Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Flash Converter

Item #14142
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

A Flash Converter converts a regular cavesson into a flash noseband. Designed with stitched-down stainless steel buckles. Brown or Black.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Flash Converter is rated 3.9756 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too big We bought this for my son's large pony and the loop that attached to the bridle is too big so the flash comes down too far on her nose. A regular flash bridle does not have such a large loop so I am not sure why this one does. I will have to return it, if I can ever remember too. It seemed like it would have worked well if it fit. Not great leather, but good enough for our purposes as we wanted to try out a flash bridle to make sure it was what she needed before investing in something really nice.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but... I'm happy with the quality of this product for the price. My only complaint is that the attachment piece is a bit big. On my 14.3 hh QH it came down too low and I had to punch holes in my caveson. Also like most flashes i had to punch extra holes in the strap and cut it shorter. Could this product come in pony or cob size???
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Impressed This was not as I expected. The leather was very thick and stiff. I conditioned it repeatedly in an effort to make it a little bit flexible but it remained very stiff. It was so thick and stiff that it was very hard to thread the strap through the little converter piece itself. It did not even think about laying flat on the bridle or the horses nose, looked horrible and looked like it was rubbing the horses nose pretty good as well. It was so bad I ended up going without a flash.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality for a great price This is a very nice flash converter, the leather is soft and its easy to put on my bridle. It is pretty long, so if you have a smaller horse you may have to add a few holes. Would definitely recommend to someone looking for a cheap alternative to buying a new flash bridle.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice workmanship This is nice quality leather. I actually bought it to use for a rein-extender. I cut it, punched holes, and hooked it to each end of my reins to make them a little longer. It's plenty long and you can cut it to whatever length you like. It's a nice piece of leather and at a very reasonable price. A good value whatever you use it for!
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple but Great Value! Very attractive flash converter but the leather is a little hard. It was exactly what I expected considering the fact that it's $10. Definitely the nicest flash converter that I've ever had and matches well with my medium-dark brown bridles.
    Date published: 2013-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inexpensive, Yet High Quality This flash converter had very good quality, soft, and supple leather. Fully adjustable to fit all sizes. (You may have to punch a few extra holes if you own an Arabian or a smaller nose horse.) Excellent value! As always, superb customer service and fast shipping with SmartPak!
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from simple but it works The flash converter seems good- it is cheap and does the job. The leather is a lighter color than I had hoped, but hopefully after oiling it a lot it will darken to more closely match my bridle. Leather seems good quality.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Value! I bought this flash as a replacement for a lost one and I was amazed by the quality at this price. I would definitely recommend this prodcut to anyone who is looking for a replacement flash or a converter!
    Date published: 2012-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A decent flash converter This flash converter is decent, but it runs a little large. The leather is fairly stiff at first and definitely needs oil.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Replacement I bought this to replace the flash on my black dressage bridle. I slid the converter tab off and it works perfectly. I didn't know when I ordered it but it is made by Kincade - an actual name brand which was a huge plus.
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No complaints! My trainer recommended that I use a flash for my horse, so I purchased this addition for my bridle. I have no complaints- easy to put on, works perfectly!
    Date published: 2012-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Item is very nice. It works perfect for our pony. We had to cut it down, but works like a charm!
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This flash converter is BEAUTIFUL! I had to punch a couple of extra holes in it to make it fit my Trakehner mare but that was done in probably four minutes! I love it!
    Date published: 2011-07-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cheaper leather than expected This nose band is fine for a small amount of money, but I don't for see it lasting very long. The leather is stiff and already has little cracks from me putting it on my bridle and on my horse. It's also way too big for my quarter horse mare. I am planning to soak it in oil for a while in hopes it might loosen up a bit, but I have done this to cheap leather in the past and it doesn't tend to get any more supple no matter what you do.
    Date published: 2011-05-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unattractive, Not Worth It Smartpak should have a larger selection of bridle pieces. This was the only flash I could find, but it was too large for my horse, bulky, unattractive, not a good purchase.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, economical flash converter. The leather is plasticy, but again it's inexpensive. Seems to run a bit large.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works... but it sure isn't pretty. I am having a really hard time getting the leather to darken to match my bridle. That said, it works and the leather seems to be decent quality- its soft and supple out of the box.So, its a good buy for the price, but don't expect it to be a dark havana brown. It's reddish brown in color.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not attractive This flash attachment is unfortunately not very attractive. The connector piece is very large and looks extremely awkward on the horse. The leather quality seemed good and the color was fine as well, but the connector piece just looked awful. I returned this item.
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Quaility So pretty. Leather matched previously purchased bridle perfectly. Fit was perfect and material quality (both leather and buckle) was unbelievably nice, especially for the price!
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to attach This is a nice alternative to buying a flash cavesson.It is easy to attach. Leather quality is o.k.; what you could expect for the money.
    Date published: 2010-03-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but broke This item has quality, and for the price it's a steal! Terrific leather (for the price) and wonderful. Only thing, the VERY FIRST time a latched on my pony, the keeper snaped. I was disapointed, only because I loved it. I would really reccomend this to my friends, it's a good price for a good product.
    Date published: 2010-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent buy Very nice converter for the price! Fits my briddleperfectly.
    Date published: 2009-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase Great piece of tack to have around. Very easily converts any noseband into a flash. Economical. I had to punch a few extra holes in it, but that is to be expected and not a problem. Leather is very good quality. I am very satisfied with this purchase and would have no problem recommending it to someone else.
    Date published: 2009-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful Aid Great price,good quality,easy to use,my horse seems to like it!
    Date published: 2009-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Handy Device Super-easy to attach to your noseband, and therefore very easy to remove if you show hunters...flash strap could use a few more holes, but you can easily add them yourself, not-too-wide,not-too-skinny. I definitely recommend this product.
    Date published: 2009-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable option! Great flash attachment at an affordable price. The leather is a higher quality than I was expecting.
    Date published: 2009-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice addition Very nice quality leather, especially for the price! I had to punch extra holes to make it small enough to fit my Morgan's teacup muzzle, so it should be plenty large enough for most horses. The color is a bit lighter than my bridle, but I think it will darken with oil and use. Handy piece of tack to have in your tack box!
    Date published: 2009-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a deal! This is the least expensive Flash Converter I found, so I was a bit leery about the quality. However, I was pleasantly surprised when it arrived! The leather is beautiful and a really nice quality. The converter has plenty of room to accommodate a wider noseband. It's an excellent value.
    Date published: 2008-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different design This is a different design than I am used to, but the flash works well. I was a little concerned about it lying flat enough on my horse's nose, but after a liberal oiling, the leather softened up and I was pleasantly suprised with how it fit. The flash doesn't slide around and I never worry about losing it when carrying my bridle around (something that always happens at show!)
    Date published: 2007-06-18
    • 2015-05-27T09:52CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_38
    • loc_en_US, sid_4142, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.