Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Harwich Rubber Reins by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17369
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Harwich Bridles and accessories are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

The Harwich Rubber Reins are made from a rich Hazelnut with Brown rubber or Black leather with Black rubber. Hazelnut reins are raised and fancy stitched. Black is plain. 5/8” x 54"

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price ...
    Description:
    Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Favorite Features Leather grips Hook studs Attached rein stops Sizing It Up 5/8" x 54" ? ? ? ? ? Black or Brown.
    The Harwich Eventer Bridle is crafted withdurable, imported ...
    Description:
    The Harwich Eventer Bridle is crafted withdurable, imported vegetable-tanned leather making it ideal for every day schooling or top rated shows!Features an innovative padded crown design which allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown, alleviating pressure on the ...
    The number #1 choice on the A Circuit! ...
    Description:
    The number #1 choice on the A Circuit! Edgewood Original leather goods are made with the finest vegetable-tanned leather in the U.S. The fancy stitch, high-profile square raise, deep rich chestnut color and clean, careful workmanship combine for a striking ...
    Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather ...
    Description:
    Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned.  With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area.  Superb craftsmanship is reflected in ...
    The Harwich Elastic Breastplate is built to last ...
    Description:
    The Harwich Elastic Breastplate is built to last for everyday schooling! Made with eye catching SmartPak Blue elastic whichallows for greater freedom of movement whileyour horseis moving or jumping. The elastic insertsminimize the restriction on your horses shouldersyet still making ...
    The Wellfleet Comfort Contour Hunter Jumper Bridle with ...
    Description:
    The Wellfleet Comfort Contour Hunter Jumper Bridle with rubber reins fits into your tack room as a schooling bridle or a show bridle. This bridle is made from top quality leather and features the SmartPak Comfort Contoured Technology. Favorite Features ...
    All KL Rubber reins feature the supplest English ...
    Description:
    All KL Rubber reins feature the supplest English leather handcrafted to the highest standards exclusively for KL Select in the UK. Full leather reins with rubber overlay. Added value features include reinforced leather-shielded ends stainless steel buckles or hook-studs, finished ...
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Rubber Reins by SmartPak is rated 4.8025 out of 5 by 81.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful rubber reins for a great price! I just got these rubber reins in- they were less then half the price of most others. I LOVE them. They match my bridle well, including the fancy stitch. The rubber is perfect and a great thickness. They are long enough for my long-necked WB mare. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend these.
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value! You can't beat the value for the price! I love them and since my horses tend to eat reins it's a little less painful in the wallet
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I got these to go with an Edgewood bridle that was already oiled and darkened. They oiled up right away and match the bridle almost perfectly. Leather is very nice for the price. Definitely recommend
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Smartpak Product I am very happy with these rubber reins. They are well made and as with many Smartpak products, you can't beat the price! I have yet to be disappointed with a purchase of a Smartpak product. Thanks, Smartpak!
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Rein I bought these reins for a schooling bridle shared among many horses at my barn. I was pleasantly surprised with how nice these reins look and feel. So far, they have held up. I was expecting these reins to be extremely stiff due to their price and some rubber reins are not flexible at first. These were great for my first ride. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I had awful reins before this that would slip of my hands easily when jumping and were hard to get a grip on. I got these for Christmas from my mom, and I love them. They are grippy and were a great value compared to some other reins!
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality I got these to match my aging Dover Circuit jumper bridle (which comes with rubber reins and figure 8 noseband). These reins are beautiful and the quality could not be better. Excellent buy!
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality at an Excellent Price! I am wary of rubber reins that are 'cheap' having had several pairs that were junk or never lasted very long. These reins are supple, light and fit perfectly in my hands - not too bulky. I was worried that they would be a little light for my tastes, since the picture makes them look more caramel in color, but they are a gorgeous deep cherry color to match my Harwich Figure-8 noseband - and close enough to match my Plymouth bridle, too! Can't wait for spring to roll around so that I can use them every day :)
    Date published: 2013-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good solid product Well made, very good quality. Good feel in my hands.
    Date published: 2012-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE these reins!! I love these reins; they are substantial feeling with excellent grip. They are beautiful too, worth every penny!
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, great price I bought these as a replacement for a more expensive pair that I had broken. I was surprised by the quality of the leather, it was already very supple. I love the fancy stitching on the brown pair. I use it for an everyday rein, but it will look great at shows too. I will definitely consider Harwich's products in the future.
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than expected I bought these reins to replace my old rubber lined half inch reins, which I thought I loved. I'm usually not a fan of 5/8" reins as I have small fingers and they just don't fit well between the joints on my fingers. That said, I've been pleasantly surprised with how much I like these reins! They are wide (not thick), but have so much grip that the width really hasn't been an issue. I now feel like I have more consistent contact with my horse's mouth as the reins don't slide through my fingers as readily. I've only used them for several weeks so I can't really evaluate the durability or quality yet, but so far I'm really happy with the purchase. Many thanks to the reviewers for the information that gave me the guts to try them out!
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Rein, Great Price WOW~~ Bought these for a friend and she thought they were Edgewood's when they arrived because they are so nice. Ok, I admit I can tell the difference between these and the uber fancy ones but for about a third of the price you can't beat 'em for schooling and everyday.
    Date published: 2012-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice quality I was pleased that these reins looked as nice as my old pair of Stubbens and half the price!
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the price, these reins are good quality. I was pleased with them and think they will hold up well.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Harwich rubber reins These reins have been great. The size fits my handwell and they are soft and flexible. The leather has broken in quickly with the use of leather conditioner. The reins really fit the bill for me.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the width These are great rubber reins, they were inexpensive, yet I will still use them to show in. I didn't give five stars, only because the leather is very dry and will need some serious oiling. The rubber cleans up great too.
    Date published: 2012-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product for the Price Nice and affordable set of reins. The Fancy stitching on the hazelnut color is very nice. The leather quality seemed decent for the price and the rubber nice and soft. The rubber seemed to be a little "bubbled" in a very small spot of the pair I got but overall I am pleased with them. I cannot attest to the durability because I have not actually ridden in them yet but would probably buy another pair.
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins! This is my 2nd pair. They are fabulous- they look great w/my expensive bridles. Love the color, the amount of rein in my hand is perfect- not too thick or thin. Great reins for the price. I will be buying more.
    Date published: 2012-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very sturdy, high quality reins For the price, you can't beat the quality of these reins. The rubber is the perfect thickness, and the reins bend easily in your hands without feeling bulky. The fancy stitching is an added bonus.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best buy on reins I bought a pair of these to replace a Devoucoux set as I couldn't justify spending more money at the time. I was so impressed when they arrived that I ordered another pair immediately. We go through rubber reins fairly quickly- and haven't had much luck getting the rubber replaced on our expensive reins. I will only buy Harwich reins from now on- I've used them several times a day just about every day for about 2 months now- and I love them. They are the right size for my hands- not too thick or thin. And they arrived so soft and ready to use. I'm so impressed! They look great with my expensive bridles.
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent buy! These reins exceeded my expectations for the $$. The quality of leather is quite nice for this price point, and the raised portion with fancy stitching (in the brown leather) was a pleasant surprise. (I have some show reins on a hunter bridle that are raised, fancy-stitched and laced from England that were quite expensive). These have just as nice of an appearance. I cannot fairly comment about durability, but typically rubber reins do not last as long as plain leather. But since I have some carpal tunnel issues, for everyday riding I like either Thinline or rubber reins. These reins are just as nice as other brands for double or triple the price.
    Date published: 2012-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice reins I honestly wasn't expecting such nice reins when I bought these. I use them on my schooling bridle and get lots of compliments on them.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THEM These reins are fabulous! This is my second pair, to go with my starter dressage bridle--my first pair still looks and feels great. These are such a great value, I've told all of my jumper friends, as well as anyone else who will listen. Where else can you get GOOD rubber reins for so cheap???
    Date published: 2012-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprising quality at a low price I was skeptical, but I purchased these reins anyway based off the reviews. What a pleasant surprise! Good leather, and the rubber is soft, grippy, and super flexible. The leather will require good conditioning frequently, but it's not so cheap that it won't supple up over time. For the price, you can't go wrong. The color is a deep hazelnut that somehow matches my bridle. There's definitely a reddish tint, so don't expect to match everything. But, then again, with the economic Harwich line, buy the bridle to match!
    Date published: 2012-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Reins EVER! Ive had these reins for about four years, and before i got them, they were used, but i do say, they were the best reins i ever had! sadly they were attached to the bridle of my old horse who was sold. Maybe ill get a new pair soon.
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great rubber reins......great feel in your hands and not too thick. Exceptional for the price as well. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very decent reins at a reasonable price Would definitely buy another pair. These are light weight and not bulky. Plus they look great.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins for training! I purchased these reins for schooling with my dressage gelding. I had beautiful black leather reins, but daily training trashed them. These new rubber reins seem great. They are durable and easy to clean. They are a bit heavy, but that is due to the rubber. I think the rubber allows for a great solid, yet flexible contact that leather does not allow for.
    Date published: 2011-11-03
    • 2016-04-30T16:46CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_78
    • loc_en_US, sid_7369, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders