Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

FlaxSnax

Manna Pro
- Item #14166

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

We couldn't believe FlaxSnax are really for our horses- they simply smell wonderful! FlaxSnax are oven baked and enriched with flax, providing 3g of Omega-3 Fatty Acids per serving (7 cookies). Cinnamon. 3 lb bag.

Made in the USA

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    FlaxSnax is rated 4.3678 out of 5 by 87.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Horse's Favorite Treats! My horse absolutely gobbles these cookies right up!!! He nickers for them as soon as the bag comes out of the tack room. I love that it has the Omega 3's in it and they smell fantastic. The bag seems to last awhile (I feed about 5 cookies on average per day- recommended dosage with the omega 3) which makes me, and my horse, thrilled. The only disclaimer is a few other horses in my barn spat them out and wouldn't even try a second one. It doesn't seem to be a treat every horse will enjoy. However, I believe they are worth the money if your horse does like them. They have became one of my horse's favorite treats and I couldn't buy anything else for him right now!
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disapointed I used to love these treats, and so did my horse. Now the reciepe is changed and the cookies are as hard as rocks. My horse does not seem to like them as much. I am very disapointed and what the old kind back!
    Date published: 2010-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy and delicious (apparently)! My horse has an incredible sweet tooth. I'm so glad I found these treats that he likes better than peppermints and sugar cubes, and that have at least some nutritional value. For me, these serve as a replacement for a coat supplement. (Even the barn dogs like them--so i have to watch that they don't steal my horse's stash while i'm grooming him.)
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love theses :) I love to spoil and treat my princess and I figure I may as well give her treats that are also good for her. I alternate the hoof with the flax ones each time I but them. My only tiff is that the hoofsnax she often refuses when shes had enough. I think its the biotin. The price on this site is too high though... but that's not only here. Most places they seem too expensive. I only buy them because at my local tack store, they're only $10. If they were closer to $20, I wouldn't bother... seeing as that's 2 bags of feed for me. Other than that- love em :)
    Date published: 2010-10-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Absolutely Not the Same With every bag I order, I keep hoping that FlaxSnax will have gone back to their original recipe and method of baking and that the cookies will look, smell and taste again as they did before (and as they look in the bag on the picture). I just ordered one more bag. If still no change (and why would there be after several months worth of horse owners complaining), I just won't buy this product anymore.
    Date published: 2010-08-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the Same These used to be an excellent bargain. They were super delicious smelling and, judging my horses' response to them, delicious tasting. They also come in huge bags that last. Unfortunately, they have become thick and warped in shape. It was easier for horses' to eat them when they were uniform in shape and thinner. I'm still using them up, but I keep an eye on my horse closer than before. He struggles a hair to get each down for the next. They do most often prefer these to even homemade fancy treats though.
    Date published: 2010-05-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from FlaxSnax: Please Return to "Old" Recipe! I used to be thrilled with FlaxSnax! They smelled delicious, were nutritious, and my horse loved them.The last bag I purchased had darker "cookies." They looked oily, flatter than before, and overcooked. They did not smell good. My horse refused to eat any:-(I am disappointed and will not buy any more FlaxSnax unless the manufacturer returns to its original formula.
    Date published: 2010-04-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like the old version much better I've given my horse FlaxSnax and HoofSnax in the past and he ate them up. The cookies in the most recent bag had the same great smell but they were shaped different and much harder/denser. My horse didn't like them much and spit the hardest ones out. Other horses in the barn ate them, so they can't be all bad, but I'd much prefer the old version.
    Date published: 2010-03-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Changed cookies not worth buying I agree with the reviewer who complained about the changes in these cookies. I have used these cookies for a long time, but the last bag I bought from SmartPak contained cookies that were much too hard to break with my hands. That's a deal breaker for me, because I clicker train and break treats into small pieces to avoid overfeeding. I won't buy these treats again until I learn that they've gone back to their original texture and flavor. I also think the last batch I got was overdone.
    Date published: 2010-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves them My trainer uses them as a treat for the horses. He brought one over for my horse to try and he really liked them. When I was done riding, I stopped back through the barn to take a look at the package. Once my horse smelled the cookies again, he nearly attacked whomever the person was that was holding the bag to get more.
    Date published: 2010-03-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from these used to be very good My horses loved this product before. They smelled so good I considered trying them. The last two bags that have arrived smell overcooked and like they have changed some ingredients. My horse made a face and hesitated before accepting this normally tasty treat. Please change it back to the way they used to be. I liked the idea of feeding healthy flax treats.
    Date published: 2010-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flax Snax I love these cookies for my horse. He loves the flavor and they are not loaded with a bunch of molasses or sugar as most treats are. Its nice to have something that is healthy to give as a treat and the horse feels like he is getting something special. They are the only treats I give my horse
    Date published: 2010-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from formula change I am also very disappointed in the formula change. My horses LOVE these cookies and I have used them for a few years as treats. I would break them into smaller pieces but that is impossible to do now. Since I have to feed them whole, they have become a rare, and now more expensive, treat. Great product, but wish they had left a good thing alone!
    Date published: 2010-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product I have been using flaxsnax for 4 years now and love it, but even more important, my horses love it. What is great is that SmartPak has it at a really great price too!
    Date published: 2010-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This is the first time I have used these cookies and will be ordering more. I have a very picky eater who can sniff out powdered supplements and ground flax in a second. He will then refuse to eat anything!! These cookies are a great way to get flax and supplements in him. He just thinks he's getting a treat!!
    Date published: 2010-01-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So upset that they changed the formula of FlaxSnax. I, too, have been feeding them for years, and liked to break them into several pieces (because I have a tendency to feed more treats than I should!) My horse still likes the new formula, but I am very disappointed. They are IMPOSSIBLE to break by hand. I've emailed Manna Pro's customer service and their CEO, hopefully I will get a response.
    Date published: 2010-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, but liked the originals better My horse LOVES these and gobbles them up. My only complaint is that the old, thinner version was easy to break and give half a treat at a time. Now I must give a whole, larger treat. I prefer to give smaller ones since I give so many!
    Date published: 2010-01-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Way too hard I have always loved FlaxSnax and HoofSnax...and so have the horses at our barn. They smell wonderful and the horses eagerly eat them. Unfortunately, my most recent order contains the new formula. I can't believe how hard the cookies are. I never feed a whole cookie at once because I worry about choke and I like to stretch out the treat...but I couldn't break the cookie without a hammer. I spent a half-hour last night breaking up the package and I doubt if I'll order them again (and I have been getting them for years.) Sad.
    Date published: 2010-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Horse Cookies! My horse absolutely loves this cookies and always nudges my pockets for more! Plus they make his breath smell like cinnamon!
    Date published: 2010-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Great These are wonderful treats, they smell good enough to eat! I like the fact they have some nutritional benefit. My only negative comment would be that every few bags is "overbaked"and they are hockey pucks. Horse does not like them when this happens
    Date published: 2009-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flax Snax I have been feeding these to my new WP gelding, who is very picky. He loved them and I love the fact they are healthy with flax and rice bran. Makes their coat shinny. I like giving him a healthy treat, for a reward or just to feed it!
    Date published: 2009-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product, and so does my horse The cookies smell wonderful and my horse gobbles them right up. I chose these cookies as a treat for the flax seed and cinnamon ingredients. My horse has digestive issues so I have been very careful with what I chose for treats. He has been eating these for 2 years now and no problems with digestion.
    Date published: 2009-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious & healthy snack FlaxSnax are fantastic. The ingredients are so healthy for the horse and obviously delicious as my guy is very excited to have them and he will take a big drink after eating them. Very important.I use them on the trail as well when we are going through water and he takes a nice drink after his Snax.
    Date published: 2009-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Flax Snax All my horses love them. The dogs, donkeys, and even the zebra eat them too! I have even indulged a time or too!
    Date published: 2009-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for your horse treat I have been treating my horse with the HoofSnax for quite some time. Just decided to mix in the FlaxSnax. They look and smell the same and she really seems to like them.
    Date published: 2009-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Treat! I love these treats! I love to give special treats like the Paddock Cakes, but but those can only be given lightly. These are fun to give because I can give a number of them throughout the the day, and all the horses love them! It doesn't make them hot, and they're healthy! They smell super nice, and you get a lot in a bag. Well worth it. True staple for my boys!
    Date published: 2009-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All Around Favorite My horses get two cookies every night with their grain. My horses' coats actually shimmer compared to other horses in the barn. There is no denying these work! When served as a treat, there isn't a horse in the barn that doesn't love these.
    Date published: 2009-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy healthy snack! Finally, a healthy treat for our horses that we can feel good about! These smell delicious and must taste good too because my horses all love them. I've recommended these to friends and barn buddies for years now, and don't even bother with other treats! And who doesn't love a treat that is good for her horses' coat?
    Date published: 2009-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great treat! These treats are great. They store well (don't last long- all the horses in the barn love them) and don't have too many "extra" ingredients that my horse doesn't need
    Date published: 2009-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Healthy Tasty Treat An easy way to give my mare a treat and supply her with Omega 3s for her coat and hooves. They smell so good you want to eat them; like a snickerdoodle. All the horses at the barn enjoy them!
    Date published: 2009-06-18
    • 2016-02-08T14:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_80
    • loc_en_US, sid_4166, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.