Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Loose Ring

Herm Sprenger
- Item #17107
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse´s mouth resulting in soft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a very effective way, keeping the horse on the bit. The gentle joint in the middle which is angled forward - the characteristic feature of the KK ULTRA - and the fine loose ring design makes it a very friendly bit. The mouthpiece is made of AURIGAN, the material that activates the chewing activity of your horse. The new DYNAMIC RS bit gives soft but very effective instructions for a better contact between horse and rider. 

Genuine patented Aurigan bits are manufactured only by Herm Sprenger. Aurigan is a perfect mixture of materials (85% copper, 4% silicon and 11% zinc). Aurigan has high oxidation properties and provides a pleasant taste to encourage chewing activity and easy acceptance of the bit.

The Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Loose Ring is offered in mouth sizes 5", 5 1/4" or 5 3/4". 70mm stainless steel rings. 14mm thickness.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Loose Ring is rated 4.8372 out of 5 by 43.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what Briches needed. Thinking about a new bit for months, I gave Smart Pak a call and spoke to a young lady who really knew about this bit. Gave it a try and my POA loves it; she is so supple and responsive with such a light hand.
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit I have other HS bit like the KK etc and they are well made, balanced bits. A little expensive.
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Bit! The bit is an important piece of equipment, it's how we stay connected with our horse so while the price is a tad high the quality and results of this bit are worth it!!! Each horse is different on what works, so trial and error is a must. But this bit is certainly a great starting point and works great for my horse who takes this bit with no problems and gives nicely while staying soft in his jaw and mouth. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best bit I have ever owned! I love this bit. I have used it on a number of horses and always had excellent results. I love how soft it is and how the metal makes them foam a little. I've used it for both hunters and lower level dressage.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest bit ever! My mare and I have been through what seems like every bit on the market looking for the right one. We have tried in any given order 1. Plain snaffles (hated everyone we tried) 2. French link (the horror!) 3. Happy Mouth (she thought that was a work of the devil himself.) 4. Mullen Mouth (watch me walk around like a giraffe, Mom!)We finally settled on a Myler Comfort snaffle for a few months, and she was going ok in it-definitely better than anything else we had tried. She still wanted to root in it, get behind the vertical occasionally, and not round up. On a whim (or was it desperation?) I finally ordered the Dynamic RS, and it was one of the greatest breakthroughs we have ever had. From the first ride, she was light and happy--no pulling or dragging or rooting. With just a feather light touch on the inside rein, she is happy to round up and carry herself around the arena. She is so soft in this bit, and I can be feather light in my contact. I love it so much I am going to order another one just in case something ever happens to mine.I know the bit is expensive, but it is a lot cheaper than buying multiple other bits that don't work. And having a happy girl who is content in her work is really priceless as far as I'm concerned :)
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Bit Looking for the perfect bit for your sensitive horse? This is it!! I have tried this bit on my Oldenburg and OTT thoroughbred. Both are notably quieter and more accepting of connection with this bit, especially the thoroughbred with a super sensitive mouth. I would buy this bit again, worth the investment
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fit and Quality I have purchased Herm Sprenger bits before and this one is by far our favorite! My horse is so happy with it. He readily accepts contact and maintains it. The slight curve makes it very comfortable for him.
    Date published: 2012-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Responds Well My daughter got these for her dressage horse and the horse has been responding well to this new bit. My daughter and her trainer are pleased with the progress made since getting this bit.
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME bit! This bit worked wonders on my horse who was stiff in the neck and difficult to collect. Able to put him right on the bit with feather-soft contact. He was using the original KK Ultra Loose Ring, but the gentle curve to this bit seemed to be just what he needed to relax into the contact. Highly recommend to anyone.
    Date published: 2012-10-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse hated it I was very excited to try this bit after all the great reviews, and the ergonomics aspect really appealed to me. But the minute I put it in my horse's mouth he threw his head in the air and danced around in the stall. I tried riding in it anyway, and he was very tense/anxious, and held his head high. I tried it a second time, and halfway through the ride I switched to his normal hollow mouth loose ring french link, and he instantly was more relaxed and took contact with the bit. Judging by the way he disliked it before I'd even got on, I think he may have just disliked the taste. I would still recommend this bit to others to try because I think what bit works and what bit doesn't is very much just a horse's individual tastes... but perhaps see if you can borrow one before buying as it is very pricey.
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth It! I'd been using a French link loose ring snaffle as recommended by my trainer on my OTTB since I started him. Nothing serious, but he just seemed to be too inconsistent in my hand at times (we've been in training a few years now) and while I didn't think a change of bit was going to cure all (I'm responsible for my own position and aids), I did start researching and thought to try a new bit.The first day I rode him in the Herm Sprenger, it was clear that he was happier chewing the bit and he was all frothy. The next few rides the old ways were back, but what I think was going on was simply habit. Once he had the new bit regularly he really started to soften. The contact has improved significantly!Again, I know there are lots of factors that could be contributing to the improvement along with the bit, but I am confident that the switch helped. Yes, it was a pricey bit, but I readily took the chance because my horse is so sensitive and I figured it was worth a try. Indeed it has paid off, and really, in the scheme of things, its one of those "you get what you pay for" deals.
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse chews and chews and chews the bit and with this one his mouth is soft and quiet. He loves it. The only thing to mention is that the bit does seem to run a bit small- my horse has other 5" bits (a loose ring and a D) that fit him great, but the 5" in this bit was way too small and I ended up getting a 5 and 3/4" bit to fit him.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the extra money. I have a 3 year old OTTB gelding that needs a soft hand, and in our previous bit (Myler Level 1 loose ring) he was extremely fidgety and fought contact the entire ride. With this bit, he readily accepts contact and even seems to seek it out! I can tell that his mouth has relaxed significantly.I would very highly recommend this bit.
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit Good bit, made a noticeable difference in the acceptance of the bit. Increased salivation and suppleness into rein contact. Its pricey but a good product
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally worth the money!!! This was seriously the best purchase I have ever made for my horse! While the cost was high it was SO worth it. My horse is finally supple and eager to accept contact! Thanks Smartpak!!!
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Bit! I purchased this bit for my off the track thoroughbred after other "soft" bits I tried just didn't seem to work, he seemed to be fighting them a little. This bit is soft and he right away gave to it. I can really say that he is "enjoying it" and is much easier to work with.
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is a great product. This is where you should sink the money into. Bits are very worth it. Horse accepts the bit better now. Tasty metal.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spend the money! Bits are not the place to cut corners financially! They are your direct communication line between you and your partner! If there was only one thing I would buy top end it would be a bit, and this bit is awesome! Major, my 17 year old dutch warmblood loves this bit! He hasn't been in just a snaffle in quite some time and is "re-learning" how to be supple without a weymouth and I attribute his success in part to this bit. It promotes chewing and conforms beautifully to his mouth.Overall, I can't stress enough how important bits are! They are the most important piece of tack you will buy, so dish out the extra moula and splurge on a good one like this!
    Date published: 2011-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good bit! Of all the places to save money when riding, I think the bit is our direct line of communication to the horse and the one of the few places where not to skimp. The curvature of this bit and the materials make it very friendly to the horse and does not wear or make sore, the corner of the horse's mouth. The price is a bit steep, but a very good investment. This was my 2nd HS bit and I highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked For Me My Arab is very fussy with his mouth, either curling up or inverting. I had him in a JP Oval mouth, and couldn't get him to take a consistent contact. Tried a Myler wide barrel comfort mouth, and he lugged and pulled. The RS Dynamic has him reaching into the contact for the first time. His curling under is going away, and I can actually start working on half-halts. I'm really, really happy with this bit.
    Date published: 2011-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey but Nice! I considered these bits in years past, but balked due to the price. The principles behind the design seemed thoughtful, and the materials good quality, so I decided to go for it..My horse does seem happier with the contact-- it also feels like I get a better response to requests for flexion. I had tried a a regular loose ring French snaffle (he was very fussy) and then a Boucher snaffle with no link. He was much better in the Boucher than the French-link, but even better in this bit. Can't say exactly why that's case, but I'm really pleased with the purchase.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good purchase so far so good After trying several different bits on my ottb I decided that I would take the plunge on this one. He needed something to help him salivate more and have a little more feel on the corners of his mouth without the added tongue pressure because other bits caused him to stick his tongue out( not a good thing for a dressage horse!) He seems much more content in this bit than any other bit I have tried thus far. He is now producing a nice white froth and chewing the bit contently and the tongue issue has seemed to resolve itself. I feel like I have something to build on now instead of thinking about the next bit I should try. FYI I had tried several different sprenger bits like the KK ultra but... he needed that extra curve in the bit and the 14mm size to fit the corners of his mouth more comfortably which in turn has made his lateral flexion much better and less resistant. Yes this was an expensive bit to buy but I was lucky to purchase it when smart pak had their sale and I got the free shipping on top of that which made it less painful! And ...if it works, it is worth every penny!
    Date published: 2011-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bit Ever This bit is great for any horse. Every horse I have tried it on loves it.
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive, but a nice bit. I use this bit on both my horses. It is nicely made and comfortable for the horses. Both my horses seem to have slobbery mouths, so I'm not sure they really need this fancy metal bit, but it might be a good choice for a horse who does not tend to chew the bit.
    Date published: 2010-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it! I tried plain snaffle, french link, wide barrel Myler, and lots of others in between before finding this bit. My horse has a low palate and there's not a lot of room in his mouth which makes this curved design perfect for him. He hated the nutcracker action of the plain snaffle and was way too fidgety with the others. When I put his one in his mouth, he immediately relaxed and was able to focus on softening and listening. So glad I found this bit! It is very pricey for a bit but try it...your horse will thank you for the investment!
    Date published: 2010-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from horse likes it !! My horse seems to like it !!! very soft mouth and he produces lots of saliva !!!
    Date published: 2010-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bit- the best there is We love these bits- this one fits our horses mouth perfectly. The horse & rider have better communication- it's a lovely soft bit- and beautiful.
    Date published: 2010-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from bridges a myler and a kk I love how this bit has the contoured mouth of the Myler and the thicker and softer mouthpiece of the KK.
    Date published: 2010-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice This bit was all that I expected, and my young horse seems to be very happy going in it.
    Date published: 2010-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product! This is my second Herm Sprenger bit and they are made beautifully with a focus on the horses comfort. I use this bit in a double bridle and my horse chewed on them a lot for the first ride and was very comfortable with them by the second ride. He actually looks for them when I'm bridling and chews lightly when working so his mouth is soft and moist. While my horse has been good about a variety of bits he clearly likes these bits and I assume it's the metal and design.These bits are expensive, sure, but they last for ages and sometimes good quality is really worth the investment.To be honest I'd intended to order the bradoon version of this bit and ordered the wrong one but this seems to be working in my double bridle just fine and the only difference was the ring thickness.
    Date published: 2010-01-26
    • 2015-08-30T15:10CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_40
    • loc_en_US, sid_7107, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.