Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Harwich Curb Reins by SmartPak

Item #19854
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Curb Reins by SmartPak is rated 4.7857 out of 5 by 28.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for small hands! Finally, reins for small hands! Thank you! I have been looking for thinner curb reins for a while and have not been successful. These are great and I don't have aching hands at the end of my rides from having to deal with so much leather! Great value for the price as well.
    Date published: 2014-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins! I purchased two sets of these reins for each of my horses to use with their new pelham bits. This is the first review that I have ever written, but I want to assure anyone reading this that these are an amazing value! They are equally as beautiful as the curb reins on my double bridle, which are at least three times the price. They are soft and flexible right out of the package. The leather looks to be good quality. I prefer that they do not have a buckle on the end. I found them more harmonious in my hands as a result . I am thrilled with this purchase! 
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great curb reins There aren't a ton of choices for curb reins, but the Harwich offering gets the job done at a nice price. The leather is a dark brown color, which matched my Vespucci bridle very well. The leather is good quality, and the 3/8" width is perfect (I ride with the curb between my middle and ring fingers). I anticipate these reins will remain in my tack collection for a long time to come.Note to SmartPak - it would be great if you sold lip straps as well for those of us using Pelhams!
    Date published: 2013-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Curb Rein I'll first start by saying that I really disliked riding with a pelham because I didn't like having more than 1 rein in my hand (including bats/crops, curb reins, etc), but this rein has changed my mind.It is nice and thin (without feeling cheap/flimsy) and fits in my hand nicely with my rubber rein. It is a nice color, the leather seems nice- I've only used them less than 5 times. The only thing I'll really need to do is oil them (& my bridle).All-in-all a great purchase, especially for the money- and it's great to get the SmartPerks discount on them too.
    Date published: 2013-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice leather! I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of leather, nice! They are a tad short but work. It would be nice if there were different lengths to choose from. I have a very large Clydesdale/Thoroughbred cross and need large sizes in most tack accessories. I would buy this brand again!
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice reins for the price I think the overall quality of these reins is excellent...dont let the price fool you. This is above average leather, not that Indian stuff. The only reason I returned these to SP was that the reins didnt have a buckle in the middle...they were just stitched together and they wouldnt lay right. If they had the buckle, they would have been a keeper.
    Date published: 2012-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I was looking for an inexpensive rein to test on my horse to see if he would be ok with wearing a Pelham. And this perfect. So soft and ready to use right out of the bag. I will continue to use these for a long time. Perfect size, length, width. Beautiful color.Will definitely buy again.
    Date published: 2012-11-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Indian leather but useable out of the box These aren't as nice as my english leather curb reins but they are significantly cheaper and have a nice look to the leather. They are a lighter brown color than I had anticipated. Definitely not a dark brown.
    Date published: 2012-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality at a fantastic price! I've had these reins over a year and LOVE them. They came out of the bag SUPER soft (softer than some reins I've oiled a ton) and have remained soft with no cracking or pulled stitches whatsoever. They are a beautiful color and a perfect length- long enough for my lengthy necked TB to hack out comfortable "on the buckle" (even though there is no buckle- ha ha), but not too long that I can't shorten them without a rein loop dangling at the foot.Now, I don't use them every day because my horse doesn't always go in a bit that requires a second rein, but when I use them they work wonderfully- small enough to fit comfortably in my hands, but with enough to them that I can really use them when my ex-racer TB doesn't want to slow down after that first gallop out in the field. ;)I would recommend them to anyone- they are sturdy enough for riding out cross-country and beautiful enough to show with.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Curb Rein for Price! I ordered this curb rein as an affordable alternative to fancy name brands. I love the supple quality to the leather and the thickness. It's a great rein (does benefit from a good oiling prior to use), well worth the price and good quality!
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice reins They were a slightly lighter shade of brown than I expected - I was hoping for a dark brown. They were supple enough to use after one application of oil. Very good value for the price.
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality and Reasonably Priced I bought these to go with the Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle as the textured reins that come with that bridle were hard for me to work as I have small hands and arthritis. These are wonderful curb reins, they match, they're smaller sized and much easier for me to manipulate. I plan to use the textured reins for XC and trail rides, etc.
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great curb rein These reins require barely any breaking-in. They were very soft right out of the bag. The reason i gave them four stars was because I'd love to see a buckle in the center...would make it easier for me to put my rein stoppers and martingale on..but none the less they do the job and for a very reasonable price..you cannot go wrong!!
    Date published: 2012-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not what I was expecting at all! Because they are 100x better than what I expected!! I haven't used them yet because the pelham I ordered was out of stock, so I really can't say how their durability is yet, but I'm expecting it to be great. But holy cow! I am absolutely blown away by how soft these are coming out of the bag! I have reins that I've oiled 10 times and STILL aren't this soft. These match my current bridle/reins perfectly and are a fabulous length. And for this price? Wow. I cannot wait to use them and I will definitely be looking for these in the future.
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent rein This is a good rein for the price. I wish it were just a bit longer b/c I prefer my curb rein to be longer than my riding rein.
    Date published: 2012-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Curb Reins I just received these in the mail to compare to a new pair of Edgewood curb reins I bought and I must say that I am more pleased with Smartpak's reins than Edgewood's. The leather on the Harwich reins is extremely supple, right out of the box, the color matches my Harwich bridle, and the reins seem to be very nice quality overall. In fact, I like them so much that I am returning the Edgewood pair and keeping these. I can't comment on durability yet, but for $30, you can't find nicer curb reins.
    Date published: 2011-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasently Surprised! I was a little hesitant purchasing these reins because of the price, but trusting SmartPak, I went ahead and bought them.Right out of the box with just a little hand working these reins are soft and feel like they are three times the price!They are a beautiful color and I expect them to hold up!
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful soft reins I just received these today and have not ridden in them yet, so cannot comment on the durability, but I have to say these are GORGEOUS reins and SO soft immediately out of the packaging! They were very easy to attach to my bit and are very pliable. I anticipate them being lovely reins and would recommend them to anyone. Fantastic value.
    Date published: 2011-09-30
    • 2015-05-27T09:10CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_26
    • loc_en_US, sid_9854, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.