Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Hawthorne's Sole Pack

Item #10636
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Hawthorne's Sole Packs are just the fix for those tough-to-maintain hooves. Hawthorne's Sole Pack offers pain relief and fast healing of bruises, maintaining proper moisture levels and combating thrush. Hawthorne's Sole Packs are in extremely convenient single-use "paddies" you'll want these in your tack trunk at every show.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Hawthorne's Sole Pack is rated 4.9615 out of 5 by 26.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy! I have always used Magic Cushion to pack my horses' feet during long horse shows, and it has always worked. However, the application was messy and less than ideal, and good luck getting it off of anything you didn't want it to touch! Sole Packs are so easy, they measure the amount out for you and make the process much cleaner. They are also a good bit cheaper than Magic Cushion and I find the results are the same for my horses.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this product years ago when I was horse sitting for a friend. Her yearling mare put a nail through the side of her hoof and I packed this in every day and in pulled out lots of puss (and helped prevent further problems!). I purchased these to add to my own first aid kit because the individual packaging ensures that it won't dry out and it's convenient for travel!
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to use, work great I love everything about these packs! They are easy to use and work great. I have used all sorts of packing in the past (epsom salt + sore no more, animalintex poultice pads, etc) but this is by far the easiest and cleanest thing I have used. I would recommend wearing gloves though, the pine tar still tends to get all over. I just plop the blob into his hoof, mush it into all the crevices and wrap it up with vet wrap/duct tape. My horse pulled a shoe and was foot sore (even after the shoe went on). I packed his hoof for a night with Sole Pack and he was good to go the next day. I recommend this to all my friends.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Very easy to pack a hoof with this product. No fuss, no muss. And it definitely eased the soreness in my horse's left front foot caused by some bruising under his bars. The best part was that it arrived so quickly!
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle Worker My horse was dead lame from a bruised frog. 3 days with the sole pack and she was sound again. Great stuff!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product I have an old horse with severe laminitis. He is prone to abscess's . This product works fast to open and drain them. Pack it wrap it and starts draining quickly. A quick and easy application to use with fast results.
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Abscess Tool! These sole packs are a wonderful "final" step when rehabbing my horse back from an abscess (Following proper farrier care and draining of the abscess). They are pliable which allows you to work them into the frog and sole of the hoof. A word of caution, they have a strong smell so wear latex type gloves when applying them.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this stuff During competitions I don't like to take chances- Part of my routine is to pack my horse's feet each night with this stuff and set him up with wraps, etc as usual. We have been going strong and he is sound and happy. I like the individual patties for easy application (rather than scooping an inconsistent amount of hoof packing out of a bucket). If you pack it well enough it stays in all night and sometimes I even leave it in rather than picking it out the next day to protect from any rocks or gravel on our way to and from the show ring.A vital part of my show routine!
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent abcess product My vet recommended these and used them on my mare's last abcess. They work great and I have now purchased some to keep on hand for future first aid needs.
    Date published: 2011-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof pack ever! I love this hoof pack. It is not sticky or messy and still gets the job done. I love the fact that it comes in individual sizes, no mess at all! It works well on my horse. I can get 2 feet done per packaging and still get results. Good value!
    Date published: 2010-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great... Although it needs to be used in an EZ Boot or wrapped.. It works great.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff! These are economical and easy to use. I keep them on hand in case of a little infection in the frog or particularly rock hard/sore feet during times of drought.
    Date published: 2010-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was very impressed I have never used a product such as this before, but I can tell you now that I have it was a joy to work with. Very simple and not messy at all. It adds that little bit of cushion as well as help with soreness. Will definitely keep this on hand to use again.
    Date published: 2010-03-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for bare foot horses My horse just recently got his front shoes taken off (I no longer jump him). His feet are in good condition, but he is still tender on trail rides. I use this with the hoof wraps on trail rides and he is no longer sore then or the days after.
    Date published: 2009-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product This product works well for abcesses. Easy to pack into sole of hoof. Horses seem to have a releif from pain using this product. I also wrap hoof to draw abcess out.
    Date published: 2009-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hawthorns sole pack is the best! The individual paddies are very quick and easy to use. There is virtually no mess and the product works like a dream!
    Date published: 2009-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest hoof packing These paddies are great. No mess and easy to take them to horse shows. I just grab the amount I need and go. Also, because they are individually wrapped, they do not get dried out or hard. They stay soft and easy to apply. I have tried another kind of hoofpaking (just because the other kind was on sale) only to find out the first step the horse took, the hoofpacking was left where he was standing. These ones really do stay on. Now I am never going to use any other kinds of hoofpaking. I love them and use them all the time.
    Date published: 2009-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Hawthorne's Sole Pack is a great product that excelerates the healing of hoof disease. I also use it to prevent problems. It really draws out the infection. I saw improvement in just a few days.
    Date published: 2009-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Smelly, but Great Product. My horse had pulled a shoe and since his feet are not great, he was a bit sore. I packed his feet w/ Hawthorne’s Sole Pack, and even though it was quite potent...it WORKED! He was sound and more comfortable in two days.
    Date published: 2008-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must-Have for your tack room/trunk An excellent hoof packing in an easy-to-use form. Just take out of the plastic sack, unwrap the inner casing to expose the "mudpie" of packing and place against the inside of the hoof. Use the inner casing to protect hands from the poltice as you press it into the frog and onto the sole. Then run your tape or wrap over the inner packing. Works great - I love the way Venice Turpentine helps my horse, but it is SO messy to apply. The Hawthorne's Sole Pack has VT plus more ingredients and is much cleaner and keeps the hoof much cleaner. I love it.
    Date published: 2008-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best pack ever made! I used Hawthorne’s Sole pack for the first time on my QH. He suffers from small, tender hooves that dry out easily. However, he also gets thrush easily, despite prevention plans. This pack changed everything! He is back to solid, healthy hooves - I even ride him barefoot with no problems! I intend on starting to use Hawthorne’s Sole Pack on my retired pony - a perfect treat for her old feet! You have to try this - it's really worth it!
    Date published: 2007-02-05
    • 2015-08-30T15:06CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
    • loc_en_US, sid_636, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.