Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Happy Mouth Double Jointed Roller Loose Ring

Happy Mouth
- Item #14748
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making them soft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increase your horse's acceptance.

Favorite Features

  • Double jointed mouthpiece provides independent action on each side of the horse's mouth. Good for advanced training and won't interfere with horse's palate.
  • Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel center core.

Sizing It Up

4 1/2", 5", 5 1/2" or 5 3/4"

23mm thickness

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    TheHerm Sprenger KK Ultra Loose Ring bit provides ...
    Description:
    TheHerm Sprenger KK Ultra Loose Ring bit provides an incomporably precise contact between rider and horse.Favorite Features Double jointed KK Ultras have a middle link, also known as the bean, that is shortened and angled forward by 45 degrees, whichangles ...
    TheHerm Sprenger Flex Control Loose Ring is a ...
    Description:
    TheHerm Sprenger Flex Control Loose Ring is a single-jointed bit designed toProtect themouth of your sensitive horse while stillgiving you the feel and control you need asa rider.Favorite Features Soft, flexible rubber covers the metal joint toProtect tender spots in ...
    The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow ...
    Description:
    The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow their focus from Reinsman's large selection of bits to the right bit for their situation. Reinsman's Bit Stages approach focuses on the horse and rider in their specific situation, as different events ...
    The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the ...
    Description:
    The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse´s mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a ...
    Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to ...
    Description:
    Designed with world-renowned Australian trainer, John Patterson, to provide maximum comfort and top performance. The curved mouthpiece eliminates interference and stops bit from hitting the roof of the mouth, allowing room for the tongue. The shape also reduces the severe ...
    TheHerm Sprenger Dynamic RS Sensogan Single Jointed Loose ...
    Description:
    TheHerm Sprenger Dynamic RS Sensogan Single Jointed Loose Ring has anergonomically formed mouthpiece thatallows a rapid and balanced effect on the tongue. In comparison to conventional single jointed bits the Dynamic RS mouthpieces give even pressure on the entire tongue ...
    Dynamic RS bits are characterized by an ergonomically ...
    Description:
    Dynamic RS bits are characterized by an ergonomically shaped mouthpiece. They lie perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. Dynamic RS bits stimulate the horse to accept ...
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Happy Mouth Double Jointed Roller Loose Ring is rated 4.4412 out of 5 by 34.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for sensitive mare I just ordered a second bit as my sensitive, hot OTTB loves this bit. She will toss her head, fight and get super strong with the other bits I hav tried. She goes quietly with a soft, steady contact in the happy mouth for all three phases (we compete in eventing.) It is durable too- I have had the last one for over 6 years, and am still using it. I only bought a new one so I had one for my second horse too. It's also nice to have a plastic bit during cold New England winters as it warms up faster and hold heat better then metal bits. Highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great price, works well for my horse tried a happy mouth bit since I was told that TB's can have some medal sensitivity, so thought it was worth a shot. She was a bit strong in it the first few rides but then relaxed down. Do be aware there is a "right way" and "wrong way" to put it on so make sure you have it facing the right way.
    Date published: 2015-10-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from light-mouthed horse loves bit Trainer said my horse seems much more willing to come into the contact with this nice soft bit.
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sassy pony has love affair with new bit... My horse was super bit sensitive when I first got him. I had him in a regular full cheek snaffle and even with a very light hand, he was very upset about any kind of contact. I switched him to this bit and he loves it! So much so that now as soon as I get out his bridle he opens his mouth for me to put it on, and when I go to take off his bridle and the end of the ride he hangs on to his bit and plays with the roller in the middle for sometimes five minutes... He is in love with this bit. I've been using it for 6+ months and I dunk it in water and wipe it off after every ride and it still looks brand new.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gave My Horse a Happy Mouth! Bought this bit about about a month ago and am quite pleased with it. My horse likes to get really heavy in my hands and I am able to be soft with my hands and she stays light in the bridle with this bit. I've used the expensive KK loose rings and a full cheek Waterford in attempt to get gets off and happy and this bit does the trick. Arrived a day early too!
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Mouth Bits give My Horse a Soft Mouth My horse loves it! No metal hitting his teeth, just carries it along.
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what our trainer ordered. Working fine on our new 4 year old warmblood while he's in training.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit This bit was recommended by our trainer. Our very sensitive quarter horse took right to the bit and has not had any problem at all as he did with previous bits.
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! They had exactly what I needed. Fast shipping, happy horse!
    Date published: 2014-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from To replace a Happy Mouth that my mare loves to ch Our baby green mare has butter for a mouth. This bit is perfect for not only her train-ing but also to keep the mare happy too.
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit I usually don't use this type of bit but I wanted to try it on a sensitive OTTB.  He seems to like it and it is a decent bit for the price.  Not sure how long it will hold up but for now it is a good purchase .
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from runs small in width I would recommend ordering a size up from what you typically purchase because the bit measures about 1/4" smaller than marked, if you measure from the inside of the ring to inside of the ring. Other than that, the quality is fine.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Mouth My horse loves this bit. He tends to be mouthy but not with this bit. He can relax and be with me without fear.
    Date published: 2013-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed This is for a OTTB I have inherited, super mareish, hard to ride, very sensitive and over dramatic in the mouth, so I wanted to keep something in her mouth, that she wouldn't think was fighting her. She's on her way be being a nice little school hunter horse.
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loxley Loves It We noticed at our last show that Loxley was tossing his head and avoiding the bit. He hardly needs a bit so we wanted something very comfortable. He liked it immediately and scored a 74 in our Level 1 recent dressage show. We won't be changing this bit as he Loves It.
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this bit I had never used a Happy Mouth bit before and quite honestly ordered this one by mistake. But, I'm sold now. My horse loves his new bit. Thank you Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2012-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great "nearly nothing" bit This is a very lightweight bit and both horse I've used it on loved it and went well in it. However, one of the horses chewed on it as I was putting it in his mouth and taking it out - which resulted in rough edges and required frequent replacement of the bit. (I think I bought 6 of them for him before I gave up!) My other horse has not made a mark on his; after 20+ rides it still looks brand new. So...how good a value it is depends on whether your horse chews on it or not.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Our mare loves her new bit! She was having problems sticking her tongue out when she got relaxed. Now she has something to play with with the roller and it is show legal. Thank you Happy Mouth!!
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the money So I was using the Happy Mouth Mullen on my horse and he is a very very anxious chewer and I never had any problems with the plastic. I switched to this double jointed one because I needed a little more stop and a little less go and he loves it HOWEVER, the plastic on this one is already chipping away! The cost of the bit is super reasonable though so even if I have to replace them every few months, it is worth it!
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the bit, but not durable One of my favorite bits to use, especially on young horses. However, if the horse tends to chew at all, the plastic on the bit can get chewed up and become sharp at points. I have had to replace this bit at least once because of this. But I love the results this bit gets so I do not mind buying another!
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit Just bought my second one of these-one for each bridle! I won't ever ride my sensitive mare in anything else ever again-she's far too happy in this! Finally found the bit that works for both of us!
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Mouth Bit Order arrived in good time and correct. Bit is just what I ordered. Packaging secure and am pleased with process.
    Date published: 2011-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for some horses Some horses who are afraid of moving to the bit seem to like and trust happy mouth bits and do really well in them. Others seem to find them too big and thick for their mouths and spend their time trying to chew them, spit them out, or gagging on them. I'm not a fan of the loose rings as they can pinch.
    Date published: 2011-02-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Missing chunks after only a month This is my second happy mouth bit, and the second time that the horse has bitten chunks out of it.Within 4 rides, this bit has a chunk missing near the joint; the edges are sharp and I would image would irritate and/or cause sores on the roof of the mouth and tongue. What bothers me most is that the very first reviewer had the same issue. I am not happy, and since this is the second happy mouth bit with a completely different horse, it's the bit and not the horse. I'll be staying with plain old rubber, thank you!
    Date published: 2009-12-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for a horse that chews the bit My horse has already bit nicks into this bit after only a few rides so I am putting into my collection for use on my "next" horse. I'm afraid he will continue to chew away at it and the nicks will cause cuts/sores on his bars & tongue. I purchased the bit hoping it would reduce his chewing on the bit but not so. Maybe the lightness and flavor caused it to be more of a "toy". The bit is exactly as described, soft, flexible and comfortable, which I would not recommend for a horse that truly chews on the bit.
    Date published: 2009-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bit for the "Bitless" This is the 3rd Happy Mouth bit I've purchased in the last 3 years for my horse. It's very light weight and seems pretty non-intrusive for a bit. I prefer to ride in my Dr. Cook's Bitless Bridle but my instructor likes me to have a bit and I've found that many other people are more comfortable that my horse is will remain "under control" if he's wearing something in his mouth...so this is our compromise.The downside - and the reason I've bought 3 of them - is they are soft and are fairly easily damaged by the horse's chewing on them. This leads to the bit having rough spots. Since they are inexpensive, replacing them is no big deal. My priority is my horse's comfort and he's very content with this bit.
    Date published: 2009-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bit This is a great bit for a horse with a busy mouth. My horse loves it I have switched to using it mainly for jumping due to after they get worn down you need to replace them. That would be the only downfall for a happy mouth. You have to make sure to check it over often to make sure the horse has not chewed it so much that it could be hurting their mouths. :)
    Date published: 2009-04-07
    • 2016-05-30T16:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_32
    • loc_en_US, sid_4748, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders