Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit

Herm Sprenger
- Item #17108
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting in soft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a very effective way, keeping the horse on the bit. The gentle joint in the middle which is angled forward - the characteristic feature of the KK ULTRA - and the fine eggbutt design makes it a very friendly bit. The mouthpiece is made of AURIGAN, the material that activates the chewing activity of your horse. The new DYNAMIC RS bit gives soft but very effective instructions for a better contact between horse and rider. 

Genuine patented Aurigan bits are manufactured only by Herm Sprenger. Aurigan is a perfect mixture of materials (85% copper, 4% silicon and 11% zinc). Aurigan has high oxidation properties and provides a pleasant taste to encourage chewing activity and easy acceptance of the bit.

The Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit is offered in mouth sizes 5", 5 1/4" or 5 3/4". 70mm flat stainless steel rings. 16mm thickness.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit is rated 4.9153 out of 5 by 59.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Great quality bit. My horse loves it and I do too. Although he can work in most anything he's a lot lighter in this bit. Pricey, but very nice!
    Date published: 2011-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Bit Just a well made, high quality bit which my young mare took with no trouble. It's definitely worth the price.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bit My mare loves this bit - she chews it as soon as it is in her mouth and sometimes won't let it go when I am trying to take the bridle off. I originally used a curb bit on her (pelham/kimberwick) because she was very strong but was looking for a snaffle to start her on basic dressage work - I tried a plain jointed eggbut first. I felt I had less control than with the kimberwick, especially while cantering/jumping, she had a tendency to lean on my hands, also I had a hard time getting her to flex and relax her neck on circles. She took a few days to get used to the HS dynamic, but soon, I saw a great improvement - she was more relaxed on circles, and also I seemed to have a softer/better contact with her mouth, not as much leaning and better control when cantering/jumping.
    Date published: 2011-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another nice Herm Sprenger product This is a nice bit that fits well. Wish they weren't so expensive, but this is truly a case of "you get what you pay for." I believe in good quality tack and always like Herm Sprenger.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth The Price I love this bit, my horse loves this bit, the Dynamic eggbutt is pinchless and anatomically correct. Highest quality bit on the market, gotta love German engineering.
    Date published: 2011-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bit worth every penny I usually ride in a shank correction bit as I ride reining horses. However, I wanted to start long reining my rehab horse so I needed a snaffle. I have always believed in buying the best made bits...period. My gelding does not like tongue pressure so I worried about the snaffle. The three parts in this mouthpiece work like a charm, he loves the taste and he goes beautifully in this. He accepts contact and looks relaxed and happy under saddle. Another beautiful, effective, comfortable well made bit for my collection.
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit !!!! This is the second time I have purchased this bit. It has worked wonderfully for my somewhat tense, workaholic mare and also has lightened up my older, frequently heavy Hanoverian mare. Both mares are very happy in this bit, and are less likely to want to lean and get heavy. It is expensive, but the results I am getting has made it a great investment.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from really nice bit! This is my second Sprenger bit; the simple D-ring is great, very well made, love the ergonomics, and since it will last forever, the price is not an issue. I'd buy another Sprenger and recommend it.
    Date published: 2011-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm a believer! I'll admit it--I was skeptical that a bit could be worth this much money, but I'm a believer now. My green OTTB seeks contact and stretches into it and did so the first ride. He did not like the Happy Mouth I tried previously, but this is a winner. Hate to say it, but it's worth every penny!
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fussy mare approves! I have a young mare who was ready to graduate from her "baby bit" (the Sprenger Duo D-Ring) to a jointed bit. She is very, very, very particular and several other bits were a complete no-go (she would stick her head straight up in the air and flip the bit around in her mouth ....) These include the JP Korsteel oval mouth eggbutt (yes, it's pretty similar, but my mare sure notices a HUGE difference) and a loose ring KK Ultra.She has accepted this bit willingly from the first time and is not fighting it at all. This is definitely her bit and therefore worth the money. :)
    Date published: 2011-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bit My horse was very accepting and very soft with this bit. I think she really likes the metal and since she is a small mouthed TB the fit is very nice.
    Date published: 2010-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this BIT! Worth the Price! I have the best horse... wink, wink, but he is constantly working the bit in the wrong way... He is the kind of horse that puts his nose out and is gone... This bit in just 1 week of riding has began to correct the issues. i have also been getting lessons and I still think the bit is the difference! My last bit was also Very nice, but someone once told me that it pinched... I put my fingers in it and tried and Sure enough! I got a blood blister from the pinch! That was my finger...I heard on a televison show about horses... If a horse can feel a fly land on their butt they can feel a whole lot more than we think... And I realized that that picnh for the past X amount of years has probably created our problem... Now making me on the heavey handed side... So this BIT IS WORTH ALL OF THE MONEY! I love Smart Pak! :)
    Date published: 2010-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bit made Big Difference Had trialed a Herm Sprenger Ultra loose ring snaffle and liked it, but based on reviews, bought this instead for 3 year old warmblood TB cross, under saddle 2 months. Immediately, she started mouthing the bit and went from fussy to steady in my hand. Using it 2 weeks now -- she's bobbing her head walking through meadows, reaching down for the bit at the canter, and is generally much happier in her work.
    Date published: 2010-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit After going through numerous other lower priced bits, I bought the Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS. What a difference. I have a 4 yo TB mare. I like the weight of the bit and the design. She settled into it immediately and is responsive. Wish I would've gone to it first.
    Date published: 2010-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my 4th dynamic rs I love the dynamic rs bits! This one is especially nice because the mouthpiece is smoothed into the ring.
    Date published: 2010-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit Bought it because I wanted something between the waterford and the Sprenger Duo for my low-palate horse. He likes this bit, doesn't get tense and yet I have control. Expensive, but worth it.
    Date published: 2010-01-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bummer I have no complaints about the quality of the bit. I thought my horse would appreciate a change from his Myler. I couldn't have been more wrong. In other words, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. I'm out $135 and he's happy in his Myler once more.
    Date published: 2009-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dynamic Bit I really like this bit. I tried it on my mare and noticed a difference right away. She was less fussy with the bit and lighter than with her other snaffle. The bit is a little heavy, but because you can feel the weight of the bit in your hands, I found I was more aware of how much pressure I put on the reins and therefore a more sensitive rider. The quality is superb, the price is high, but so far worth it!
    Date published: 2009-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever This is the second HS Dynamic RS bit that I've purchased. My mare is an arab/qtr.horse cross. We show in both dressage and western pleasure. I bought the first bit over a year ago for my dressage bridle but had been using a plain, sweet iron snaffle on my western bridle. But my mare is so much more comfortable and responsive in the dressage bit that I decided to buy another one to use on her western bridle. She loves this bit !!!
    Date published: 2009-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bit I saw this bit and gasped at the price, bought a cheaper copper lozenge snaffle and my horse hated it.So I ended up buying this one after all and it is absolutely fabulous. My colt loves it - we went from riding in a rope halter to this particular snaffle with no trouble at all.I will never use a different bit, unless I buy another Sprenger! It is simply the BEST BIT I have ever used and great for starting colts.I wish it was not so expensive, but then really good tack always seems to be...
    Date published: 2009-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice job... Lots to choose from. Found exactly what I wanted. It arrived quickly. My horse is happy - I'm happy.
    Date published: 2009-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bit for life! I am on my 4th dynamic RS bit. I now have them on all 4 of my dressage horses and would not use anything else. The horses accept contact well with this bit, but remain light in the bridle. My horses and myself have never been happier with a bit.
    Date published: 2009-05-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the investment Lovely balanced feel to the bit itself, and the horse feels the same way, too! I prefer the D, since I found the loose rings pinched, and I do like that the mouthpiece is only 14mm thickness. My guys seem to like the slimmer mouths, and the non-stainless-steel metal.My only regret is the price -- my eventer's got 2, one for his dressage bridle, and one for his jumping tack. And now I'm geting another for my young horse. No more switching with his older brother's tack once the youngster goes off for training.
    Date published: 2009-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dynamic Rs Have used a KK loose ring for years. Bought this one to try simply because the loose rings sometimes pinch. It seemed a bit heavy to me at first, but I have one horse that loves it. The quality is excellent, I only wish the Springer bits weren't quite so "pricey".
    Date published: 2009-04-10
    • 2015-08-26T13:36CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_59
    • loc_en_US, sid_7108, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.