 3 times a day for a week, then purchased the ice boots and what a difference in the ease of treatment! Still treated injury 3 times a day without the hassle of hosing! Cold direct therapy with support. Easy to use, stays in place, longer treatment time and no messy wet clean up, especially in the cold winter weather. Have yet to use it for heat therapy. My only wish is to have the ice packs last longer, already on my third pair. Would recommend as a must have to any horse owner.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High-quality, effective, comfortable ice boots These are soft, flexible, but durable well-fitting splint ice boots which are absolutely perfect for an injured horse. I would reccommend every horse-owner have a pair around for emergencies!
    Date published: 2010-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from a good idea These would be better if they came in sizes--they are large on my large pony. That said, they seem to do the trick. I would be happier if you could buy just one instead of having to buy a pair.
    Date published: 2010-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ice Horse Boots Great product!!!! Great value!
    Date published: 2010-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Timely Purchase I purchased these to use after hard workouts and at shows. Well, my horse ended up having a bit of an inflamed deep digital flexor tendon and I have had to use them 2x a day. They work great! I do wet his leg down and the wrap to make sure there is complete contact but his leg already looks fabulous. I needed them 2 days after I received them. Very timely indeed!
    Date published: 2010-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tendon Injury Necessity These boots have really helped my pony's recovery from a flexor tendon injury. Cold hosing in freezing winter weather was a daunting task, but the ice boots made cold therapy a dream. I am now using them for heat therapy as his tendon heals. This is an easy tool to aid healing through all stages of recovery... freeze for cold or warm them in hot water for heat. The packs maintain their temp for more than enough time. The boot fits extremely well and stays put. The only problem I have run into is when one of the ice packs leaked when I was heating it. The cover over the air hole became unattached. I am sending it out to be replaced and so far the others are fine. Great product!
    Date published: 2010-02-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK , not the best. These boots have one bad flaw for my horses, They don't fit very well because the ice packs are to thick and bulky. When I changed the ice packs for slimer ones the boots are perfect!!. Also, I need to wrap the ice packs in a thin cloth so they don't sit against the horses skin.
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from maybe the best purchase I haven't used them yet, they were recommended to me by a women at my barn, she loves them if that helps.
    Date published: 2009-09-10
    • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_65
    • loc_en_US, sid_6475, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders