Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap

SmartPak
- Item #21535
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Harwich Half Chap delivers unbelievable quality at an unbeatable price! You can feel the quality from the first touch with it's ultra-soft, yet durable full grain leather. The Harwich Half Chap will quickly your favorite staple of everyday barn life.

Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Soft full-grain leather with a reinforced calf panel stands up to the demands of daily use
  • Elastic panel allows for close contact and an easy, custom-like fit
  • Durable YKK zipper is built to withstand life at the barn
  • Double snaps keep the zipper in place to ensure a secure fit

Sizing

This is very fitted so sizing up is a good choice if you’re in between sizes.
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Tredstep Medici Vogue Half Chap offers stunning ...
    Description:
    "The Tredstep Medici Vogue Half Chap offers stunning curves, signature leathers, and beautiful highlights. Luxury is ingrained in every element of the Medici Vogue. Recognized internationally as the best in half chaps, Tredstep offers this as the premium chap in ...
    "The Ariat Close Contour Half Chap is built ...
    Description:
    "The Ariat Close Contour Half Chap is built with thoughtful design, durable construction, and top-quality zippers. These half chaps are made from premium full-grain waxed leather with a hung leather lining and oiled leather inner calf panel. They have a ...
    "Our Kids Half Chaps are made of elegant ...
    Description:
    "Our Kids Half Chaps are made of elegant suede with a tall, form-fitting leg, elasticized panels, curved Spanish tops, hidden, heavy duty zipper, snap over bottom closure, reinforced inner leg. Brown. Sizes Medium (6) and Large (8-10). Imported."
    Why We Love This The Personalized New Englander Rain ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Personalized New Englander Rain Jacket is an attractive way to stay dry! 100% wind and waterproof with heat-sealed seams, the mesh-lined body provides breathability while the nylon-lined sleeves make it easy to take on and off. ...
    "The Piper Classic Full Seat Breeches have everything ...
    Description:
    "The Piper Classic Full Seat Breeches have everything you love about Piper Breeches with traditional styling perfect for any ring! Imported. Full Seat Breeches Comparison Chart Not sure which style of Piper Breeches to choose? Click here to find your ...
    "Now available for riders with fuller calves, Tredstep ...
    Description:
    "Now available for riders with fuller calves, Tredstep presents the ""rebirth"" of beautiful classically designed boots reinterpreted to offer the rider unparalleled performance, comfort, and fit. Incorporating the first ever design of a top class boot which flexes with the ...
    "Tuff Rider Plus Rider Field Boot is a ...
    Description:
    "Tuff Rider Plus Rider Field Boot is a soft leather field boot which features a wider calf, in addition to two stretchable leather gussets on either side of the zipper, so every rider can find the perfect fit. A breathable ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 173.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful, soft and durable feeling leather. I love these chaps. I bought them for when I don't want to wear my tall boots but I still want to look more 'polished'. They are made well, the leather is substantial, but they do run SMALL. I had to go up a size.
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lovely leather but sizing was all off
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! I love these half-chaps. They're soft and mold to your legs like second skin.It took three of us to get them on the first time, but since then, I've been able to get them on by myself. I've worn them about five times so far, and I have no complaints whatsoever.
    Date published: 2016-09-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice chap but sizing was off
    Date published: 2016-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product I love the soft leather and the quality of craftsmanship of these half chaps. They are very comfortable and fit very well. THANK YOU for the smaller elastic band that doesn't drag the ground.
    Date published: 2016-08-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs small The zipper on my boots broke, so I decided to take advantage of Smartpaks awesome return policy and buy these and a pair of tredsteps to find a quick replacement and send back the pair I didn't want. I was hoping these would be the ones but they were too small, they were not even close. The exact same size tredstep fit well with a little stretch. The harwich half chaps seemed nice and good construction, but the leather could have been softer. They seemed like a good pair of chaps for the price that they are.
    Date published: 2016-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super Soft, Sizing Runs Small I replaced my Ariat All-Around Small/Tall half chaps with these... I ended up having to order a size L Tall to get a proper fit. Cons: The elastic boot strap is tight and therefor takes more effort to get on. Zipper is plastic but seems to be of good quality. Pros: Super, super soft leather. Very secure feeling in the saddle. Beautiful lines. Cleans easily. Very classic looking especially with a black paddock boot.
    Date published: 2016-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, but run small! These chaps are very soft and feel great on. However, they run very small. I ended up with size large, which is not my typical size. But, I am happy with them and recommend them for the quality and price.
    Date published: 2016-08-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty to look at but doesnt last long Bought black one size larger than I normally get because read run small. Perfect fit but hard to get on, easier if sitting down. They lasted three weeks when zipper broke on one of them. Now black was sold out.... So got brown... they lasted 2 months but zippers fall down when riding, not durable at all.... Disappointing... the bling was a good idea but need to look at these, not ride in them very hard..
    Date published: 2016-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What's the catch? I'm wondering if somehow agreed to sell my firstborn for these half chaps. I was in a pinch as the zipper on my Tredstep half chaps broke (after 4 months) and a friend at the barn recommended these. Not only are these less expensive than most Tredsteps but are much nicer in my opinion. I was nervous when I first tried them on because they were VERY tight, but after 2 rides they stretched and fit great. I wear a 13 or 14/16 in Tredstep and got a medium in the Harwich. The icing on the cake was that I bought these during a "all Smartpak brands 20% off" sale. Can't attest to their durability because I've only had them for a month but I can tell you they are the best looking and fitting chap for the price.
    Date published: 2016-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly comfortable I had another pair of half chaps that were washable and they never stayed in place - they always slid down - so glad I got these chaps they are comfortable and they stay in place - easy to clean and look great
    Date published: 2016-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Second skin! Super soft. I've had these for almost a month and I LOVE them! They are super soft and very comfortable. They do run a little small, which I saw in a lot of reviews but I have smaller calf so I figured I'd order my size, which was a little mistake, they were pretty hard to get on at first but after quite a few rides they are just the right fit! I love the cut at the bottom because I do ride a pony that needs spurs every ride it's nice to not have to fit spurs over bulky half-chaps! I looked at a bunch of half-chaps and asked a lot of friends, and I just spent the money because I knew smartpak has free returns! Very excited to continue to ride in them!
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice soft leather I was searching for chaps for some time. I had bought these chaps in February and used them for every ride. after few months, I noticed a small hole in a seam at the zipper part, which concerned me because it was getting bigger. I contacted SmartPak with my concern and I could return these chaps, again no hassle 100% return policy. I was amazed! I wanted to try different brand of chaps but at the end I ordered the same ones and I am really satisfied. Thumbs up to SmartPak!
    Date published: 2016-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super handsome! Started out tight, usually wear a tall, measured regular, too short. Easy return and the tall was just right. Could barely zip them at first, but by the third wear they had gotten easier to zip. Nice streamlined look, super supple and handsome. For the price, these are great!
    Date published: 2016-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Soft, Look Nice! I bought these half chaps last week, and like other people, I was VERY nervous about the fit. I used the exact measurements from the size chart, 15" calf and 16" height (large). When I first got them, it was VERY hard to zip them up. I wore them around with just thin socks for two days, and then with boots and breeches another couple days, and they already fit much better. They're definitely fitted, but I like that look and I love how they feel now! The leather is VERY soft, so the only problem I could see is them getting scratched easily. So glad I decided to purchase these.
    Date published: 2016-07-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs small I have bought multiple pairs of other half chaps in 15/17. Ordered the large in these and there was no way they were even close to zipping up so am sending them back. The leather was very supple and soft and they look beautiful but sizing definitely runs small.
    Date published: 2016-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love How These Stretch for a Custom Fit! ***TIP ON HOW TO GET THESE TO ZIP AT THE END OF REVIEW!!***Just like everyone else, I bought these wary of the fact that they run small. I erred on the side of bigger rather than smaller (I was between a medium and a large) and I was quite happy that I bought the large! Although they are a little long for me, they do not interfere with my riding. Besides, they are for schooling purposes. I would not recommend these if you are short, have wide calves and would mind these being long.I'm 5' 2" and purchased the large size. When I first tried them on, I was frustrated because they showed no signs that they would zip. However, I came up with a solution; run zip ties through the holes in the zipper to create a loop (about the size of a key ring or a little bigger if you'd like). This makes the zipper easier to pull up and down (because the zip tie is a little extension) and you can exert more force to get them to zip. I can easily button these half chaps but when I first put them on, I was nearly hopeless about getting them to zip. The zip tie trick worked wonders for me! Once these finally stretch to fit my calf, I'll simply cut off the plastic zip ties. As I continue to wear these, they stretch out and seem to be creating a custom fit to my calf. I want my half chaps to be tight and secure so I have the best contact to the saddle and my horse. If you find that you CAN zip them but they make your leg numb, I would strongly recommend going up one size. You want them snug but not *too* snug.All in all, these are great, soft half chaps that I hope to use for years to come. They were a great price, too! Just got to know how to get 'em to zip.
    Date published: 2016-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality for the price Bought these because I occasionally show English at local open shows and didn't want to invest a lot of money. They are comfy right out of the bag!
    Date published: 2016-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft leather I bought these a few weeks ago. They are beautiful and buttery soft. I have 17.5 calfs so I bought the 18. So that also means they are a little loose on me. I would return them but there is not a size 17 calf offered so I just stuck with the 18. The calf sizes skip from 16 to 18. Im also concerned that because they are so soft they might not last long. Time will tell!!
    Date published: 2016-07-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from RUNS SMALL! I have bought this product and usually go in a small so without thinking bought a small pair just to find out they don't fit at all luckily I returned them with no problems and got a medium but they are still a bit tight. Other than the sizing these are a great product for the price:)
    Date published: 2016-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a Half Chap that fits my big chalves I have large muscular calves that are about 17-17.5", and they are short, only 16.5" tall. It is really hard for me to find half chaps and tall boots that fit. I bought the wide regular size and they are perfect! They were a little bit tight at first, but after a couple of wears they started to just mold right to my calves. I do wish that they came in a 17" width instead of just going from 16" to 18". They are very stretchy and give a lot of room for different types of breeches. Overall fantastic half chaps!
    Date published: 2016-07-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So soft, but too small Had to return because they were too small, but they were so soft, I loved the leather. So if you have thin calves, these are perfect for you!
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits a larger sized calf I've had trouble finding half chaps to fit my 19" calves. These fit nicely and the quality is excellent especially for the price. Recommend highly.
    Date published: 2016-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from glovelike fit I opted for these as I live in Florida and due to the heat I wanted a thin, light half-chap. These fit the bill, and the size I got (Med/tall) was a very snug glovelike fit, which I like. I like the zipper placement and it's an easy on easy off. If they just last through the long wet summer here, I'd be happy at that bargain price.
    Date published: 2016-06-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Soft leather Bought these and unfortunately have to return them. They are much to small. I measured my calf the way that they said and they just do not work.
    Date published: 2016-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely half chap I've been riding in these for over a month (5-6) times a week. They were overly snug at first but now fit very nicely. I love that there is plenty of room in the heel for spurs, and the leather is very soft. Only complaint is that they gape a bit on top.
    Date published: 2016-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It actual fits nicely! I really like these half chaps. I read the reviews before I purchased them so I was very concerned that they'd be too small if I bought my actual size (calf 15", height 16"= regular large) but it's worked out just fine. Yes, they appeared like they'd never work when they first arrived. There was not a hope of zipping them on over breeches. So I followed the advice of a couple reviewers and with great effort, I managed to zip them on over my bare legs and wore them that way for several hours over two days while I did some work at a computer. I probably would have given up and exchanged them for a bigger size if there were any other size that could have conceivably worked but nothing close was offered. So I kept at it and am glad I did since they're now a wonderful fit. I've now been riding with them (over breeches of course!) for about 2 weeks and they're snug but zip easily enough. They appear well made and the leather is nice. Not too thin. Snapping the bottom snap is a little difficult but maybe if I weren't so stiff myself, maybe that'd be easier to reach. You do have to actively push your foot through the elastic that goes under your foot but I hope that will stretch out somewhat over time. I don't really know how durable these will be since I've only used them for a short time but they are good at this point. Overall, it's a great product and is very reasonably priced.
    Date published: 2016-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT for big calves!! I bought these about a month ago and have been breaking them in, they are absolutely WONDERFUL!Just for comparison, I have large 18 3/4" calves and while these are a squeeze to get on, they DO work! I advise you while you are putting them on to take your fingers and hook onto the elastic panel in the back to stretch the elastic panel rather than trying to pull the leather together. Then use one finger to help push the zipper down. They are getting easier and easier to get on, and they fit my leg so snugly and streamline, they just really look fantastic.I also have short legs so I ordered the short size, but since they are cut higher at the end, the spanish top comes up to the knee and they are a bit tall, but you can't feel it b/c they are so buttery soft!!!! They look JUST like tall boots when they are on!! Oh, and I hate chaps that have those really weak elastics at the bottom, these have a really thick elastic that I'm sure will last for a LONG time, and the zipper is super strong. I just cannot say enough great things about these!I Strongly suggest these for any bigger riders, just dont get discouraged that they have such a large gap when you put them on, do what I suggested and pull the elastic (I hook my fingers on the leather edge of the elastic and give it a big pull.)BUY THESE CHAPS!
    Date published: 2016-05-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price These run slight snug but are super soft leather. Would recommend for sure!
    Date published: 2016-05-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from beautiful , great quality but small I went thru it with these chaps. Ordered two different sizes and nothing fit. My regular size was WAY too small and so I ordered the next up and it was WAY too big. You need a 17/17 or 17/18. There is not an option for a 17, there was 16 and 18 Widths. Oh well, LOVELY quality but did not fit. Thankful for free shipping both ways.
    Date published: 2016-05-17
    • y_2017, m_1, d_14, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_169
    • loc_en_US, sid_11535, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders