Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap

SmartPak
- Item #21535
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Harwich Half Chap delivers unbelievable quality at an unbeatable price! You can feel the quality from the first touch with it's ultra-soft, yet durable full grain leather. The Harwich Half Chap will quickly your favorite staple of everyday barn life.

Favorite Features

  • Soft full-grain leather with a reinforced calf panel stands up to the demands of daily use
  • Elastic panel allows for close contact and an easy, custom-like fit
  • Durable YKK zipper is built to withstand life at the barn
  • Double snaps keep the zipper in place to ensure a secure fit

Sizing It Up

This is very fitted so sizing up is a good choice if you’re in between sizes.

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Tredstep's Custom Fit, as the name suggests, ...
    Description:
    The Tredstep's Custom Fit, as the name suggests, reaches a level in fit and performance. The use of exquisiteSoft oiled leather enables the Custom Fit legging to mold to your leg while maintaining full flexibility and a secure feel. A ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap is rated 4.049 out of 5 by 143.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior to all I love these half chaps. Super soft. Fit is perfect. (Ordered a size up as most reviews suggested-good advice). Quality like no other. I would love if Smartpak would ship to Canada though! I had a friend in the states accept my order and made arrangements to get them here by another friend. Totally worth it but I would order more things if shipping to Canada was offered.
    Date published: 2016-05-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me I got different sizes but they just don't fit. Either they were too small or when I went one size up, they were to wide on the top. I think they are just to narrow on the lower calf for me. Maybe a great product for sleek calves but not for mine.
    Date published: 2016-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfortable half chap! These fit like a glove right out of the box, and are incredibly comfortable. They run slightly small in the calf, and slightly tall in the height, for the listed measurements. The zipper is large and heavy-duty, so I hope it will last well. I used them at a show because I had just blown out the zipper on my old tall boots, and even though these aren't designed to look like a shiny boot, it was still a nice look. I plan to buy these again!
    Date published: 2016-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SUPER SUPPLE - No Break In Necessary I LOVE these half chaps. They fit like a glove and are super supple right from the get go!. I have short legs. Typically any half chap is too tall and hits me behind the knee until they crumble down at the ankle. Then they end up too short. These are tall for me at 16 inch regular height but because of their softness, they are perfect and look fabulous even on my short legs. After only 2 uses, the zipper is now easier to do. AWESOME!! I hope the durability of these half chaps proves themselves over time, but I already purchased another pair just because I love them so much.
    Date published: 2016-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY COMFORTABLE I BOUGHT THESE HALF CHAPS ABOUT A MONTH AGO.I TOOK THE ADVICE TO PURCHASE 1 SIZE UP DUE TO THE TIGHT FIT. THEY FIT PERFECTLY AND I COULDN'T BE HAPPIER WITH MY PURCHASE.
    Date published: 2016-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice soft leather, fits well I've ridden in them a couple of times. I'm very happy with the fit. They fit at the ankles vs bunching up. Really nice leather. Looking forward to using them at a schooling show.
    Date published: 2016-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Half chaps Great product but fit was not right. Widespread ran way too big but xl was too small...no happy med for me.
    Date published: 2016-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit I have Short but wide calves. I bought the wide regular and they fit perfect. Soft leather, and they look great! I haven't had them long, so I can't comment on the durability.
    Date published: 2016-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great These are the nicest half chaps I have come across for the price.The description is very accurate.The sizing is slightly small. The elastic panel gives some resistance if you need it to stretch the entire length of your calf.Order a size up--you can't loose with free returns.
    Date published: 2016-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice for the price I've had these for a few weeks and have been impressed so far. I wish the elastic panel in the back was a little thinner as it's very noticeable and not greatly flattering.
    Date published: 2016-03-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous soft but run VERY SMALL I was between sizes and sized up, good thing I did because it's still a struggle to get them on. They are starting to stretch but beware of this when ordering.That being said these are the nicest chaps I have owned. I do like the thin leather, should be great in the summer. They are very soft and look great. I love that they are fitted through the ankle, something I have never been able to find in Ariat chaps.
    Date published: 2016-03-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I really wanted to love these Went to a smartpak store and these were brought to my attention. The leather on these is outstanding. I can't say anything about durability but the leather is just as supple as my high end grand prix chaps. I would describe my build as average- 5'8", 125, 7.5. These do not fit. Like other reviewers, I too could fit a sandwich in the top part of the calf, while the mid calf was nice and tight. The amazing smartpak representative pulled so many sizes of this chap because I think that the style and leather on it is great, but NONE FIT! I'm hoping by giving a poor review smartpak will look back an evaluate the design of these chaps, because they have the potential to be something stellar. Sadly, I left the store empty handed.
    Date published: 2016-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for schooling Softer leather than I'm used to but great construction and value. Appreciate the sizing options as I have wide calves.
    Date published: 2016-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice light chaps I really like these chaps from several reasons. They are not overpriced as several other ones, they fit great and are light - do not feel like wearing those heavy older ones. I had problems with sizing because based on the reviews they run larger, but they run true to the size for me. Of course, SmartPak helped me with sizing and free return which you will not find anywhere else. I ordered tall XLarge and sent pictures to Smartpak that I think they run too big for me and based on the SmartPak recommendation, I ordered Tall Large and then fit perfectly (I am 5'8" and 150 lbs).
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Chap! I enjoy riding in these! They have an elegant appearance
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good value -good looking very soft easy off/on. looks great. I am over weight and short bought wide calf nice fit.
    Date published: 2016-03-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best for thin calves I had read the reviews on these chaps so I knew I had to measure my calves and go with a bigger size. I did and the chaps are very tight, hard to get on even, but I like that. I know they'll stretch and be perfect. However the top is so loose I could put my phone, a bottle of water and maybe a sandwich in there. Maybe not the best choice for curvy calves. I'm not in love with them but the leather is beautiful and they're sturdy and the price is right!
    Date published: 2016-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from IN LOVE! I'm obsessed with these half chaps - they are soft like butter and just conform to my leg as if they were custom made. Beware that they do stretch so even if they feel super tight at first, do not fear, they will soon be perfect. If you buy them too large , even if they feel tight at first, they will become a puddle around your ankles - it happened to me, but luckily SmartPak's awesome customer service sent me a smaller size no questions asked! Another high quality SmartPak-branded product!
    Date published: 2016-03-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too small for my plus-size legs I'm struggling to find half-chaps to fit my very large (19") calves, and I took a chance on these. They looked and felt beautiful coming out of the package--so soft!--but they were miles from fitting, even though the XW calf is supposed to fit up to 19". That measurement may be at its max stretchability, because when I laid them out and measured, the circumference was more like 16" unstretched. So back they go...but for someone not as hard to fit, they would be lovely!
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I've had my half chaps for a little over a year now. Sadly the reinforced calf panel on one of the half chaps has pulled away. I would recommend buying down a size as they do stretch a little.Overall, the half chaps are very nice and seem to be of quality leather, but could have been better constructed.
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very soft and comfortable, good fit I bought these because my daughter has very short lower legs but muscular calves and it is hard to find chaps and boots that fit her. These fit perfectly and are very soft.
    Date published: 2016-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice soft leather, great fit, good price I just got these in the mail (S Tall) and put them on over regular leggings with out my usual tall socks and they were a little difficult to zip as everyone said, they run small. But I DID get them zipped and I'm sure once the elastic loosens up a bit they'll fit perfectly!I love the soft leather and how snuggly the elastic on the bottom fits under my boots. I also love the cut at the bottom over my heels.If you're in between sizes, I'd personally order down because the elastic will loosen up and the leather is soft and will probably stretch as well.
    Date published: 2016-02-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Run small, but still very nice! Even though I had seen most of the reviews said they run small I still decided to order the XS/Tall because I wanted them very snug (and very tall). The height was great but I could not even get the zippers 1/5 of the way down. I did measure my calf at 12" before ordering them. I really liked the quality of the leather and the way they were built. I will be exchanging them for the next size up. I am excited to ride in them soon!
    Date published: 2016-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from After a few rides, perfect and have stayed that wa I bought these a few months ago. I have worn them about 2 dozen times. They have stretched to fit perfectly for this wide calf, 5'5" rider. Hard to find wide and not long half chaps. If they had them in Brown I would purchase another pair.
    Date published: 2016-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good deal and quality I have had four pairs of tredstep deluxe half chaps over the last couple of years. I loved them, but I would tear through them in like 6 months. For the price, it wasn't worth it to keep buying those half chaps. I was looking for something cheaper of a similar quality, maybe something that would hold up longer. So far I'm very happy with the quality of these half chaps, and if they hold up at least as long as the tredsteps, they'll be my new go too! As for sizing, I ordered the same size as the tredsteps and they fit the same, although they did take a forklift to get on the first couple times.
    Date published: 2016-02-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor fit, poor quality Review is a little delayed. I was hit by a car and haven't been riding at all since purchase. I've ridden in them maybe 5 times and will probably just donate them as they do more harm than good. First Smartpak product I've really been disappointed with. Fit is really wide around the top of the calf and stitching is coming loose after just 5 rides. They slide down a lot. That being said the leather is really soft. Would have expected better from Smartpak.
    Date published: 2016-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs small Once you determine the correct size, this is a wonderful product. However, I found that even though my calf is 14 inches around, the size that claimed to fit a 14 inch calf was too small by a full inch. I returned the 14 and ordered the 15 inch wide and then found it was difficult to zip at first. However, after a couple times of struggling to zip them on, they stretched to a perfect fit.
    Date published: 2016-01-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sizing chart is a fail I've tried several different sizes of these to fit my perfectly normal calves and none of them fit.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beautiful chaps, size chart wrong I got these for Christmas in the X-Wide/Reg. The chaps are only 16" around, not 19". I can't imagine at they would stretch a full 3 inches- they're already quite thin. Definitely disappointed in SmartPak.
    Date published: 2015-12-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Size Issues Even though I measured my leg and used the size chart, these half chaps were so tight I could not zip them up. I exchanged them for the next size up and had to return them because they were way too loose. Very disappointed since the quality seems good, they're nice and thin, good zipper, buttery soft leather.
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    • 2016-05-31T15:58CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_141
    • loc_en_US, sid_11535, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders