Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap

SmartPak
- Item #21535
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Harwich Half Chap delivers unbelievable quality at an unbeatable price! You can feel the quality from the first touch with it's ultra-soft, yet durable full grain leather. The Harwich Half Chap will quickly your favorite staple of everyday barn life.

Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Soft full-grain leather with a reinforced calf panel stands up to the demands of daily use
  • Elastic panel allows for close contact and an easy, custom-like fit
  • Durable YKK zipper is built to withstand life at the barn
  • Double snaps keep the zipper in place to ensure a secure fit

Sizing

This is very fitted so sizing up is a good choice if you’re in between sizes.
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Ariat upgraded the Classic III Half Chaps with ...
    Description:
    "Ariat upgraded the Classic III Half Chaps with some desirable improvements. The leather has been changed to a softer, full-grain leather and the interior of the boot boasts a more breathable moisture-wicking lining. Also improved, is the inner panel design. ...
    "Dublin Suede Kids Half Chaps are made of ...
    Description:
    "Dublin Suede Kids Half Chaps are made of elegant suede with a tall, form-fitting leg, elasticized panels, curved Spanish tops, hidden, heavy duty zipper, snap over bottom closure, reinforced inner leg. Imported"
    "Why We Love This Enell Lite is casual ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This Enell Lite is casual sportswear designed for the well endowed woman. LITE'n UP your wardrobe with this comfortable, stylish line designed to fit and flatter your shape. Your daily life can be unpredictable but your sportswear ...
    "Why We Love This With more than 100 ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This With more than 100 years of leather bootmaking experience, Justin created the Ladies Leather Half Chaps to be functional, stylish half chaps with a unique 3M™ technology panel to provide ultimate grip. Favorite Features Full grain ...
    "Because sometimes, you just gotta break free and ...
    Description:
    "Because sometimes, you just gotta break free and ditch the tall boots. Better than leather half chaps, this Griptek™ half chap loves to get wet and is machine washable. Exclusive Griptek™ material is bonded to stretch microfiber for additional cushion ...
    Why We Love This Mountain Horse Ice Rider ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot Wide Calf has a tall, sleek look and elegant features. Upper boot is made from strong Duralon™ with heat insulating Thermolite® lining to keep your legs warm.  Durable elastic material inserts ...
    Why We Love This Practical and stylish, this windbreaker ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Practical and stylish, this windbreaker folds handily into front pouch pocket with belt loop for easy carrying. Front half zipper makes this windbreaker a snap to slide on or off over a helmet. Imported. Favorite Features White ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 188.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not even close to size advertized! I am disappointed in the inaccuate sizing. I had read reviews and took a shot hoping the inaccurate sizing had been corrected. NOPE! Calf width size advertised as 19", measured 16"...no chance of it stretching 3". Height of 17" was correct. So grossly off in calf measurement don't waste your time if you need 17"+. Thankful for SmartPak free return​!
    Date published: 2017-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality but strange sizing I really do love these, the quality is great for the price and I love the design! It's been awhile since I've had half chaps so I could be weird to fit but the sizing is strange. I realize it says they run small so normally I could have gotten a large/tall as I was just below that measurement but I chose to get an xl/regular to be on the safe side. They fit around the widest part of my calf, but are a bit too wide at the top. It's not a huge deal but something to be aware of.
    Date published: 2017-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful soft leather I loved this chap, the leather was so soft I couldn't believe it. But....I'm very hard to fit and they were small. I was so disappointed
    Date published: 2017-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fit I bought these half chaps a few weeks ago and they have a very nice fit and clean look.
    Date published: 2017-04-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from To small :( I read the reviews but saw that some people were ordering a size up and that worked for them so I did the same thing and ordered one size larger than what I normally would. The measurement of the calf should have been 15". When the half chaps arrived I could immediately tell they would not fit. They looked like they were made for a child. I measured the widest part of the half chap at 13". So crazy. I wanted to love these but couldn't due to how off the sizing is. The leather is very soft and I'm sure they would be great if they could fit. I went back to ordering the Ariat scout half chaps in medium, which fit great.
    Date published: 2017-04-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sizing off I wanted to like these half chaps, but found that the sizing was way off....way way off.
    Date published: 2017-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pretty! Love these half chaps! They have a very nice look and are very comfertable!
    Date published: 2017-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sleek I bought these to replace a pair of Tredstep. These are sleek and easy to zip. I have only worn them once since being winter I have heavy breeches and these are definitely sized a bit smaller than measurements. They will be lovely with summer weight breeches.
    Date published: 2017-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Fit; Soft and Supple I took everyone's advice into consideration about them running small, but decided to go the route a few other reviewers had - buying their size and letting the chaps stretch to a perfect fit. I bought the XL since that's my size in other half chaps, and they fit exactly like a pair of Ariat Concord half chaps I wear. The 17" height of the Harwich chaps is a little taller, but they fit me fine. I didn't have breeches on underneath when I first tried them per reviewers' suggestions, but even though they were a bit tight at the widest point in my calf, I could tell they'd fit very well over breeches. With breeches and socks I'm about a 16" calf width, so measure WITH pants and socks. Now, I only ride 1 horse average 3-4 times a week, so I don't have too much bulk. I was very excited some reviewers said that the ankle was small and tight fitting - I have large calves but itty bitty ankles, and while these were tighter than others, they weren't "a tight/perfect fit" for my ankles. Just an fyi. As for the quality, I love them. They are super soft and supple - I wanted a very soft pair since I will be getting calfskin saddle soon and don't want to scratch the leather. These certainly fit the bill! They do have a bit of gap at the crook of my knee, but I actually like that. I get numbness and painful tingling in my lower legs if I have something digging into the back of my knee, so the fact that these were fitted to my calves but allowed plenty of bending room was a big plus for me. I also love the tight band for underneath the boots - most are always too long and gap! All in all, I love these! I honestly have yet to ride in them and only had them for two days so I can't account for the durability but I can't wait to try them!
    Date published: 2017-02-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from runs small, soft and ready They were very soft and ready to go but they run small
    Date published: 2017-02-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Small!!! Maybe I got one that was a mislabel - but I measured my calf (already own a pair of 16" calf half chaps in suede). I ordered the xl tall. They got here and there was an almost 4.5/5 inch gap, where they would not zip closed on my calf. I could not zip past the ankle. We measured them laying out and they only came to 11 inches open at the widest part laying flat. Laying them on top of my existing half chaps to check, still a 4.5 inch between my current chaps and these :(.
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful soft leather. Loved the chaps, but unfortunately the calf size was way to narrow for me, even though I measured my calf before ordering. Had to return the item.
    Date published: 2016-11-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent half chap but tight around foot These half chaps look good on, and are comfortable except around the foot. I have small calves and narrow feet and they're still small even with sleek paddock boots (not the bulky kind)'
    Date published: 2016-11-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sizing is very off. I bought these a size bigger than I measured after reading the reviews that they are sized smaller. I normally buy XS/tall 1/2 chaps and got these in a small. I checked the size chart as well and still went bigger based on reviews. I got the half chaps and they didn't come close to fitting. I measured the calf with a cloth tape measure and it was 2" smaller then the size chart. Its too bad, they seemed very nice otherwise. I bought a different brand that I could try on in the tack shop.
    Date published: 2016-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, supple leather!! I love the Harwich that Smartpak carries. These chaps are soft and supple right out of the box. They do run small especially around the ankle. I actually returned the medium for the large/regular (and I have small legs) as I had trouble zipping down past the ankle. They are a tiny bit loose below the knee to the calf, but I can zip them at the ankle and they are still snug. It is the design, where rather than being straight in the cut, they round out over the calf and then narrow down to the ankle. Just keep that in mind when you order. I know snug is better, but I did not want to stress the zipper and have it separate - then you have a big problem! I have worn them 3x and I love them! With the larger size, I can wear them with either riding pants or jeans if I want. Nice chaps for the price too and returns are so easy at Smartpak so no problem there...
    Date published: 2016-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful, soft and durable feeling leather. I love these chaps. I bought them for when I don't want to wear my tall boots but I still want to look more 'polished'. They are made well, the leather is substantial, but they do run SMALL. I had to go up a size.
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lovely leather but sizing was all off
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! I love these half-chaps. They're soft and mold to your legs like second skin.It took three of us to get them on the first time, but since then, I've been able to get them on by myself. I've worn them about five times so far, and I have no complaints whatsoever.
    Date published: 2016-09-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice chap but sizing was off
    Date published: 2016-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product I love the soft leather and the quality of craftsmanship of these half chaps. They are very comfortable and fit very well. THANK YOU for the smaller elastic band that doesn't drag the ground.
    Date published: 2016-08-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs small The zipper on my boots broke, so I decided to take advantage of Smartpaks awesome return policy and buy these and a pair of tredsteps to find a quick replacement and send back the pair I didn't want. I was hoping these would be the ones but they were too small, they were not even close. The exact same size tredstep fit well with a little stretch. The harwich half chaps seemed nice and good construction, but the leather could have been softer. They seemed like a good pair of chaps for the price that they are.
    Date published: 2016-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super Soft, Sizing Runs Small I replaced my Ariat All-Around Small/Tall half chaps with these... I ended up having to order a size L Tall to get a proper fit. Cons: The elastic boot strap is tight and therefor takes more effort to get on. Zipper is plastic but seems to be of good quality. Pros: Super, super soft leather. Very secure feeling in the saddle. Beautiful lines. Cleans easily. Very classic looking especially with a black paddock boot.
    Date published: 2016-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, but run small! These chaps are very soft and feel great on. However, they run very small. I ended up with size large, which is not my typical size. But, I am happy with them and recommend them for the quality and price.
    Date published: 2016-08-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty to look at but doesnt last long Bought black one size larger than I normally get because read run small. Perfect fit but hard to get on, easier if sitting down. They lasted three weeks when zipper broke on one of them. Now black was sold out.... So got brown... they lasted 2 months but zippers fall down when riding, not durable at all.... Disappointing... the bling was a good idea but need to look at these, not ride in them very hard..
    Date published: 2016-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What's the catch? I'm wondering if somehow agreed to sell my firstborn for these half chaps. I was in a pinch as the zipper on my Tredstep half chaps broke (after 4 months) and a friend at the barn recommended these. Not only are these less expensive than most Tredsteps but are much nicer in my opinion. I was nervous when I first tried them on because they were VERY tight, but after 2 rides they stretched and fit great. I wear a 13 or 14/16 in Tredstep and got a medium in the Harwich. The icing on the cake was that I bought these during a "all Smartpak brands 20% off" sale. Can't attest to their durability because I've only had them for a month but I can tell you they are the best looking and fitting chap for the price.
    Date published: 2016-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly comfortable I had another pair of half chaps that were washable and they never stayed in place - they always slid down - so glad I got these chaps they are comfortable and they stay in place - easy to clean and look great
    Date published: 2016-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Second skin! Super soft. I've had these for almost a month and I LOVE them! They are super soft and very comfortable. They do run a little small, which I saw in a lot of reviews but I have smaller calf so I figured I'd order my size, which was a little mistake, they were pretty hard to get on at first but after quite a few rides they are just the right fit! I love the cut at the bottom because I do ride a pony that needs spurs every ride it's nice to not have to fit spurs over bulky half-chaps! I looked at a bunch of half-chaps and asked a lot of friends, and I just spent the money because I knew smartpak has free returns! Very excited to continue to ride in them!
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice soft leather I was searching for chaps for some time. I had bought these chaps in February and used them for every ride. after few months, I noticed a small hole in a seam at the zipper part, which concerned me because it was getting bigger. I contacted SmartPak with my concern and I could return these chaps, again no hassle 100% return policy. I was amazed! I wanted to try different brand of chaps but at the end I ordered the same ones and I am really satisfied. Thumbs up to SmartPak!
    Date published: 2016-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super handsome! Started out tight, usually wear a tall, measured regular, too short. Easy return and the tall was just right. Could barely zip them at first, but by the third wear they had gotten easier to zip. Nice streamlined look, super supple and handsome. For the price, these are great!
    Date published: 2016-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Soft, Look Nice! I bought these half chaps last week, and like other people, I was VERY nervous about the fit. I used the exact measurements from the size chart, 15" calf and 16" height (large). When I first got them, it was VERY hard to zip them up. I wore them around with just thin socks for two days, and then with boots and breeches another couple days, and they already fit much better. They're definitely fitted, but I like that look and I love how they feel now! The leather is VERY soft, so the only problem I could see is them getting scratched easily. So glad I decided to purchase these.
    Date published: 2016-07-24
    • y_2017, m_5, d_18, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_184
    • loc_en_US, sid_11535, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders