Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Ice Horse Tendon Wraps

MacKinnon Ice Horse
- Item #16475
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

IceHorse™ Tendon Wraps with FirstICE® provide uniform compression and coverage to reduce inflammation and heat of the tendons and ligaments around the cannon bone area after work or injury.

Ice Horse Tendon Wraps are high quality insulated cannon bone leg wraps that stay cold for up to 2 hours. Reusable after a minimum of 3 hours in the freezer. First+Ice inserts feature a patented food grade propylene glycol formula for quality assurance and non-toxic properties.

Includes: 2 wraps, 4 FirstICE® inserts. FirstICE® inserts are reusable packs that are made with a non-gel formula that stays soft and pliable when removed from the freezer. Conforms to the horse's canon bone and tendons. 

Made in the USA.

If you are looking for extra FirstICE® inserts or need replacements for your existing Ice Horse products, we have you covered with the Ice Horse FirstICE® replacement packs.


Customers Also Shopped For
Click hereto purchase a Game Ready Professional Unit ...
Description:
Click hereto purchase a Game Ready Professional Unit Rental period is for 28 days from receipt of the unit. Extensions andpurchase options forthe unit is available. See Full Product Detail Tab for complete details. Game Ready Equine is the secret ...
ThePremier Equine Stable Boot Wraps are a fantastic ...
Description:
ThePremier Equine Stable Boot Wraps are a fantastic alternative to traditional bandaging and aregreat for traveling, overnight support, or to help reduce typical post-exercise swelling. Favorite Features Breathable micro-holedNeoprene (airtec) wraps with Soft cotton liners provide comfortableProtection and ...
Over 50 years of reliability behind these effective, ...
Description:
Over 50 years of reliability behind these effective, therapeutic boots. The quiet running industrial compressor produces aeration around the coronet that massages, reduces swelling and aids in injury recovery. Water depth and temperatures can be varied, and medications (water-soluble) can ...
ColdFlex Vet Wrap is an innovative self-cooling compression ...
Description:
ColdFlex Vet Wrap is an innovative self-cooling compression bandage. No pre-planning necessary- the bandage cools by evaporation and does not require refrigeration! Exclusive formulation of gelled water embedded into an elastic foam material supports and compresses while providing penetrating cold ...
The Back on Track Quick Wraps use state-of-the-art ...
Description:
The Back on Track Quick Wraps use state-of-the-art fabric which contains polyester thread embedded with a fine ceramic powder. Designed to reflect the horse's own body-warmth, it creates a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate pain associated ...
The Equilibrium Stretch & Flex Training Wraps were ...
Description:
The Equilibrium Stretch & Flex Training Wraps were designed withProtection in mind. The revolutionary Stomatex polyester material is comfortable to wear and helps to regulate skin temperature the hotter your horse, the more breathable the material. These wrapsare exceptionally flexible, ...
The Back on Track Therapeutic Hock Wraps use ...
Description:
The Back on Track Therapeutic Hock Wraps use state-of-the-art fabric which contains polyester thread embedded with a fine ceramic powder. Designed to reflect the horse's own body-warmth, it creates a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate pain ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Ice Horse Tendon Wraps is rated 4.590909090909091 out of 5 by 66.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ivery Horse Tendon Wraps Great product! Love SmartPak! This product is well made and easy to use.
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy breezy I bought the Ice Horse Tendon Wraps about a month ago (April) for our 14 year old TB who had strained his check ligament last September. Once we started to walk him around, bringing back his back muscles and just getting him used to being ridden after a long break, I ordered the tendon wraps. After every single ride/walk, I put the boots on for 20-25 minutes. Easy one, easy off. The ice packs STAY COLD! Tighten them around the leg as you would a sports medicine boot. Easy and clean. Worth the money. And most importantly, they help the recovering equine athlete.
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love love love this product. I was so tried of crushing ice and dealing with the zip lock bags. Best idea ever. Thank you Smartpak for carrying this product. Already seeing an improvement in my horses leg. Wish I had found this earlier. Haven't had a issue with it slipping either.
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a wonderful product I bought these for my horse that had a suspensory injury and I've noticed such a difference the day after a work out. Before I was using these I would only get to work her every other day but now we can ride everyday again not worrying her about being lame.
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! Targets the tendons great! Boots go on very easy. Front and back.
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little too short for the leg but a great concept These are very cold and effective when first applied. Easy to use at home, need to find a place to keep ice packs frozen at a horse show. Ice pack inserts are soft and pliable to gently apply pressure to hug tendons
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big enough for my 17 hand warmblood. I used these boots today for the first time after researching the use of ice after work. Basically every veterinarian, university, scientist and trainer I consulted agreed that post-work icing is beneficial. These Ice Horse boots worked great and were large enough for my 1,400 pound 17 hand warmblood. I cold hosed him first, then placed the wraps. The ice packs place perfectly on both sides of the tendon and the wraps can be adjusted as firmly or less firmly as desired. They stayed secure even while I walked him from the washrack back to his stall and the wraps and ice stayed in place while he moved around his stall. When I removed the boots after 20 minutes his legs were cold and tight exactly where I wanted the ice to be. For me these ice boots are a winner.
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as effective as cold hosing. My TBx gelding has degenerative suspensory ligament desmitis and I purchased these boots so I was not spending 20+ minutes daily wasting water cold hosing his legs. These boots are not the same as cold hosing and not nearly as effective. I put them on his hind legs and if I don’t keep him standing quietly on cross ties they slide down if he moves. The legs do not get cool, and I do not feel that they work nearly as good as cold hosing. I did try putting liniment on my horses legs, then the ice boots and it made a little bit of a difference, however the liniment eventually started irritating his skin so I cant do that daily. The instructions do say to wet the horses legs before using the boots. I was hoping these would fit like sports medicine boots, and they do not. They are short and would not cover the entire cannon bone for my horse, however I was looking for them to go slightly above the fetlock, so I am okay with the short height, however if you are looking to ice the upper suspensory these boots will not reach (on the average horse). They do not work well on my horse’s hind legs, maybe they would work better on the front, but that is not what I have them for. Seems overpriced for basically a neoprene holder for ice packs, better then nothing but not the greatest product in the world.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The new design is difficult to use... I have several pairs of the older boots which are three elastic straps and two mesh pockets with the soft Velcro outer cover. The ice packs fit inside those easily and as long as you put them on snugly they did not fall down. The NEW VERSION has a mesh bag with Velcro strap attached to the inside of the boot and the opening for the ice is SO SMALL! Your fingers go numb before you can squeeze the frozen bag into it. Once you have it on and strap down the ice packs, they flare out awkwardly and then you have to try and wrap the attached compression bandage around it. The Velcro is weak and will wear out quickly. It is challenging to wrap the compression portion around the bulky ice. The boot is now very bulky and awkward.The bags do pop after a few uses no matter what you do. The manufacture told me "I was the only one having this problem" but as I read the reviews on these I see everyone else has this issue.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these! I bought these a few weeks ago for my mare. She was having some real trouble with swelling in her legs (primarily her fronts) since she was on stall rest. My vet wanted me to ice her twice a day for twenty minutes. It was very time consuming standing with buckets of ice. I bought the Ice Horse Tendon Wraps and love them. They are super easy to use and my mare has no trouble standing with them. They are very secure and really help reduce her swelling. I use them on her front and hind legs with no problems. The only minor issue I have is they don't stay cold quite as long as they say, but other than that--they are awesome. I would definitely recommend these.
Date published: 2013-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but Too Small I like these ice boots in general, but I wish they came in sizes. They are way too short for my 17.2 horse's long legs, even in front, so I end up choosing between icing his fetlocks or his suspensories. I bought another brand of ice boots instead that covers more of his legs.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Like Really like the ice boots, I haven't had them that long, so don't know about durability, but they look like they will last. Mine are a little tall, but do a good job none-the-less.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easier than cold hosing but over priced Bought these for my horse who is recovering from a suspensory injury.Easiest way to use these wraps without the mesh lining ripping is to freeze the ice packs inside of the wraps. When you pull out of the freezer, break up the gel with your hands so that it is easier to mold around your horses legs.The wrap its self is stretchy and supportive, but you have to keep an eye on your horse while they're wearing them because as the gel warms up they may slide down. The mesh lining that holds the packs inside of the wrap are very fragile, which I was disappointed with. I can't see how these are going to hold up very well.Overall, a good alternative to cold hosing. A bit over priced, but worth it for ease of use.
Date published: 2013-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tendon ice boots! These are really nice tendon ice boots. They are very easy to fill with the ice packs and apply to the legs. The velcro holds very well. I place these on my horses front legs after every ride for about 15 min. I can leave him alone in his stall with these on and not have to worry about them slipping down or any other issues. They are very convenient especially for daily use.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase I really like the Ice Horse Wraps but I think there alittle expensive, and they do slip down if you have a high injury.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Alternative to Cold Hosing I have a horse recovering from a Deep Digital Flexor Tendor injury and I use these ice boots four times a day (before and after hand walking). Overall I have been very pleased with them and they are much more convenient than cold hosing. I have found that it works best to put the gel packs in the boot and freeze the whole thing as the frozen packs will not go into the mesh liners without tearing them. I also recommend that you do not leave a horse unattended while icing as the boot can slip and become damaged if they step on it. I also wet my horse's leg before icing to increase the cooling action. Overall I'm very pleased.
Date published: 2013-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked like a charm! My horse recently got a moderate tear in her check ligament and was put on stall rest until further notice. I was given a topical ointment to bring down the swelling, but the swelling stayed and over time she got wind puffs and more swelling throughout the leg. I decided it was time to try something different. I only used these boots 2-3 times a week for about 20-30 minutes and within the first two weeks the swelling decreased greatly! Her leg looks much much better and the heat has been reduced as well. I couldn't be happier with the results.The boots don't look as nice and tidy as they do in the picture above, but they work and that's all that matters to me. They are also a little awkward unless your horse will stand still and let you put them on, in which case they aren't too difficult at all! The boots also slip down a bit if the horse walks or paws, but they are easy enough to fix that it isn't a problem.I can't wait to use these, and the hock boots, once she gets back into work to help reduce strain in the future! I would recommend these to anyone!
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than cold hosing I bought these for my horse who has a deep digital flexor tendon injury. After freezing temperatures made cold hosing impossible, I invested in a set of these. I found it best to put the gel packs into the boots and then freeze the whole thing together. If you freeze the packs and then try to insert them, they don't fit and you'll tear the netting. I also find that it takes about a half hour for the packs to soften up enough to mold to the leg but that you can still get a good icing if they're a bit hard. I don't recommend icing unattended as they start to loosen as the gel warms up and could slip.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OBSESSED WOW, loooove these. My 13 y/o Oldenburg has chronic thickening and frequent stocking up of his hind suspensories. I use these at shows or after a hard jumping lesson and it works wonders for him. My routine is to brush his legs off, apply these for 10-20 min, then give a rub down with Sore No More, follow by standing bandages with Wilker's quilts (+/- a poultice for really hard days). Yes, it's a process, but there's a reason my guy is still sound and happy after a looong career as an A/O hunter, even with his funky legs!
Date published: 2013-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are great! I love my ice horse tendon wraps! I always cold hose or ice my horses' legs after jumping or strenuous work and these are so easy to use. Much easier than hosing for sure and easier to use than my older ice boots, which would get really hard and then didn't fit the shape of the leg well. The ice Horse boots mold perfectly around the lef. I also feel that the temperature on these are ideal - plus you can stick the packs in the microwave for heat too!
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purhcase I have an older horse that has to be babied after a workout. The tendon wraps work wonderfully.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time-saver!! I bought these for one of my Lipizzan geldings for treatment of an injury to his left fore. I used these for therapy for 10 minutes instead of hosing for 20 minutes!! A lot more convenient & less messy than the traditional way. It really saved time as well. I really love these therapy boots & believe they hastened the healing process as well.Thanks again, Smartpak for coming through again!! Your customer service is fantastic as always!!!!!
Date published: 2012-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally got my own pairs I have worked with theses boots from friends horses and wanted sets for my show horse. Easy to put on. Our barn needs a bigger freezer for all of the Ice Boots in it! Now if I can just convince her to appreciate my efforts and stop trying to stomp them off!
Date published: 2012-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the price I have an older Grand Prix schoolmaster and I already had 2 of the Ice Horse tendon wraps which I began using after my rides to help keep my horse sound. They have lasted me for years and are still in good shape. I bought 2 more so now I can treat my Max with cold therapy on all four legs after each ride. I expect to be able to use and reuse them for many years to come.
Date published: 2012-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest ice boots ever After my horse had a tendon injury, I spent several weeks cold hosing and using a cumbersome ice pack the affected area. I was so happy to finally find these boots that are easy to use!
Date published: 2012-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Useable Safe, flexible design will work well with different sizes of legs. I like the easy change pockets allowing you to keep one pair on and another pair of packets cooling in the fridge for constant therapy. I also like the reuseable feature of the coolant packs.Note: it takes two inserts per boot.
Date published: 2012-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Get the job done I purchased these for management of my young guys old bowed tendon. They get the job done, but i'm not confident it's the best option for an injury. If the ice packs are frozen, they don't conform to the leg & subsequently you get uneven cooling (literally I can feel cool & warm spots on his leg when we're done icing). So it's best to wait til they unfreeze just a bit. Even then, the cooling isn't that even & you're left with readjusting the straps as it continues to unfreeze. Also, the ice packs themselves are a bit pricey (especially considering they don't last long & you need replacements). For more investment up front, i purchased the Equifit Gel compression boot.........hoping it resolves some of the issues I had w/these. Having said all of that, they really can get the job done if you don't want to put more money out up front. For me, my little guys legs are too important to skimp :)
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from what's up with the ice bags??? Great idea and overall, good design. But gosh, what is the deal with the ice packs? I used it .... twice??? and after reading reviews was kneading it a bit to warm it up enough to mold to my horse's leg and I looked down and there are ice crystals on my legs!!! Leaks already! I had read about the leaks but I was so careful and did nothing to ruin them....laid them carefully flat each time frozen with no sharp edges....and still leaked. Otherwise, good product for less than an hour of cold. Better than hosing.
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must for Any Barn These boots get used a lot at my barn, and they are fantastic. They stay cold, conform to the legs, and are very durable to withstand use and abuse by a barn of 25 show horses. My gelding got a deep bone bruise on his knee last year, and instead of cold hosing, I used one of these boots over his knee, and it did the trick (instead of purchasing a separate knee boot). They can have the tendency to slip, so make sure to supervise your horse while using these (I like to use them while my horse is in the cross ties, while he is icing I can groom or pull his mane or supervise him while cleaning tack). Every barn needs to have a pair of these boots at their disposal, they are an easy and effective alternative to cold hosing.
Date published: 2012-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy! These boots are great. They stay cold for so long, it's easy to pack them in a small cooler and bring them with you for a day outing. They will still be cold enough to ice your horse's legs down.They're convenient too. Just pull the packs out of the freezer and slip them in to the boots and put them on, and walk away. No more trying to get your horse to stand in a bucket, or bulky ice bags to lug around.The ice packs don't freeze completely solid, so they easily conform to your horse's legs.These boots help keep my horse sound, and I use them after every jumping session and competition.
Date published: 2012-01-06
  • 2016-07-28T11:08CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_6475, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders