Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Harwich Rubber Reins by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17369
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Harwich Bridles and accessories are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

The Harwich Rubber Reins are made from a rich Hazelnut with Brown rubber or Black leather with Black rubber. Hazelnut reins are raised and fancy stitched. Black is plain. 5/8” x 54"

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Rubber Reins by SmartPak is rated 4.7619 out of 5 by 63.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very sturdy, high quality reins For the price, you can't beat the quality of these reins. The rubber is the perfect thickness, and the reins bend easily in your hands without feeling bulky. The fancy stitching is an added bonus.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best buy on reins I bought a pair of these to replace a Devoucoux set as I couldn't justify spending more money at the time. I was so impressed when they arrived that I ordered another pair immediately. We go through rubber reins fairly quickly- and haven't had much luck getting the rubber replaced on our expensive reins. I will only buy Harwich reins from now on- I've used them several times a day just about every day for about 2 months now- and I love them. They are the right size for my hands- not too thick or thin. And they arrived so soft and ready to use. I'm so impressed! They look great with my expensive bridles.
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent buy! These reins exceeded my expectations for the $$. The quality of leather is quite nice for this price point, and the raised portion with fancy stitching (in the brown leather) was a pleasant surprise. (I have some show reins on a hunter bridle that are raised, fancy-stitched and laced from England that were quite expensive). These have just as nice of an appearance. I cannot fairly comment about durability, but typically rubber reins do not last as long as plain leather. But since I have some carpal tunnel issues, for everyday riding I like either Thinline or rubber reins. These reins are just as nice as other brands for double or triple the price.
    Date published: 2012-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice reins I honestly wasn't expecting such nice reins when I bought these. I use them on my schooling bridle and get lots of compliments on them.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THEM These reins are fabulous! This is my second pair, to go with my starter dressage bridle--my first pair still looks and feels great. These are such a great value, I've told all of my jumper friends, as well as anyone else who will listen. Where else can you get GOOD rubber reins for so cheap???
    Date published: 2012-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprising quality at a low price I was skeptical, but I purchased these reins anyway based off the reviews. What a pleasant surprise! Good leather, and the rubber is soft, grippy, and super flexible. The leather will require good conditioning frequently, but it's not so cheap that it won't supple up over time. For the price, you can't go wrong. The color is a deep hazelnut that somehow matches my bridle. There's definitely a reddish tint, so don't expect to match everything. But, then again, with the economic Harwich line, buy the bridle to match!
    Date published: 2012-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Reins EVER! Ive had these reins for about four years, and before i got them, they were used, but i do say, they were the best reins i ever had! sadly they were attached to the bridle of my old horse who was sold. Maybe ill get a new pair soon.
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great rubber reins......great feel in your hands and not too thick. Exceptional for the price as well. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very decent reins at a reasonable price Would definitely buy another pair. These are light weight and not bulky. Plus they look great.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins for training! I purchased these reins for schooling with my dressage gelding. I had beautiful black leather reins, but daily training trashed them. These new rubber reins seem great. They are durable and easy to clean. They are a bit heavy, but that is due to the rubber. I think the rubber allows for a great solid, yet flexible contact that leather does not allow for.
    Date published: 2011-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent reins for any discipline! Don't let the low price throw you, these are GREAT reins. Super materials, super workmanship. FANTASTIC, comfortable grip. These are the first reins that don't slip through my fingers at the canter. My trainer likes them for jumping, too.
    Date published: 2011-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and cheap! These are excellent reins for this price. I brought them in black for dressage. They are not too thick and haven broken in nicely. However, the attachment to the bit was quite difficult to undo as the leather was so stiff when the reins first arrived. Leather conditioner solved that problem and I was able to get it undone with no problem after that. I am definitely considering buying another set in brown.
    Date published: 2011-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice rubber reins These reins come in a bit stiff, but become much softer after only using them a couple times. The grips are excellent and prevent my reins from slipping. The width is just right (other brands are usually too wide). Excellent reins!
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from look nice, good price I bought these for my hacking bridle, and they feel very nice. The price was great!
    Date published: 2011-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I read the reviews of other buyers and that was why I bought these reins. I like them very much so far. The leather is great and for the price you would think it would be cheap. They are NOT that cheap leather! I can not rate their durability at this time since I just got them. I hope they last for years to come:-)
    Date published: 2011-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT BARGAIN I wear out a lot of rubber reins, so i am not willing to pay alot because once they wear out I have to replace them. These reins look and feel good. Not too heavy, or wide. THe pimple grips are ample and will last awhile. I have had smaller pimple grips and they just don't last very long. They are flexible and easy to handle. THe leather is a good sturdy quality absorbs conditioner nicely.
    Date published: 2011-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable but still elegant! These reins are great! I find the rubber very grippy and the fancy stitch adds an elegant touch. I love these reins for schooling and showing. They are a great value and I'm sure will hold up for a long time.
    Date published: 2011-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality for the Price I was pleasently surprised by the quailty of these reins. I love how flexible the rubber section is. They are very friendly to my hands, I always ride without gloves. The only thing I would complain about is the extra leather inside the bit fastener sometimes popps out (I could always cut it off). For low price reins they are a really good value.
    Date published: 2011-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from a little thick These look like great quality, but compared to my web and leather reins, these feel so thick in my hands, which i guess is typical of a rubber rein. They really aren't very stiff, just thick. I may decide to splurge for some expensive rubber reins and see if those are thinner.
    Date published: 2011-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reins! These reins are really great for the price. They are really easy to hold on to and the leather quality was very nice. I havent had them very long so I can't say much about the durablity. Excellent product!
    Date published: 2011-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Value for Money Rubber reins are my personal preference for riding dressage in all weather conditions. However, often the price for one pairs of reins is simply too high.I was thrilled but skeptical about Harwich rubber reins which were offered at a very budget friendly price. But I bought a pair and was very pleased with with arrived. Now I'll be stocking up on several more pairs.I can't speak to the longterm durability yet, but so far, they are holding up very well!
    Date published: 2010-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Value +++ Great value, really nice looking reins for the money. I bought to use on a schooling bridle, and the reins are a whole lot nicer looking/feeling than the bridle itself. I plan on buying the corresponding bridle to use for schooling/lessons/clinics. Really impressed by the quality for the money
    Date published: 2010-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Reins! The quality of these reins is unbelievable for the price. The rubber is soft and pliable, which is rare for reins at this price point. The leather is a much greater quality then I was expecting. I am planning on buying the matching bridle to go with the reins because I like them so much.
    Date published: 2010-03-03
    • 2015-05-27T09:30CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_62
    • loc_en_US, sid_7369, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.