Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap

SmartPak
- Item #21535
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Harwich Half Chap delivers unbelievable quality at an unbeatable price! You can feel the quality from the first touch with it's ultra-soft, yet durable full grain leather. The Harwich Half Chap will quickly your favorite staple of everyday barn life.

Favorite Features

  • Soft full-grain leather with a reinforced calf panel stands up to the demands of daily use
  • Elastic panel allows for close contact and an easy, custom-like fit
  • Durable YKK zipper is built to withstand life at the barn
  • Double snaps keep the zipper in place to ensure a secure fit

Sizing It Up

This is very fitted so sizing up is a good choice if you’re in between sizes.

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap is rated 4.2133 out of 5 by 75.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too wide in the ankle I was excited about these chaps because they came in extra wide and short. However, they are almost as wide through the ankle as they are in the calf! There was a huge gap between the back of my lower leg and the chap. They are beautiful, and looked like good quality, but I had to return them.
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sizing is way off These run extremely small - I ordered the size large, which is supposed to be a 15" calf, but it's nowhere near that - it measures 14" at the very most. The problem is that with their sizing, for a normal height, you don't any options between the too-tight 15" (but actually 14") calf and the too-big 18" calf. I wish they would offer a true 15". They're really nice chaps with great leather, but the size options are terrible.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No where near size chart! I ordered a medium - size 14 inch calf - when it came the calf measured 12 inches - which is really an extra small -- the label on the them said medium!! I had to send them back -- not even worth the trouble.
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great leather and look, but didn't fit! I ordered these with high hopes--a friend wears them and loves them. They were backordered, and when they finally arrived they were defective. I think mine are from the same batch as another reviewer's below--I ordered the 14/17, but they measure only 13" at the widest point. They'll have to go back, and I'm not sure if I trust the sizing now to reorder. On the plus side, they're a lovely soft leather and have a great, snug fit over the top of my paddock boots--very sleek looking.
    Date published: 2015-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Fit and Comfortable I've been looking several brands of half chaps and am always trying them on but have a difficult time with the fit due to the fact that my left calf is larger than my right. Its always too tight on the left or too loose on the right.These chaps look fantastic and I've gotten many compliments (from both horse and non-horse people) in the short time that I've had them. I had a difficult time putting them on the first time over my fat left calf and required assistance, but after that they've gone on easily since! I've not lost any feeling in the left leg (this has happened with many boots and half chaps in my past) and they're so comfortable I forget I even have them on.I don't know why it took me so long to order these, and with Smartpak's wonderful return policy I was able to find the right pair (I had to return one pair because of the fat calf!) and shipping was fast and I had gotten the first pair, returned it and gotten the second all within a week!
    Date published: 2015-04-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice product with flaws I bought these 6 months ago but have only recently started wearing them. The leather is very nice and the sizing is perfect. When I first went to put them on I struggled getting the bottom elastic over my paddock boot, wishing they could have added a 1/2" to the length to make it easier. Today I noticed that the stitching holding the inner calf patch on has completely worn away! I'm riding 2 horses and do not have my legs clamped on their sides. I have not had the opportunity to contact customer service but in the past they have been very fair resolving issues.
    Date published: 2015-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these chaps! The leather is buttery soft and they fit me pretty well! My leg is 16 3/4 inches in height and I ordered the tall (17 inches). The tall seems to fit me pretty well, the extra height doesn't bother me at all.
    Date published: 2015-03-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Size NOT accurate!!! I ordered these after seeing them in action and reading the reviews, especially that they were true to size. After waiting 5 weeks (they were backordered and the shipping date kept changing), they finally arrived. Imagine my disappointment when they were a full 1" smaller than advertised in the calf. The label said 14" (I ordered medium), my calf measured 13.8" but there was NO WAY these were going to zip. Confused, because I'd been so meticulous, I measured the actual product and the widest part measured just short of 13"!!! So either I got a mislabeled pair, or someone needs to revisit how to use a ruler! I'm too afraid to get the next size up because they're supposed to be 15" and that would be way too big should those run true to size.I imagine these were newly manufactured, so maybe I just got a pair from a badly made batch. Regardless, despite the half chaps being beautifully constructed and made of buttery soft leather, (which is the reason for the 2 stars), I'm returning them for a refund. If I'm expected to buy stuff online, then the sizing had better be accurate!
    Date published: 2015-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd pair AMAZiNG This is my second pair only for the reason that I lost weight and needed to get a smaller size but these are True to there sizing, and the leather quality is amazing, eazy to care for I just wipe them clean after rides and clean/condition them once a week! These are a must! I love that they come in BiG sizes and small
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chaps actually made in real sizes! After years of searching for chaps to fit my 18" calves, I found them! They are also soft and well made.
    Date published: 2015-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality, soft leather! Just received these half chaps and I'm very impressed with the quality of the leather and workmanship! I ordered per the guidelines on the size chart and they half-chaps I received fit perfectly. Can't comment on the durability since I just received them, but by the look of the workmanship, I expect they will last at least as long as some of the more expensive "big brand" half-chaps I have purchased in the past.
    Date published: 2015-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Harwich soft leather half chaps I recently bought these and love them. Soft leather and true fit! Finally a pair that look sleek and are comfortable!
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good I bought these as a gift ...Would recommend for good everyday use and middle of the road or above average product for the price.Would add that at least from what I notice they do not run large as some previous reviewers comment (I hedged between small / medium and the small was too snug) - great that Smart Pak as free returns on sized items ... would also say that quality was good (not great), leather quality fine, but zipper was a little hard to navigate
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Chap for the Price I bought these half chaps about a month ago. My calf measures 16 inches exactly so I went with the XL Regular height. The chap was tough to get on at first and I thought I was going to have to give up and send them back, but with the help of some boot stretch spray on the inside I was able to get them zipped and they have broken nicely and fit like a glove and are now fairly easy to zip. They are a very soft leather right out of the box and I am extremely happy I didn't give up with trying to zip them the first time I tried them on. They are comfortable to ride in and helped give me more grip and have helped with the slight swinging that my right leg tends to do on certain horses. I can't speak for durability as I have only had them about a month and ride in them 4-5 times a week, but if you are persistent with trying to get them on at first (like new tall boots) they seem to so far be well worth it.
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing soft leather, poor fit Super wide at the top -- but the leather is beautiful and great for the price. However, returning them because the gap at the top is so large
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Surprise What a surprise taking these half chaps out of the package and feel the soft leather! They fit perfect to the sizing chart. I have just received them so I can not report how well they will hold up, but seem to be well made and study.
    Date published: 2014-12-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just not right for me .... I have a larger calf and was excited to see that these half chaps came in extended sizes. The chaps are beautiful and the leather is butter soft. But when I tried them on, while the fit in the calf was great, I could fit my entire hand down the top! The fit just was not right for me, so sadly the half chaps are being returned. I would still recommend them because I think for most people they would work great.
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Feel and Look right out of package Bought for my daughter (early Christmas gift) who is a working student at an event barn to replace a pair of Ovation suede 1/2 chaps. Her calf measures 14 3/4" around in Kerrits tights and height from floor to back top of knee when she was sitting with no shoes on was 16 3/4" so I purchased the Medium/Tall and crossed my fingers. She reported to me that they were very snug the first day she wore them and a little tight getting zipped but by the end of her second ride they were starting to 'give' a little and by the end of day three she says they fit like a glove. She was thrilled with the look and also the suppleness of them right out of the box. She was complemented from her jump instructor on a better leg the first day she rode in them and she thinks it because her leg looks much more elegant in these. She recommends just wearing around for about and hour the first day if they are really snug to get the 'give' started. Would have given 5 stars but she has only had them for three weeks so we do not know how long they will hold up. She rides 2-3 horses a day 5 days a week.
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks good, but not sized well The half chaps looked like very good quality, but even though I ordered a size 1" wider than my calf, the chaps were 2" too small. Wouldn't zip up. Had to return them.
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value I've been riding in these half chaps for a few months and really like them. They are elegant looking and unlike most half chaps in this price range they do not interfere with my spurs. Although my calf measures a tad shorter than the height of the chaps, the leather is very soft and gives just enough so that they work. The major con I can think of is that these half chaps are quite soft and stretchy, so if you are looking for a firmer half chap that gives more of a boot feel, you might not like these. So far they have held up well, but due to the softness/stretchiness I would not be surprised if these do not last as long as thicker/stiffer leather chaps.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Looking Half Chaps These half chaps are super soft and comfortable. I got them a few weeks ago and they have dropped a bit, but that was to be expected with the softness of the leather. I will say, however, that they do run a little small. I usually fit into a large no problem but had trouble zipping these up when I first got them. But again, knowing leather, I knew that they would stretch/drop so I decided to tough it out and keep zipping them even though they were tight. They fit great now and I'm glad I stayed with the large instead of sending them back for a bigger size!
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Leather These are beautiful half chaps. Sadly, I measured and ordered the extra small, and I couldn't zip them over my boots. I'm hoping to receive the small size and that they won't be too long. My calves are short. Would have kept them in a heartbeat if they had fit.
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE so happy that I bought these half chaps instead of getting another pair of Tredsteps. I have a hard to fit thin calf and these fit me perfectly. They come out of the package supple and beautiful. Will definitely buy again, worth every penny!
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Size! Omg finally a chap that fits me!! I'm 5'5, but with fairly short legs, and an 18 inch calf so finding a chap that fits me is likea needle in a hay stack! I had a pair of Ariats that I had for 7 years, but they never got that great since I bought them while I was still growing, and when they broke I had the biggest fear of finding a new pair that came even close to fitting me. But these more than did the trick! Love them so much, great job again smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Off the rack comfort, quality and beauty These have made me one happy girl! I've never been able to buy off the rack half chaps until these beauties! I've been riding in them for about three weeks and have zero complaints! The Wide/Short sizing is unique and hard to find without being plus size, and my ankles are not any wider and other "plus" brands were sloppy fitting. The Harwich chaps are smooth and gorgeous! These were my first SmartPak purchase and certainly not my last! Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I bought these half chaps after trying on several more expensive brands in stores. I like the trim look, the soft leather, the reinforced calf panel, and the higher bottoms on the back allowing for a good fit with spurs. The snaps and zippers were stiff but are working better with a little zipper ease. The fit isn't as tall as I was expecting for the sizing, but the next size up would be too large around the calf. For the price, I think these chaps could give competitors a run for their money. My main concern with half chaps is how well they hold up over time. I wore the Ariat Breeze all summer for schooling and like the fit but they've already started to wear along the stirrup line. I previously had Ariat Close Contacts that lasted for years but weren't as trim looking. We'll see how well these hold up to daily riding.
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Harwich Soft LeatheHalf Chap Wow! Love these chaps. My last chaps were Grand Prix and I loved them but I did'nt like the price. Well these chaps are AWESOME. Fit like butter with a price that stays with my budget. Get them tight enough so when they stretch they are not too wide. Smart Pak....... DON'T CHANGE a thing about these chaps!!!!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent chap at a great price! Nice leather and nicely made. They run a little bit narrow, but that's a good thing for my daughter who has tall, thin legs.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, fits well! These are the first half chaps I've owned so I don't have a great baseline, but after MUCH research I found a great product at a great price! They are very soft, fit well (a little on the smaller size though). I have long skinny legs and thought that I should go down in size to a tall small, but had to send them back to get a tall medium. They fit perfectly - quite snug but so comfortable you don't even know they are on. The return and receipt of new ones was very fast.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft but off in the fit When I took them out of the bag I instantly fell in love with how soft and sturdy they felt. But after trying on the first pair I ordered they were too tight (I could not zip all the way up) so I returned them and got the next size up and they were too big (loose – there was a 2” difference). Unfortunately I will have to return them :( .
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    • 2015-05-28T10:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_74
    • loc_en_US, sid_11535, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.