Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Heavy Cotton Lead w/ Chain

Item #15187

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This durable cotton lead rope is soft in your hands and makes for a great necessity to have at the barn.

Favorite Features

  • Soft cotton rope
  • Brass bolt snap
  • 15" chain

Sizing It Up

3/4" cotton rope
8 1/2' long
15" chain

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Soft padded leather lead with heavy duty hardware ...
    Description:
    Soft padded leather lead with heavy duty hardware and 30" chain. This lead will compliment your finest show halter and stand up to everyday wear and tear. Measures 7'L x 1"W. All with solid brass hardware except Black/White which comes ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Heavy Cotton Lead w/ Chain is rated 3.4085 out of 5 by 71.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice length but rusted in Florida for 2 months Very nice rope itself and great length on both the rope and the chain (both are long-ish, good for silly spooky boys). I did not find the thickness of the rope to be a problem, nor did it fray one strand. But my horse is turned out daily, with the halter and line hung on his paddock, and the chain rusted within a month.I wouldn't really care about the brassy finish being gone but the lever seized up and after about two months, the little prong you push down to unclip the lead was broken so you have to pry something into it to unclip it, which obviously is super annoying when you crosstie etc.I do live in coastal Florida (barn is about 9 miles from the ocean) so that probably has a lot to do with the wear, but I'm a little bummed! For ten bucks maybe a few months isn't that bad but normally I have lead lines for ages so I won't be ordering another.
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh Kind of a wimpy lead rope, not terrible for the price but I was expecting something with a bit more substance. I sent it back.
    Date published: 2015-08-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frayed within two days of use It is a nice looking product right out of the box, and exactly what I wanted. However, within two days it was already coming apart significantly where the chain connects to the lead line. I've had it about a week now and I'm not sure how much longer it will last, but the fraying already looks terrible. Disappointed.
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay product When I opened it I noticed right away that the lead like was falling part at the end. Just little strings that I had to cut. The chain isn't has long has I would have thought it would be. Other than that itshe a good product
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cotton Lead with Chain I bought this lead to replace on I had and it so much better the cotton does not hurt your hand if your horse pulls. It's really soft which is the main reason I bought it
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Basic Lead This is basic lead rope that does its job. It isn't anything fancy but it's functional and easier on the hands than some lead ropes. The rope is soft and thick and a good length for tying. I don't use the chain so I cannot say whether or not it's a good length. I have used this type of lead in the past. It will last but can tend to fray and not look quite as pretty as when it's new. The price is right so replacing it after a year or two is no biggie.
    Date published: 2015-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing to complain about! I bought this lead with chain for my stud. We rarely need to use a stud chain for him, but when we need one, there seems to rarely be one handy! I love that I was able to order this lead in our barn color (royal blue) and have the stud chain option; I just loop the chain through the ring on the halter and snap it back to itself so I can use it as a normal lead and tie him with it etc. If I need the chain, which I haven't yet, I can quickly snap the end of the chain through his halter over his nose. Would also be handy and useful as a lip chain if necessary for a horse. I have this lead attached to a personalized leather halter from SmartPak so I'm happy that the chain is a brass/gold color like the nameplate so it all looks like it goes together on him.
    Date published: 2015-04-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good looking lead rope, but it is already coming apart at the end.
    Date published: 2015-04-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for me! I bought this well aware of the reviews, I simply wanted something pretty to go well with Baby's show colors. It's held up well so far with no signs of fraying (It's been stepped on, thrown around.. not gently treated), it's very soft in your hand and while the chain is short, looks very nice. I cant say anything about durability, sadly. But I have high hopes for it!
    Date published: 2015-03-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok buy I bought this two weeks ago. As all rope leads, I wish they were better about making them to not start to unwind and the ends.
    Date published: 2015-03-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It would be a great lead rope but the chain is too short.
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for... First of all the chain was way too short, it doesn't even thread correctly its so short. The lead started unravelling in a week so we had to tie it in a knot. For the price its fine, but overall you can get a much nicer lead rope.
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for...... The color was slightly off in places when I took it out of the box, but I figured it would get dirty anyway, so I kept it. About a week after using it, it started to unravel. I re-wrapped it the best I could and tied it in a double knot until I can replace it.
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chain issues This is a lovely soft cotton lead rope, the rope is long and easy to hold in your hand.However the chain is very short and to short to go over the horses nose I bought the rope for.It is perfect length for a pony.I really bought the rope fr the chain, so unfortunality it didn't really work for me.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lead I love the thinner rope with the chain -- My hands are small and the thicker leads become impossible for me to hold-- especially if I'm turning out more than one horse at a time. Love this one!
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chain is too short I like the feel (thickness) of this lead, and unlike some of the other reviewers, I have not had a problem with fraying (I purchased 3 of them for my barn and they get alot of use), but the chain is way too short. I was excited to find this lead, as I hate nylon leads - I've gotten rope burn from them way too many times while handling sassy horses - but the chain is too short to be useful. I can barely get it to reach across the noses of the horses at the barn. It might work okay for a pony.
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't Last I bought this lead last summer; when I first got it, I loved it. It's a nice thickness and generally looks good when you first purchase it. After a month or so it started fraying (as pictured) and since then it has gotten significantly worse. My horse has a large head but the chain is barely long enough to fit him. Don't get me wrong, the lead is still functional (and has remained so for a year), it just doesn't look as nice or work as well as it could and I had hoped it would.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Purchase a Different Lead I've had this lead for a couple of months and the quality just doesn't compare to other products. The soft cotton is nice but it is fraying and looked sloppy hanging in my barn. The worst thing is that the chain is way to short and doesn't fit around the nose of my horse, let alone using it correctly across the nose and snap to the throat latch ring on the halter. I put it away for emergencies but would highly recommend you buy something else.
    Date published: 2014-06-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average I bought this near the end of last year to use on a horse who was recently put on stable rest and when we brought him out to walk around and graze I used it and the chain held up fine but the rope started to unravel. I think just a plain nylon one is a better investment then this.
    Date published: 2014-04-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I bought this back in the fall, and within six uses it began to fray so much where the rope is braided back in at the snap that I stopped using it. I hung it up, thinking that I needed to review it, but got caught up in nasty winter weather and forgot about it until today when I was organizing in the barn. The rope seems to be made of too soft a Cotten or too loosely woven cotton. Complete waste of money.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Frays a lot! Honestly i can't say I'd buy this again. It's okay but just was not holding up to the daily use on my horse! It's falling apart after about a month. I expected something better but it was not.
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't last a month! I usually love all things SmartPak, however this lead arrived with the area connecting to the chain already unraveling. The the end of the rope was also falling apart. Within 2 weeks, I had to rebraid the cotton threads and knot the rope - making it even shorter. Add in heavy wear (hosing, turnout, etc.) and the lead was shot.Overall, the chain is too short (for a COB sized horse with a wide face), the lead is too short, and it's really poor quality.Really disappointed with this one.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Lead I bought this lead for my mare who had been unaccustomed to being handled daily. She had been trying to rush and blow past everyone who led her and I was concerned that if a smaller employee tried to handle her, she would push loose, as she is 17hh. It's only been 3 weeks and her manners have improved dramatically, simply by putting the chain over her nose as a reminder and extra security. Would definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't even last a week! I received this lead rope w/ chain for Christmas, and - seeing as today is only the 27th - its obviously not satisfactory. I have used it for only 3 days (simply letting my gelding graze, and leading) and the top 6 inches or so of the rope are completely torn apart and frayed. Its as if the braid just unraveled. Not worth the money - not a good purchase.
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Came apart after < 2 months I bought this in mid-October and it's not even mid-December and the rope has come unraveled and is falling apart. My gelding is on stall rest so it's not like the rope is even getting left outside etc. or I would imagine it would fall apart even sooner. I bought another in a pinch because I need one but if the 2nd falls apart I think SP needs to look into another vendor with a higher quality product for the price.
    Date published: 2012-12-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I was disappointed when only after a few months of use the strands started ripping on the end of this lead rope and at the snap. I kind of think the chain is a little to long, and also its not the highest quality I would except from a smartpak product. The snap broke and won't close too.
    Date published: 2012-11-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good in theory I thought this would be the perfect solution for my horse, because I love the regular Smartpak rope lead, but needed a chain. However, I think I got a defective one. Part of the rope that attaches to the chain is just a bunch of threads... I'm afraid it will break at an inopportune moment, but I was too lazy to return. Be careful.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from The cotton started to unravel after only one week. We only use it to walk him to turn out once daily. It wasn't expensive, so i guess you get what you pay for but it should have held up better for more than a week. I am still using it, but had to tie knots in it to keep it from unravelling more, so it doesn't look new or pretty
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from With reservations I continue to order and reorder this lead as it has a very nice feel in the hand. It doesn't hold up very well, however, especially with my very mouthy three year old. I wish that the top 12 inches were of a sturdier weave. I've gone through three with him already this year. With the older horses, it's fine.
    Date published: 2012-08-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not a good product used this leadrope for the first time and it broke using it on a small calf tying in a trailer. went 2 miles and the chain broke off instantly. the chain material must be plastic. they should not sell it because its seems like its not made of metal??
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    • 2016-02-08T13:53CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_68
    • loc_en_US, sid_5187, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.