Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Gentle Curry

Item #20199
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Soft rubber curry, perfect for sensitive horses or hard to reach places.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Say goodbye to hard to remove dirt with ...
    Description:
    Say goodbye to hard to remove dirt with the Oster Coarse Curry Comb! The specially designed coarse fingers will massage the coat and loosen dirt for an overall cleaning. This will become you're favorite curry in no time! Favorite Features ...
    Soft Rubber Curry Combs help remove mud and ...
    Description:
    Soft Rubber Curry Combs help remove mud and loosen matted dirt for quick grooming. Black, Blue Glitter, Pink Glitter or Purple Glitter. (Glitter makes grooming more fun!) Favorite Features Fits comfortable in your hand Durable Fun color options! Imported.
    The Oster Fine Curry Comb is the perfect ...
    Description:
    The Oster Fine Curry Comb is the perfect solution for sensitive areas! The fine fingers will gently clean and massage dirt and dandruff away. Favorite Features Rubber control-touch handle for added comfort and better grip Promotes Shine Imported.
    Cut your grooming time in half! The dual ...
    Description:
    Cut your grooming time in half! The dual use Vac n'Blo Pro does all the work for you. Used as a vacuum, the super suction gets down deep to remove dirt, dandruff, loose hair, and parasites. Used as a blower, ...
    ThisSoft Rubber Face Curry is a solid rubber ...
    Description:
    ThisSoft Rubber Face Curry is a solid rubber oval brush withSoft filaments, making it an excellent choice for removing light dust and hairs from the face and other sensitive areas. TheSoft Rubber Face Curry is a must for thin-skinned or ...
    Proof that the simplest designs can also be ...
    Description:
    Proof that the simplest designs can also be the most effective! Favorite Features Oval plastic curry brush with adjustable handlewill scrub deep down and remove caked on mud and loose hair, will help bring natural oils to the surface fora ...
    The HandsOn® Gloves are a all-in-one revolutionary glove ...
    Description:
    The HandsOn® Gloves are a all-in-one revolutionary glove that will change the way you bathe and groom forever! Created by animal people for animal people HandsOn Gloves reach far beyond the traditional curry combs, mitts and scrubbers on the market ...
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Gentle Curry is rated 4.9024 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this! I love this curry! I use it on his face and it's not too soft, not too stiff. It's gentle enough to curry away loose hair and dirt but tough enough to crack off dried mud. My horse puts his head down when he sees it in my hand. Great price too, just wish it came in other colors.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super soft! My sensitive TB loves this curry, and it is so soft that I can even use it on his legs and face.
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gentler curry! I was looking for a gentler curry for faces and my sensitive gelding. This is perfect!
    Date published: 2015-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite curry! I love this curry! It works great over her entire body to get out the dirt and grime, but is soft enough to use on her face and legs.
    Date published: 2015-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT littel curry Love this curry, it stays on my hand and is soft and supple. All the horses like it so now I'll have to get one for each brush box!
    Date published: 2015-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME Gentle Curry. :) This curry is AWESOME! My gelding is sensitive and he did not like the harder curry I was using on him, He seems to like this one! I can use it on his hock without bothering him and I am going to use it on his legs too. I can really get deep down into the coat to lift dust and scurf to the surface of the coat. :) This would also be awesome if a horse was shedding, Just pull horse hair waffles out. :) The Oster fine curry is hard to get hair out of since it is so fine, This curry is just right. :) I give it 2 thumbs up!
    Date published: 2015-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes my sensitive boy happy to be groomed Super grooming tool: now I can curry my Dutch Warmblood and he enjoys it. Just what I wanted for him - normal curries were always an annoyance to him.
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great curry The girl loves it. Very soft good for legs and face.
    Date published: 2015-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great curry, but he doesn't like it I bought this for my sensitive TB and he doesn't like it. That isn't to say it isn't lovely and gentle, but he doesn't think so. The search continues.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Curry Durable curry at a great price. Went well in combo with the grooming kit.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best curry I've ever used! I recently purchased this curry while looking for a rubber curry soft enough for my rescue mare's sensitive skin. She absolutely loves the feel of this curry. She will quiet down and completely relax when I brush her with it. It is very soft and flexible yet still pulls the dust and dirt out of her coat.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for my sensitive mare Just the right size and my uber sensitive mare doesn't scowl about it.
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good curry! I looked everywhere for a soft curry that was a little stronger than a face curry but not as hard as a regular curry. I also wanted one that wouldn't become really stiff and hard in cold weather. I was really happy to find this one at SmartPak! It stays flexible in winter temperatures and does a good job on dirt. It's a great curry for dirty, muddy legs!
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great item! Love if it were a bit larger. I bought this to replace a curry that I had worn out. It is almost exactly what I was looking for only wish it would be slightly larger. Still, it does a great job on legs and faces. I have 3 horses and an item like this is much appreciated to make grooming chores easier.
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product... so glad I bought this for my Thoroughbred!!! Loves it!!
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gentle! My horse always hated being brushed so I switched him to this gentle curry and he finally doesn't swish his tail or pin his ears :) I can tell he really likes it! Nice flexible rubber material!
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this softer curry! I got this to try for my sensitive paint, he's never really enjoyed being curried (and would occaisionaly flinch his back depending on where I was currying). After searching for a soft curry, I finally found this one and he is SO much happier now. I like that it also stays soft in the cold, some other curries I've had were soft when it was warm, but would harden once cold. I've been using it almost every day for 2 months now, and it's holding up great! 
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a flexible curry! I love that this curry is flexible!  It does a great job of digging up dirt, and my very sensitive Thoroughbred seems to like this curry most of all his brushes.
    Date published: 2013-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gentle Curry Most effective curry I've come across, raises the dirt w/out the stiffness of most curries. Soft and flexible to handle. I've purchased 4 !!! :~)
    Date published: 2013-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horses favorite curry My horse adores this curry. It has longer rubber nubs than traditional curries. He reacts to this the way he reacts to me scratching him with my nails. Soft enough rubber to use on his whole body & face. The handle fits my adult hand well.
    Date published: 2013-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Wonderful small curry. Fits in the palm of my hand and bends for hard to curry places such as legs.Much better than my large rubber curry. A must have.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from New favorite curry Perfect to use on legs. One of my horses hates the groom mit kind of curry on his legs, but he stands like a rock and waves his lip for this one. Not sure what the big difference is but I'm really happy to have found something he can tolerate. Easy to clean out with the hose.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A treat for my horse My horse has VERY sensitive skin and hates to be curried or brushed with hard brushes. This curry has to be one of his favorites. It is soft to the touch and he doesnt glare at me anymore when I go over his sensitive areas. Great for a whole body massage and grooming sessions.
    Date published: 2013-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Little Groomer This curry was a bit thinner than I thought from the picture, but it gets the job done. Not so good for long winter coats, but for summer it will be wonderful! Very soft and flexible, so it massages while you groom. My 16 hand draft X is sensitive across his back, and he loves this thing. I bought two as the price was so reasonable; one for each of my horses. Would definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had 1 Bought 2 More Love this curry, I have a very sensitive mare and I purchased this curry for her. She loved it, so I purchased 2 more. I think they do a much better job then the tradition and are great for scrubing as well:)
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Size, easy to use I like the Gentle Curry because it's not hard rubber like other typical curry's. It's soft rubber, so it's gentle and comfortable on the horse but just as effective as a curry should be. It's slightly smaller than regular sized curry so it's a thoughtful design for women and children. Since it's soft rubber, it flexes over the contour of the horse which is more effective. It's also more comfortable for the horse because you aren't bumping them when you come upon a boney area like the shoulder and withers.
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great brush This is a great brush for getting areas that are hard to get to. Like getting mud off the side of your horses face near the ears and eyes.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best curry ever (not an exaggeration) Both me and my horse are picky about curry combs, but this Gentle Curry is literally the Goldilocks of curry combs. Other curry combs are too hard (ouch!), others too soft (waste of time); still others are so small they seem made for a child's hand. The Gentle Curry is the best of everything! My sensitive OTTB loves this, even on the most ouchy areas of his back. He really leans into it, and that means I can put enough pressure on to really remove the hair and dirt like I want to. The whole curry is flexible, which means it can wrap around his legs, too. I've got one for the barn and one in my kit for shows.
    Date published: 2012-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from gentle for sensitive TBs My new OTTB came in body sore and super sensitive to touch. He would pin his ears when you gently brushed his sides. :-(The first time I curried him with the Gentle Curry, he relaxed and dropped his head. Now he enjoys his grooming sessions. This is a great product for thin skinned horses!
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from gentle curry Very useful for all sensitive and curvy areas. The size is good and its easy to hold.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    • 2016-05-28T15:52CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_41
    • loc_en_US, sid_10199, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders