Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Grazing Muzzle

Item #11731
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Original Grazing Muzzle is a great tool to help with weight management for the easy keeper.  The Grazing Muzzle attaches to your own leather or breakaway halter and includes four adjustable hook-and-loop straps. To attach the grazing muzzle to your halter just loop the four straps over the noseband and chinstrap. The two side straps may also be looped through the halter rings for added stability. The metal rings can be left in the down position to allow the muzzle to breakaway or can be slid up over the hook-and-loop straps to disable.

Favorite Features

  • Optional breakaway feature for optimal safety
  • Hook-and-loop straps for adjustability
  • Nylon construction is easy to clean and care for
  • 1" opening to limit the amount of grass intake for your easy keeper
  • Does not inhibit the horses drinking ability

Sizing It Up

Cob, Horse, Large Horse

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Agreat tool to help with weight management for ...
    Description:
    Agreat tool to help with weight management for the easy keeper, this muzzle limits your horse's intake of grass and hay without obstructing his ability to drink or breathe. This muzzle easily attaches to your own leather or breakaway halterwith ...
    A great tool to help with weight management ...
    Description:
    A great tool to help with weight management for the easy keeper! This halter with built-in muzzle provides a comfortable way to limit your horse's intake of grass and hay without obstructing his ability to drink or breathe. Favorite Features ...
    Looking for a muzzle that is lightweight and ...
    Description:
    Looking for a muzzle that is lightweight and humane, yet allows your horse to eat freely? The Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle Limits unwanted behavior, such as cribbing and biting, noteating and drinking. Ultra-lightweight aluminum grill and nylon webbing is resistant ...
    TheFrench Style Cribbing collar isthe highest quality at ...
    Description:
    TheFrench Style Cribbing collar isthe highest quality at an affordable price. The French Style Cribbing collar is an effective deterrent against cribbing. If selected, engraving will be on the crown. Please allow an additional 1-2 days for engraving.
    The Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is a combination grazing ...
    Description:
    The Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is a combination grazing muzzle and breakaway halter all-in-one. Favorite Features Unique design of the Deluxe Grazing Muzzle utilizes a plastic side-release buckle as its breakaway feature Durable rubber bottom with small opening limits grass intake ...
    Beautiful leather Nutcracker Cribbing Strap with adjustable buckle ...
    Description:
    Beautiful leather Nutcracker Cribbing Strap with adjustable buckle and a "nutcracker" hinge to prevent cribbing. 1" wide. One size. Dark Oil. If selected, engraving will be on the crown. Please allow an additional 1-2 days for engraving. Made in the ...
    The Miracle Collar features a patented, anatomically correct ...
    Description:
    The Miracle Collar features a patented, anatomically correct fit which allows it to be worn comfortably and applies pressure only when the horse attempts to crib. As a result, horses can wear the Miracle Collar without pain or discomfort while ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Grazing Muzzle is rated 4.4583 out of 5 by 48.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One tough muzzle! I bought two of these grazing muzzles for our neighbors' minis, and am extremely pleased so far with the durability and the secureness of them. Much to the minis' dismay, these muzzles can't be rubbed or pried off, and good luck trying to gnaw their way thru them! Doesn't seem to be uncomfortable for them( just annoying!) as I don't find any wear marks on their faces. A real winner!
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 2 Paso Finos that are overweight (mother and son) and both are very creative at getting things off of their face that they don't like. They have given these muzzles a real workout...rubbing on trees, trying to pull off using lip of watering trough....you name it they have tried it all......so far......muzzles still on!
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome-Really works! I bought this muzzle for my mini-horse about one month ago. He does get kind of sad when I have to put it on him, but I think he realizes he gets to go graze once it is on. Before the muzzle he would gorge himself just in a few minutes and then he would bloat and his poop would become runny. Now is he able to graze when the other horse does. Really worth the money.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product - Just wrong size I unfortunately had to return this as it was to large. It appeard to be a very good product.
    Date published: 2014-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solved my obesity problem I have easy keepers & last year they porked up before I used the grazing muzzles. I have found by trial & error that the muzzle that attaches to the horses harness works better than the muzzle all in one i.e which comes as a halter with attached muzzle. My 4 horses were successful in removing this one but could not remove the muzzle attached to their own halter.
    Date published: 2014-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Muzzle This muzzle is easy to use and dependable. Much better than other brands!
    Date published: 2014-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Easy to put on, easy to fit and comfortable for the horse
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grazing Muzzle I have used these for several years with great success.
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it very much I have tried using other grazing muzzles, the ones like a halter, but I had trouble keeping them on. both my horse and pony were able to slip them off within a day or two, but this one with the velcro works! and it doesn't rub him like the other one did. great product! would recommend!
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great muzzle, but runs very small! First, the size issue. I ordered the cob size for our 13 hh pony. It was way too small. He couldn't even open his mouth. He needs the horse size. One of our boarders had to get the extra large for her horse with a typical size head.Second, the actual muzzle. The actual muzzle is great. It is sturdy, effective and has not created any rubs around the nose.We have had only one issue. If the Velcro is extended too fat, it is very easy for the horse to rub off.I paired this with nylon Velcro breakaway halter sold by Smartpak. So, I feel like out pony is very safe. I can also easily replace one component or the other if I ever need to.I would buy again knowing the adjustment I would need to make in size.
    Date published: 2013-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sturdy This grazing muzzle is very sturdy and is easy to put on or take off. It is effectively keeping my pony from ballooning, and seems to be relatively comfortable for him to wear.
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from High quality muzzle - very small fit I bought a cob size muzzle for our 13 hh Quarter Pony. He wears a pony bridle and cob halter. The cob size muzzle wouldn't even fit over his mouth let alone give him room to open his mouth to eat.We easily returned the muzzle for a horse size the horse size fits him well.The muzzle easily attaches to his breakaway halter. He has not managed to pull it off or get it caught on anything. He has not come in with any rubs.Last year, he chewed through the hole enough to double size the hole by the end of the season. So, I went with the separate basket to make replacement easier in the future as needed.
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as good as the muzzle with the built-in halter I decided to use this with a leather halter instead of the all-in-one last summer and it was alright but not great. It didn't really fit well on my halter and I had to put electrical tape to keep the velcro attached after about 2 weeks of my horse wearing it on night turnout. Although you may have to replace the all-in-one if your horse breaks it, it definitely is worth the extra money for a better fit.
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse doesn't mind! I thought my horse would hate wearing this, but doesn't mind at all. It's made very well, and the straps are very secure.
    Date published: 2012-06-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality but rubs I bought this grazing muzzle for my mare so she can graze on the rich spring grass without getting gas colic. I bought a separate halter and left it attached so that it wouldn't have to be put on every time. The velcro was easy to use but it doesn't seem to have enough adjustment. I see after a week or so of daily use that she has rubbed down to the skin on the underside of her jaw. I think I will line this with fleece so she can continue to wear it comfortably. It is a bit heavy and awkward at first. I think I like the all canvas ones better but I think this one will hold up longer.
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This muzzle is working well on our Haflinger gelding who has foundered. It allows him some time out every day with his pals, and seems very sturdily made. In fact, it's a little bit heavy, but I would rather it be sturdy than worry about wear and tear.
    Date published: 2011-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great muzzle just one flaw This muzzle is great, I have a Haflinger mare that cannot have to much grass or she will have health problems and this muzzle has solved the problem of her eating to much. The only problem with it is that it has to many straps and takes a while to get it on and to make sure that it is fitting correctly. Other than that I am happy that I bought this muzzle and not another one.
    Date published: 2011-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great muzzle But it will rub those with big nostrils and small noses, I lined mine with fleece.
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good muzzle...does the job I had to muzzle to insulin resistant horses this spring because our grass was so lush this year. One pony never could figure out how to eat through the muzzle, but at least she was out with her friends, and in the sun. My Friesian mare figured out how to eat through the little hole, so the muzzle worked great. Both muzzles stayed on, inspite of the ponies dramatic attempts to rub it off. Of course...with any such equipment, use caution regarding the horse getting caught on things...safety halters are a good idea. .
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miss Piggy Loves it My Kentucky Mountain horse eats like she will never get another meal. Her obvious roundish shape says otherwise. She is in the corral a lot but I like her to get exercise, and with this grazing muzzle she can run and kick in between bites! (I've seen her do this). She would like to rub it off but hasn't managed to do that and I have her out all day in it. It even fit into the small waterers we have.
    Date published: 2011-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grazing Muzzle I recommend this to anyone with a horse that can't keep his mouth quiet. This stopped the continual purchase of lead ropes to replace those chewed in half. It also allows me to tie up my horses and not have them chewing the arena rails or stall fronts. Love it!
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great We have a horse prone to laminitis, and these grazing muzzles work wonders. She can be out "grazing" with no fear of over-eating. Keep checking the size of the hole, as it will enlarge over time. We keep a backup on hand when it comes time to replace.
    Date published: 2010-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from needs impovemnt for ponies I have used this product for several ponies over the past years. I recently purchased a cob size for a medium pony that did not fit into one of my pony sized muzzles without getting rubs. Overall these muzzles are great but I would like to comment that they are very heavy for small/medium ponies. Perhaps the manufacturer could use a lighter material (without sacrificing duarability) that would be more suitable for a pony to wear as I find these too heavy for my little guys. A lighter color for summer would be great too as the black rubber tends to get very hot. I prefer the muzzle that attaches to a turnout halter as the "all in one" halter/muzzle does not stay put on naughty ponies. Overall, a good muzzle.
    Date published: 2010-05-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from creates rubs This muzzle is definitely durable, but if I put it on so that they can't take it off then it starts to rub on their chins. For the price, I didn't find it to be a very effective product.
    Date published: 2010-05-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth it I bought one of these for our chubby Morgan a few years ago. Maybe he was smart, or maybe just hungry, but he took it off every time we put it on him. That wouldn't have been so bad, but the velcro "breakaways" never gave- the stitching ripped out. I took this muzzle to the repair shop at least once a week, and ended up spending twice as much on repairs as I did on the muzzle- IN ONE MONTH! Great idea, but only if the velcro gives instead of the stitching. My horse also "modified" the size of the grazing hole. Very disappointed in this product.
    Date published: 2010-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I'm using this to train a draft/QH cross. It is easy to use, durable, and well made.
    Date published: 2010-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Muzzle I have been using this muzzle now for about 6 years for my mare and I use it every Summer for about 2 months while the grass is really lush and it is still holding up really well. It is easy to put on and she is able to nibble at the grass without consuming too much I am amazed at how long this muzzle has lasted because generally things like this don't last more than one or two seasons.
    Date published: 2010-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product My pony has been using the muzzle for about a month now and it's holding up really well. We are using it for weight control and founder prevention. This allows her to be turned out with friends and enjoy being outside. Good product!
    Date published: 2009-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Muzzle mania I bought this muzzle after my gelding colicked and required surgery, in part, because he just eats too much! At first we only used it when he was out on pasture so he couldn't gorge on grass, but then we noticed he started gorging on hay so now he wears it whenever he's out of his stall. So far he is handling it fine and neither it nor the halter are rubbing his face. We did some "surgery" on the muzzle though, to allow him to eat long-stem hay. The barn owner's husband made the little hole in the bottom about twice as big. So he can still eat grass and hay, we've just slowed him down, which is all I need this muzzle to do.
    Date published: 2009-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value This muzzle is a great value for people who have lots of green grass, and a horse that the founder prone.
    Date published: 2009-09-18
    • 2016-05-25T17:29CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_46
    • loc_en_US, sid_1731, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders