Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap

SmartPak
- Item #21535
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Harwich Half Chap delivers unbelievable quality at an unbeatable price! You can feel the quality from the first touch with it's ultra-soft, yet durable full grain leather. The Harwich Half Chap will quickly your favorite staple of everyday barn life.

Favorite Features

  • Soft full-grain leather with a reinforced calf panel stands up to the demands of daily use
  • Elastic panel allows for close contact and an easy, custom-like fit
  • Durable YKK zipper is built to withstand life at the barn
  • Double snaps keep the zipper in place to ensure a secure fit

Sizing It Up

This is very fitted so sizing up is a good choice if you’re in between sizes.

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    TheBradley Plus Ribb Knee Patch Breeches are guaranteed ...
    Description:
    TheBradley Plus Ribb Knee Patch Breeches are guaranteed to beyour favorite breech where comfort and style collide. 2" wide mid-rise waistband is fashionable and helps provide a smooth midsection with great coverage Ribb fabric is stretchy while offering great coverage ...
    The Horseware Air Stretch Chap is just what ...
    Description:
    The Horseware Air Stretch Chap is just what you've been looking for. Combining practicality with comfort, this chap is made frombreathable stretchmaterial. Side Zip. Favorite Features Breathable Enhanced knee Patch for added grip Imported Sizing It Up Short, Regular, Long ...
    The Sportif Technical Shirt by Equine Couture is ...
    Description:
    The Sportif Technical Shirt by Equine Couture is a stretch technical fabric that provides moisture management, making it perfect for use as a show shirt or casual riding top.Favorite Features Half zip neck Stand up collar with stock tie loop ...
    TheBradley Plus Ribb Full Seat Breeches are your ...
    Description:
    TheBradley Plus Ribb Full Seat Breeches are your favorite breech. 2" wide waistband is fashionable but also helps provide a smooth midsection. Ribb fabric is stretchy while offering great coverage and shape retention. Belt loops and single zipper pocket. Sock ...
    Aperfect crossover optionbetween dressage, eventing, and hunter/jumper rings. ...
    Description:
    Aperfect crossover optionbetween dressage, eventing, and hunter/jumper rings. Part of the RJ Classics XTREME collection, this garment is made of a solid stretchSoftshell material that is not only comfortable, but machine washable.Favorite Features Stain resistant and water repellant fabric Two ...
    Enjoy all of the comfort and benefits of ...
    Description:
    Enjoy all of the comfort and benefits of ourSoftshell fabricwith thetraditional look of a4-button dressage show coat. Made of a solid stretchSoft shell material that is stain resistant and water repellant, the RJ ClassicsSoft Shell Piaffe Frock can bethrown right ...
    Stay on-trend in this gorgeous coat made of ...
    Description:
    Stay on-trend in this gorgeous coat made of lightweight stretchSoftshell fabric andsewn with thequality tailoring you expect from RJ Classics.This Xtreme Collection Grey LabelSoft Shell Hunt Coat featuresSoftshell fabrics and styling that brings innovative elements and a fresh perspective to ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap is rated 4.0394736842105265 out of 5 by 152.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So soft, but too small Had to return because they were too small, but they were so soft, I loved the leather. So if you have thin calves, these are perfect for you!
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits a larger sized calf I've had trouble finding half chaps to fit my 19" calves. These fit nicely and the quality is excellent especially for the price. Recommend highly.
    Date published: 2016-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from glovelike fit I opted for these as I live in Florida and due to the heat I wanted a thin, light half-chap. These fit the bill, and the size I got (Med/tall) was a very snug glovelike fit, which I like. I like the zipper placement and it's an easy on easy off. If they just last through the long wet summer here, I'd be happy at that bargain price.
    Date published: 2016-06-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Soft leather Bought these and unfortunately have to return them. They are much to small. I measured my calf the way that they said and they just do not work.
    Date published: 2016-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely half chap I've been riding in these for over a month (5-6) times a week. They were overly snug at first but now fit very nicely. I love that there is plenty of room in the heel for spurs, and the leather is very soft. Only complaint is that they gape a bit on top.
    Date published: 2016-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It actual fits nicely! I really like these half chaps. I read the reviews before I purchased them so I was very concerned that they'd be too small if I bought my actual size (calf 15", height 16"= regular large) but it's worked out just fine. Yes, they appeared like they'd never work when they first arrived. There was not a hope of zipping them on over breeches. So I followed the advice of a couple reviewers and with great effort, I managed to zip them on over my bare legs and wore them that way for several hours over two days while I did some work at a computer. I probably would have given up and exchanged them for a bigger size if there were any other size that could have conceivably worked but nothing close was offered. So I kept at it and am glad I did since they're now a wonderful fit. I've now been riding with them (over breeches of course!) for about 2 weeks and they're snug but zip easily enough. They appear well made and the leather is nice. Not too thin. Snapping the bottom snap is a little difficult but maybe if I weren't so stiff myself, maybe that'd be easier to reach. You do have to actively push your foot through the elastic that goes under your foot but I hope that will stretch out somewhat over time. I don't really know how durable these will be since I've only used them for a short time but they are good at this point. Overall, it's a great product and is very reasonably priced.
    Date published: 2016-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT for big calves!! I bought these about a month ago and have been breaking them in, they are absolutely WONDERFUL!Just for comparison, I have large 18 3/4" calves and while these are a squeeze to get on, they DO work! I advise you while you are putting them on to take your fingers and hook onto the elastic panel in the back to stretch the elastic panel rather than trying to pull the leather together. Then use one finger to help push the zipper down. They are getting easier and easier to get on, and they fit my leg so snugly and streamline, they just really look fantastic.I also have short legs so I ordered the short size, but since they are cut higher at the end, the spanish top comes up to the knee and they are a bit tall, but you can't feel it b/c they are so buttery soft!!!! They look JUST like tall boots when they are on!! Oh, and I hate chaps that have those really weak elastics at the bottom, these have a really thick elastic that I'm sure will last for a LONG time, and the zipper is super strong. I just cannot say enough great things about these!I Strongly suggest these for any bigger riders, just dont get discouraged that they have such a large gap when you put them on, do what I suggested and pull the elastic (I hook my fingers on the leather edge of the elastic and give it a big pull.)BUY THESE CHAPS!
    Date published: 2016-05-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price These run slight snug but are super soft leather. Would recommend for sure!
    Date published: 2016-05-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from beautiful , great quality but small I went thru it with these chaps. Ordered two different sizes and nothing fit. My regular size was WAY too small and so I ordered the next up and it was WAY too big. You need a 17/17 or 17/18. There is not an option for a 17, there was 16 and 18 Widths. Oh well, LOVELY quality but did not fit. Thankful for free shipping both ways.
    Date published: 2016-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior to all I love these half chaps. Super soft. Fit is perfect. (Ordered a size up as most reviews suggested-good advice). Quality like no other. I would love if Smartpak would ship to Canada though! I had a friend in the states accept my order and made arrangements to get them here by another friend. Totally worth it but I would order more things if shipping to Canada was offered.
    Date published: 2016-05-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me I got different sizes but they just don't fit. Either they were too small or when I went one size up, they were to wide on the top. I think they are just to narrow on the lower calf for me. Maybe a great product for sleek calves but not for mine.
    Date published: 2016-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfortable half chap! These fit like a glove right out of the box, and are incredibly comfortable. They run slightly small in the calf, and slightly tall in the height, for the listed measurements. The zipper is large and heavy-duty, so I hope it will last well. I used them at a show because I had just blown out the zipper on my old tall boots, and even though these aren't designed to look like a shiny boot, it was still a nice look. I plan to buy these again!
    Date published: 2016-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SUPER SUPPLE - No Break In Necessary I LOVE these half chaps. They fit like a glove and are super supple right from the get go!. I have short legs. Typically any half chap is too tall and hits me behind the knee until they crumble down at the ankle. Then they end up too short. These are tall for me at 16 inch regular height but because of their softness, they are perfect and look fabulous even on my short legs. After only 2 uses, the zipper is now easier to do. AWESOME!! I hope the durability of these half chaps proves themselves over time, but I already purchased another pair just because I love them so much.
    Date published: 2016-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY COMFORTABLE I BOUGHT THESE HALF CHAPS ABOUT A MONTH AGO.I TOOK THE ADVICE TO PURCHASE 1 SIZE UP DUE TO THE TIGHT FIT. THEY FIT PERFECTLY AND I COULDN'T BE HAPPIER WITH MY PURCHASE.
    Date published: 2016-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice soft leather, fits well I've ridden in them a couple of times. I'm very happy with the fit. They fit at the ankles vs bunching up. Really nice leather. Looking forward to using them at a schooling show.
    Date published: 2016-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Half chaps Great product but fit was not right. Widespread ran way too big but xl was too small...no happy med for me.
    Date published: 2016-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit I have Short but wide calves. I bought the wide regular and they fit perfect. Soft leather, and they look great! I haven't had them long, so I can't comment on the durability.
    Date published: 2016-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great These are the nicest half chaps I have come across for the price.The description is very accurate.The sizing is slightly small. The elastic panel gives some resistance if you need it to stretch the entire length of your calf.Order a size up--you can't loose with free returns.
    Date published: 2016-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice for the price I've had these for a few weeks and have been impressed so far. I wish the elastic panel in the back was a little thinner as it's very noticeable and not greatly flattering.
    Date published: 2016-03-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous soft but run VERY SMALL I was between sizes and sized up, good thing I did because it's still a struggle to get them on. They are starting to stretch but beware of this when ordering.That being said these are the nicest chaps I have owned. I do like the thin leather, should be great in the summer. They are very soft and look great. I love that they are fitted through the ankle, something I have never been able to find in Ariat chaps.
    Date published: 2016-03-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I really wanted to love these Went to a smartpak store and these were brought to my attention. The leather on these is outstanding. I can't say anything about durability but the leather is just as supple as my high end grand prix chaps. I would describe my build as average- 5'8", 125, 7.5. These do not fit. Like other reviewers, I too could fit a sandwich in the top part of the calf, while the mid calf was nice and tight. The amazing smartpak representative pulled so many sizes of this chap because I think that the style and leather on it is great, but NONE FIT! I'm hoping by giving a poor review smartpak will look back an evaluate the design of these chaps, because they have the potential to be something stellar. Sadly, I left the store empty handed.
    Date published: 2016-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for schooling Softer leather than I'm used to but great construction and value. Appreciate the sizing options as I have wide calves.
    Date published: 2016-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice light chaps I really like these chaps from several reasons. They are not overpriced as several other ones, they fit great and are light - do not feel like wearing those heavy older ones. I had problems with sizing because based on the reviews they run larger, but they run true to the size for me. Of course, SmartPak helped me with sizing and free return which you will not find anywhere else. I ordered tall XLarge and sent pictures to Smartpak that I think they run too big for me and based on the SmartPak recommendation, I ordered Tall Large and then fit perfectly (I am 5'8" and 150 lbs).
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Chap! I enjoy riding in these! They have an elegant appearance
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good value -good looking very soft easy off/on. looks great. I am over weight and short bought wide calf nice fit.
    Date published: 2016-03-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best for thin calves I had read the reviews on these chaps so I knew I had to measure my calves and go with a bigger size. I did and the chaps are very tight, hard to get on even, but I like that. I know they'll stretch and be perfect. However the top is so loose I could put my phone, a bottle of water and maybe a sandwich in there. Maybe not the best choice for curvy calves. I'm not in love with them but the leather is beautiful and they're sturdy and the price is right!
    Date published: 2016-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from IN LOVE! I'm obsessed with these half chaps - they are soft like butter and just conform to my leg as if they were custom made. Beware that they do stretch so even if they feel super tight at first, do not fear, they will soon be perfect. If you buy them too large , even if they feel tight at first, they will become a puddle around your ankles - it happened to me, but luckily SmartPak's awesome customer service sent me a smaller size no questions asked! Another high quality SmartPak-branded product!
    Date published: 2016-03-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too small for my plus-size legs I'm struggling to find half-chaps to fit my very large (19") calves, and I took a chance on these. They looked and felt beautiful coming out of the package--so soft!--but they were miles from fitting, even though the XW calf is supposed to fit up to 19". That measurement may be at its max stretchability, because when I laid them out and measured, the circumference was more like 16" unstretched. So back they go...but for someone not as hard to fit, they would be lovely!
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I've had my half chaps for a little over a year now. Sadly the reinforced calf panel on one of the half chaps has pulled away. I would recommend buying down a size as they do stretch a little.Overall, the half chaps are very nice and seem to be of quality leather, but could have been better constructed.
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very soft and comfortable, good fit I bought these because my daughter has very short lower legs but muscular calves and it is hard to find chaps and boots that fit her. These fit perfectly and are very soft.
    Date published: 2016-02-15
    • 2016-07-23T10:35CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_150
    • loc_en_US, sid_11535, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders