Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap

SmartPak
- Item #21535

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Harwich Half Chap delivers unbelievable quality at an unbeatable price! You can feel the quality from the first touch with it's ultra-soft, yet durable full grain leather. The Harwich Half Chap will quickly your favorite staple of everyday barn life.

Favorite Features

  • Soft full-grain leather with a reinforced calf panel stands up to the demands of daily use
  • Elastic panel allows for close contact and an easy, custom-like fit
  • Durable YKK zipper is built to withstand life at the barn
  • Double snaps keep the zipper in place to ensure a secure fit

Sizing It Up

This is very fitted so sizing up is a good choice if you’re in between sizes.

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Tredstep Liberty Side Zip Chaps are made ...
    Description:
    The Tredstep Liberty Side Zip Chaps are made from super soft full grain leather and lined with amara suede to keep you snug in the saddle! Suede leather panel on the inside for increased feel and a secure leg position ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Soft Leather Half Chap is rated 4.0345 out of 5 by 116.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sizing chart is a fail I've tried several different sizes of these to fit my perfectly normal calves and none of them fit.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beautiful chaps, size chart wrong I got these for Christmas in the X-Wide/Reg. The chaps are only 16" around, not 19". I can't imagine at they would stretch a full 3 inches- they're already quite thin. Definitely disappointed in SmartPak.
    Date published: 2015-12-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Size Issues Even though I measured my leg and used the size chart, these half chaps were so tight I could not zip them up. I exchanged them for the next size up and had to return them because they were way too loose. Very disappointed since the quality seems good, they're nice and thin, good zipper, buttery soft leather.
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leather is beautiful! I read many reviews about this product before I bought it. Seems like the consistency was is that they are very small. I have a small calf so I felt like I could still stick with a small size. After struggling To squeeze into them they fit beautifully. They have stretched nicely and although they are snug they offer a great support love the quality of the leather and the fit. I cannot rate the quality at this point because I've just gotten them as far as durability goes but the quality of the leather is fabulous
    Date published: 2015-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I need a new half chaps and got to try these out they are awesome they hug your leg like a glove and are very soft definitely worth the money. I would go up a size though they run kind of small
    Date published: 2015-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Streamlined plus size half chaps- hard to find! This was the only brand of half chaps aside from Fuller Fillies that would fit my calf. I love that they have the spanish top look. I personally like the thin leather for a close feel. They are snug but have started to stretch. So far (2 months in) they are wearing well and the snaps seem more durable
    Date published: 2015-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit. Quality and Price I have been searching everywhere for nearly a year for the leather half chaps that fit me. I have purchased several online, only to have to return them. I've gone to retail stores with no luck. I was just about to resort to ordering custom, which I really cannot afford, but took a chance on these because of the variety in sizing. It paid off! I just received these and I am thrilled that they fit perfectly. The bonus is they are very stylish, good quality, comfortable and a great price. If they had them in brown, I would buy those too!
    Date published: 2015-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luxury Chaps on a Budget I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the leather and the softness out of the packaging. I measured my leg and based on the size chart ended up with a medium regular. I panicked the first time I tried them on thinking theyd be much too small.The trick is getting them zipped up on your bare legs, and just wearing them for an hour or two for a few days. The elastic panel is very stiff but with repeated use and wear, the chap eventually gives just enough to fit on breeches and has a custom feel.I can't comment on long term durability as I've only had them for a month, but they're a clean cut attractive half chap.Give the chap some time to break in and as long as you measure and follow the size chart, they should fit just right!
    Date published: 2015-12-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I love the fit. They're beautiful on, but sadly, they're very thin. I can feel the stirrup leather pinching me through them. I have to wear two pairs of thick socks in order for it to be painless.
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft leather I've had these chaps for a few weeks now and so far they are great. The zipper is very solid and the leather is strong yet soft. I love the cut at the bottom that makes more room for spurs. The only downside is that they are loose at the top. I think it is just the shape of my calf. They are tighter on the narrower part of my calf and looser on the larger part of my calf. People have completed me on how they look though. Very comfy and totally worth the price!
    Date published: 2015-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits perfectly! I bought these for my skinny, skinny but long legged son in xs tall and they fit perfectly! It has only been a couple of months of twice a week riding, so I can't comment about how well they hold up yet but so far, appear well worth the money.
    Date published: 2015-10-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but too small Yes, they really are smaller than the sizing. Somehow I thought I'd be different.. I ordered up for size and I could get them on but it wasn't easy. My daughter helped me. I thought if I wore them around they'd stretch and be easier, but alas, after three times they were no easier. I never got to ride in them. I'm returning them. I would rather spend time riding than trying to zip up my chaps.
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me... Nice upon first meet, brake in first ride. Soft, good design.But, too thin. I keep on getting a bruise each time I ride on my left leg, so these are not enough protection for me.The good people at Smartpacks though recommended other half chaps to try, and I will be returning these. Overall good experience even though these did not work out.
    Date published: 2015-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best chaps I've purchased! I've had these chaps about a month and I love them! Soft, supple leather. Great zipper (I prefer the look of an exposed zipper vs one covered by a flap) and I like how it ends higher up on my ankle than other chaps I've tried. The fit is so close that from a distance it almost looks like tall boots! The many size combo choices are great - I got the right size on the first try! The only two downsides in my opinion are with the bottom elastic strap (that goes under your boot). One, it doesn't have leather over it and I'm not sure if that will cause the elastic to break down faster. Also, the strap seems very snug - I can't just slide these chaps on quickly over my boots because it gets stuck at the widest part of my foot - I have to actually pull it on and it's pretty tight. Neither are huge deal breakers and especially since the price is so great and smartpak has such great customer service I will definitely get these again when I need a new pair!
    Date published: 2015-10-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sizing I first ordered a large which was too small and when I reordered a wide....it was much too big. I liked the half chaps but unfortunately I could not find a size that fit.
    Date published: 2015-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits My Larger Calf Perfectly I did a side-by-side comparison between this half chap and the Tredstep Liberty to see which would work better for me. In the Tredstep I was a 17" calf but in the Harwich I had to go up to an 18". The Tredstep was heavier and sturdier - but was also $48 more (I got the Harwich 20% off). The Harwich leather is lighter and more supple. I've been wearing them for a month now and am very pleased. Very easy to clean - come out good as new with a little Lexol or saddle soap. Very flattering. Be prepared to have horse hair get stuck in the elastic back! I ride different horses so it's a nice mix of colors (comes off with a brush or towel). Stands up to the wash stall. Added a zipper pull to save my thumbs.
    Date published: 2015-09-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Between sizes They looked and felt great, but had to return twice as my calves were too big for one size, and too small for the next size up.
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice soft full calf half chap I bought these to replace my Fuller Fillies half chaps, which are wearing out after several years of regular use. These Harwich ones fit me quite well (18" calf, short legs- I bought the wide / short), and they look nice with the discreet stretch panel at the center-back rather than the wider panel of pleated leather. The strap under the instep is a bit snug, but not uncomfortable, and I expect it will wear in nicely. The top line is flattering as well, or so I hear :) They are soft, even a bit floppy, not like stiff tall boot tops. I was a bit surprised when I took them out of the package, but they feel just fine in use.
    Date published: 2015-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Leather Half Chao These are very soft and supple, with an elastic panel. They run very small.
    Date published: 2015-07-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed I thought I would try a different brand of half chap than my usual. I measured diligently and when I tried them on they were not even close to fitting. They were extremely small so I returned them.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from still getting used to them Had a difficult time getting them to fit. They still don't fit quit right but will go with them for now.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inaccurate sizing The chaps looked and felt great, but the calf sizing was much narrower than than the Ariats I normally wear.
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't fit right The leather was very soft, but unfortunately I was caught between 2 sizes and they just didn't look good on me. They gaped quite a bit at the top and they were a little short for me
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price I bought these because the seemed similar to the more expensive Treadstep half chaps I usually wear. The leather is soft and seems to be stretching well. People said they run small so I bought the size up but I had to return them for the next size down. Of course they were tight but boots and half chaps stretch so much you just have to deal w the discomfort at first. Then you will have properly fitting half chaps.
    Date published: 2015-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strange sizing but super soft leather You defiantly want to go a size up if you are ordering these. The leather is incredibly soft and the zipper is of good quality but due to the strange calf sizing the ankle isn't very slim. This half chap is good for shorter legged people how ever that aren't tall enough for ariat larger sized half chaps. If you can get them on sale defiantly would recommend.
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look! I bought these about a month ago, they fit great right out of the package! I ended up measuring my tall boots to get the correct fit but the leather is soft and cleans up very easily if they get muddy.
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible sizing Seems like a great half chap. Although I was not able to experience them because the sizing is TERRIBLE!!! I have exchanged 3 pairs and none of them fit. I even emailed to have them measure the chap to make sure it measured the size I need, and the pair they sent me was still several INCHES too small! Really wanted these half chaps but unfortunately I dont think they even come in my size and I wear a medium!
    Date published: 2015-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made Great half chaps but a warning they do run small. I have large calves and ordered the xtra wide, which according to the chart go up to 19", I can hardly zip them. I know they will stretch.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent quality, beautiful half chaps but the sizing runs small. I was very disappointed that I had to return them.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of the zippers is a little hard to get started. Other than that they are great!
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    • 2016-02-13T15:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_114
    • loc_en_US, sid_11535, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.