Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Hip Action for Dogs

- Item #13964
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing dog
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Hip Action’s unique formula includes ingredients to support joint health and comfort in your dog. Each bite-size piece contains 300 mg of glucosamine and 50 mg of chondroitin for healthy joints plus vitamins, minerals, and amino acids. These ingredients are packed into delicious, easy-to-feed treats – no slimy pills or messy powders! Beef or peanut butter flavored. Save 5% when you buy both flavors!

60 morsels in each 1lb bag.

Click here to view our Canine Joint Product Comparison Chart.

Click here to view our Canine Multi-Vitamin Comparison Chart.

Customers Also Shopped For
Deluxe Line Raised Collar This substantial leather collar ...
Deluxe Line Raised Collar This substantial leather collar offers the best value in quality, finish and price. Solid brass hardware. Add a personalized nameplate. Havana (left) or Oakbark (right). Even sizes 12"-26". Made in the USA
Forget the heat! Whole Life combines Greek yogurt, ...
Forget the heat! Whole Life combines Greek yogurt, fresh raw fruits and vegetables and ground flax seed as the foundation for Living Treats. Instead of cooking, Whole Life avoids nutrient loss by freeze drying, which allows them to maintain the ...
The classic Baker pattern you love for your ...
The classic Baker pattern you love for your horse is now available for your canine friend too! This beautiful collar features leather detailing and aNeoprene lining for extra comfort. Favorite Features Durable Solid brass hardware Beautiful leather straps Neoprene liningSizing ...
Earthborn Holistic EarthBites are a moist and satisfying ...
Earthborn Holistic EarthBites are a moist and satisfying grain-free snack your dog canEnjoy while still maintaining a healthy, active lifestyle. These antioxidant-rich formula contains high-quality protein and a powerful blend of wholesome vegetables and fruits. Balanced Omega-6 and Omega-3 fatty ...
The Weaver Leather Deck Dog Leash coordinates perfectly ...
The Weaver Leather Deck Dog Leash coordinates perfectly with nautical style Deck Dog Collar! Made with top grain leather this leash is backed by premium English Bridle leather with upholstery lining at the handle for added comfort! Favorite Features Durable ...
There's nothing like a delicious sweet potato cooked ...
There's nothing like a delicious sweet potato cooked to perfection! Now your dog canEnjoy the same great taste with Barkworthies All-Natural Sweet Potato Chips! Sweet potatoes grown in sunny California are simply washed, thick-cut and dehydrated, making a chewy, tasty ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Hip Action for Dogs is rated 4.756756756756757 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results I've used this product for 6 months now. My dog loves the taste, and it works really well for her arthritis.
Date published: 2015-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Loves It I purchased this a few weeks ago and my dog loves it. I am sure it must be my imagination but her hips already seem better.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Shiba Loves These! My Shiba Inu, Shelby, is ten years old and still active in agility. She has shown no signs of slowing down, and she loves to tear around our back yard. I've been giving her a "hip treat" each morning after her walk for at least the last six or seven years, maybe more. I also like this brand because they don't use wheat in their products, which I'm pretty sure my dog is allergic to. She looks forward to eating this treat, and it seems to be helping to keep her young and spry. That's all I can ask for! :)
Date published: 2013-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from help for joint pain in large dog our nearly 8 year old deerhound who has had spine surgery and other health problems is revived on these supplements( and when she has been inadvertently off them is much worse) so we highly recommend them,and she also likes to eat them.My expertise is not horsey but medical professional
Date published: 2013-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Product! I did not have high expectations for this product, but it looked interesting, so I ordered it. When I started giving it, I saw immediate, positive results. It was like night and day. Then I ran out and gave something else. The something else wasn't as effective and actually seemed to have negative results on the test dog. I went back to Hip Action, and again saw positive, immediate results. I was a bit surprised that some dogs refuse to eat these. The test subject dog is a 16 year old tiny terrier mix, who is missing at least three teeth, and has a lot of health issues. She pulls the Hip Action square out of her bowl and gobbles that down before she even starts to eat her Royal Canin "Recovery" food, which smells good even to me!! She is an extremely fussy eater and thinks these are the bomb! I am on a limited budget and these are worth every penny!! They are like magic!!!
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from She won't eat them I was hoping this would be the answer to our 15 year old Golden's joint supplement needs...not so much. She won't eat them unless I break them up and cover them in peanut butter and stand over her until she chews and swallows. Back to poking pills down her throat.
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Treat Dogs love this treat, easy to feed and a good size
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has helped my husky so much! My 11 year old husky Blaze had begun to have problems getting up and down and going up stairs. With in a month of using hip action she not only started moving better but she got more energetic and playful again. It has improved the quality of the rest of her life and for that I am thankful.
Date published: 2011-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for picky dogs with joint issues Our 25 lb. dog has major arthritis issues in his back end, in large part due to surgery he had a few years back to repair his CCL in his "knee" (actually up near where you might think of as a hip). We've had him on joint products in tablet form ever since, but he has only recently quit eating them without putting them in cheese, peanut butter, etc. I decided to try these out 2 mos. ago and our dog is delighted with them! They are chewy and easy to eat, but be aware that these treats do come with a bit of a smell which my husband has likened to "catfish bait." It's not horrible, just noticeable :) You can't beat them for quality ingredients. Even the fussiest owner will be pleased with them for that reason alone. But they are a bit large for a small dog to have more than 1-2 times a day. They can easily be torn, however.
Date published: 2011-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT I have tried other joint supplements and could not get my dog to eat them even wrapped in other food. Our lab loves these treats. He is over a 100 lbs and almost 9 years old. The Hip action immediately improved his gait and keeps him moving well.And as an added bonus, they are made in the USA!
Date published: 2011-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big help to my older dog! My 11 year old husky began having a harder time moving around. My vet recommended I get her a glucosamine/chondroitin supplement. After just two weeks on this she started moving like a young pup again. It has been wonderful to see her more energetic, comfortable and at ease. I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2011-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!!! I love Hip Action for Dogs! Both my dogs love it and eat it as a snack!
Date published: 2011-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for my old girl I have been very happy with this item. It really seemed to help my old Mastif move better after about 3 weeks. And she thinks its just a treat, so it must taste great, cuz she can be PICKY.
Date published: 2011-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I own two very picky dogs who both need a joint supplement. Hip Action is great! They both love the taste and eat the product like a treat. Both my dogs move around much more comfortably. I would highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2011-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for older dogs My 10 year old husky was beginning to show her age. She had slowed down in general and was having difficulty going up stairs and rising after laying down. Hip action has really turned back the clock. After about a month on it she is full of energy and moving with ease. Not only that but she is a REALLY picky eater and she LOVES the beef flavored treats.
Date published: 2010-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff! I wasn't really sure if my dog would like these but I thought I would give them a try since they were supposed to help his hips and they were fairly cheap. My dog who has severe hip dysplasia ended up loving them. I didn't see a noticeable improvement in his hips but it couldn't have hurt him. I felt a lot better giving him a treat that was healthy for him.
Date published: 2010-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs Love it! My dogs absolutely love the beef flavored bites, haven't used the Peanut Butter just yet, but have no doubt they'll like that as well. They have no idea these are actually good for them!
Date published: 2010-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty treat that is good for my dog. I haven't noticed any improvement in Roscoe's hips on these but he loves them.
Date published: 2010-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hip Action Hopefully, this will help my dog with his hip problems. He loves the treat and would like to eat more than one per day! He has only had 5 so not sure if it will help or not....waiting to see.
Date published: 2010-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good dog treat It's hard to find a treat version of a glu/chon supplement for dogs...much easier to feed than the pill...the dogs love these!
Date published: 2010-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have been using this product for years after meeting a rep and an event. Very noticeable difference in my Lab who was 7 years old at the time and had had both knees repaired before. He is eleven now and been using Zuke's Hip Action ever since!
Date published: 2009-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from She Loves Them I use them for "good bye" treats and I think she actually looks forward to me leaving the house. But really, I hope they are as nutritious as they are tasty!
Date published: 2009-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful purchase for your dog! I have used Hip Action treats now for over a year. I have a 9 year old Golden Retriever who has had many many hip/joint injuries. My vet recommended these to me a long time ago to add to the glucosamine pills I give him and I use them as a bedtime treat. He loves the taste and its a great way to get extra "vitamins" into your dog. They are soft and taste like a good beef treat. I was thrilled that SmartPak started carrying them.
Date published: 2009-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 in one! These treats are great. The dogs go nuts over them and don't even know that they are healthy and giving them extra joint support!
Date published: 2009-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog thinks it's a treat Our little dog gets her Hip Action for Dogs as her treat after grooming each morning. She just loves it. No need to struggle with pills. I break it in half and she thinks she is getting two treats!
Date published: 2009-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Little Yummies! My dog loves these, but they are expensive for the count of actual treats. I try to give him enough everyday to support his system, but the amount of supplements in the treat is not worth the price.
Date published: 2009-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps Her Moving HipAction has become part of my 16-year-old dog's regular routine. She loves the taste, and we notice her mobility is decreased if we miss a "Treat". As an older dog, moving around and going up the stairs is sometimes tough for her, but with Hip Action she is still very mobile. The price is right and the levels of supplements really work for her. I'm really happy I started her on this first instead of going right to the more expensive joint supplements.
Date published: 2009-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I met a rep from this company who gave me great samples for my two dogs who where with me at the time. I had already been feeding my older Lab a powdered supplement so said "What the heck, I'll give them a try". Even my picky, sensitive stomach dog loves them and the treat form is so easy to feed. My older dog was running around and actually trying to jump on people again after two knee surgeries along with bad hips! I love the fact that this product does not have all the "extra" by products and preservatives like many of even the best supplements have. Even more importantly, the people who make up this company are true "Dog people"!
Date published: 2006-06-07
  • 2016-10-21T11:38CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_3964, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders