Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Ice Horse Tendon Wraps

MacKinnon Ice Horse
- Item #16475
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

IceHorse™ Tendon Wraps with FirstICE® provide uniform compression and coverage to reduce inflammation and heat of the tendons and ligaments around the cannon bone area after work or injury.

Ice Horse Tendon Wraps are high quality insulated cannon bone leg wraps that stay cold for up to 2 hours. Reusable after a minimum of 3 hours in the freezer. First+Ice inserts feature a patented food grade propylene glycol formula for quality assurance and non-toxic properties.

Includes: 2 wraps, 4 FirstICE® inserts. FirstICE® inserts are reusable packs that are made with a non-gel formula that stays soft and pliable when removed from the freezer. Conforms to the horse's canon bone and tendons. 

Made in the USA.

If you are looking for extra FirstICE® inserts or need replacements for your existing Ice Horse products, we have you covered with the Ice Horse FirstICE® replacement packs.


You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ice Horse Tendon Wraps is rated 4.5593 out of 5 by 59.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! These ice wraps are exactly what I needed. I have a nervous horse that is hard to keep in one place for icing. I also hated working with the ice trying to fill the pockets in some wraps. My horse is now able to eat hay in his stall after exercising while he is iced and I'm having great results.
    Date published: 2011-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent therapy for returning horse to soundness After suspensory injuries to three out of four legs my horse has made it through rehab and several months of training and is still sound. Due largely, I believe, to application of these boots on all four legs twenty minutes daily after work. Ice therapy apparently is very therapeutic after exercise.I have found a couple of small areas of netting which hold the ice pack have torn. This occured early after purchase, but no other problems since.I am able to borrow someone's freezer for storage, otherwise I wouldn't be able to use this product. Ihaven't found that a wetting of the area with a sponge is enough, (as recommended) to transfer the cold to the skin. I find only a full shower gets him wet enough on the legs for the cold to mold to his legs. I probably need to experiment more to aviod the full shower.I wish they had a larger size for the hock ice boots, because I would buy them too if a larger size were available.By the way, in the evening I follow up with Back on Track leg wraps for support and to increase circulation. I believe the combo of ice and then later application of warming supportive leg wraps has made a big difference in maintaining soundness after so much trauma.
    Date published: 2011-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ice horse tendon boots very easy to use, ice packs retain cold for a long time, very comfortable fit for the horse.Wish I would have purchased them years ago
    Date published: 2011-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Tendon injury in November and was hosing 3 times a day for a week, then purchased the ice boots and what a difference in the ease of treatment! Still treated injury 3 times a day without the hassle of hosing! Cold direct therapy with support. Easy to use, stays in place, longer treatment time and no messy wet clean up, especially in the cold winter weather. Have yet to use it for heat therapy. My only wish is to have the ice packs last longer, already on my third pair. Would recommend as a must have to any horse owner.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High-quality, effective, comfortable ice boots These are soft, flexible, but durable well-fitting splint ice boots which are absolutely perfect for an injured horse. I would reccommend every horse-owner have a pair around for emergencies!
    Date published: 2010-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from a good idea These would be better if they came in sizes--they are large on my large pony. That said, they seem to do the trick. I would be happier if you could buy just one instead of having to buy a pair.
    Date published: 2010-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Timely Purchase I purchased these to use after hard workouts and at shows. Well, my horse ended up having a bit of an inflamed deep digital flexor tendon and I have had to use them 2x a day. They work great! I do wet his leg down and the wrap to make sure there is complete contact but his leg already looks fabulous. I needed them 2 days after I received them. Very timely indeed!
    Date published: 2010-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tendon Injury Necessity These boots have really helped my pony's recovery from a flexor tendon injury. Cold hosing in freezing winter weather was a daunting task, but the ice boots made cold therapy a dream. I am now using them for heat therapy as his tendon heals. This is an easy tool to aid healing through all stages of recovery... freeze for cold or warm them in hot water for heat. The packs maintain their temp for more than enough time. The boot fits extremely well and stays put. The only problem I have run into is when one of the ice packs leaked when I was heating it. The cover over the air hole became unattached. I am sending it out to be replaced and so far the others are fine. Great product!
    Date published: 2010-02-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK , not the best. These boots have one bad flaw for my horses, They don't fit very well because the ice packs are to thick and bulky. When I changed the ice packs for slimer ones the boots are perfect!!. Also, I need to wrap the ice packs in a thin cloth so they don't sit against the horses skin.
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from maybe the best purchase I haven't used them yet, they were recommended to me by a women at my barn, she loves them if that helps.
    Date published: 2009-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and effective! These are convenient, durable and easy to use. They do a great job icing down the leg without the hassle of hosing.
    Date published: 2009-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Just purchased the Ice Horse Tendon Wraps - they look well made and durable, and are easy to put on. Will be a time saver for treating injuries or cooling legs after a hard work. I'm thinking of purchasing another pair so I can cool all four legs at the same time.
    Date published: 2009-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous wraps that stay cold! These leg wraps REALLY stay cold. No more melting ice packs in the warmer weather. I've tried lots of different cold packs and cold therapies and these wraps are the BEST. It's amazing how long they stay really really cold. No more cold hosing yay! Except everyone at the barn wants to borrow them...
    Date published: 2009-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy to Ice After a Hard Ride! Everyone at my barn uses these boots now; they are so easy. I strap them on the front legs when I start hosing my horse off after a tough jumping day and then move them to the hind legs after 10 or 15 minutes and they are still cold!The only bad thing is keeping other people from using them when I'm not!!
    Date published: 2009-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have I have two sets of these boots and use them continually. The boots themselves are very sturdy and impervious to dirt and hay. The inserts are not rock hard and mold readily to the horses leg. The boots are easy to apply and my horses don't mind wearing them. After a hard jumping school I always use these on their front legs. This is an EXCELLENT alternative to cold hosing. These will spare your horse the scratches and soft hooves that twice a day hosing for weeks on end will cause. They are easy to pack and take with you to a show. Everyone needs a set of these!!
    Date published: 2009-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have! I had these Tendon Wraps for about a year before I actually needed to use them, but they were well worth having around. When my horse's leg swelled up for no apparent reason, I dug these out of my first aid kit. They were SO easy to use. Just freeze the inserts, place them in the boot, and velcro on. The elastic velcro straps made it easy to adjust pressure and how tight I wanted to apply them. The inserts were not hard when frozen and stayed cold much longer than expected. They even stayed cold in my hot car on the 20 minute drive to the barn in 90 degree heat. I strongly recommend having a pair of these around- when the time comes, you will be very glad you do.
    Date published: 2008-08-12
    • 2015-05-22T08:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_54
    • loc_en_US, sid_6475, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.