Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Heavy Duty Bell Boots

- Item #17945
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Heavy duty Bell Boots by Smartpak are premium rubber bell boots with Velcro® double hook and loops closures. 

Favorite Features

  • Hook and loop tabs are sewn down for added strength
  • Sold in pairs


Sizing It Up

White, Black or Gum

M (Quarter Horse)

L (Average Horse)

XL (Warmblood)

Customers Also Shopped For
Savings on a full set of front and rear boots! Studies have shown that horses wearing supportive boots on their front legs exhibit increased comfort by shifting a greater percentage of weight onto their forelimbs. As a result, many conscientious ...
Finally, a convenient source of dry cold therapy ...
Finally, a convenient source of dry cold therapy for injury prevention and management that is cost effective! Top quality ReitSport Cold Bell Boots include removable Cryopak cooling cells that stay cold 23% longer than ice, providing a convenient and reusable ...
The Back on Track Therapeutic Exercise Boots use ...
The Back on Track Therapeutic Exercise Boots use state-of-the-art fabric which contains polyester thread embedded with a fine ceramic powder. Designed to reflect the horse's own body-warmth, it creates a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate pain ...
The Relentless Strikeforce No-Turn Bell Boots takes overreachProtection ...
The Relentless Strikeforce No-Turn Bell Boots takes overreachProtection to the next level! This superior boot combines technology with savvy design to provide serious overreachProtection. In addition to the toughest strike plate, cutting edge materials help reduce "rebound," the tendency for ...
Back on Track products utilize a state-of-the-art fabric ...
Back on Track products utilize a state-of-the-art fabric infused with ceramic powder, to reflect the horse's own body-warmth to create a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate discomfort associated with inflamed muscles, ligaments, tendons and joints and ...
The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots provides ...
The Professional's Choice Ballistic Overreach Bell Boots provides ultimateProtection with a reinforced Pro Mesh strike area. Pro Mesh material is rip-stop, durable, and will not hold water. UltraShock lining absorbs shock andProtects the vital areas of the hoof while theSoft, ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Heavy Duty Bell Boots is rated 3.74025974025974 out of 5 by 154.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ripped day after I put them on Bought these because of the "heavy duty" title and good reviews. My horse lost one the day after I put them on him. Velcro stayed in tact but the rubber ripped. Not very pleased.
Date published: 2015-09-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not heavy duty i have used these 3 times and one of them ripped right in half
Date published: 2015-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value My TB mare wears Bell boots 24/7. These are a great value!
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Heavy duty is right I don't love these. They are quite stiff. I bought them to use when riding and as a back up pair in case the turnout boots wore out. When they arrived, I had to shave excess material along the inside top edge where the cuff rolls since it was sharp. I ordered a medium which is what my horse usually wears but these seem too small. I've used them only a few times and the last time out they rubbed her the back of her pasterns.
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Flawed design My mare wore these for one 30 minute walk/trot session in the round pen. I was horrified to find bloody sores on her pasterns from just that short time. The bell boots didn't fit any differently than any other pair she's ever worn, but they do have a crease (I guess that's the best word) around the inside of the rim that just isn't very horse-friendly at all. I'll definitely be returning them which I'm sure won't be an issue since SmartPak is awesome that way, but I was very disappointed in the boots and won't be buying them again or recommending them to anyone.
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super fantastic velcro!!! these bell boots are awesome - don't flip - don't fall off - super strong velcro and tabs. I will never buy any other bell boots but these!!!
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smaller than I am used to! I usually order Medium Bell Boots from another supplier but these were tiny on my Thoroughbred! The quality overall seemed pretty good but the seams stuck out more than I like, towards the skin. I use Bell Boots for turnout so it's important that they don't have sharp seams to rub against the horse.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super! Nice and thick rubber, and the velcrow is also heavy duty which is nice because other similar boots have wimpy velcrow that just rips which eventually leads to the end of the bell boots rather than distruction of the rubber. It's cute that smart pack put thier logo on them, my horse looks like a smartpack model sporting them. They have survived a few weeks in turnout and haven't come off either which is my horses usual MO.
Date published: 2015-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value These bell boots are well made & easy to put on. They wear well
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality My horse lives in bell boots, but is oh so talented at removing and destroying them. He's been wearing these for several weeks now and they're still in one piece (which is longer than several other kinds of bell boots lasted). I think they run a little small, but that's easily remedied by loosening the Velcro. I'm happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not good for 24/7 wear/turnout I have purchased this product several times due to its great price and smartpak's typically high quality. My horse lives in bell boots 24/7, and these bells do not stand up to regular wear. The last three pairs I've purchased have all lasted less than a week. They seem like they are good quality, and would probably be fine for use just when riding, but with regular turnout the rubber itself often splits and tears, not even on the Velcro but the rubber itself. If you need Velcro bells for turnout, stick with Davis or some of the other heavier duty rubber brands. These do not hold up.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very sturdy It has been a very rough winter on bells boots but these have proven to be very sturdy and durable. They smell and feel like tires. My OTTB did get some rub marks after wearing them but I don't know that I blame the boots because we have been riding in sand and the snow/ice combo in the field. If not for that, I would give 5 stars. Everyone else is losing their boots but not Jack and I.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality! I bought these last month and was impressed with the quality. As always Smartpakequine.com customer service is awesome.
Date published: 2015-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made When I ordered these boots it was a last minute purchase. I don't think I even read any of the reviews. I saw the picture and ordered. I was pleasantly surprised when they arrived. Wow. They are so well made and they have the SmartPak logo. I never even realized they were a SmartPak item. As I said, it was a last minute thought to throw in some bell boots to my order. Best impulse buy I've ever experienced. They fit perfectly and look very sharp.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use! I have used these a lot with my warmblood. He steps on his heel bulbs on the front only... so I have to turn him out with bell boots. These boots fit nice... and are easy to put on. They last well and don't rub... which is the most important!
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Soft rubber rips if stepped on. Nice looking /fitting bell boots, reinforced velcro. Unfortunately my horse often steps onto part of the boot and ripped the soft rubber right in half! They barely lasted a week. :(If you have a horse like mine, likely to take a chunk out of one, stick with the hard plastic bell boots like the Davis boots.
Date published: 2014-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thick padded material My horse needs to wear front bar shoes which need protection from over stepping. These bell boots are wonderful. The description of ballistic is perfect. The material is strong and padded. They do not turn and hang down in back to cover the bar shoe. I have had them for a couple of weeks and so far the shoes have stayed on while my horse is turned out 24/7 in a pasture with a steep hill. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2014-09-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best.. Great sizing but the velcro doesn't last more than a few weeks if being used for 6-7 day training..
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good bell boots, sizing is a little big Bell boots looks great, have only used a few times but holding up well so far. Sizing seems a bit big, bough a L for my 16.2 Thoroughbred and had to exchange for a M.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hardy Really love these bell boots, I love the look of them and the quality is amazing, I can tell they are gonna stand up for a long time. Great price too!
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Smartpak bell boots Disappointed. Usually buy Davis but customer service suggested these. My TB gelding wears boots 24/7, turn out, riding and stall due to over reach, general silliness and pulling off front shoes. Within two weeks he took a big chunk out of one, more than 1/4 of the boot was gone. He is hard on bell boots but I usually get months out of the Davis, not two weeks. Size is true.
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value and Holds up OK I really liked these bell boots for riding but when I went to use them for turnout with my large draft cross one step and she ripped through the side. Also, the velcro stitching does pull off! Overall though for riding I think they are a great value. Never had any rubs and super easy to put on. Fit great too.
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and easy care. Fit was true to size. Excellent durability and so easy to clean. Love them!
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value my horse lives in bell boots , summer time i can go thru several pairs .. these are a good value
Date published: 2014-05-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Thought these were a good bang for buck but... I thought these were great bang for buck for the horse that steps on himself but doesn't purposefully love to take off his bell boots or shoes. That's exactly the type of horse I bought it for, and they were lasting great through riding and turnout in all conditions until I went to take them off to wash his legs after only a couple months of use and the stitching on the top velcro flaps ripped off. I'd hoped to avoid spending the money on the expensive stretch boots for this horse because he's not that hard on boots--no tears in the rubber, no bell boot hunting out in the pasture. While the velcro remained very grippy unlike some other velcro boots I've tried, if the velcro doesn't stay attached to the rubber, there's not much you can do.
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy duty! These bell boots last through it all. Kicks, mud, stepping on them, etc. I've had a pair now for 6 months and I haven't had to replace then! And my mare steps on her feet all the time and usually rips bell boots off so I'm pleased!!
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from lasted 2 weeks These only lasted about 2 weeks, but SmartPak issued me a credit. These are just for use in my horses stall to prevent chafing...not sure why they broke so easily.Customer service was wonderful though.
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Buy My horse "grabbed" himself in the field, so I knew I needed some bell boots. He is a 16.0 hh appendix with small hooves. The mediums fit great. The Velcro seems durable for field work. I think these will hold up for every day use.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product. Inexpensive, durable, fit well, with double velcro closure so the horse can't pull them off, these quality rubber bell boots are a good deal. 
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smartpak Bell Boots I love these boots. They do have rubber smartpak logos on them, but they're great quality and a good price. Assuming they hold up, I'll get more.
Date published: 2013-11-03
  • 2016-10-21T11:38CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_140
  • loc_en_US, sid_7945, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders