Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Happy Mouth Double Jointed Roller Dee

Happy Mouth
- Item #14751

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making them soft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The Happy Mouth Double Jointed Roller Dee has a double jointed mouthpiece providing independent action on each side of the horse's mouth.  

Favorite Features

  • Unique apple scent to increase your horse's acceptance
  • Non-toxic
  • Stainless steel center core makes this bit long lasting
  • Double jointed mouthpiece makes this bit great for advanced training

Sizing It Up

  • 20mm thickness

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Happy Mouth Double Jointed Roller Dee is rated 4.6562 out of 5 by 32.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! Great quality bit for a horse with a soft mouth. Good quality as well
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit My OTTB mare has issues with grinding her teeth under saddle. This bit, while still somewhat new, is helping her move into the bit and relax a little more. She willingly takes the bit and is not fighting against it as has been done with other bits. I cannot speak to the wear as the bit is still new, but so far so good.
    Date published: 2015-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit This is a well made bit. So far it is holding up to 3 rides a week with no bite marks. The sensitive TB that I ride seems to like it.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sensative OTTB accepts this bit. I had purchased an elevator Happy Mouth bit at a consignment store just to give the Happy Mouth part a try. My horse is a 7 y.o Uber sensitive OTTB. when I first got her she would constantly have her tongue flopping in the wind and get it over the bit. Teeth were done and a flash applied and the line of bits in my tack room began to grow . A loose ring French link with a lozenge seemed to be best until I found that happy Mouth but since it was too big for her still I ordered the best of both worlds. I think if you look at the series of photos you will see a horse who goes from saying 'NO way' to 'OK' . At least for now. I have not ridden in it yet but I did do ground work flexion with her.
    Date published: 2013-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit for Sensitive Mouths My horse tends to toss her head around a lot when I ride her and I felt maybe the traditional metal bits I was using may be bothering her. I decided to give this a try & I'm happy with the results. She seems much more content & even more willing to go on the bit than she already was. I also think she enjoys the apple flavoring, as my horse lives for food so what could be better than being ridden & tasting apples. Even though it is covered in plastic I do not feel it is less strong or that I have less control. I would highly recommend this & seems to be worth the extra expense!
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from not for chewers We thought my horse needed more bit for jumping, and tried a bunch of harder bits including a single jointed slow twist. As it turned out, the problem was attitude and not a hard mouth - we have gone to using only this bit for flatwork and over fences and he is so much happier. I used this bit on another horse previously and bought three of them before I got sick of replacing them as soon as they got chewed. This new horse is fairly young and REALLY mouthy, so I thought he would chew right through this - I was picturing replacing it every month or two and was NOT happy. Surprisingly, he doesn't chew on it at all. He likes it enough that even if I had to replace it often, I would probably still buy it, but the cost would be annoying and I would continue looking for other options.
    Date published: 2013-05-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bit, but not for chewers! My mare has a funy mouth, she can be very dull, put also requires something gentle in her mouth and not a lot of rein contact. I got this bit and she loved it! When I would take the bridle off she wouldn't let go of it.However, if you have a horse with a busy mouth, aka chewers, I would NOT recommend this bit at all. The plastic is not durable enough and she grabs on and chomps at it, ultimately chewing off piece of plastic or chewing it so badly the bit became sharp in her mouth and she then became bitter about putting the bit in. I literally had to replace the bit every single month, and I wasn't pleased with spending almost $600-700 per year on a bit. I tried my trainer herm sprenger double jointed bit and she loves it. Plenty of salivation and suppleness. I will be purchasing one this week and I know it'll last a VERY long time.
    Date published: 2013-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very gentle for sensitive horses I recently bought a horse that has a very touchy mouth, he also did not like the single jointed snaffle he was currently in and would tilt his head to the outside to avoid contact. In dressage he goes in a Neue Schule double jointed loose ring, so for jumping I thought I would try the happy mouth with a roller to give him something soft and gentle yet with a little stimulation. He loves this bit, he keeps a very soft contact yet I can feel him play with the roller. His mouth is very soft and he really enjoys himself now and his head tilt is completely gone. It is a great bit for those with sensitive mouths.
    Date published: 2013-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Buy I have two thoroughbred mares, both are very sensitive in the mouth and absolutely love all the happy mouth bits. I use this on the younger one and she really likes it, it helped get her accustomed to the contact and accepting the bit. My only complaint is that she was able to chew through part of the rubber within a couple of months, but overall it is still a good bit.
    Date published: 2012-11-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cracking I have had this for about a month. It is cracking. I plan on talking to Smartpak about this.
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great bit for sensitive horse My horse will not tolerate a metal bit and is sensitive. the straight bar Nathe did not give enough control. This gave enough control with still being gentle. My horse accepts this bit much better than others.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit! My mare has a sensitive mouth (think rearing up if in too strong of a bit) and she LOVES this bit. Gives me the control without being too much in her mouth!
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little bit This product truely lives up to its name. My horses mouth could not be happier. The only problem is....He doesnt always want to let it go.
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought my own I had borrowed one of these from a friend for my TB who didn't seem to like single jointed or metal bits. So far, it's working, as he'll accept more contact and I don't feel like I have nothing or overkill.
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and best price! This bit is just what I wanted and expected! Smartpak had the best price too! Thanks!
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit I've used this type bit on several horses and they all have liked it. I bought this one specifically for my new horse and he's very happy working in it. The only issue with a Happy Mouth bit is that you must check it after each ride to be sure it hasn't developed any rough or sharp marks on the mouthpiece due to chewing by the horse.
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fell Apart Fast I have had a mullen mouth D for years from happy mouth with no problems, but the rubber on this bit cracked in less than a month. The horse I was using it on is 22 years old and requires very little rein contact and has a quiet mouth so I'm not sure why this happened. Thankfully Smartpak allowed me to return it for a full refund.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for hacking! My horse loves it! I use it when im hacking or riding bareback!
    Date published: 2012-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I have a horse who is a little funny through his mouth due to a not so nice past. I'm not sure whether it's the texture of the plastic or the supposed apple flavoring, but my horse really does love this bit! The manufacturing quality is superb as well.
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality bit I ordered this bit to use to show my hunter mare and am delighted by its quality and large dee rings which looks great in the hunter ring.
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Bit! I like this bit on most any horse. It's super soft, but still allows contact. Definitely my go-to bit for nervous horses that back-off too much from other bits.
    Date published: 2010-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Soft Bit I Love this bit for my horse. He likes jointed soft bits and this is absolutly perfect. I recomend this for a horse with a soft mouth but if you still need contact to his/her mouth.
    Date published: 2009-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My horse is either allergic to metals or themetals increase his salivation to the point it bothershim - i am not sure which but the Happy Mouth has relieved his wanting to constantly rub his mouth.
    Date published: 2009-05-27
    • 2016-02-05T15:06CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_28
    • loc_en_US, sid_4751, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.