Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Fresh Helmet Sack

Item #18998
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Have you ever gotten to the barn only to find that your helmet is still wet from the last time you rode? Even worse, there's that smell! Well we found the solution!

Designed by experienced riders, the Fresh Helmet Sack eliminates that musty, moldy helmet smell. Activated carbon neutralizes odors caused by everyday use and perspiration, rather than simply masking them. A desiccant helps sweat and perspiration dry quicker and more completely. Just toss it in your helmet after each ride and you'll find a fresher, drier helmet next time you ride!

Your helmet is an investment and the Helmet Sack is a great way to help prolong it's life.

Customers Also Shopped For
The Legacy is a slim profile helmet offering ...
The Legacy is a slim profile helmet offering an economical alternative to the Legacy Gold Duratec Favorite Features Hunt cap style, lightweight, narrow profile offers a classy look ASTM F1163-04a/SEI certified The GPS II Dial Fit System makes for a ...
The Helmet Cleaner, by Charles Owen, digests any ...
The Helmet Cleaner, by Charles Owen, digests any dirt and grease from the inside of your hat, ensuring it remains clean and pleasant to wear. Imported Sizing It Up 200ml Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited ...
The Adult New Rider Package contains the following ...
The Adult New Rider Package contains the following essentials to get any adult started in the saddle! Saxon Equileather Ladies Zip Paddock Boots provides more room in the toe cap area for a more comfortable fit. Ideal for schooling, vacation riding ...
The Sport is one of the lightest and ...
The Sport is one of the lightest and most trusted schooling helmets on the market today offering great performance at an affordable price. Durable and easy to care for, the Sport is perfect for value-conscious riders. Favorite Features Integrated Visor ...
The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low ...
The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low profile design created for the performance-oriented rider. Favorite Features Woven honeycomb mesh keeps debris out of strategically placed vents while channeling fresh air throughout the helmet interior Dri-Lex adding maximizes moisture diffusion ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Fresh Helmet Sack is rated 4.326530612244898 out of 5 by 49.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps expensive helmet fresh I bought this for my daughter, to keep inside her show helmet. With bad weather, she has been riding under light rain and i was worried it would smell bad. Saw this sack on SP and did not hesitate to try it. Price is good and was shipped along with our horse's supplements. So far, has worked good and no humidity or odors. Very happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be working! I purchased this when I purchased my new helmet because I didn't want to keep spraying stuff into it all the time. It's about the size of your hand; not too big, and not too small. It dries my helmet out very quickly, and has kept any odors away thus far. Would it work on an already-stinky helmet? Probably not. But if it's fresh from the start, it does a great job maintaining that "new" feeling, and no more wet helmet in the summer! I was skeptical of this purchase at first, but in the end I'm glad I got it!
Date published: 2014-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to use I just bought this and the weather is turning humid, so, hoping this will keep my helmet dry and fresh smelling.
Date published: 2014-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For maintenance use! I couldnt really tell a difference. I have had 4 years of build up in my helmet and it SMELLS even with occasional washing of the liner. So I bought this in hopes that I could lengthen my tolerance of the smell so I didn't have to buy a new helmet. Though, I have not noticed a difference between rides. I think my helmet is just cant be helped and past the point of no return. I think this product may help with maintenance but not restoration! Other than that it fit great in my GPA and helmet bag and no complaints about the quality of the product.
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more sweaty helmet smell!! My helmet absorbs a lot of sweat and no amount of deodorizer seemed to help. So I decided to try the Fresh Helmet Sack, although I didn't expect it to work, I was willing to give it a try. I'm so glad I did! I drop the sack in my helmet after a lesson and it's dry and doesn't smell the next time I use it. Amazing!! I've already recommended it to a friend.
Date published: 2014-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps with moisture and therefore smell I purchased one of these for my riding helmet and one for my husband's cycling helmet. We both sweat profusely in the summer and wanted something to help dry out our helmets between rides and hopefully help with the smell too. Our liners are machine washable, but we didn't want to be washing them daily. These sacks do seem to help and achieve their purpose. Now I wash my helmet liner once a week and it doesn't smell between washings. Be sure to keep the instructions which tell you how to rejuvenate the sacks too.
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great For Summer Riding! I have been using one of these since last summer. IMO, this item is not for un-stinking an already-stinky helmet, it's for keeping your helmet from getting stinky in the first place. This time of year it's invaluable, because I ride, I sweat, my helmet gets all damp, and I just toss this thing into the helmet and by the next day, my helmet is dry enough that I wouldn't know I'd just worn (and sweated into it) the previous day. I bought this at the same time I got a brand helmet. My old Ovation schooling helmet was stored outside my tack trunk to air dry between riding, but it still got that Helmet Funk, and it only took about 3 months for that to happen. I've had the Troxel for a year, and it still doesn't have that Funk, and I'm pretty sure it's because of this helmet sack.If you already have Helmet Funk, this probably won't fix it, but it will keep you from getting the Funk to start with.
Date published: 2013-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work!! I bought a new Charles Owen helmet, and wanted to make sure it stayed nice for a long time! This was the first time I had ever used the fresh sack, and it seems to work!! I smell my helmet everyday I use it and I don't notice any odor. Now I will have to wait until the heat of the summer to see how this stands up, but for now, seems to be a good product!!
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea, But didn't live up to expectations I was so excited at the prospect of having something that would make my sweaty helmet smell go away! I used it a couple times and wasn't that impressed. It may have taken a little bit of the odor away, but not enough for the smell to go away.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Love this, but it falls apart! I originally bought two of these, one for my schooling helmet and one for my show helmet. I love them and feel that they work well, especially if you wipe the excess sweat out of your helmet before putting the sack in it. One of the packets broke open and the charcoal mixture got all over my helmet. I ordered another sack to replace it, but would have liked to have had the option of purchasing the interior packet only. Within two weeks, the replacement sack also broke open, thus my low rating for this product. Too bad- I think it works well as long as I don't have to wash soggy charcoal out of my good helmet. I will be looking for a similar, more sturdy product elsewhere.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helmet is Drier and Fresher I bought two of these, one for my schooling helmet and one for my Charles Owen show helmet which gets especially sweaty and stinky. My schooling helmet is completely dry when I put it on and my show helmet is drier and definitely smells better! I think this product is worth purchasing.
Date published: 2012-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jury Still Out I really thought these charcoal based odor eaters would help with my sweaty helmet odor. I truly have not smelled a difference in my helmet - the sachet did not do any better than some Febreeze and a dryer sheet! Save your money!
Date published: 2012-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps to keep my helmet smelling fresh between rides.
Date published: 2012-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO MORE SMELLY HELMET! Over night my helmet smelled so much better. I used this and put my helmet outside over night and there was zero stinky-ness the next morning. I will be ordering more!
Date published: 2012-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from in the battle of the smelly helmet I sweat a lot in my helmet and was ready to pitch it and then saw this fresh mineral bag and also bought the stick on liners. This definitely absorbs moisture which helps with the odor. I recommend this along with the disposable liners to really cover all bases.
Date published: 2012-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! The fresh helmet sack really takes the moisture out of the inside of a helmet. The helmet is dry the next day, a real pleasure. I haven't had it long enough to test durability, but it comes with instructions on rejuvenating it in the microwave.
Date published: 2012-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was skeptical But it dries my helmet in just a few hours and keeps it smelling fresh!
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from absorbs sweat I have issues with my helmet. My head sweats a lot, my Ovation helmet doesn't breath, gets wet then stinks to high heavens. I tried a spray and washing the liner but probably will end up buying a new helmet anyway. This does dry out the helmet but mine is probably too far gone to make a difference in the smell to be honest. I do recommend it and wish I had this from the start as then maybe I would be on top of the smell issue.
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep it fresh! Nifty little pouch, and effective! No more damp helmet, I toss this in after riding. We've had such a hot summer, but my helmet is still fresh for each ride.
Date published: 2012-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I never thought this would work, but WOW no more stinky helmet and it's dry everytime.
Date published: 2012-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Small and doesn't work I felt like this product should be larger (it's about the palm of your hand) to work better, and it does absorb some sweat from my helmet... but not enough. After 24-48 hours helmet is still sweaty both in and out of the bag with the fresh helmet sack in it.I do keep my helmet in the trunk and yes it's very hot in Texas so wet helmets are a thing, but I have noticed no difference in odor or dryness. Would not buy.
Date published: 2012-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review Update I finally took the sack home to "regenerate" in the microwave and found that the sack holding the desiccant is thin and had a couple of hole where the desiccant was leaking out. Luckily a little duct tape fixed it right up! Just be careful about handling it outside the cover because it can rip fairly easily. I still recommend it as it really seems to help dry out my helmet.
Date published: 2012-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can't hurt, might help! Even though I live in a very dry climate in the summer, I want to take care of my gear. This helps dry out my helmet, and I can just toss it in when I am done riding. Combined with the Charles Owen cleaning and deodorizing products, my helmet will stay fresh and dry!
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didnt Help w/ the Odor I was looking to buy this to use as a deodorizer, but I didn't notice even a slight difference in the odor of my helmet. Maybe if you used this w/ a brand new helmet instead of one that already has that helmet smell it would work better. Though it did not help w/ the odor, it did seem to keep my helmet a little less damp.
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! So far it really has helped my helmet dry. Usually my helmet is wet the next day, but lately my helmet is nice and dry when I put it on. Not sure if it is helping with the odor, but my lining is washable, so I don't worry about it. I just hate putting on a moist helmet - living in the humid south things don't dry very well. Of course we haven't hit the hottest part of the year, but I think this is worth it to at least get some of the moisture out of my helmet.
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't notice a difference Honestly didn't notice a difference with use of product.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fresh Helmet I was Looking for something like this - thank you smartpak ! so far it's working great-but my helmet was pretty smelly, so I still have a little smell going on .
Date published: 2012-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really works! I was somewhat dubious about the effectiveness of this product given that nothing else has ever worked to dry and deoderize my sweaty helmet. I was very pleasantly surprised after the first time I used it that I was able to put on a dry helmet to ride my horse instead of a somewhat damp one. I definitely recommend this!
Date published: 2011-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Product I bought this product on sale just to see if it actually works and it does! I put it in my helmet after every ride and leave it there until I ride again. My helmet wasn't that smelly to begin with, but it does seem to smell a bit fresher.
Date published: 2011-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! After many years of rocking the plastic helmet, I finally invested in a nice quality helmet and wanted to do something to take care of it, rather than just tossing it in the back of the tack locker. I saw this on the winter clearance sale and thought even if it didn't work, the "ready to show" design was adorable. It really does work! I ride up to 4 horses a day and my helmet can get a little ripe, just put this in and the next day it's dry and fresh. Love it!
Date published: 2011-07-05
  • 2016-10-21T11:43CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_8998, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders