Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Herm Sprenger Short Shank Hackamore

Herm Sprenger
- Item #17096
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Herm Sprenger Short Shank Hackamore is stainless steel and is complete with a padded leather noseband and adjustable leather curb strap. The cheek is relatively short, reducing the nose pressure. This 'bit' should sit halfway between where a caveson and drop noseband would lie. 13cm shank. Black or Brown.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Herm Sprenger Short Shank Hackamore is rated 4.3333 out of 5 by 18.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Like all Sprenger bits, this is very nice.However, I would have appreciated a picture of how to place it on my horse. I recall that when I bought a Sprenger D-bit nine years ago, there was an explanation of which way the little arrow should point. Fortunately, someone posted on the Chronicle of the Horse forum asking about hackamores. Responders provided links to photos, so I figured out how low to have the hackamore on my horse's head. http://www.sandridge.ca/Bridles_Misc.asp (last two photos)
    Date published: 2011-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice quality hackamore I was interested in trying a hackamore on one of my QH's for the first time. Although this hackamore is a little big on his QH face, it is a very well made, quality leather hackamore & works well. It will defintiely become a regular in my bit repertoire.
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Variety is the spice of life I bought this hackamore for fun. I just wanted to try something different with my horse and he seems to enjoy being bitless for short hacks. The hackamore itself is made very well. The shanks are real stainless stell; the leather is soft and padded; and, it fits all of my horses from 14.3 to 18.1!
    Date published: 2010-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made piece This Hackamore looks great on the dressage bridle and fits the horse perfectly. He is 30 yrs old and has some tooth issues and this was a very easy transition and works as well as using a bit. He looks forward to having his bridle put on again!
    Date published: 2010-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the most amazing hack ever! i bought this product 2 weeks ago and i used it on my horse and she did remarkable with it and responded alot better than the other hack we used to use on her.
    Date published: 2009-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hackamore I really like this hackamore. The shanks are actually made out of stainless steel. The noseband is very comfortably padded, but the ends of straps do not fit well into the keepers when you use the larger setting. I had to use a cable tie to keep them secured.I also replaced the chin strap with a western style curb chain with biothane straps - it works better than the leather chin strap that came with it.With these modifications, it should last for many miles. My horse loves it so I hope it does!
    Date published: 2009-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FAVORITE PIECE OF TACK! This hackamore is very soft and gentle with the adjustable, supple, padded leather noseband and nicely made curb strap.It looks really fabulous on my english bridle, which is an added bonus!I went from a Dynamic RS lozenge snaffle to this hackamore for both arena work and on the trails with my big three year old. He gives at the poll readily just like he did with the bit, however, he seems more relaxed. I can tell he really likes it!For winter riding it will be great as you can just tack up and go without worrying about the bit warming challenge.I am really glad I bought it!
    Date published: 2009-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality bit This hackamore is a nice, sturdy bit. I did replace the leather curb strap with a rubber covered curb chain because I could make a better fit for my horse's smaller head. We actually do dressage in this bit and it works very well. My horse loves to lean in to a bit and with this hackamore she is much more balanced and supple.
    Date published: 2009-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The leather is a little lighter than I expected, but overall a quality product.
    Date published: 2009-05-04
    • 2015-05-26T10:23CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_17
    • loc_en_US, sid_7096, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.