Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit

Herm Sprenger
- Item #17108
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting in soft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a very effective way, keeping the horse on the bit. The gentle joint in the middle which is angled forward - the characteristic feature of the KK ULTRA - and the fine eggbutt design makes it a very friendly bit. The mouthpiece is made of AURIGAN, the material that activates the chewing activity of your horse. The new DYNAMIC RS bit gives soft but very effective instructions for a better contact between horse and rider. 

Genuine patented Aurigan bits are manufactured only by Herm Sprenger. Aurigan is a perfect mixture of materials (85% copper, 4% silicon and 11% zinc). Aurigan has high oxidation properties and provides a pleasant taste to encourage chewing activity and easy acceptance of the bit.

The Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit is offered in mouth sizes 5", 5 1/4" or 5 3/4". 70mm flat stainless steel rings. 16mm thickness.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Aurigan Eggbutt Style Bit is rated 4.9153 out of 5 by 59.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved by our mare! My daughter's green mare loves this bit. She was happily going in a 3 piece loose ring but we wanted to try something with a bit more control. It has worked beautifully for both the mare and my daughter!
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SMOOTH AS SILK This bit is as easy on my mares mouth as it is beautiful, and it is a beautiful bit. It has made a great difference in how she acts with a bit in her mouth, I think she actually enjoys it.
    Date published: 2015-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working well Got a new horse and needed to buy a bit. I had been using a KK Ultra eggbutt on loan. After reading about this on I decided to give it a try. So far it has gone well. He seems to be happy with it and it fits well.
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Herm Sprenger Dynamic RS Augrigan Eggbutt Style Bi Purchase based on recommendation of trainer. I have a young horse that was not willing to take the contact and since we have switched to this bit the contact issues have resolved.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed I wanted my 4 year old to take a steadier contact. The Eggbutt style and curve of the mouthpiece has really helped. After just one ride he was more relaxed and willing to stretch down into my hand. What a difference, and it's a beautiful bit!
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replaced a $30 dollar borrowed snaffle with the Herm Sprenger. My new horse really likes it. I figured why compromise on the only item of tack that goes in my horse's mouth! Glad I got the best, a quality product should last much longer than the alternatives.
    Date published: 2014-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey, but worth the money Started riding in this bit a few weeks ago & my horse seems more comfortable and accepting of the bit. I was using a loose ring previously and he was fidgety in the contact, so I am very happy with the change in him. Not to mention it is a beautiful bit!
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for horses This is my 4th HS Aurigan bit and I couldn't be more pleased with them. I've used them with 3 different horses, and each horse has gone well with the Aurigan metal alloy. The bits are beautifully made and the finish will last for years.
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best bits All my horses go in HS bits, some in lose ring, and now a new one in an eggbutt. Horses just seem to like the fit, the taste, and they are so comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bit. Started using this bit a month ago and saw a difference by my 3rd ride. My horse is much more relaxed and now reaches for the bit. Excellent construction and a very expensive looking bit. Very glad I bought it, well worth the money.
    Date published: 2014-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit This bit is great. My mare is very strong and is always pulling on me or I was pulling on her....It was like a tug of war everything I ride. The professionals at Smartpak listened to my issues and helped me find the right bit.. I know it pricey but worth every penny.
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Young horse loves it! Purchased a young horse used to an eggbutt snaffle, so I tried the Herm Sprenger. This horse was fussy about the other bit he had, but has readily accepted this one. Very pleased.
    Date published: 2014-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!!! This bit made all the difference for my OTTB. She is now supple and willing, no longer tossing her head or getting antsy. This bit may be expensive it its now my favorite piece of tack I own!
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Quality and my horse loves it! Bought this bit about a month ago after my trainer had tried hers on my horse and he accepted it so willingly. Love how it sits in his mouth, very level and it is a very kind bit. No pinching with the dee rings and looks very professional. Nothing better out there than HS :-)
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bit My trainer highly recommended this bit and I am so glad I listened to her. It is perfect! My horse loves it!
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality My mare loves this bit! Much easier for her to accept the bit.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for the young horse I have a young horse, and was having trouble with him resisting metal bits. He would go well in a happy mouth type bit, but open his mouth and fuss with a french snaffle, half moon snaffle, or slow twist. This bit he accepts and nicely stretches into. Total difference!
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creates a happy horse! About ten years ago I bought one of these for my lipizzan mare. It was the third bit I had tried. She was so happy with it and we've been using it ever since. I now also have a young lipizzan gelding. He has not been happy with any of the training bits we've tried, so I 'bit the bullet' and spent the money for this one. He is finally not fussing with it or trying to get his tongue over it. He just goes along quietly. The first one is still in great shape and I anticipate this one lasting forever as well, so I can live with the price. I tell them they are like kids with a mouth full of expensive metal - they should appreciate the expenditure! But I am seriously happy with this bit!
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it Tried this bit after a friend recommended it and even though it is expensive it is worth it. My mare chews and salivates, has stopped grinding on the bit and seems to go that much better. Glad I splurged.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product, quality results Fabulous workmanship, like all Sprenger products. My 6 yr old BWP has accepted it well. Good soft control. Exactly what I had hoped for.
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just What the doctor ordered Well actually I ordered it. It fits, it's well-made, no pinching and no pallet poking. It ain't cheap but it Gets the job done right. My horse thanks you Herm Sprenger.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Herm Sprenger I have several HS bits for my horses. SO well made. Love the quality. My horses always seem to go better in them.
    Date published: 2012-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I have 2 Fjords. I have been riding them in a regular, common snaffle. Out riding one day, my horse got spooked & took off running down the highway. I could not stop her or turn her. she just ran through the bit. With the Herman Sprenger bit, I feel I have more control & get a quick response. The thicker bit works better getting compliance to my hand cues. It has given me more confidence knowing that I can stop her if spooked.
    Date published: 2012-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes all the difference I love this bit, it makes sense from an ergonomical point of view, and my horse really seems to accept it very well. He is lighter in the mouth, and more receptive in general with it. If you think about it, the bit is probably one of the most important pieces of tack you can buy, so it is worth the high price tag.
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from expensive but really nice I kind of hate that this bit turned out so nice because now I felt compelled to also buy the full-cheek version for driving training after buying the eggbutt for my mare.This bit seems to be very well made, a nice thickness and weight and very well accepted by the horse.Sizing differences from one model to the next are something I need to still figure out.The 5.25 was a tad big for her in the eggbutt so I ordered the full-cheek in a 5.00 and that turned out to be way small.I was actually surprised she didn't need a 5.5 to begin with since she's a draft cross with a fairly large head.Perhaps the bit fits a little bigger because of the curve?
    Date published: 2012-09-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need to make smaller sizes This bit is beautiful but just too big for my mare. She is 16 hands but just swims in the 5, which is the smallest size they make. The bit actually measures at 5 1/4 not 5, so perhaps the one I had was a mistake? If it fit it would have been great.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ecellent quality Bit! This bit is very well made. I have not gotten to use it yet, my mare had a setback with a leg issue. I got it because she has a tendency in harness to grab the bit when nervous, she is going to be trained to ride, and I got this for riding. I think it will work well, enough bite she won't lean on it or grab it hopefully, but still comfortable and easy on her when she behaves well. I like the double jointed design as opposed to a single joint in their mouth, and I like the material of this bit. It has a good weight and feel to it.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repeat Customer I have always been a fan of Herm Sprenger bits. Great quality and my horse willingly accepts the bit.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Bit I love this bit....so does my horse. Yes it is expensive, but it is worth it! The workmanship is incredible and the bit rings resemble more of an eggbutt than a D...so not to fret...and this passes my aesthetics test! I definitely buy it again.
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bit This bit was purchased for my new Gypsy gelding, he seemed quite content and worked very well in this bit. I am very impressed with it. Very very nice quality. Photo is the first day he worked in the bit.
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    • 2015-08-30T15:10CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_59
    • loc_en_US, sid_7108, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.