Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Heavy Cotton Lead w/ Chain

Item #15187

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This durable cotton lead rope is soft in your hands and makes for a great necessity to have at the barn.

Favorite Features

  • Soft cotton rope
  • Brass bolt snap
  • 15" chain

Sizing It Up

3/4" cotton rope
8 1/2' long
15" chain

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Soft padded leather lead with heavy duty hardware ...
    Description:
    Soft padded leather lead with heavy duty hardware and 30" chain. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Measures 7'L x 1"W. All with solid brass hardware except Black/White which comes ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Heavy Cotton Lead w/ Chain is rated 3.4085 out of 5 by 71.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Priceless! This lead with the chain has been priceless in helping me manage my mare. She tends to pull and try to take advantage. With this sturdy lead I can control her easily.
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality Nice color, burgundy, shiny brass chain, all works well, soft enough grip
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The heavy cotton leads are the only ones I use now, too much chance of rope burn from the nylon and web leads. This one has a nice heavy chain, it's on the short side but that keeps it away from being where my hands hold the lead if I'm not using the shank.
    Date published: 2012-05-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok leadrope for price... It's an ok lead rope for the price. It just tares easily so be careful on usage.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. I love this lead rope. It is very sturdy (provided you don't let your horse step on it a few times like I have). It is a nice, heavy rope that feels good in your hand. I have a difficult-at-times young horse and you can really get a hold of this rope. Also, it is super long so you can create space around you without running out of line. The chain is not very long - but it's perfect if you want to run it over the nose and attach it to the opposing side or what I like it for is an added weight so that when my horse gets a little fresh he can feel the correction just from the weight of the chain hanging from his halter. I know, hard to explain, but the point is that the chain adds some nice weight to the noseband of the halter even when it's just attached snap to O-ring. Fits well in hand.
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Lead I was happy with the quality of the lead. However, I wasn't thrilled with was the length of the chain. It was about half in length what every other one I have purchased in the past.
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead rope For my stallion, just in case I ever need a chain (rarely). Nice quality and good price.
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Economical choice lead w/ chain I wanted a lead rope with a light weight chain, this was a great choice
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not durable This lead rope was a life saver for handling my gelding while rehabbing from an injury. He was a bit 'up' from lack of work and could get a bit out of hand. The lead rope was long enough to keep a safe distance when he was fired up and the chain was long enough and held up to quite a bit of use. The end of the rope is quite heavy, enough to earn respect and keep him from getting totally out of hand or landing on me.Now that he's back in work and sane again, the rope is too long for basic, everyday handling. Furthermore, the chain is already rusting and the rope is falling apart. I would buy another if I needed a lead rope for a rowdy horse, but wouldn't recommend for everyday use.
    Date published: 2011-10-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from seen better Price is ok I guess for what you get—I got the wrong color (black not green) but needed it immediately so kept it. Not easy to safety tie due to bulk, the clip is already sticky to open.
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not so much we bought 5 of these for our barn. within two weeks, 4 of them were broken or rusted. not good quality. the snaps broke easily. we do not have particularly unruly horses.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality but Short Chain I wanted to have a chain leadrope on hand in case my gelding got unruly. I love heavy cotten leads and was happy to find one with a chain, but the chain is horter than what I would prefer. There is not enough chain to run up the side for control and working on showmanship.
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Smartpak Purchase so far! I am quite disappointed with this rope. Within a couple of days of use the ends started fraying. The knot that attached to the chain came undone while horse causally leaned against it (pulling the horse up from eatting grass). The chain is also very very short, too short to go over the nose. I like to run the chain over then nose and up the cheekpiece to keep the snap off of their nose, but I cannot with the lead. I wish the chain length was listed in the description.
    Date published: 2011-07-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chain is too long The quality of the materal is good, however I find the chain to be too long. My horse can be a little unmannered at the walk so I like to wrap the chain once around the noseband of the halter so that he minds. But with this lead if I do that I have to hold on to the chain. The other option is to wrap the chain around twice, but thats to severe.Won't purchase again.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repeat purchase! I have one of these for the barn, and one that is designated for shows (I hate leather leads). I got the royal blue, which looks wonderful with my chestnut mare and her chestnut leather halter. I find the stud chain to be a good length, almost too long. One of the lead ropes started unravelling after about a year, and SmartPak was wonderful about sending out a free replacement! Other than that minor issue, the color has held up very well, and though the chain has lost its gold coloring, it hasn't rusted, even after a wet winter. I'll definitely come back to these when it's time for replacements!
    Date published: 2011-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice lead rope Love the rope but the chain is a little short to use for a stud chain.
    Date published: 2011-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Standard cotton lead Good overall lead with nice long chain. The cotton ones always tend to fray at the ends, no matter which I get, so I always wrap both ends in vetwrap.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Economy Lead w/Chain I needed a stud chain to aid me in loading my new horse while he learned new skills, but don't like flat thin leads. This lead answered my needs at a great price. Thick soft cotton lead has chain already attached for convenience, it's smooth and has a nice snap. While the chain could be a few inches longer, it's such a bargain who cares. Perfect!
    Date published: 2011-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lead Rope Pretty standard lead. I like the thickness and length of this one and it seems to be holding up well so far. The chain is nice and feels very heavy-duty. Good for everyday so I can save my nice leather lead for shows.
    Date published: 2011-03-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Somewhat disapointed I don't really like leads with chains. However, when my horse was being a little fresh, it was good to have one. However, I only had this a short time when it started to fray and it actually separated while we were outside and she was eating some grass. Luckily she was quite happy eating the grass and I was able to secure it by tying pieces together before she realized that she was loose. I then proceeded to tape it up and secure it that way. But it should have lasted way longer than a few months. It is a heavy rope but just didn't last.
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Lead w/Chain!! This is a lead of perfect thickness and softness that still has a bit of weight to it. Since my horse is not very tall the lead is almost a tad long for walking him but fine for grazing. He had gotten rather piggish with his grass and would cause me a five minute tug of war until he would finally relent and let me take him back to his stall so the chain is perfect!
    Date published: 2010-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead! I bought this for my yearling who has become pushy, but as soon as I put this over his nose he calms right down. Hes a chewer and occasionally bolts and this lead is still in good condition. Its perfect length, durable and very soft on your hands!
    Date published: 2010-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent excellent qualityworks greatgot to type more lol
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice lead :) I am trying to color coordinate all my horses stuff, and it's nice to find a quality lead in just the right shade of burgundy! I like it, it's soft, won't slip through hands, when it gets wet it dries quickly, and it's attractive. It's durable, and that's the most important part! Definitely good value.
    Date published: 2010-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like to have one lead rope with a chain and I prefer it to be a cotton lead. It is easier to hold, doesn't slip through your hands.
    Date published: 2009-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy Dandy lead rope I bought this an "emergency, keep in the trailer, just in case lead rope". Great lead rope for the money. The purple is beautiful!
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Lead My horse has a big head, so when I went to the tack shop and bought him a maroon halter, one of the few they had that would fit him, the next thing on my list was to buy a matching rope. SmartPak is the only place with a maroon/burgundy cotton lead rope that has a chain, and believe me, I looked everywhere. The rope isn't too think which is nice because my hands don't have to wrap around this huge thing when I handle my horse. The chain is a good length. My only tiny complaint is the rope itself isn't very long but it is very usable and I can adjust. I just have to stand closer to my horse while he grazes and can't let him move around as freely.
    Date published: 2009-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good lead, short chain The product was almost as I expected it. The chain is too short to wrap through the halter of my percheron cross, but otherwise is a nice lead.
    Date published: 2009-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Lead I got the purple lead rope, and have loved it ever since. Its very durable, and great for hand-grazing. The chain part was a little long, but manageable. The thickness of the rope was perfect though!
    Date published: 2009-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good lead at a good price! This is a very nice lead rope for the price. It would be nice if the chain was another inch or two longer, but overall I'm very happy with this product. Would definitely purchase again!
    Date published: 2009-05-27
    • 2016-02-10T14:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_68
    • loc_en_US, sid_5187, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.