Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Gentle Curry

Item #20199

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Soft rubber curry, perfect for sensitive horses or hard to reach places.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Gentle Curry is rated 4.9189 out of 5 by 37.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT littel curry Love this curry, it stays on my hand and is soft and supple. All the horses like it so now I'll have to get one for each brush box!
    Date published: 2015-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME Gentle Curry. :) This curry is AWESOME! My gelding is sensitive and he did not like the harder curry I was using on him, He seems to like this one! I can use it on his hock without bothering him and I am going to use it on his legs too. I can really get deep down into the coat to lift dust and scurf to the surface of the coat. :) This would also be awesome if a horse was shedding, Just pull horse hair waffles out. :) The Oster fine curry is hard to get hair out of since it is so fine, This curry is just right. :) I give it 2 thumbs up!
    Date published: 2015-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes my sensitive boy happy to be groomed Super grooming tool: now I can curry my Dutch Warmblood and he enjoys it. Just what I wanted for him - normal curries were always an annoyance to him.
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great curry The girl loves it. Very soft good for legs and face.
    Date published: 2015-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great curry, but he doesn't like it I bought this for my sensitive TB and he doesn't like it. That isn't to say it isn't lovely and gentle, but he doesn't think so. The search continues.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Curry Durable curry at a great price. Went well in combo with the grooming kit.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best curry I've ever used! I recently purchased this curry while looking for a rubber curry soft enough for my rescue mare's sensitive skin. She absolutely loves the feel of this curry. She will quiet down and completely relax when I brush her with it. It is very soft and flexible yet still pulls the dust and dirt out of her coat.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for my sensitive mare Just the right size and my uber sensitive mare doesn't scowl about it.
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good curry! I looked everywhere for a soft curry that was a little stronger than a face curry but not as hard as a regular curry. I also wanted one that wouldn't become really stiff and hard in cold weather. I was really happy to find this one at SmartPak! It stays flexible in winter temperatures and does a good job on dirt. It's a great curry for dirty, muddy legs!
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great item! Love if it were a bit larger. I bought this to replace a curry that I had worn out. It is almost exactly what I was looking for only wish it would be slightly larger. Still, it does a great job on legs and faces. I have 3 horses and an item like this is much appreciated to make grooming chores easier.
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product... so glad I bought this for my Thoroughbred!!! Loves it!!
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gentle! My horse always hated being brushed so I switched him to this gentle curry and he finally doesn't swish his tail or pin his ears :) I can tell he really likes it! Nice flexible rubber material!
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this softer curry! I got this to try for my sensitive paint, he's never really enjoyed being curried (and would occaisionaly flinch his back depending on where I was currying). After searching for a soft curry, I finally found this one and he is SO much happier now. I like that it also stays soft in the cold, some other curries I've had were soft when it was warm, but would harden once cold. I've been using it almost every day for 2 months now, and it's holding up great! 
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a flexible curry! I love that this curry is flexible!  It does a great job of digging up dirt, and my very sensitive Thoroughbred seems to like this curry most of all his brushes.
    Date published: 2013-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gentle Curry Most effective curry I've come across, raises the dirt w/out the stiffness of most curries. Soft and flexible to handle. I've purchased 4 !!! :~)
    Date published: 2013-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horses favorite curry My horse adores this curry. It has longer rubber nubs than traditional curries. He reacts to this the way he reacts to me scratching him with my nails. Soft enough rubber to use on his whole body & face. The handle fits my adult hand well.
    Date published: 2013-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Wonderful small curry. Fits in the palm of my hand and bends for hard to curry places such as legs.Much better than my large rubber curry. A must have.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from New favorite curry Perfect to use on legs. One of my horses hates the groom mit kind of curry on his legs, but he stands like a rock and waves his lip for this one. Not sure what the big difference is but I'm really happy to have found something he can tolerate. Easy to clean out with the hose.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A treat for my horse My horse has VERY sensitive skin and hates to be curried or brushed with hard brushes. This curry has to be one of his favorites. It is soft to the touch and he doesnt glare at me anymore when I go over his sensitive areas. Great for a whole body massage and grooming sessions.
    Date published: 2013-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Little Groomer This curry was a bit thinner than I thought from the picture, but it gets the job done. Not so good for long winter coats, but for summer it will be wonderful! Very soft and flexible, so it massages while you groom. My 16 hand draft X is sensitive across his back, and he loves this thing. I bought two as the price was so reasonable; one for each of my horses. Would definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had 1 Bought 2 More Love this curry, I have a very sensitive mare and I purchased this curry for her. She loved it, so I purchased 2 more. I think they do a much better job then the tradition and are great for scrubing as well:)
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Size, easy to use I like the Gentle Curry because it's not hard rubber like other typical curry's. It's soft rubber, so it's gentle and comfortable on the horse but just as effective as a curry should be. It's slightly smaller than regular sized curry so it's a thoughtful design for women and children. Since it's soft rubber, it flexes over the contour of the horse which is more effective. It's also more comfortable for the horse because you aren't bumping them when you come upon a boney area like the shoulder and withers.
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great brush This is a great brush for getting areas that are hard to get to. Like getting mud off the side of your horses face near the ears and eyes.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best curry ever (not an exaggeration) Both me and my horse are picky about curry combs, but this Gentle Curry is literally the Goldilocks of curry combs. Other curry combs are too hard (ouch!), others too soft (waste of time); still others are so small they seem made for a child's hand. The Gentle Curry is the best of everything! My sensitive OTTB loves this, even on the most ouchy areas of his back. He really leans into it, and that means I can put enough pressure on to really remove the hair and dirt like I want to. The whole curry is flexible, which means it can wrap around his legs, too. I've got one for the barn and one in my kit for shows.
    Date published: 2012-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from gentle for sensitive TBs My new OTTB came in body sore and super sensitive to touch. He would pin his ears when you gently brushed his sides. :-(The first time I curried him with the Gentle Curry, he relaxed and dropped his head. Now he enjoys his grooming sessions. This is a great product for thin skinned horses!
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from gentle curry Very useful for all sensitive and curvy areas. The size is good and its easy to hold.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Curry comb I love this curry comb and so does my horse. My mare has thin skin and I wanted a curry that wouldnt hurt her and this one fits the bill. I love it so much and I have smaller hands and it fits on my hand easily and with no problem. It is also easy to clean which is very good. Just bang it against the wall gently and all the hair and dirt fall off.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So simple ... way has no one made these before? I LOVE this curry! My very sensitive skinned OTTB does not like over curries or stiff brushes but he leans right into this one. The points are soft enough to feel good but stiff enough to bring hair and dirt to the surface. Great for legs and faces as well!!!
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this curry! This is the best grooming tool in my kit. It is soft, flexible, gentle, and great for massaging out hair and dead skin on my horses. Plus, the price is right! Buy one or two.
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little brush I was searching for a small curry that could still do the job on my Miniature Horses. It gets to the root of the dirt, and is small enough to reach all of the mini spots.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    • 2016-02-13T14:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
    • loc_en_US, sid_10199, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.