Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

HyperKewl Cooling Vest

Item #19461
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Stay cool all summer long with the HyperKewl Cooling Vest!  A combination of unique fabrics creates a water management system to keep you cool regardless of temperature. The unique HyperKewl fabric absorbs, stores, and releases water within the multi-layered material. Water is "released" through evaporation, energy is consumed, and a chill effect is created. The HyperKewl fabric actually cools the body exactly the same way the body cools itself, through evaporation.

To activate the evaporative cooling vest, simply submerge the item in water for 1-2 minutes allowing the HyperKewl fabric to absorb the water. Gently squeeze out any excess water, wipe dry and the vest is ready to wear. The vest will remain activated for hours and can be re-hydrated by following these simple steps. The vest is meant to be worn over clothing and will feel damp to the touch.  Hand wash only.

Favorite Features

  • Fabric creates a water management system to keep you cool the same way your body cools itself, through evaporation
  • High mandarin collar for additional cooling relief
  • Provides sun protection
  • Front pockets with zipper closures
  • Fitted front seams and a gathered waist in the back for a flattering fit
  • Weight while the vest is wet is about 4 lbs.

Sizing It Up

Small- X-Large

Customers Also Shopped For
The Doolin Top by Dubarry isaclassically styled 3/4 ...
Description:
The Doolin Top by Dubarry isaclassically styled 3/4 length sleeve with ascoop neckline.Enjoythis casual piece in and outside the barn! Favorite Features 95% cotton, 5% Elastane single jersey Custom Yarn dye stripe jersey for longer lasting color Lightly peached face ...
TheHit Air Equestrian Super Light Weight Vest is ...
Description:
TheHit Air Equestrian Super Light Weight Vest is a"harness type" airbag that employs the higher speed key ball mechanism (component that activates the CO2 cartridge).This model is especially light weight, cool and more comfortable than the competing brand. It is ...
Tipperary Eventer Vest is most preferred by world ...
Description:
Tipperary Eventer Vest is most preferred by world class riders! Light weight Flex-Pad design allows for a contoured custom fit that is not restrictive to movement. The Tipperary Eventer Vestfeatures a durable Durasport covering with a Micro mesh inner lining ...
The Ariat Team Cambria Polo is perfect for ...
Description:
The Ariat Team Cambria Polo is perfect for warm weather riding. Made from a comfortablestretch material, this polois accented withbreathable mesh throughout the entire back and side panels. Features a self-fabric collar. Favorite Features Ariat Moisture Movement Technology draws moisture ...
The Katie Double Up Tank by Noble Outfittersisa ...
Description:
The Katie Double Up Tank by Noble Outfittersisa great piece for those warm days at the barn or running errands! Favorite Features Opti-Dry Technology wicks away moisture Stretch mesh built in inner tank for added breathability Reflective logo detailing Machine ...
The Elite is lighter, more flexible and breathable ...
Description:
The Elite is lighter, more flexible and breathable than ever before with enhancedProtection over the spine and ribs. TheProtector utilizes a single layer of Nastec X32 foam through the length of the spinal region to provide unsurpassedProtection against sharp impacts ...
out of 5
86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

HyperKewl Cooling Vest is rated 4.171428571428572 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful product I over heat easily in the summer so I decided to try this vest this year. I won't say it makes 90* feel like 75*, but I think it does help keep my body temp down enough that I don't get feeling so weak and shaky. It works best on hot but not extremely humid days after soaking it and letting it sit in a fridge or ice chest while I tack up. Muggy mornings/days, it is not as effective, though.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works! I was pleasantly surprised that even in 100 degrees this vest kept me cooler than I would have been otherwise. The sizing is a little bulky, would prefer it to have been more tailored but overall well worth the cost.
Date published: 2015-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver @ 110 degrees This vest is awesome! Living in Las Vegas and working outside with horses during our summer months this vest is a life saver. I fold mine up and put it in a zip lock bag in the fridge so it's cool each day. The high collar on this style verses others on the market will keep you cooler and save you the money of buying a cooling towel too.
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It has a great wake up affect!! I have MS and the heat if not my friend. So, I can work in the barn on these hot Georgia days in my vest.
Date published: 2015-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cool comfort This cool vest is great! I can work with my mules during summer heat in relative comfort. A downside is the material catches easily on rough objects and snags. I would recommend this product.
Date published: 2014-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice for summer trail rides. I like the design on this vest. The collar keeps the sun off my neck, zippered pocket for keys & lip balm, gathered waist and lightweight mesh panels under your arms. Works best if you put it in a small ice chest after soaking and put on right before mounting up.
Date published: 2014-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cools pretty nicely, fairly well made. I used it for a while in the summer but unfortunately it doesn't fit me anymore, I think the water may have stretched it out. The cut of the vest was nice. There is not very many signs of wear other than some slight discoloration.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from How did I love without this vest in the Summer?! I'm a pansy when it comes to hot and humid weather, I just have no tolerance. I got this vest based on good reviews and decided to try it. OMG, how did I ever live without this?! 90 deg with 78% humidity and I didn't sweat a drop during my ride. Super easy to use, I just fill a bucket with cold water, let it sit for a few mins and gently squeeze water and I'm good to go. I found the fit to be not ideal for my body type (slender/tall). The small fits me in the chest but it is much too large at the waist/hips. I will be making some minor alterations to mine to get it to fit more closely. It really needs to be close to your skin to work properly. At first I also thought it was much too short for my torso but in the saddle it was just about right. Whatever tank/shirt you wear underneath will get damp but its still totally worth it. I gave it 2 stars for durability as some of the stitching and fabric was coming apart after only a few uses which was surprising as the material and workmanship seems high quality. Smartpak was amazing as always and exchanged it for a new one right away.
Date published: 2013-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this vest! It helps so much during these dog days of summer...even during monsoon season! Looking forward to riding in it when the humidity level drops so the evaporative cooling effect can really take off. The zip-up high neck works better than sunscreen. Bonus: it's dirt-colored! :)
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fell apart! I recently ordered the HyperKewl vest because other gals at my barn had them and loved it. I have only worn it four times and it's already coming apart at the seams. Very disappointed. Hopefully, I just got a bad one.
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I bought it! I,like some horses, don't sweat well and so summer is a difficult time and then being physically active riding is even tougher. I just tried the cooling vest under my jumping protection vest and under my pinney (which then hold a lot of heat) for cross country at a horse trial. Warmup was hot and we were out on course for a long time and I was so grateful to have that continuous cool against my torso. My coach got two for herself- one in white so she can wear it in a dressage test. Really useful product!
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised! Very nice design that is more like a traditional fitted riding vest than other similar products for much less money. Good, neutral color and great fit! Love it!Now that I am in a high humidity area, I'll have to see how it works with humidity, but look forward to giving it a try!
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How did I ever live without this!! OK, I am not sure how I ever lived without this vest! I was able to get mine in black and when shows waive coats, I feel I still look good!! It does not leave you wet, you stay cool for hours and I think that is why I was able to get better scores at my last show. I rode two horses and 4 tests in 90 degree weather. I was tired, but not wilted. One poor girl passed out! I bought my husband one, since he helps me as a groom!! BEST BUY EVER. Photo is with the vest on! Smartpak should get the black!!
Date published: 2013-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Life Saver at Shows Good product, i dont know about durability since I have only had it for a month but I wore it at my last horse show and it was great. I like that it is tan instead of the other bright colors other cooling vests come in. Makes show days so much more bearable in August in the desert
Date published: 2012-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It actually works! I got this vest for my birthday and tried it for the first time last weekend in 104 heat. It worked great for about 3 hours and slowly started evaporating after that. But, the first few hours were amazing! It actually kept me from getting overheated, like I normally would in the heat, and I could really feel it cooling against my skin. It is a little heavy at first, but it's not much heavier than a winter puffy vest. I wear a size 4/small usually and this vest fit great. Slightly loose, which is good because it allows air flow. I would definitely recommend this if you have to be out in the heat!
Date published: 2012-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from must have!!! I absolutely love my jacket except it's not very attractive, but will keep you cool. It's very durable and can last a long time just maintain it and don't put it in chlorine to get it wet. GET THIS YOU'LL LOVE IT!!!!!
Date published: 2012-03-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Couldn't find one to fit I wear a lot of Lands' End and LL Bean clothes. Pants / shorts in size 6 or 8, shirts, jackets and vests in size small. I received the HyperKewl vest in size small as a gift. I could get it on but it was uncomfortably tight in the hips. I exchanged it for a medium which fit in the hips but was much too big everywhere esle, so the medium was returned as well. This vest is for women with a straight, slim hip build. It appeared well made; I think I would have liked it if it had fit. The friend that gave it to me loves hers for hot weather riding.
Date published: 2011-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wow- it really works! After living on the coast all my life and then a move to a hotter climate, I had trouble dealing with the 100+ temps. My husband bought me this vest to hopefully "keep the wife happy". To my surprise, it really works! it is a bit heavy but once it's on but once you feel how much cooler it makes you feel, it won't matter. The vest stays cool for at least a couple hours. It will make your clothes a bit damp. I've only had it a month or two so don't know it's true durability yet.
Date published: 2011-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This vest is a lifesaver! Temperatures in Texas have been over 100 degrees for 30 days, with no relief in sight. The HyperKewl cooling vest has enabled me to continue to ride my horse in spite of the oppressive heat.To increase the cooling power, I have placed frozen ice packs in the folded vest until just before riding.The weight of the fully loaded vest is a little disconcerting when you first put it on but I don't notice it after a few minutes.I have shared this vest with others and they are amazed at the cooling sensation it provides.It has been a lifesaver.
Date published: 2011-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a well made product The Hyperkewl vest does keep you relatively cool.However it is a bit heavy on my shoulders and does move around when I ride in it. It is good when I am working out in the barn it keeps my body temp down. I wear it when I am walking and basic warm up on my horse and then take it off. It does keep me cool when I am teaching in the sun.
Date published: 2011-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Vest! I bought this vest because I don't handle the heat well. I used it at a two day show this past weekend and it did great. The fit is good. My measurements weren't right on with the ones given. The bust and hips were about my size, but the waist was 2-3 inches too small. I order it anyway, and had no problem with it fitting. There is a little elastic in the back so it had some give.The best way I found for this vest to work is to dunk it in ice water. So, you have a cool vest to put on, and then the evaporating effects help too.This vest does not work in extreme humidity. It was in the upper 80s and then it poured down rain for an hour, so the air was very, very thick. It does work in mild to mid humidity. I live in NC, so I know about humidity. This was my biggest concern before buying this vest. I still recommend it though because it works when its still humid, but not at 100% humidity. You do get a little wet from the vest, but no more than what you would from sweat. I have the kerrits ventilator jersey (listed under the products I recommend) and its a moisture wicking material and I stayed dry.The vest looks great on too, I had someone come up to me and tell me how professional it looked. They were surprised when I told them it was a cooling vest.I actually bought my vest at a different site because they had the exact vest in black and I wanted black for the dressage arena. I wish Smartpak carried it in black.
Date published: 2011-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HyperKewl is Hyper Cool! I have a hyper sensitivity to heat and I love the outdoors and my horses. It makes it tough for me in the Mid-Western Summer heat when the humidity drives the temps up. I usually have to go scurrying in before I get sick and blistered (heat rash), and easily contract het stroke if I am not extra cautious. Not with the HyperKewl vest. I found it fit perfect. No strange couture sizing. It is well made, durable, stylish, and incredibly holds the cooling water for hours of comfort even against triple digit temperatures. I spent 4 hours in 100 degrees at the ferriers the other day and did not break a sweat! It was still ready for more hours of comfort. Thank you HyperKewl! Where have you been all my life?
Date published: 2011-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cooling for 1-2 hours Works great and really keeps me cool for about 1-2 hours. then it dries out and have to be submerged in the water for another 2-3 minutes to reactivate. Highly recommend! I like this better than Cool Medics – more flattering fit and it's less expensive as well.
Date published: 2011-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from VERY PLEASED I live in Oklahoma and we have very hot summers with 100+ temps for extended periods of time. I don't do well in the heat. My sister was coming from NM for a visit so I ordered 2 of these. We rode one day before the vests arrived for 1.5 hrs in the morning and she was throwing up from the heat. The vests arrived the next day and the next morning we rode for 4 hours and it was 95 when we got back to camp. We could have ridden longer but the horses were getting hot. My friends are going to order them now. I was really happy about a lower priced vest that I could afford and it works well. And they fit well too. It is a little heavy when wet and your shirt does get moist but oh to be able to enjoy riding and not have to quit due to temperture. Thank you for selling this product!
Date published: 2011-07-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hyperkewl vest fell apart on first ride I bought this vest for horseback riding in the heat. It does keep you cool, but the pocket and seam stitching fell apart on the first ride. The zipper is cheap and broke already. The seam tape is poorly stitched. I have since seen the Cool Vest, they are thicker and much better made.
Date published: 2011-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK but wet one of the things they need to not in the advertising is that you need to plan an getting wet, because it uses water vapor to cool you. Would not recommend.
Date published: 2011-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Works!!! I ordered this during the 12 Deals in December. I have medical problem that makes riding in the heat difficult.I just started wearing it this spring and it really does work. I tested by riding 1/2 my lesson without vest and other 1/2 with vest on. With the vest was definitely more comfortable.Weight of wet vest takes a little to get used to, but definitely worth it.I read that the fit runs small, so I ordered a medium. It's too big for me. I'm ordering a small and my friend is buying my medium.Cheers to cooler riding!!!!
Date published: 2011-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Summer Riding This is a great product for hot, humid, summer riding days. It's very easy to use, just soak the vest for a minute or two in cold water, squeeze out the extra water, and you're ready to go. With this vest, summer riding is so much more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it to anyone in a hot, humid location.
Date published: 2011-03-27
  • 2016-07-30T10:52CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_9461, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders