Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap

SmartPak
- Item #21535
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Harwich Half Chap delivers unbelievable quality at an unbeatable price! You can feel the quality from the first touch with it's ultra-soft, yet durable full grain leather. The Harwich Half Chap will quickly your favorite staple of everyday barn life.

Favorite Features

  • Soft full-grain leather with a reinforced calf panel stands up to the demands of daily use
  • Elastic panel allows for close contact and an easy, custom-like fit
  • Durable YKK zipper is built to withstand life at the barn
  • Double snaps keep the zipper in place to ensure a secure fit

Sizing It Up

This is very fitted so sizing up is a good choice if you’re in between sizes.

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap is rated 4.0373 out of 5 by 134.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice for the price I've had these for a few weeks and have been impressed so far. I wish the elastic panel in the back was a little thinner as it's very noticeable and not greatly flattering.
    Date published: 2016-03-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous soft but run VERY SMALL I was between sizes and sized up, good thing I did because it's still a struggle to get them on. They are starting to stretch but beware of this when ordering.That being said these are the nicest chaps I have owned. I do like the thin leather, should be great in the summer. They are very soft and look great. I love that they are fitted through the ankle, something I have never been able to find in Ariat chaps.
    Date published: 2016-03-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I really wanted to love these Went to a smartpak store and these were brought to my attention. The leather on these is outstanding. I can't say anything about durability but the leather is just as supple as my high end grand prix chaps. I would describe my build as average- 5'8", 125, 7.5. These do not fit. Like other reviewers, I too could fit a sandwich in the top part of the calf, while the mid calf was nice and tight. The amazing smartpak representative pulled so many sizes of this chap because I think that the style and leather on it is great, but NONE FIT! I'm hoping by giving a poor review smartpak will look back an evaluate the design of these chaps, because they have the potential to be something stellar. Sadly, I left the store empty handed.
    Date published: 2016-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for schooling Softer leather than I'm used to but great construction and value. Appreciate the sizing options as I have wide calves.
    Date published: 2016-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice light chaps I really like these chaps from several reasons. They are not overpriced as several other ones, they fit great and are light - do not feel like wearing those heavy older ones. I had problems with sizing because based on the reviews they run larger, but they run true to the size for me. Of course, SmartPak helped me with sizing and free return which you will not find anywhere else. I ordered tall XLarge and sent pictures to Smartpak that I think they run too big for me and based on the SmartPak recommendation, I ordered Tall Large and then fit perfectly (I am 5'8" and 150 lbs).
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Chap! I enjoy riding in these! They have an elegant appearance
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good value -good looking very soft easy off/on. looks great. I am over weight and short bought wide calf nice fit.
    Date published: 2016-03-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best for thin calves I had read the reviews on these chaps so I knew I had to measure my calves and go with a bigger size. I did and the chaps are very tight, hard to get on even, but I like that. I know they'll stretch and be perfect. However the top is so loose I could put my phone, a bottle of water and maybe a sandwich in there. Maybe not the best choice for curvy calves. I'm not in love with them but the leather is beautiful and they're sturdy and the price is right!
    Date published: 2016-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from IN LOVE! I'm obsessed with these half chaps - they are soft like butter and just conform to my leg as if they were custom made. Beware that they do stretch so even if they feel super tight at first, do not fear, they will soon be perfect. If you buy them too large , even if they feel tight at first, they will become a puddle around your ankles - it happened to me, but luckily SmartPak's awesome customer service sent me a smaller size no questions asked! Another high quality SmartPak-branded product!
    Date published: 2016-03-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too small for my plus-size legs I'm struggling to find half-chaps to fit my very large (19") calves, and I took a chance on these. They looked and felt beautiful coming out of the package--so soft!--but they were miles from fitting, even though the XW calf is supposed to fit up to 19". That measurement may be at its max stretchability, because when I laid them out and measured, the circumference was more like 16" unstretched. So back they go...but for someone not as hard to fit, they would be lovely!
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I've had my half chaps for a little over a year now. Sadly the reinforced calf panel on one of the half chaps has pulled away. I would recommend buying down a size as they do stretch a little.Overall, the half chaps are very nice and seem to be of quality leather, but could have been better constructed.
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very soft and comfortable, good fit I bought these because my daughter has very short lower legs but muscular calves and it is hard to find chaps and boots that fit her. These fit perfectly and are very soft.
    Date published: 2016-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice soft leather, great fit, good price I just got these in the mail (S Tall) and put them on over regular leggings with out my usual tall socks and they were a little difficult to zip as everyone said, they run small. But I DID get them zipped and I'm sure once the elastic loosens up a bit they'll fit perfectly!I love the soft leather and how snuggly the elastic on the bottom fits under my boots. I also love the cut at the bottom over my heels.If you're in between sizes, I'd personally order down because the elastic will loosen up and the leather is soft and will probably stretch as well.
    Date published: 2016-02-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Run small, but still very nice! Even though I had seen most of the reviews said they run small I still decided to order the XS/Tall because I wanted them very snug (and very tall). The height was great but I could not even get the zippers 1/5 of the way down. I did measure my calf at 12" before ordering them. I really liked the quality of the leather and the way they were built. I will be exchanging them for the next size up. I am excited to ride in them soon!
    Date published: 2016-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from After a few rides, perfect and have stayed that wa I bought these a few months ago. I have worn them about 2 dozen times. They have stretched to fit perfectly for this wide calf, 5'5" rider. Hard to find wide and not long half chaps. If they had them in Brown I would purchase another pair.
    Date published: 2016-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good deal and quality I have had four pairs of tredstep deluxe half chaps over the last couple of years. I loved them, but I would tear through them in like 6 months. For the price, it wasn't worth it to keep buying those half chaps. I was looking for something cheaper of a similar quality, maybe something that would hold up longer. So far I'm very happy with the quality of these half chaps, and if they hold up at least as long as the tredsteps, they'll be my new go too! As for sizing, I ordered the same size as the tredsteps and they fit the same, although they did take a forklift to get on the first couple times.
    Date published: 2016-02-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor fit, poor quality Review is a little delayed. I was hit by a car and haven't been riding at all since purchase. I've ridden in them maybe 5 times and will probably just donate them as they do more harm than good. First Smartpak product I've really been disappointed with. Fit is really wide around the top of the calf and stitching is coming loose after just 5 rides. They slide down a lot. That being said the leather is really soft. Would have expected better from Smartpak.
    Date published: 2016-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs small Once you determine the correct size, this is a wonderful product. However, I found that even though my calf is 14 inches around, the size that claimed to fit a 14 inch calf was too small by a full inch. I returned the 14 and ordered the 15 inch wide and then found it was difficult to zip at first. However, after a couple times of struggling to zip them on, they stretched to a perfect fit.
    Date published: 2016-01-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sizing chart is a fail I've tried several different sizes of these to fit my perfectly normal calves and none of them fit.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beautiful chaps, size chart wrong I got these for Christmas in the X-Wide/Reg. The chaps are only 16" around, not 19". I can't imagine at they would stretch a full 3 inches- they're already quite thin. Definitely disappointed in SmartPak.
    Date published: 2015-12-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Size Issues Even though I measured my leg and used the size chart, these half chaps were so tight I could not zip them up. I exchanged them for the next size up and had to return them because they were way too loose. Very disappointed since the quality seems good, they're nice and thin, good zipper, buttery soft leather.
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leather is beautiful! I read many reviews about this product before I bought it. Seems like the consistency was is that they are very small. I have a small calf so I felt like I could still stick with a small size. After struggling To squeeze into them they fit beautifully. They have stretched nicely and although they are snug they offer a great support love the quality of the leather and the fit. I cannot rate the quality at this point because I've just gotten them as far as durability goes but the quality of the leather is fabulous
    Date published: 2015-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I need a new half chaps and got to try these out they are awesome they hug your leg like a glove and are very soft definitely worth the money. I would go up a size though they run kind of small
    Date published: 2015-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Streamlined plus size half chaps- hard to find! This was the only brand of half chaps aside from Fuller Fillies that would fit my calf. I love that they have the spanish top look. I personally like the thin leather for a close feel. They are snug but have started to stretch. So far (2 months in) they are wearing well and the snaps seem more durable
    Date published: 2015-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit. Quality and Price I have been searching everywhere for nearly a year for the leather half chaps that fit me. I have purchased several online, only to have to return them. I've gone to retail stores with no luck. I was just about to resort to ordering custom, which I really cannot afford, but took a chance on these because of the variety in sizing. It paid off! I just received these and I am thrilled that they fit perfectly. The bonus is they are very stylish, good quality, comfortable and a great price. If they had them in brown, I would buy those too!
    Date published: 2015-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luxury Chaps on a Budget I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the leather and the softness out of the packaging. I measured my leg and based on the size chart ended up with a medium regular. I panicked the first time I tried them on thinking theyd be much too small.The trick is getting them zipped up on your bare legs, and just wearing them for an hour or two for a few days. The elastic panel is very stiff but with repeated use and wear, the chap eventually gives just enough to fit on breeches and has a custom feel.I can't comment on long term durability as I've only had them for a month, but they're a clean cut attractive half chap.Give the chap some time to break in and as long as you measure and follow the size chart, they should fit just right!
    Date published: 2015-12-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love the fit. They're beautiful on, but sadly, they're very thin. I can feel the stirrup leather pinching me through them. I have to wear two pairs of thick socks in order for it to be painless.
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft leather I've had these chaps for a few weeks now and so far they are great. The zipper is very solid and the leather is strong yet soft. I love the cut at the bottom that makes more room for spurs. The only downside is that they are loose at the top. I think it is just the shape of my calf. They are tighter on the narrower part of my calf and looser on the larger part of my calf. People have completed me on how they look though. Very comfy and totally worth the price!
    Date published: 2015-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits perfectly! I bought these for my skinny, skinny but long legged son in xs tall and they fit perfectly! It has only been a couple of months of twice a week riding, so I can't comment about how well they hold up yet but so far, appear well worth the money.
    Date published: 2015-10-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but too small Yes, they really are smaller than the sizing. Somehow I thought I'd be different.. I ordered up for size and I could get them on but it wasn't easy. My daughter helped me. I thought if I wore them around they'd stretch and be easier, but alas, after three times they were no easier. I never got to ride in them. I'm returning them. I would rather spend time riding than trying to zip up my chaps.
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    • 2016-04-28T16:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_132
    • loc_en_US, sid_11535, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders