Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Heavy Cotton Lead w/ Chain

Item #15187
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This durable cotton lead rope is soft in your hands and makes for a great necessity to have at the barn.

Favorite Features

  • Soft cotton rope
  • Brass bolt snap
  • 15" chain

Sizing It Up

3/4" cotton rope
8 1/2' long
15" chain

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Heavy Cotton Lead w/ Chain is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 62.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for...... The color was slightly off in places when I took it out of the box, but I figured it would get dirty anyway, so I kept it. About a week after using it, it started to unravel. I re-wrapped it the best I could and tied it in a double knot until I can replace it.
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chain issues This is a lovely soft cotton lead rope, the rope is long and easy to hold in your hand.However the chain is very short and to short to go over the horses nose I bought the rope for.It is perfect length for a pony.I really bought the rope fr the chain, so unfortunality it didn't really work for me.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead I love the thinner rope with the chain -- My hands are small and the thicker leads become impossible for me to hold-- especially if I'm turning out more than one horse at a time. Love this one!
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chain is too short I like the feel (thickness) of this lead, and unlike some of the other reviewers, I have not had a problem with fraying (I purchased 3 of them for my barn and they get alot of use), but the chain is way too short. I was excited to find this lead, as I hate nylon leads - I've gotten rope burn from them way too many times while handling sassy horses - but the chain is too short to be useful. I can barely get it to reach across the noses of the horses at the barn. It might work okay for a pony.
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't Last I bought this lead last summer; when I first got it, I loved it. It's a nice thickness and generally looks good when you first purchase it. After a month or so it started fraying (as pictured) and since then it has gotten significantly worse. My horse has a large head but the chain is barely long enough to fit him. Don't get me wrong, the lead is still functional (and has remained so for a year), it just doesn't look as nice or work as well as it could and I had hoped it would.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Purchase a Different Lead I've had this lead for a couple of months and the quality just doesn't compare to other products. The soft cotton is nice but it is fraying and looked sloppy hanging in my barn. The worst thing is that the chain is way to short and doesn't fit around the nose of my horse, let alone using it correctly across the nose and snap to the throat latch ring on the halter. I put it away for emergencies but would highly recommend you buy something else.
    Date published: 2014-06-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average I bought this near the end of last year to use on a horse who was recently put on stable rest and when we brought him out to walk around and graze I used it and the chain held up fine but the rope started to unravel. I think just a plain nylon one is a better investment then this.
    Date published: 2014-04-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I bought this back in the fall, and within six uses it began to fray so much where the rope is braided back in at the snap that I stopped using it. I hung it up, thinking that I needed to review it, but got caught up in nasty winter weather and forgot about it until today when I was organizing in the barn. The rope seems to be made of too soft a Cotten or too loosely woven cotton. Complete waste of money.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Frays a lot! Honestly i can't say I'd buy this again. It's okay but just was not holding up to the daily use on my horse! It's falling apart after about a month. I expected something better but it was not.
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't last a month! I usually love all things SmartPak, however this lead arrived with the area connecting to the chain already unraveling. The the end of the rope was also falling apart. Within 2 weeks, I had to rebraid the cotton threads and knot the rope - making it even shorter. Add in heavy wear (hosing, turnout, etc.) and the lead was shot.Overall, the chain is too short (for a COB sized horse with a wide face), the lead is too short, and it's really poor quality.Really disappointed with this one.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Lead I bought this lead for my mare who had been unaccustomed to being handled daily. She had been trying to rush and blow past everyone who led her and I was concerned that if a smaller employee tried to handle her, she would push loose, as she is 17hh. It's only been 3 weeks and her manners have improved dramatically, simply by putting the chain over her nose as a reminder and extra security. Would definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't even last a week! I received this lead rope w/ chain for Christmas, and - seeing as today is only the 27th - its obviously not satisfactory. I have used it for only 3 days (simply letting my gelding graze, and leading) and the top 6 inches or so of the rope are completely torn apart and frayed. Its as if the braid just unraveled. Not worth the money - not a good purchase.
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Came apart after < 2 months I bought this in mid-October and it's not even mid-December and the rope has come unraveled and is falling apart. My gelding is on stall rest so it's not like the rope is even getting left outside etc. or I would imagine it would fall apart even sooner. I bought another in a pinch because I need one but if the 2nd falls apart I think SP needs to look into another vendor with a higher quality product for the price.
    Date published: 2012-12-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I was disappointed when only after a few months of use the strands started ripping on the end of this lead rope and at the snap. I kind of think the chain is a little to long, and also its not the highest quality I would except from a smartpak product. The snap broke and won't close too.
    Date published: 2012-11-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good in theory I thought this would be the perfect solution for my horse, because I love the regular Smartpak rope lead, but needed a chain. However, I think I got a defective one. Part of the rope that attaches to the chain is just a bunch of threads... I'm afraid it will break at an inopportune moment, but I was too lazy to return. Be careful.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from The cotton started to unravel after only one week. We only use it to walk him to turn out once daily. It wasn't expensive, so i guess you get what you pay for but it should have held up better for more than a week. I am still using it, but had to tie knots in it to keep it from unravelling more, so it doesn't look new or pretty
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from With reservations I continue to order and reorder this lead as it has a very nice feel in the hand. It doesn't hold up very well, however, especially with my very mouthy three year old. I wish that the top 12 inches were of a sturdier weave. I've gone through three with him already this year. With the older horses, it's fine.
    Date published: 2012-08-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not a good product used this leadrope for the first time and it broke using it on a small calf tying in a trailer. went 2 miles and the chain broke off instantly. the chain material must be plastic. they should not sell it because its seems like its not made of metal??
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Priceless! This lead with the chain has been priceless in helping me manage my mare. She tends to pull and try to take advantage. With this sturdy lead I can control her easily.
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality Nice color, burgundy, shiny brass chain, all works well, soft enough grip
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The heavy cotton leads are the only ones I use now, too much chance of rope burn from the nylon and web leads. This one has a nice heavy chain, it's on the short side but that keeps it away from being where my hands hold the lead if I'm not using the shank.
    Date published: 2012-05-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok leadrope for price... It's an ok lead rope for the price. It just tares easily so be careful on usage.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. I love this lead rope. It is very sturdy (provided you don't let your horse step on it a few times like I have). It is a nice, heavy rope that feels good in your hand. I have a difficult-at-times young horse and you can really get a hold of this rope. Also, it is super long so you can create space around you without running out of line. The chain is not very long - but it's perfect if you want to run it over the nose and attach it to the opposing side or what I like it for is an added weight so that when my horse gets a little fresh he can feel the correction just from the weight of the chain hanging from his halter. I know, hard to explain, but the point is that the chain adds some nice weight to the noseband of the halter even when it's just attached snap to O-ring. Fits well in hand.
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Lead I was happy with the quality of the lead. However, I wasn't thrilled with was the length of the chain. It was about half in length what every other one I have purchased in the past.
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead rope For my stallion, just in case I ever need a chain (rarely). Nice quality and good price.
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Economical choice lead w/ chain I wanted a lead rope with a light weight chain, this was a great choice
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not durable This lead rope was a life saver for handling my gelding while rehabbing from an injury. He was a bit 'up' from lack of work and could get a bit out of hand. The lead rope was long enough to keep a safe distance when he was fired up and the chain was long enough and held up to quite a bit of use. The end of the rope is quite heavy, enough to earn respect and keep him from getting totally out of hand or landing on me.Now that he's back in work and sane again, the rope is too long for basic, everyday handling. Furthermore, the chain is already rusting and the rope is falling apart. I would buy another if I needed a lead rope for a rowdy horse, but wouldn't recommend for everyday use.
    Date published: 2011-10-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from seen better Price is ok I guess for what you get—I got the wrong color (black not green) but needed it immediately so kept it. Not easy to safety tie due to bulk, the clip is already sticky to open.
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not so much we bought 5 of these for our barn. within two weeks, 4 of them were broken or rusted. not good quality. the snaps broke easily. we do not have particularly unruly horses.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality but Short Chain I wanted to have a chain leadrope on hand in case my gelding got unruly. I love heavy cotten leads and was happy to find one with a chain, but the chain is horter than what I would prefer. There is not enough chain to run up the side for control and working on showmanship.
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    • 2015-05-26T10:13CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_59
    • loc_en_US, sid_5187, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.