Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup

Herm Sprenger
- Item #14510
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup ensures improved leg position. Changing the weight ratio on the Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrups results in perfect balance and great comfort for the rider. Shock absorbing grip is achieved by a widened tread made of rubber with two types of properties.

The internationally renowned System 4 technology used in these stirrups enables immediate release of the foot in case of emergency.

Bow Balance design provides easy "pick up" upon mounting as they require very little effort on the rider's part - a simple touch of the foot to the stirrups and it gently folds onto the rider's foot.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrup is rated 4.5645 out of 5 by 62.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them Knée and ankle pain is all gone. Did a 25 mile ride in them&no problems.
    Date published: 2014-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely The Best!! These stirrups are super easy on your legs and knees and when you lose your stirrup, they are always very easy to get your foot back into them again! My feet don't slip at all in these.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful quality, but did not work for me. I bought these stirrups to solve a problem I have with numbness in the ball of my right foot when riding. I looked at them for a long time prior to purchasing and the reviews were good. As with all Sprenger products the quality and craftsmanship are wonderful. They are nicely made and I am sure are built to last. However, the one concern I had was that my previous jointed stirrups were too springy and I felt like I couldn't keep my leg still or heel down. That isn't a problem I typically have, it only happened with the jointed stirrups. Unfortunately, these stirrups caused the same issue for me. While it's easy to keep your irons it never quite feels like you have the right tension against the iron.The springy feeling gave me too much feedback and I feel like it compromised my base of support. I tried them a couple times and returned them as I simply do not like the feeling of a springy stirrup. For those who do I am sure these are the best on the market.
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great BUT This was a birthday gift for my daughter that she requested. She loved them, but her riding instructor says she developed a bad habit and would like to exchange them for the MDC Comfort Stirrup #13785. Is this possible? I no longer have the paper work that came with the order.
    Date published: 2014-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these I have had these stirrups for about 2 weeks. I got them because my knees hurt after a long trail ride, and sometimes the balls of my feet were tingling. I have used them about 6 times now. I like the wide foot bed with rubber. My previous stirrups had a metal grate. So far, no knee pain!
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable on the joints! These are really nice stirrups. They have a wide base, with a grippy material that makes it a lot easier to keep your foot in the stirrup. They are designed to hang from the leathers so that they pivot outward so as to be able to get your stirrup back more easily if you lose it. However, I find that they really don't achieve that position as much as I had hoped. I also own the MDC stirrups with the top piece that you can click to various angles, and that really does make it easy to get your stirrup back if you lose it,, but they are not as comfortable as these are.I bought these because my hips, knees and ankles were starting to show the signs of wear and tear from riding, and I have to say that my ankles did not hurt at all when using these stirrups. I would give them 5 stars if they hung in a way that made them easier to get back quickly. Overall, if you have joint issues in your ankles and knees, you might really like these stirrups.
    Date published: 2014-08-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great quality, not for me I tried these stirrups because I've been plagued with knee pain (tendonitis) on and off for most of my riding career. A friend who also had experienced knee issues suggested I try these stirrups or a new saddle with some knee rolls (my saddle is a plain flap, no padding, knee rolls, blocks, nothing!). Figuring a set of stirrups is infinitely more cost effective than a new saddle I gave them a try. First off I want to say that these seem to be extremely high quality. They appear well-made, the movement in the joints was very smooth, and I can imagine with the proper care they will last a very long time. They definitely move with your foot, I tried these wrapped in vet-wrap in case I needed to return them (I did) and I never once lost my stirrup. That said, I felt like with so much movement I had no base of support. Like everyone, I know that you shouldn't depend on your stirrup, but the reality is you need some sort of resistance from it. I noticed it especially when landing a jump. I had too much give in these, I felt like I just kept going instead of having any sort of anchor. It also made my leg feel less secure, and a friend was watching me ride and said she noticed that I looked forced and uncomfortable. I switched to my old school plain Jane stirrups and it was like night and day, no contest my old ones were way better. I tried them three times, the first two times I had little to no pain, but as I said it comes and goes. The third ride some of the old achey feeling started creeping back in and I figured if they didn't keep all the pain at bay it wasn't worth sacrificing the rest of my comfort. I can see how these would work really well for some people, I'm just not one of them!
    Date published: 2014-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pricy but worth it! Okay so let me first off say, I have had a problem for a long time with my leg. Until a few months ago, I had always ridden in a 'chair seat' and NO ONE ever corrected me! (So frustrating now.) I began to try to keep my leg in the proper position, but every time I would try to ride correctly, I would have a ton my pain in my ankles, calves, and knees. I'd have to take frequent breaks and it was becoming a burden, especially since I have a show next weekend (my first B-rated too). I couldn't keep my leg still, or use it at all at times to apply aids or pressure. I did my research and found these. After reading the reviews, cursing myself for even considering dropping that much money on stirrups, I still bought them. I received them last week and yesterday was my fourth time using them. At first, my ankles were not used to flexing that much (I tend to balance on the balls of my feet instead of shoving my heel down), so I had some pain. However I began to stretch them out every day a few times and now I don't have nearly as much pain and my knees and calves don't hurt at all. I'm glad I bought these! I'm sure with time my ankles will be better adjusted to the jointed feature!
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stirrups! I bought these stirrups after breaking my ankle. They have been a lifesaver for me as I get back in the saddle! The hinge action coupled with the design of the irons relieves pressure and pain in my ankle. I'm also able to maintain my leg position. A two hour ride is no problem now. This product is worth every penny.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for people with knee or ankle injuries I borrowed these from my trainer after I got back in the saddle following ACL replacement. My regular irons caused me a lot of knee pain and soreness so he had me try these out. Loved them! My knee pain was greatly reduced and I like that they are lighter than the traditional stirrups. I had to give them back and am now using the old school solid stirrups. No knee paid but boy were the Herm Sprenger luxury stirrups. :) If they weren't so pricy I would probably already own my own pair. Bottom line, knee and ankle aches and pains will be a thing of the past if you invest in these.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! My riding instructor owns these and i love them so much!!After rides i don't feel my achy knee, my feet don't slip out as often, and my position even looks better! Yes they are quite expensive but they are well worth it.
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best. Irons. Ever. I have been riding in these at my trainer's and they are amazing!! They are comfortable, I don't lose my stirrups, and they flex with your foot. No more tingly toes. I rode in my regular stirrups and just couldn't take it. Yes, they are very expensive, but WAY worth it. The quality is outstanding and they make such a difference. Regular irons just don't compare at all. Every english saddle should have these. I just bought my own pair and I can't wait for them to get here!
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely weighted stirrup I am a relatively new dressage rider and therefore my first set of stirrups were bought at a consignment shop, very simple. When I tried these out, I noticed an immediate advantage. They are nicely weighted as well. My foot definitely slips out less if at all and for whatever reason my seat is better, not sure this relates to the stirrups, but I have had some awesome rides since I started using these
    Date published: 2014-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful & Comfy I just bought these but already I can tell I'm not losing my stirrups like I did previously. Also, I feel like my feet are more refreshed after my ride...a good thing as a middle-aged rider!
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got me back in the saddle again Had a horse flip over on me; severely injuring my ankle could not ride without pain using my traditional stirrups.  My vet told me he has these on all his polo saddles and swears by them.  I've ridden in them 10 times so far and love these, like a Lincoln ride in these stirrups, comfortable and no pain!  Even is helping my recovery!
    Date published: 2014-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixes Leg Position I got these as a gift after begging for the past year and im so so so happy with them. Not only do they stop my knees and ankles from aching after i ride but they actually relly improve your leg position! since they are bowed it almost forces your toe in, and they are more flexible than regular jointed stirrups. I noticed the difference as soon as i got on. They make my leg even more secure, and they move with your heel so if you need to move your heel up to give your horse leg, it doesnt feel as if you're standing on your toe like it would with a normal stirrup. Gave my normal stirrups away, these are perfect. Highly recomend. 
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought these for my daughter and she loves them!! She told me they help her in her riding lessons with support to her back and legs
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They Make a Difference! I got these as a gift. While they are pricy for stirrups, they truly are worth it because of the difference they make.Before, I rode in regular jointed stirrups. When I first rode in these, I was a bit disappointed because I didn't notice the major difference that I was expecting because of its reviews and price. However, the first time that I rode in someone else's saddle that had plain stirrups, I REALLY noticed the difference. Plain jointed stirrups don't flex the same way as these, and I felt uncomfortable and a lot less secure.Also, I've noticed that these stirrups have completely taken care of the ankle pain I get at shows. Every time after I used to finish a round, my ankles would be soooo sore and stiff from jamming them down the whole time (and I have flexible ankles). But with the Herm Sprenger stirrups, I have absolutely no ankle pain whatsoever. I highly recommend these!
    Date published: 2013-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Knee pain resolved! I grew up on a horse farm and have spent half my life literally in the saddle. Now in my early 30s all those miles were starting to catch up with me. I still ride 2-3 times weekly for about 2-4 hours total time actually in the saddle. My trainer noticed I really wasn't using my legs much anymore and I had also noticed my seat getting very loose over the last year. 3 years ago I had switched to smaller lighter saddleseat stirrups when my knees started to hurt and that helped for awhile. I was riding most of a 4hr foxhunt without stirrups only picking them up to gallop and jump to avoid knee/heel pain. I explained to my trainer that both knees and my right Achilles had been really hurting up to 4 days after riding and I just thought that with my 30's my golden days of being a really good rider were naturally coming to an end. My knees crunched a lot and felt better straight and I would often ice them. She suggested I try some sprengers. I balked at the price for sure but thought they sounded better than a trip to an orthopedic surgeon and a barrage of tests, which I had also considered. First day I tried them I was instantly able to actually step down into my heels and get my secure seat back which hadn't happened in over a year and I had NO knee or heel pain at the end of two back to back, hour long jumping lessons! It was a miracle! I have my seat back and I don't hurt. I've had these stirrups for about a month now and I still feel good and I haven't needed to ice my knees at all. Thank you Sprenger and Smartpak! I may need an orthopedic surgeon some day but I don't think it will be in this decade! P.S. I wear a 5 1/2 shoe and I bought the smallest size...perfect fit! I was impressed at how light they are and I feel safe with the flexibility of the stirrup. I like safety stirrups especially for when I foxhunt.
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these stirrups! I love these stirrups. They are a bit expensive but worth it. Great grip and super flexible. Very comforatable stirrips.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stirrups! I have been really happy with the Herm Sprenger Bow Balance Stirrups so far. Before purchasing these I was using another brand of jointed stirrups with cheese graters and had leg pain from my knees down to my ankles from trying to turn my feet inward so they didn't stick out. The shape of the Herm Sprengers really does help with foot/leg placement and the wider foot bed helps me feel mpore secure in my irons. The rubber on the foot bed is really grippy too. The joints on these stirrus are much more flexible than the other brand of stirrups I had been using, which makes it a little easier to keep my heel down. I've only been using these for about a week but so far, I'm happy with them!
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the extra cost I've tried a few different stirrups, and look for a design that will release the foot in an emergency. One pair I bought (no longer made) was too heavy, though they were well designed. Another was lighter and I thought pretty good. Then I decided to splurge on these Sprengers -- love them! I didn't realize how much I liked them until I had to ride in one of my other stirrups briefly, and just hated the feel from the moment my foot went in. The Sprengers are very well balanced, the wider tread is comfortable, and while they are more expensive, I think they are worth it. Bought a second pair for my other saddle, too. I'm careful about what I spend my limited funds on, just think that these are worth it and have helped me improve my riding as I feel more balanced and secure.
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice stirrups; purchased for my weak ankle I have a weak right ankle which starts to bother me after a couple back to back rides. With 5 horses to ride daily, that wasn't working for me and a friend recommended these. They seem to help, don't eliminate the early pain/fatigue entirely but do help. The price tag is a bit steep but if thats the price for comfort and longevity i'll pay it.
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for those with joint pain... I had been suffering with major pains in my ankles and knees after just an hour of riding. These stirrups immediately alleviated the problem when I started using them. I barely have an ache now even after 2 1/2 hour long Hunter Paces.
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Undecided Had to send first pair back, too small even though I had customer service assistance in sizing. Three days ago received correct size. Quality stirrup. Have ridden all three days, there does not appear to be an advantageous relationship between my rolling ankle and this stirrup. Too much "play" in the stirrup so far. Yet, I will try a few more rides because I love the happiness guarantee at Smartpak. Also ordered the 4-F and am trying those at the same time. Same opinion. One warning, if the stirrup is a close fit size wise, it is VERY difficult to intentionally drop a stirrup if needed because the rubber on the sides has sticking power to your leather boot if it makes contact. So, go a size up. Not that I was riding an exciteable horse or anything like that. LOL. The stirrups are worth a try, I can see where they would be beneficial to some riders.
    Date published: 2013-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relieved Stress on Joints The first time I rode in them, I felt my leg was softly against my horse without a lot of work; when I was done my ankles weren't stiff and I didn't get numbness on the soles of my feet. I'm an older adult with some painful joints; these were expensive but worth it if I can ride without aggravating anything.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from heel helper, knee saver I used to have a hard time keeping my heels down and these help me keep them down. I also have really bad knees and these help absorbed the impact when I jump. They have held up really well, I got them in Nov 2011 and they look brand new I ride in them 3-4 days a week. I love these stirrups and recommend these to everyone.
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stirrups Ever! I purchased these about five years ago, shortly after they were introduced. They have made a huge difference in my comfort while riding. With these, I now longer have knee or ankle pain. I am able to ride more effectively since I am no longer in pain.These stirrups (like all HS products) are expensive, but they are so well made that they will last forever. When I clean the pads of these stirrups, they look like new! So worth the investment, I have never regretted this purchase!
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My trainer instantly noticed a difference! I think between everyone at my barn we probably have a version of every single kind of jointed stirrups on the market. Without looking at price tags first (silly...) I tried several different pairs of jointed stirrups and fell in love with my roommates bow balance pair. She's had them for 3+ years (so while I can't personally attest to their durability that sounds pretty good to me). I did gulp when I got online and saw how much they cost! But at that point my trainer had told me how much better my position was in my lesson I took using them and I had tried several other pairs but not liked how much they moved. I rationalized it as "well these are much cheaper then a hip replacement later on..." and have been extremely happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2012-05-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Thanks, Sprenger I am a long time fan of the classic Herm Sprenger hinged irons so I thought these would be even better. Although the quality and durability is top notch, I loathe the blue pads and I do not feel that these irons are any easier to pick up (as they are advertised to be). I say save your money and either buy the Herm Sprenger jointed irons or upgrade to the more modern, lighter, more comfortable and less $$$ in the Royal Riders Flex Composite Stirrups.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    • 2015-08-26T12:48CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_56
    • loc_en_US, sid_4510, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.