Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit

Herm Sprenger
- Item #17108
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting in soft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a very effective way, keeping the horse on the bit. The gentle joint in the middle which is angled forward - the characteristic feature of the KK ULTRA - and the fine eggbutt design makes it a very friendly bit. The mouthpiece is made of AURIGAN, the material that activates the chewing activity of your horse. The new DYNAMIC RS bit gives soft but very effective instructions for a better contact between horse and rider. 

Genuine patented Aurigan bits are manufactured only by Herm Sprenger. Aurigan is a perfect mixture of materials (85% copper, 4% silicon and 11% zinc). Aurigan has high oxidation properties and provides a pleasant taste to encourage chewing activity and easy acceptance of the bit.

The Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit is offered in mouth sizes 5", 5 1/4" or 5 3/4". 70mm flat stainless steel rings. 16mm thickness.

Made in Germany

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research ...
    Description:
    KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research at the Veterinary University in Hanover, Germany. The results revealed some findings: the interior volume of the mouth was less than previously thought and the palate was smaller and flatter. Therefore, the ...
    The Herm Sprenger KK Ultra Aurigan Loose Ringis ...
    Description:
    The Herm Sprenger KK Ultra Aurigan Loose Ringis part of a family of genuine patented Aurigan bits that are manufactured only by Herm Sprenger. Aurigan is a perfect mixture of materials (85% copper, 4% silicon and 11% zinc). Aurigan has ...
    The Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS WH Ultra Dee ...
    Description:
    The Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS WH Ultra Dee Ring combines the advantages of both the Dynamic RS and WH ULTRA in one unique bit design. The anatomically formed mouthpiece of the Dynamic RS bit is perfectly adapted to the horse's ...
    Herm Sprenger KK Ultra bits are adapted to ...
    Description:
    Herm Sprenger KK Ultra bits are adapted to the anatomy of the horse's mouth. Aurigan KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research at the Veterinary University in Hanover, Germany. The results revealed some findings: the interior volume of the ...
    TheHerm Sprenger Dynamic RS Sensogan Single Jointed Loose ...
    Description:
    TheHerm Sprenger Dynamic RS Sensogan Single Jointed Loose Ring has anergonomically formed mouthpiece thatallows a rapid and balanced effect on the tongue. In comparison to conventional single jointed bits the Dynamic RS mouthpieces give even pressure on the entire tongue ...
    The Herm Sprenger Turnadobit lies perfectly in the ...
    Description:
    The Herm Sprenger Turnadobit lies perfectly in the horse's mouth because the mouthpiece is angled forward by 45 degrees. Pressure applied to the reins reach this bit more precisely andSoftly encouraging acceptance of the bit and ideal chewing activity. The ...
    Dynamic RS bits are characterized by an ergonomically ...
    Description:
    Dynamic RS bits are characterized by an ergonomically shaped mouthpiece. They lie perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. Dynamic RS bits stimulate the horse to accept ...
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit is rated 4.8939 out of 5 by 66.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bit I purchased this a month ago for my new mare. She loves the shape and goes beautifully in it. I was hesitant due to the cost, but think it was worth every penny.
    Date published: 2015-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I bought this bit and I am so happy I did! My horse is very responsive and light in this bit.
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! I bought this bit about 9 months ago and couldn't be happier with it! I was a little hesitant considering the cost, but ultimately I feel that it was worth it. My gelding really responded to it the first time - much more relaxed, and has started really stretching through his back and into the bit. 9 months of consistent riding like that has helped his muscle memory and now he goes like that even lunging in a halter.
    Date published: 2015-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bit! This is the 2nd time I have purchased this bit (new horse). I had my other HS bit for 5 years and it still looks like new when it is polished with the HS polish. My horses love this bit, as do I. They seem to like the taste of the metal, as they seem to chew more and have a more relaxed mouth. I tried a regular stainless bit on my horse and he practically spit it out! I love that the bit is curved, it makes sense! I also love the eggbutt design as it does not pinch like a loose ring can and yet it still provides good contact. This bit is pricier than most, but I think one of the most important pieces of tack you can buy, so it is very much worth it.
    Date published: 2015-06-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality bit I have only used this bit twice on my horse but I really think it has made a difference in steadier contact. My hands have always been inconsistent with my loose ring snaffle, but I find it quite easy to keep a steady contact with this new bit. The down side is that my horse wants to lower his head too much, so that's something I'll have to figure out with my trainer. I had read that this type of bit makes horses want to pull on the reins and my horse did try this a few times especially on our first ride.
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it! Don't let the price scare you away, it's definitely worth the money! I wasn't intending to spend this much either, but I didn't want to go cheap on something that goes into my horse's mouth. My horse has a sensitive mouth and used to move her head around when I put the old bit in her mouth, but she readily takes this one and still seems happy after an hour or more of riding. She's also much more receptive to subtle cues. I would definitely get another.
    Date published: 2015-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome My horse does not go well in a regular snaffle, doesn't respect it and runs through it. Thought I would try something different and this bit was great. He rode very light and responsive like he does in a curb bit ( I also ride western and this horse goes in a spoon curb bit) he was quiet in his mouth and not fidgeting and trying to chew and grab onto everything like normal, I couldn't believe it. I never thought I would spend this kind of money on a bit, worth every cent! BUY THIS BIT!!
    Date published: 2015-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved by our mare! My daughter's green mare loves this bit. She was happily going in a 3 piece loose ring but we wanted to try something with a bit more control. It has worked beautifully for both the mare and my daughter!
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SMOOTH AS SILK This bit is as easy on my mares mouth as it is beautiful, and it is a beautiful bit. It has made a great difference in how she acts with a bit in her mouth, I think she actually enjoys it.
    Date published: 2015-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working well Got a new horse and needed to buy a bit. I had been using a KK Ultra eggbutt on loan. After reading about this on I decided to give it a try. So far it has gone well. He seems to be happy with it and it fits well.
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Augrigan Eggbutt Style Bi Purchase based on recommendation of trainer. I have a young horse that was not willing to take the contact and since we have switched to this bit the contact issues have resolved.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed I wanted my 4 year old to take a steadier contact. The Eggbutt style and curve of the mouthpiece has really helped. After just one ride he was more relaxed and willing to stretch down into my hand. What a difference, and it's a beautiful bit!
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replaced a $30 dollar borrowed snaffle with the Herm Sprenger. My new horse really likes it. I figured why compromise on the only item of tack that goes in my horse's mouth! Glad I got the best, a quality product should last much longer than the alternatives.
    Date published: 2014-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey, but worth the money Started riding in this bit a few weeks ago & my horse seems more comfortable and accepting of the bit. I was using a loose ring previously and he was fidgety in the contact, so I am very happy with the change in him. Not to mention it is a beautiful bit!
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for horses This is my 4th HS Aurigan bit and I couldn't be more pleased with them. I've used them with 3 different horses, and each horse has gone well with the Aurigan metal alloy. The bits are beautifully made and the finish will last for years.
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best bits All my horses go in HS bits, some in lose ring, and now a new one in an eggbutt. Horses just seem to like the fit, the taste, and they are so comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bit. Started using this bit a month ago and saw a difference by my 3rd ride. My horse is much more relaxed and now reaches for the bit. Excellent construction and a very expensive looking bit. Very glad I bought it, well worth the money.
    Date published: 2014-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit This bit is great. My mare is very strong and is always pulling on me or I was pulling on her....It was like a tug of war everything I ride. The professionals at Smartpak listened to my issues and helped me find the right bit.. I know it pricey but worth every penny.
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Young horse loves it! Purchased a young horse used to an eggbutt snaffle, so I tried the Herm Sprenger. This horse was fussy about the other bit he had, but has readily accepted this one. Very pleased.
    Date published: 2014-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!!! This bit made all the difference for my OTTB. She is now supple and willing, no longer tossing her head or getting antsy. This bit may be expensive it its now my favorite piece of tack I own!
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Quality and my horse loves it! Bought this bit about a month ago after my trainer had tried hers on my horse and he accepted it so willingly. Love how it sits in his mouth, very level and it is a very kind bit. No pinching with the dee rings and looks very professional. Nothing better out there than HS :-)
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bit My trainer highly recommended this bit and I am so glad I listened to her. It is perfect! My horse loves it!
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality My mare loves this bit! Much easier for her to accept the bit.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for the young horse I have a young horse, and was having trouble with him resisting metal bits. He would go well in a happy mouth type bit, but open his mouth and fuss with a french snaffle, half moon snaffle, or slow twist. This bit he accepts and nicely stretches into. Total difference!
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creates a happy horse! About ten years ago I bought one of these for my lipizzan mare. It was the third bit I had tried. She was so happy with it and we've been using it ever since. I now also have a young lipizzan gelding. He has not been happy with any of the training bits we've tried, so I 'bit the bullet' and spent the money for this one. He is finally not fussing with it or trying to get his tongue over it. He just goes along quietly. The first one is still in great shape and I anticipate this one lasting forever as well, so I can live with the price. I tell them they are like kids with a mouth full of expensive metal - they should appreciate the expenditure! But I am seriously happy with this bit!
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it Tried this bit after a friend recommended it and even though it is expensive it is worth it. My mare chews and salivates, has stopped grinding on the bit and seems to go that much better. Glad I splurged.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product, quality results Fabulous workmanship, like all Sprenger products. My 6 yr old BWP has accepted it well. Good soft control. Exactly what I had hoped for.
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just What the doctor ordered Well actually I ordered it. It fits, it's well-made, no pinching and no pallet poking. It ain't cheap but it Gets the job done right. My horse thanks you Herm Sprenger.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Herm Sprenger I have several HS bits for my horses. SO well made. Love the quality. My horses always seem to go better in them.
    Date published: 2012-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I have 2 Fjords. I have been riding them in a regular, common snaffle. Out riding one day, my horse got spooked & took off running down the highway. I could not stop her or turn her. she just ran through the bit. With the Herman Sprenger bit, I feel I have more control & get a quick response. The thicker bit works better getting compliance to my hand cues. It has given me more confidence knowing that I can stop her if spooked.
    Date published: 2012-11-03
    • 2016-05-26T15:38CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_66
    • loc_en_US, sid_7108, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders